We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“quaint little hotel in San Jose del Cabo” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tropicana Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Tropicana Inn to your Saves list
Tropicana Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Blvd. Mijares Centro Historico | Colonia Centro, San Jose del Cabo 23400, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 39 Hotels in San Jose del Cabo
Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
157 helpful votes 157 helpful votes
“quaint little hotel in San Jose del Cabo”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

We had a two extra days to stay while in Los Cabos, and stayed at this hotel. This is not a 5 star, but it has a nice pool courtyard, and an open air restaurant at the front. This hotel is not on the beach, rather it is in the heart of the town markets, and close to the art district. other than no beach, I think I preferred this hotel to the Pueblo Bonito that we stayed at for 2 weeks.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    73
    9
    7
    6
See reviews for
30
68
13
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wickenburg, Arizona
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

We needed just one night here before we flew home the next day and someone recommended The Tropicana. It fit the bill just fine. The old colonial building was stunning and very well done.
(I actually think it was not that old, but given that aged, rustic look.) The rooms were ok, front desk people most charming and helpful, but I think our favorite memory was having a lovely,
leisurely breakfast the next morning in the restaurant (inside). A generous Continental Breakfast was included with the room price and we were very impressed with it and the gracious service.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

Ate here about two years ago and it was pretty good. I tried it againg in their new and improved location (downstairs from their old location) and it was great. Excellent service, beautiful new surroundings and the food was fabulous. I can't remember what I had but I know I loved it at the time. My two buddies really like their choices as well.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

My mom and I stayed here for 2 nights this Christmas. The location is to die for, right in the middle of downtown San Jose. The pool area is very cute, and the water is the perfect temperature.

Front desk staff is amazing. They are prompt and VERY helpful. The staff in the restaurant however is sub par.
The continental breakfast includes coffee, juice, a fruit plate and a basket of baked goods (good quality). One morning we asked to order 2 eggs (which is listed on their menu) as we had an oddly timed flight home, and wanted to have a good breakfast. It took forever for them to make and then didn't have a cashier to "figure out" how much it would cost, even though it is clearly listed on their menu. Had we not been in a rush to get to the airport, the process would have been a lot easier as they offered to put it on our room tab (which we had already paid)

Overall the hotel is amazing. Look elsewhere in town for more reasonably priced food.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013 via mobile

Just stayed 1 night at the Tropicana Inn. It was nice, quiet and clean. They have a small pool with a swim up bar, although the bar was not open (could be only open on weekends?). The restaurant was very nice with very good food, although a bit pricey. However, we found most things in San Jose Del Cabo and Cabo San Lucas to be pricier than expected, so we weren't surprised.
Overall, we needed a place to stay before our flight out the next day and the Tropicana Inn was a good choice. Wonderful location (must go through the restaurant) and comfortable beds.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pleasanton, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

When you would like to stay in a small, cozy place instead of those "garganguan" hotels, try the Tropicana Inn in San Jose del Cabo. The rooms are very nice and keep with the "authentic" Mexican style. It is very quiet and relaxing and has a lot of atmosphere, a beautiful pool and many available services such as massage. There is also a restaurant in front that serves a nice variety of food and has an excellent presentation. Try something different - you won't be disappointed. Instead you'll have a taste of the local charm.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

The Tropicana is centrally located in San Jose del Cabo with easy access to shops and
restaurants. I found the room to be clean and well maintained although older. The bathroom tile, ]once beautiful I am sure, is now dated. I had just returned from a kayaking trip and my lower
back was hurting. The bed was not good and made my bad back worse. The in room refrigerator
was loud and would have kept me up so I unplugged it from the wall.
The room was basically adequate and the hotel pleasant but I don't think I would stay here again.
Kathy, Portland, Oregon

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tropicana Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tropicana Inn

Address: Blvd. Mijares Centro Historico | Colonia Centro, San Jose del Cabo 23400, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > San Jose del Cabo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#12 Spa Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#12 Romantic Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Tropicana Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the Tropicana Inn, our 42 Mexican style Tamaral rooms and Suites, are beautifully appointed with colonial touches of old Mexico. The fully airconditioned individually styled Tamaral rooms includes all the amenities you expect with irresistible pillow top mattresses, Luxury linens, direct dial phone, cable TV, frigde, coffee maker, hair dryer and bath accessories. All rooms have full or partial views of the pool, swim up palapa bar and our beautiful tropical grounds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Tropicana Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tropicana Hotel San Jose Del Cabo
Tropicana San Jose Del Cabo
Tropicana Inn Los Cabos/San Jose Del Cabo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tropicana Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.