We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Nice Experience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tropicana Inn

Save Saved
You added Tropicana Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Tropicana Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Blvd. Mijares Centro Historico | Colonia Centro, San Jose del Cabo 23400, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 39 hotels in San Jose del Cabo
Wickenburg, Arizona
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“A Nice Experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

We needed just one night here before we flew home the next day and someone recommended The Tropicana. It fit the bill just fine. The old colonial building was stunning and very well done.
(I actually think it was not that old, but given that aged, rustic look.) The rooms were ok, front desk people most charming and helpful, but I think our favorite memory was having a lovely,
leisurely breakfast the next morning in the restaurant (inside). A generous Continental Breakfast was included with the room price and we were very impressed with it and the gracious service.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

161 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    68
    71
    9
    7
    6
See reviews for
29
65
12
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

Ate here about two years ago and it was pretty good. I tried it againg in their new and improved location (downstairs from their old location) and it was great. Excellent service, beautiful new surroundings and the food was fabulous. I can't remember what I had but I know I loved it at the time. My two buddies really like their choices as well.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

My mom and I stayed here for 2 nights this Christmas. The location is to die for, right in the middle of downtown San Jose. The pool area is very cute, and the water is the perfect temperature.

Front desk staff is amazing. They are prompt and VERY helpful. The staff in the restaurant however is sub par.
The continental breakfast includes coffee, juice, a fruit plate and a basket of baked goods (good quality). One morning we asked to order 2 eggs (which is listed on their menu) as we had an oddly timed flight home, and wanted to have a good breakfast. It took forever for them to make and then didn't have a cashier to "figure out" how much it would cost, even though it is clearly listed on their menu. Had we not been in a rush to get to the airport, the process would have been a lot easier as they offered to put it on our room tab (which we had already paid)

Overall the hotel is amazing. Look elsewhere in town for more reasonably priced food.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013 via mobile

Just stayed 1 night at the Tropicana Inn. It was nice, quiet and clean. They have a small pool with a swim up bar, although the bar was not open (could be only open on weekends?). The restaurant was very nice with very good food, although a bit pricey. However, we found most things in San Jose Del Cabo and Cabo San Lucas to be pricier than expected, so we weren't surprised.
Overall, we needed a place to stay before our flight out the next day and the Tropicana Inn was a good choice. Wonderful location (must go through the restaurant) and comfortable beds.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pleasanton, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

When you would like to stay in a small, cozy place instead of those "garganguan" hotels, try the Tropicana Inn in San Jose del Cabo. The rooms are very nice and keep with the "authentic" Mexican style. It is very quiet and relaxing and has a lot of atmosphere, a beautiful pool and many available services such as massage. There is also a restaurant in front that serves a nice variety of food and has an excellent presentation. Try something different - you won't be disappointed. Instead you'll have a taste of the local charm.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

The Tropicana is centrally located in San Jose del Cabo with easy access to shops and
restaurants. I found the room to be clean and well maintained although older. The bathroom tile, ]once beautiful I am sure, is now dated. I had just returned from a kayaking trip and my lower
back was hurting. The bed was not good and made my bad back worse. The in room refrigerator
was loud and would have kept me up so I unplugged it from the wall.
The room was basically adequate and the hotel pleasant but I don't think I would stay here again.
Kathy, Portland, Oregon

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle WA
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

The Tropicana Inn, is a hotel nestled behind a very nice resturant in the center of town. the location is excellent and so is the price. The resturant offers authentic mexican food. Its a little dark but, on a hot day the shade is highly valued. The rooms are small, cute, and just perfect. This hotel is a great value because the staff are so kind and warm. The hospitality makes you feel welcome and like a treasured guest. I would recommend this hotel; Marcos the manager is a wonderful man, his staff is kind friendly and welcoming.

Room Tip: try to get a room with one bed if you are traveling alone.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Tropicana Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tropicana Inn

Address: Blvd. Mijares Centro Historico | Colonia Centro, San Jose del Cabo 23400, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > San Jose del Cabo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#12 Spa Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#14 Romantic Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Tropicana Inn 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the Tropicana Inn, our 42 Mexican style Tamaral rooms and Suites, are beautifully appointed with colonial touches of old Mexico. The fully airconditioned individually styled Tamaral rooms includes all the amenities you expect with irresistible pillow top mattresses, Luxury linens, direct dial phone, cable TV, frigde, coffee maker, hair dryer and bath accessories. All rooms have full or partial views of the pool, swim up palapa bar and our beautiful tropical grounds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Tropicana Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tropicana Hotel San Jose Del Cabo
Tropicana San Jose Del Cabo
Tropicana Inn Los Cabos/San Jose Del Cabo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tropicana Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.