We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Cute” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tropicana Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Tropicana Inn to your Saves list
Tropicana Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Blvd. Mijares Centro Historico | Colonia Centro, San Jose del Cabo 23400, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 37 Hotels in San Jose del Cabo
Calgary, Canada
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Very Cute”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

My mom and I stayed here for 2 nights this Christmas. The location is to die for, right in the middle of downtown San Jose. The pool area is very cute, and the water is the perfect temperature.

Front desk staff is amazing. They are prompt and VERY helpful. The staff in the restaurant however is sub par.
The continental breakfast includes coffee, juice, a fruit plate and a basket of baked goods (good quality). One morning we asked to order 2 eggs (which is listed on their menu) as we had an oddly timed flight home, and wanted to have a good breakfast. It took forever for them to make and then didn't have a cashier to "figure out" how much it would cost, even though it is clearly listed on their menu. Had we not been in a rush to get to the airport, the process would have been a lot easier as they offered to put it on our room tab (which we had already paid)

Overall the hotel is amazing. Look elsewhere in town for more reasonably priced food.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

202 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    84
    94
    10
    8
    6
See reviews for
36
86
16
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

Just stayed 1 night at the Tropicana Inn. It was nice, quiet and clean. They have a small pool with a swim up bar, although the bar was not open (could be only open on weekends?). The restaurant was very nice with very good food, although a bit pricey. However, we found most things in San Jose Del Cabo and Cabo San Lucas to be pricier than expected, so we weren't surprised.
Overall, we needed a place to stay before our flight out the next day and the Tropicana Inn was a good choice. Wonderful location (must go through the restaurant) and comfortable beds.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pleasanton, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

When you would like to stay in a small, cozy place instead of those "garganguan" hotels, try the Tropicana Inn in San Jose del Cabo. The rooms are very nice and keep with the "authentic" Mexican style. It is very quiet and relaxing and has a lot of atmosphere, a beautiful pool and many available services such as massage. There is also a restaurant in front that serves a nice variety of food and has an excellent presentation. Try something different - you won't be disappointed. Instead you'll have a taste of the local charm.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

The Tropicana is centrally located in San Jose del Cabo with easy access to shops and
restaurants. I found the room to be clean and well maintained although older. The bathroom tile, ]once beautiful I am sure, is now dated. I had just returned from a kayaking trip and my lower
back was hurting. The bed was not good and made my bad back worse. The in room refrigerator
was loud and would have kept me up so I unplugged it from the wall.
The room was basically adequate and the hotel pleasant but I don't think I would stay here again.
Kathy, Portland, Oregon

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle WA
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

The Tropicana Inn, is a hotel nestled behind a very nice resturant in the center of town. the location is excellent and so is the price. The resturant offers authentic mexican food. Its a little dark but, on a hot day the shade is highly valued. The rooms are small, cute, and just perfect. This hotel is a great value because the staff are so kind and warm. The hospitality makes you feel welcome and like a treasured guest. I would recommend this hotel; Marcos the manager is a wonderful man, his staff is kind friendly and welcoming.

Room Tip: try to get a room with one bed if you are traveling alone.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, CO
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

We found it comping back from La Paz, and only planned on staying one night. They charged $118 in cash, and the rooms were clean and nice. The masseuse was off the next day, and no one was at the pool, but it was nice to stay there, and be on the main strip. We suggest the art district just north of town.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tumwater, Washington, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

My husband and I stayed ten nights here and had a wonderful relaxing stay. Non invasive and helpful staff. Very clean room and grounds. Close to dinning and in fact the on site restaurant is fantastic. We were able to walk everyday by the estuary and get to the beach with ease. A very nice town to hang out in. No need to go to Cabo!!

Room Tip: We had the upstairs suite. Lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Tropicana Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tropicana Inn

Address: Blvd. Mijares Centro Historico | Colonia Centro, San Jose del Cabo 23400, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > San Jose del Cabo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#12 Spa Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#14 Romantic Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Tropicana Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the Tropicana Inn, our 42 Mexican style Tamaral rooms and Suites, are beautifully appointed with colonial touches of old Mexico. The fully airconditioned individually styled Tamaral rooms includes all the amenities you expect with irresistible pillow top mattresses, Luxury linens, direct dial phone, cable TV, frigde, coffee maker, hair dryer and bath accessories. All rooms have full or partial views of the pool, swim up palapa bar and our beautiful tropical grounds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Tropicana Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tropicana Hotel San Jose Del Cabo
Tropicana San Jose Del Cabo
Tropicana Inn Los Cabos/San Jose Del Cabo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tropicana Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.