We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Viva La Tropicana” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tropicana Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Tropicana Inn to your Saves list
Tropicana Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Blvd. Mijares Centro Historico | Colonia Centro, San Jose del Cabo 23400, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 37 Hotels in San Jose del Cabo
Chicago
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Viva La Tropicana”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2011

What a wonderful week at the Tropicana Hotel. Breakfast included every morning but Sundays, with eggs, fresh fruit, super fresh orange juice, and great coffee got us off to a good start everyday. The people at the hotel were wonderful and very helpful. Erica, the front desk young lady went out of her way to make sure that we had whatever we needed. Carmen the person who helped us sign up for a tour was very informative and always available. Olivia the lady from housekeeping was fantastic with her skillful displays after leaving our room spotless. Benito one of the waiters was always cheerful and accessible.The garden and pool area appear to be a millionaire's paradise with traditional Mexican style.Although not on the beach, the location could not be better in the center of town within easily walking distance to the art district, zocalo, and excellent restaurants. The beach is only a short bus ride or a $7 cab ride away. Tropicana's main dining restaurant and bar are also a good bet with great food and reasonable prices. Top quality at a fair price. Mike

Room Tip: There are suites, and a honeymoon cottage avialabe
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    86
    95
    10
    8
    6
See reviews for
36
89
16
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sarasota, Florida
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2011

My husband and I spent two wonderful days enjoying quiet San Jose after five days in Cabo San Lucas. The hotel is located behind the Tropicana restaurant and is a pleasant oasis with a beautiful courtyard and pool. The mood is mellow and it's a wonderful place to relax. The morning breakfasts at the restaurant were delicious with a large plate of fresh fruit, eggs, potatoes, salsa, toast, coffee and juice. On Saturday we enjoyed the local organic market (with lots of art too) and it was only a short walk from the hotel. We'll definitely go back!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2011

I had a wonderful surprised when step into my spa treatment to found a romantic ambience candle light with rose petals all over the place, glasses or champaigne with chocolate and strawberry plus a delicious and involving roses scent in the room. The ladies: rossy and liz were amazingly good. Nothing but the best, very attentive, sweet but surprisingly strong at the same time. They took care of every single detail and deliver a wonderful couple massage experience for Valentines Day. Highly recomended!!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solana Beach, California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2010

We have been staying at this hotel for possibly 10 years now. We love the place. The rooms are nice and clean and nicely decorated with nice linens and Mexican tiled bathrooms. The staff is abundant and eager to please in every way. Over the years we have experienced poolside happy hours with a swim up bar and free continental breakfasts at poolside with several juices, fruits, cereals, rolls, coffee and tea, etc. Sorrily they no longer offer that poolside, my guess is because of the general economy and fewer tourists. Now they have the free breakfast in the outdoor adjoining sidewalk restaurant each morning, probably to stimulate restaurant business at the same time. But no complaints with the full fruit plate, eggs, potatoes, juice and coffee. Notice that many of the reviews under the heading for the hotel are actually for the restaurant only, which I agree is lacking in service. Good food, but not good service and value. Don't let that deter you from a stay at the hotel which is a surprise quiet garden/pool setting behind the hotel. Our rate over Thanksgiving was lowered because we stayed 5 nights and was $110 a night PLUS taxes and a daily service fee. All totaled it was $132 a night. Love that it is right in the heart of town close to everything AND it has a secure parking lot; important since we were on a driving trip. The only downside was that the pool is not heated and too chilly to really enjoy much; a big factor for us. (76F degrees)

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2010

Our flight got canceled and there were no available flights until the next day, so we had to quickly find a place to stay in town. We found the Tropicana because we were shopping along the streets and ate breakfast at the Tropicana restaurant. The gentleman at the front desk was very helpful and even gave us a small discount off the regular rate. The hotel is very quaint and unique with a tropical feel. The beds are really comfortable and the room had everything we needed. There's even a nice pool and swim up bar. What we liked the best about this hotel was that there was free wi-fi in the hotel and the adjoining restaurant. We had stayed at the Hilton the week before where wi-fi is an additional cost and had so much trouble finding wi-fi anywhere else in the city. We got to catch up on our emails and use our iPhones. :)
We had a great one night stay at the Tropicana despite having our flight canceled. Thanks Tropicana!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san francisco
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2010

We stayed at the Tropicana for 3 nights last week and I was so pleased I felt I needed to write a review! The property has about 40 rooms (a bit larger than I usually prefer) but since it was "off season" we felt like we had the place to ourselves.

We had no issues with check-in or our reservation (a common issue in other reviews) and were put into the type of room we requested at the correct price. We were on the first floor right across from the pool and this was very convienient. All of the staff members were friendly and helpful.

The whole area around the hotel rooms is very well landscaped and quite attractive. We found oursleves hanging around the hotel much more often than we typically do & the super comfy outdoor furniture had something to do with this. I imagine that during "high season" it would be difficult to get a seat but for us it was perfect.

The rooms were very clean and the bed was comfortable. The AC worked well and it was nice to have a fridge in the room.

Don't count on the complimentary "conntiential" breakfast being anything special--it is coffee (1 cup the only morning we went up for this), orange juice and plain white toast. I really don't care about this personally--just a "head's up"--coffee in the room is fine with me!

I look forward to staying at the Tropicana again when I visit SJD.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2010

The online pics and description do not do this place justice. Everything about the hotel from its classic colonial style, to grounds, pool, diing facilities and rooms were beautiful. Centrally located to plaza and shopping areas. Only bad thing is that it is not close to beach but I would rather stay here than some mega resort. Beautiful!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tropicana Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tropicana Inn

Address: Blvd. Mijares Centro Historico | Colonia Centro, San Jose del Cabo 23400, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > San Jose del Cabo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
#14 Romantic Hotel in San Jose del Cabo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Tropicana Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the Tropicana Inn, our 42 Mexican style Tamaral rooms and Suites, are beautifully appointed with colonial touches of old Mexico. The fully airconditioned individually styled Tamaral rooms includes all the amenities you expect with irresistible pillow top mattresses, Luxury linens, direct dial phone, cable TV, frigde, coffee maker, hair dryer and bath accessories. All rooms have full or partial views of the pool, swim up palapa bar and our beautiful tropical grounds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your Tropicana Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tropicana Hotel San Jose Del Cabo
Tropicana San Jose Del Cabo
Tropicana Inn Los Cabos/San Jose Del Cabo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tropicana Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.