We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing and expensive” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Casianos

Casianos
Paseo Mar de Cortes, Col. Club de Golf Fonatur. | Entre Paseo Finisterra y Paseo de Las Misiones, San Jose del Cabo 23400, Mexico
+52 624 142 5928
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $100 - $120
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business, Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Paseo Malecon
Description: The Restaurant: Situated in Fonatur development, San Jose del Cabo, Casianos Restaurant offers an exceptional culinary experience. With an outstanding mix of products, contemporary techniques and Mexican flavors. Chef Casiano Reyes brings his style of "Spontaneous Cuisine" to Los Cabos. ECLECTIC, MINIMALIST, but yet COLORFUL Our Concept: No menu... No rules... Let "Casiano" surprise you or guide him with your favorite flavors. If you are looking for a complete experience, a five course menu will show you the best of Baja and a taste of what is the true essence of Mexican cuisine. Our Wines: No culinary experience will be complete with out its best partner... Wine. Casianos has a growing wine list that includes world wines along with some of the best Mexico has to offer. Designed to compliment the "spontaneous" style of cuisine the wine has been carefully chosen to fulfill this goal.
Chicago
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“Disappointing and expensive”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We were here 3 years ago and ate at Casianos twice that trip. We were looking forward to eating there again this trip- and seeing their new location. We were disappointed with our experience. We ordered the 3 course meal with wine pairings.
Food: We knew from past experience that would be plenty of food. It was too much food- mostly because everything came swimming in a gelatinous sauce, or perched upon a rich purée The "main course" was a tough piece of steak. It did not appear to be overcooked - so the toughness had to be poor quality.
Wine: I would not recommend doing this. The courses were tough to pair with a single wine- because the first two courses actually had 3 separate items with a range of flavors. you might as well just order a bottle of something you enjoy. Anyway- I was really irritated when the Cabernet they paired with the steak was Sutter Home. That is often served on airplanes in coach- and they sell it at Walgreens at home. I was not familiar with the other wines they served - but I was not enthused by any of them.
Cost: the food was $60 pp- which was reasonable IF the food was like it was last time. The wine pairing is also $60 per person which is a complete and total ripoff. I know wine is expensive here - but that is a joke. We were charged for two big bottles of water- $5 each. I didn't order water- my husband did- and he probably drank half a bottle. We should have complained but I was already getting a stomach ache and we just wanted to go.
Service: was very attentive.

When we got home last night my husband was ill. I am very sad that we had this experience- we were really looking forward to the evening.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Casianos R, Public Relations Manager at Casianos, responded to this review, March 16, 2013
Dear Guest:

We are very thankful about your comments in this review. First of all we offer you our most sincere apologies regarding this inconvenience and we want to let you know we are considering this observations for future services.

We would love to see you coming back on your next visit to Cabo. Your comments are really appreciated and they help us improve and make changes for the better. We have made recent changes in our wine list too.

Once again thank you and we look forward to seeing you soon!

Warm regards,

Casianos Restaurant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    142
    8
    13
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“A very special experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

We four chose the three course meal. Well, in fact, we had twelve courses! Each one was a surprise and each one special in its own way. Our waiter, Benjamin, and his team were wonderfully attentive without being intrusive. It really was fun not knowing what was coming next. The restaurant is out of the way at the base of the Alegranza resort (a wonderful place to stay by the way) and well worth the journey.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“5 course tasting menu”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

I dined here as part of a group of 7 on a Friday evening, and we all agreed the food was wonderful, and the service first class. We opted for the 5 course tasting menu, and found the food hard to fault. Not sure why we they gave us New York steak after a short rib cut, but the only criticism was the steak was a little overdone, when we had been informed it would be served medium-rare. There was an extensive wine list, but we opted for some enjoyable Mexican wines on the Chef's recommendation. This lovely restaurant is pricey but made for a memorable evening, and was well worth the trip into San Jose from our resort in Los Cabos.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A perfect experience (twice)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

We visited Casianos after finding ourselves in San Jose del Cabo for a few days over the New Year's holiday weekend, and managed to visit it twice during that time because of our experience the first time. While we originally found it via TripAdvisor, it was coincidentally the same restaurant some new "friends" we met on a a shuttle into town were recommending, but hadn't mentioned by name.

From start to finish, Casianos does an excellent job - down to taking our reservation via phone. Marta, Jose and the staff were more than helpful, providing us with five courses - plus an amuse bouche and beautiful dessert - over almost four hours. When it started raining on the patio, we were provided with the option to move inside, or to have a large umbrella cover our table, along with an outdoor heater -- we chose the latter, and weren't disappointed.

We are big fans of course-based offerings, and it's even more fun when you have just about zero idea what you're going to be greeted with. After letting the staff know about any allergies or food requirements, they head to the kitchen and the magic begins. Each of the "first" courses include two options, some of which included (over two meals) a duck empanada, various preparations of lobster, camarón, and beef. The overall paced was clearly polished, and quite precise. The attentiveness was truly unexpected, and the price was right. There are two offerings - $50 or $75 (USD) - for 3 or 5 tiempos, and when most "nice" dinners in San Jose or Cabo are in that vicinity without even trying, we were wowed.

A solid wine list that included Washington State, California, Spain, Mexico and South American options, a full bar and a "suburban" location make Casianos a fantastic option for anyone looking to have a beautifully prepared, great-tasting meal in San Jose (and beyond). We will absolutely be back, and will most certainly be recommending Casianos to our friends.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melrose, Florida
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
“A MUST-EAT-AT PLACE FOR FOODIES!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

My husband and I had dinner here on Thanksgiving Day. First of all, we got SO lost trying to find it, we finally called. The owner very kindly had Marta come and find us, so we were able to follow her to the restaurant. We never would have found it otherwise! Trip Advisor had the wrong (old) address, and Mapquest was totally incorrect in its directions.

The restaurant is in a very upscale neighborhood, and has a commanding view with a lovely outdoor patio, where our table was. The tables were very nicely set, and there was a bar right behind us- very convenient!

As we had just discovered bluberry basil vodka Mojitos that afternoon, we had several of those to start. Yummy!

They started out be asking if we had any food allergies or things we do or don't like. We found the "no set menu" idea very refreshing and interesting, as I have many foods that I cannot eat. The waiter and chef were very accommodating about this. We started with an Amuse bouche- a Parmesan crouton with garlic and tomato with fresh herbs on top. It was excellent!

Our first course was Scallops and capers with a delicious sauce , and lobster and corn with a different sauce and herbs. We love lobster and don't eat scallops very often, but that turned out to be both of our favorite dishes of the night! Sweet, succulent, and all of the flavors and textures came together unbelievably well!

Our second courses were some Red snapper w/ baby potatoes (It's not my favorite fish, but it was good), and Chicken w/ mashed potatoes and another sauce. Very good.

The third course was Flank steak with mashed potatoes. I was surprised that the waiter never asked how we like our steaks done, and he brought them cooked medium. I sent mine back, as I like my steak rare. It was not a problem. Once I got it cooked to my taste- it was very good.

I had Chocolate fondant with sweetened fresh raspberries for dessert. My husband had the fondant, as well as a little pumpkin pie topped with a mascarpone topping, and a side of tequila ice cream.

The meal was excellent, in very elegant and beautiful surroundings. Great service. We might go back there again tonight, now that we know how to get there!

Very highly recommended for foodies and people with dietary issues!

To get there, call for directions. We got their card with a tiny map on it. it's on Paseo Mar de Cortes, between Paseo Finisterra and Paseo de las Misiones, close to the hotel zone , not far from the Mega store. Phone: 52-624-142-5928.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Casianos also viewed

San Jose del Cabo, Los Cabos
San Jose del Cabo, Los Cabos
 
San Jose del Cabo, Los Cabos
San Jose del Cabo, Los Cabos
 

Been to Casianos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casianos, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.