We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So AMAZING Restaurant” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Market Jean-Georges Restaurant

Market Jean-Georges Restaurant
5 Cartera | One And Only Palmilla, San Jose del Cabo 23400, Mexico
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Market Jean-Georges Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Price range: $21 - $34
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Elegant
1 review
“So AMAZING Restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

Its the Best place in Cabo, with wonderfull Service and delicius food. Williams and The servers staff was increidible and all the sugestions like the foiegras with marshmallow and fresh pasión fruit, the grouper with the special chili ginger sauce and the most beautiful corn soufle with chipotle icecream. Thanks to every body was our aniversary and it value every single dollar. Absolutely we will return very soon.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    79
    25
    7
    7
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Blown away!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

My husband and I were in Los Cabos for a week and I could say we had the best dinning experience of our trip at Market. We were encouraged to go by friends who have been there the year before (told us in advance it would be a bit pricey) but totally worth it. And we agree. The ambiance is modern, yet comfortable, and the food just amazing. Every course was better than the previous one, and they definetely saved the best for last with the most amazing dessert I´ve ever had, a corn souffle with chipote ice cream. We would absolutely recommend it (the souffle is a MUST try as well!)

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Jean-Georges has left the house”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

I live in NYC, and eat at many JG restaurants here. This was very disappointing. Very expensive, poor quality, bad decor for a resort restaurant (it felt like Manhattan). Avoid unless you're staying at Palmilla and don't have a car or cab fare.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Just When We Thought Market Was back on its game”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

It disappointed us again. For a restaurant that boasts one of the most beautiful locations here in San Jose, and certainly one whose prices are astronomical, one would think that the food and service would be perfect. Regrettably it is not. We have been to the restaurant several times. Our first experience was bad. However, with a new chef and management of late, the restaurant had certainly improved. There is no doubt the food is quite good and for the most part well prepared. But last night we were let down. The service was dreadful. It took forever to get our wine and food and we had been seated for 45 minutes before our food arrived. The wine we ordered they told me they were out of. This seems strange as it was taken from the Sommelier's recomended list and one would have thought you would have plent of those on hand. A beef carpacio dish was bland and tasteless. The y did the right thing by not charging us for it as my wife had one taste of it and left the rest. We had to ask them to bring bread to the table. No one stopped by to ask how our meal was. We felt litle bit like we were out on an island and every once in a while someone would come to clear plates or deliver new ones.
There is not doubt that Jean Georges is a great chef. he now has 32 restaurants spread around the world and it is clear that the offerings among them are inconsistent. At a meal that typicaly runs $150 a head (that was our bill last night een with one dish being comped) one expects perfection. Sadly this was far from it.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond Hill, Canada
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Market-MM”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

Great Restaurant. It was beautifully appointed, and had a marvelous menu. I had the pate brulee - incredible. The service was also very good. We thoroughly enjoyed the meal.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Market Jean-Georges Restaurant also viewed

San Jose del Cabo, Los Cabos
San Jose del Cabo, Los Cabos
 
San Jose del Cabo, Los Cabos
San Jose del Cabo, Los Cabos
 

Been to Market Jean-Georges Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Market Jean-Georges Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.