We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Go for the food, enjoy the top notch service.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Market Jean-Georges Restaurant

Market Jean-Georges Restaurant
5 Cartera | One And Only Palmilla, San Jose del Cabo 23400, Mexico
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Market Jean-Georges Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Price range: $20 - $32
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Voorhees, New Jersey
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Go for the food, enjoy the top notch service.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

First class dining experience all the way. French/Asian/Mexican fusion fare served by an utra-attentive staff in a picturesque indoor or outdoor (pick outdoor) setting.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    81
    25
    7
    7
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
106 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“Enticing 7-course tasting menu that si sure to please!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

We last dined at Market 3 years ago. While we had a pleasant experience, we were underwhelmed by the entrees. Needless, this time around the dishes were incredible. It was a completely different experience from our last visit.

We enjoyed the 7-course tasting with wine pairing. The scrambled egg with caviar was one of the most creative and tastiest things I've ever eaten. I'm still fantasizing about each savory bite. I could only image how complicated it was to prepare such a delicate dish.

What we loved: the variety of food and flavors for each tasting. Chef Alex graciously welcomed us and other tables and asked us about our experience. The staff surprised my husband with a birthday cake (without me informing them). Staff was very courteous and accommodating.
What we disliked: the wine pairing did not always arrive prior to or with each course. At times it would arrive after a tasting was complete.

We would highly recommend dining at Market by Jean-Georges during your next visit to Cabo. I know we will!!!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago ,IL
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
159 helpful votes 159 helpful votes
“Outstanding Meal and service at Market J&G”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

On our recent trip in Cabo we had several excellent meals but Market J&G won out with the best food. The preparation and presentation was amazing. All four of our group agreed that the food was fresh, innovative and had amazing flavors. The service was also very good. We have been to market two times before and liked it but this was even better. We also enjoyed some very good Mexican wine that the knowledgeable sommelier assisted us with. Highly recommended for those who enjoy food and creative preparation.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Wa.
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Great once again”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

This was our 2nd time to the Market and it was just as good as the first time. Nice decor, kind of upscale NYC look. Service, Food were great. My wife and I both had the Chicken Parmesan which was delicious to say the least. They have a very nice wine list but very expensive because of the Mexican Duty on outside alcohol. Crowd is upscale and one of few places we have seen in Cabo where people actually dress up for dinner.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Incomparable.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

Probably the best meal one could ever have is dining at Jean Georges famed Market in the One and Only Palmilla Resort. There’s a reason they call this place the “one and only” and you have to experience it to see why. From the moment you enter the grounds to the minute you leave, you are pampered by the One and Only impeccable staff—of any role. Each encounter is accompanied by a gesture of gratitude—the hand over the heart—we think to signify the heartfelt delight they have while serving their guests. But then, there’s the meal. And the service. And the meal. And the service. (Yes, I said it twice).

If you want to truly experience Market, the appetizers (salmon Carpaccio or cucumber and berry gazpacho) set the mark for exquisitely and perfectly prepared entrees. Along with a generous house appetizer of white bean hummus, you are set up for the main course. Our local caught Cabrilla (Sea Bass) and Huanchinango (Red Snapper) was so fresh and delicious it seemed to gently linger and satisfy in every portion. It was like dining in slow motion. We were sad but fulfilled as our courses ended, but delighted in the chocolate cake (or, can you believe) house-made chipotle chocolate peanut butter cups) that provided the gentle reminder that you were dining where peppers are part of the culture de cuisine.

Market is one of the great dining experiences anywhere. Especially when the build-up of all the foodies claim “best of show” with the eclectic combinations of flavors and parts. Jean George and staff make a statement about the way flavor and basic ingredients create their own gravity in a world of weightlessness in trendy haute cuisine. Never miss an opportunity to experience this restaurant, the extraordinary service, and the simple elegance of fresh ingredients prepared with care. It is timeless excellence and elegance—the staff at the One and Only make it so.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Market Jean-Georges Restaurant also viewed

San Jose del Cabo, Los Cabos
San Jose del Cabo, Los Cabos
 
San Jose del Cabo, Los Cabos
San Jose del Cabo, Los Cabos
 

Been to Market Jean-Georges Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Market Jean-Georges Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.