We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Gem” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Meson Del Angel

Meson Del Angel
Zaragoza 222 E/ Degollado y Guerrero | Centro Historico, San Jose del Cabo 23400, Mexico
624-142-2828
Website
Improve this listing
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Columbus, Ohio
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A Gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

One of the best restaurants in San Jose for outstanding food and a very romantic setting in a semi-open courtyard with soft lighting. Alberto and the wait staff are so friendly and attentive.

Order a mojito to see the show Alberto puts on in its production; it is a double treat, the mojito is yummy and Alberto is a stitch. In addition, the full bar serves a good drink with a generous pour, and, the wine list while not extensive offers very good selections at reasonable prices.

Go there hungry because the food is wonderful. Diners are given an appetizer (on the house) of hot beans, salsa and tortilla chips. These beans take refried beans to another level; I don't know the secret, but they are addictive. For the main course I am particularly fond of the garlic shrimp and my husband's favorite is the lamb shank. The Meson prepares the best lamb shank in San Jose. However, other menu items are excellent as well, such as the octopus appetizer (order a double portion for an entree), chicken mole, pork chop and, if your are lucky, the daily fish special will be the snapper filet. The value here is exceptional.

We discovered Meson Del Angel in 2009 and have been loyal customers since. Currently the street construction on Zaragoza makes it more challenging to get to the restaurant, but persevere because it is worth the trip.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

335 reviews from our community

94% Recommend
    250
    66
    11
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great mojitos...not so great filet”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

Meson was recommended by our concierge. I also remembered seeing great reviews on Tripadvisor so we thought we'd go for it. The service was very good. We were welcomed by a friendly face and of course the charming line of "we've been waiting for you!" They make table-side mojitos and we went with the BBB which is made with fresh basil and blueberry. Not your typical and it was very refreshing; yummy. I ordered the surf and turf and my hubby ordered the filet. While you wait for your food they bring you salsa, chips, and bean dip. The bean dip was awesome. Our food took awhile to arrive, so when it finally did, our expectations were pretty high. The surf and turf comes with two shrimp which were good and I wished I had ordered just that because the steak, not so good. This was not filet quality meat. It was very fatty as if we had both received the ends of the tenderloin. I might have said something if it was just one of our steaks that were this way, but since both of our steaks were fatty, we decided to chalk it up. Steak also comes with veggies and mashed potatoes. Veggies were undercooked, but the mashed potatoes were very tasty.
It was just a little inconsistent so I'm rating it average.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“yummy drinks”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

Had a welcome dinner for our cabo wedding here. They were very accomodating to our needs. Drinks were good, the dining area is open air and very pretty. Can get a little chilly at night. Their food overall is good. The hyped chile en nogada was not my cup of tea tough. I don't like lukewarm creamy sauces over anything.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crofton, Maryland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Beautiful Atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

One of our waiters at our resort recommended Meson to us for dinner. We were more than happy we listened to him. The food was incredible. The staff made us feel very welcome and the atmosphere is beautiful, if you choose the open sky dining table area you are literally dining under the stars. Definitely try the lamb. Don't miss this place, it's worth the trip - a well hidden gem.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, British Columbia
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
137 helpful votes 137 helpful votes
“Birthday Dinner!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

We were in San Jose again in January. It happened to be my husband's birthday while we were there. There was no doubt in our minds where we wanted to go for his birthday dinner! There was 9 in our party. I reserved ahead. When we showed up for our reservation Alberto was outside waiting for us! The service was incredible! Everyone in our party couldn't stop raving about the service, the food & of course the blueberry basil mojitos! We had an obscene amount of those! As an appetizer we had the included chips with retried beans & salsa. We also ordered a couple orders of calamari. They even brought out a few orders of guacamole with chips on the house! For dinner, I had the Chipotle Shrimp & my husband had the Surf & Turf. Friends had the flank steak, chicken mole & fajitas to name a few. My husband was given a delicious chocolate cake for dessert complete with a birthday candle! Everyone even came out to sing Happy Birthday! Everything was beyond amazing & delicious! Thanks Meson del Angel for such an incredible experience & a memorable birthday for my husband! You have outdone yourself again! We can't wait to come back!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Meson Del Angel also viewed

San Jose del Cabo, Los Cabos
San Jose del Cabo, Los Cabos
 
San Jose del Cabo, Los Cabos
San Jose del Cabo, Los Cabos
 
San Jose del Cabo, Los Cabos
San Jose del Cabo, Los Cabos
 
San Jose del Cabo, Los Cabos
San Jose del Cabo, Los Cabos
 
San Jose del Cabo, Los Cabos

Been to Meson Del Angel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Meson Del Angel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.