We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“yummy drinks” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Meson Del Angel

Meson Del Angel
Zaragoza 222 E/ Degollado y Guerrero | Centro Historico, San Jose del Cabo 23400, Mexico
624-142-2828
Website
Improve this listing
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
San Francisco, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“yummy drinks”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

Had a welcome dinner for our cabo wedding here. They were very accomodating to our needs. Drinks were good, the dining area is open air and very pretty. Can get a little chilly at night. Their food overall is good. The hyped chile en nogada was not my cup of tea tough. I don't like lukewarm creamy sauces over anything.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

341 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    254
    67
    12
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Crofton, Maryland
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Beautiful Atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

One of our waiters at our resort recommended Meson to us for dinner. We were more than happy we listened to him. The food was incredible. The staff made us feel very welcome and the atmosphere is beautiful, if you choose the open sky dining table area you are literally dining under the stars. Definitely try the lamb. Don't miss this place, it's worth the trip - a well hidden gem.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, British Columbia
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
140 helpful votes 140 helpful votes
“Birthday Dinner!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

We were in San Jose again in January. It happened to be my husband's birthday while we were there. There was no doubt in our minds where we wanted to go for his birthday dinner! There was 9 in our party. I reserved ahead. When we showed up for our reservation Alberto was outside waiting for us! The service was incredible! Everyone in our party couldn't stop raving about the service, the food & of course the blueberry basil mojitos! We had an obscene amount of those! As an appetizer we had the included chips with retried beans & salsa. We also ordered a couple orders of calamari. They even brought out a few orders of guacamole with chips on the house! For dinner, I had the Chipotle Shrimp & my husband had the Surf & Turf. Friends had the flank steak, chicken mole & fajitas to name a few. My husband was given a delicious chocolate cake for dessert complete with a birthday candle! Everyone even came out to sing Happy Birthday! Everything was beyond amazing & delicious! Thanks Meson del Angel for such an incredible experience & a memorable birthday for my husband! You have outdone yourself again! We can't wait to come back!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“One of the best meals we have ever had!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

Everything about this meal was perfection. The mojitos made table side with fresh blueberries and lime juice were fantastic. I now understand what mole sauce is all about, it was amazing. We will make this a definite on every trip to Cabo!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange, California
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Nice atmosphere, great dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

We were told by a local that this was his favorite restaurant in San Jose del Cabo. We would have to put it as one of the top restaurants in town that we tried over our two week stay. Nice ambiance inside the open air dining courtyard. I ordered a chile nogado (this is not the stuffed chile that you would be familiar with back home in the states), which was an unbelievable fantastic meal! Apparently this is a meal that is prepared to celebrate one of their national holidays---I would highly recommend ordering it. The other three meals prepared for the balance of our party were also very well done. Someone in your group needs to order a mojito, they put on quite a show preparing it.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Meson Del Angel also viewed

San Jose del Cabo, Los Cabos
San Jose del Cabo, Los Cabos
 
San Jose del Cabo, Los Cabos
San Jose del Cabo, Los Cabos
 

Been to Meson Del Angel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Meson Del Angel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.