We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the 3 best in San Jose” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Meson Del Angel

Meson Del Angel
Zaragoza 222 E/ Degollado y Guerrero | Centro Historico, San Jose del Cabo 23400, Mexico
624-142-2828
Website
Improve this listing
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Las Vegas, Nevada
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“One of the 3 best in San Jose”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

Four of us went for dinner. Two of us have made 8 visits to San Jose, and this was our 4th visit to this restaurant. The most outstanding thing about this restaurant, I think, is the feeling of personal service. There were statues of angels and portraits of St. Michael at this "House of "On hull" as they pronounce "Angels." Alberto made our mojitos at tableside. When asked where he got the blueberries, he answered "Costco". Food began with chips and bean dip or salsa. Tortilla soup and calimari for appetizers; we liked both. We had chicken with mole sauce (good if you like chocolate), grilled flounder (excellent), and grilled marinated flank steak (outstanding). 2 tableside guitarists, one sang. A complementary slice of chocolate-strawberry cake to finish. They offered to call a taxi and hugged the ladies as we left. We visited with 2 other couples at 2 adjacent tables. Most of the restaurant was filled before we left at 8 p.m.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

339 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    253
    66
    12
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Seriously a place you can't miss”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

The first time I came here was around 3 years ago when the experience was absolutely fantastic. My family and I loved the service, food, AND especially their B&Bs (Blueberry and Basil mojitos). They make it front of you and it's a fantastic experience.

My family and I went back to Cabo in early December and we again went to this place; seriously, it's one of our favorite places in San Jose del Cabo. Not only were we greeted by the owner who recognized us right as we were getting out of the cab, but our dining experience was fabulous, the food was always splendid, AND we got another exquisite demo of the coffee flambee by a man named Ulysses. The food here is amazing, the service is amazing, everyone here is super friendly and nice, and overall, the experience is always memorable.

Try a double portion of the squid appetizer as your entree. It's something you can't miss. And don't forget about their B&Bs. You won't ever forget it, even after years of not having gone back to San Jose.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
“Not what we expected!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

We judge this restaurant by the great reviews and we woefully disappointed. This is not a " foodie" experience! A very sweet wait crew, but really, " blueberry Mojitos"? This was not even close to what my wife and I expected. We are from Ny and maybe our expectations we too high, but we did eat at several other places and we found the food to be much more authentic and inventive. It seems like there is a food scene going on in San Jose, just not at Meson Angel.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Great if you are a large group”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

There is plenty of room for a large group under the stars and the staff can handle a group well. Some of the meals in our large group were a little cool but they delivered them all at the same time. I love to drink white wine with dinner and chose a bottle of pinot grigio only to find they had one offer of pinot grigio and it was the more expensive bottle, and they refused to upgrade me. Considering we were a large group buying many drinks I thought it was a courtesy they should offer. We enjoyed outselves but we all agreed that although a good dinner, it was not our favorite in San Jose.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Qualicum Beach, Canada
Top Contributor
389 reviews 389 reviews
218 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 98 cities Reviews in 98 cities
158 helpful votes 158 helpful votes
“wow!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

our last night in san jose and art walk night, so we made reservations. we were seated outside, under the stars, 3 tables already occupied. impeccable service. i had a delicious snapper, my husband's enchiladas were good but a bit too much sauce. the blueberry mijoto preparation was terrific. we declined dessert and were given a complimentary small slab of a delicious chocolate dessert. a marvellous dining experience.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Meson Del Angel also viewed

San Jose del Cabo, Los Cabos
San Jose del Cabo, Los Cabos
 
San Jose del Cabo, Los Cabos
San Jose del Cabo, Los Cabos
 

Been to Meson Del Angel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Meson Del Angel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.