We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wow!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Meson Del Angel

Meson Del Angel
Zaragoza 222 E/ Degollado y Guerrero | Centro Historico, San Jose del Cabo 23400, Mexico
624-142-2828
Website
Improve this listing
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Qualicum Beach, Canada
Top Contributor
337 reviews 337 reviews
190 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 85 cities Reviews in 85 cities
135 helpful votes 135 helpful votes
“wow!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

our last night in san jose and art walk night, so we made reservations. we were seated outside, under the stars, 3 tables already occupied. impeccable service. i had a delicious snapper, my husband's enchiladas were good but a bit too much sauce. the blueberry mijoto preparation was terrific. we declined dessert and were given a complimentary small slab of a delicious chocolate dessert. a marvellous dining experience.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

335 reviews from our community

94% Recommend
    250
    66
    11
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
VANCOUVER
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Pleasant dinner experience in San Jose del Cabo”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

Charming Patron ,Headwaiter and staff.Simple but charming decor.Food good but not great.All in all a pleasant charming experience ,would definately return but would not be racing back.enjoy

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melrose, Florida
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Very good food and good service in San Jose”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

My husband and I ate here a few weeks ago. Parking was a little difficult, but th owner was very helpful in solving that problem.

The decor and ambiance in the restaurant were very nice. It had the typical mariachi band that was pretty good, and not too annoying if you said "no."

We had great drinks- a new concoction for us that we just discovered here, and very highly recommend. It is the blueberry basil vodka Mojito. The drinks were made at the tableside, which made for a nice presentation. I must warn you- they are so good, you can't drink just one! We have even made them a few times since returning home, they were that good!

I got the lamb shank and my husband got the pollo con mole. Both were delicious. We both had enough left over for lunch the next day- huge portions! Highly recommend this place when in San Jose del Cabo!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, BC
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
154 helpful votes 154 helpful votes
“Charming with interesting menu”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

Stopped here after a recent Gallery Walk (Thursday evenings in winter). We were treated very well by terrific staff. Not overly impressed with the cocktails prepared table side (you'll get tired of hearing the same spiel every time someone orders a drink). Guacamole is chunky and good. Skip the calamari. Fresh fish was good, mole was much too sweet for our taste. Try one of the old-fashioned specialties, like meat stuffed with all sorts of sweet and savory goodies and spices.
Not our favorite meal, but not our least favorite either. We liked the rustic indoor-outdoor set-up, and service was great.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Everything perfect!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

We loved everything about our visit to this restaurant. The atmosphere was wonderful, the staff and service 'over the top' and the food delicious. A true gem in San Jose! You have to try the blueberry mojito...I may have to go back to get another before I head home.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Meson Del Angel also viewed

San Jose del Cabo, Los Cabos
San Jose del Cabo, Los Cabos
 
San Jose del Cabo, Los Cabos
San Jose del Cabo, Los Cabos
 

Been to Meson Del Angel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Meson Del Angel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.