We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Voila! A nice surprise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Voila Bistro

Voila Bistro
1705 Comonfort | Plaza Paulina, San Jose del Cabo 23400, Mexico
+52 624 130 7569
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $25 - $65
Cuisines: French, Mexican, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Bar scene, Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine, Outdoor seating, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Description: Located in the heart of San Jose del Cabo's Historic Art District. Voila serves award winning Mexican cuisine with a French twist. Featuring our world famous lobster burrito, fresh catch of the day, steaks and more. Open for lunch and dinner, full bar, indoor and patio. Ongoing special events and live music Thursdays and Fridays
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Voila! A nice surprise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

This restaurant is not to be missed. Tucked away on a side street in the Art District, Voila! played at the highest levels through the entire meal. My wife and I dined under the stars surrounded by art and friendly, attentive waiters. We loved our meals so much that we returned a few evenings later and ordered the exact same items.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cabotip, Owner at Voila Bistro, responded to this review, February 2, 2013
We are happy that you and your wife enjoyed dining amongst the palm trees and under the stars, but especially that you liked Voila so much to come back again. That is the best compliment!!!
Muchas gracias.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

93% Recommend
    120
    25
    9
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle WA
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Lovely quiet - refreshing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

This resturant has great authentic food. The menu has fresh fish and lobster. The preparation was lovely, not over done and showed it favors guality over quanity.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cabotip, Owner at Voila Bistro, responded to this review, February 2, 2013
Muchas gracias!!!
Glad that you enjoyed you dining experience at Voilá.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Fabulous meal and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

Beautiful atmosphere, service and amazing cuisine. Not a taco / burrito place. Upscale food with outside or indoor dining options in a quiet courtyard. Friendly and attentive wait staff

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cabotip, Owner at Voila Bistro, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Thak you for you visit and taking the time to write about your experience. We greatly appreciate it.
Hope to serve you once againg in the near future when you visit Cabo!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“fantastic service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

You know the feeling when you go into a restaurant and you are the only one there--even at 7pm--you sort of get worried. Our first evening in Cabo going out was at Voila Bistro and we were concerned when we were the only group at the restaurant but those concerns were quickly forgotten when the wait staff and bar man provided incredible service and suggestions for ordering. The food was fantastic and the service continued to be excellent as well and a few more diners showed up as well. The street is under construction in front of the restaurant which must be hurting business but we would return (and almost did) in an instant. Given the construction it would have been difficult to get a taxi, but the restaurant not only called us a taxi but also walked us out to the back of the restaurant where the taxi was waiting. Great experience.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cabotip, Owner at Voila Bistro, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Hola,
Thank you so much for your visit and for taking some time in writting the review. Needless to say, the street work did impact us greatly, but the work is all done now, and we are just about into the full swing. The streets are just beautiful with the cobblestone, very colonial Mexican, and with all the art galleries now open, the feel in the art disitrict is just wonderful.
We are also glad that you enjoyed dinner and had a wonderful experience. Hasta la vista!!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Surreal Experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013 via mobile

Not sure if it was the magical feeling of this lovely town at night but when we walked into this beautiful restaurant we were blown away. The ambiance of the place is that of an artist gallery. Bricks & palm trees around, tables both inside & outside & absolutely beautiful.

We started off with margaritas which came in huge glasses & tasted perfect. Looked around at others plates & realised that the portions were huge so we didn't have starters, but did share their Caesar salads. The main dishes were delicious, very interesting & lots of fresh seafood.

Everything was more than satisfactory. We were delighted. Couldn't manage desserts as we were so satisfied.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cabotip, Owner at Voila Bistro, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Hola,
What an honor that you visited Cabo and Voila all the way from down under!!!!
And to top it off what a nice review....muchas gracias.....
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Voila Bistro also viewed

San Jose del Cabo, Los Cabos
San Jose del Cabo, Los Cabos
 
San Jose del Cabo, Los Cabos
San Jose del Cabo, Los Cabos
 

Been to Voila Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Voila Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.