We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Many Disappointments This Time” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Dorada Los Cabos

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Casa Dorada Los Cabos to your Saves list
Casa Dorada Los Cabos
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   Av. Pescador S/N | Col. El Médano, Cabo San Lucas 23410, Mexico   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Complimentary bottle of wine
Ranked #16 of 68 Hotels in Cabo San Lucas
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Calaveras County
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Many Disappointments This Time”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2010

We have enjoyed this place in the past and certainly the staff at the poolside bar and restaurant is amongst the top in the world. The rest of the story was a bit sad. First off it took them 15 minutes to find our reservation after immediately telling us that it couldn't be found in the system. This is not the first time that's happened. Our room assignment was pathetic given we had made the reservation 9 months in advance. The first morning the hot water in the shower was tepid at best even when turned all the way to hot. The water in the pool was warmer. I think they must turn the boiler off at night and fire it back up again at 8:00

I try to keep track of my business via the internet and this time the wireless connection was spotty at best and most of the time impractical to do what I needed to do. A conversation with the GM was somewhat meaningless as he told me they were about to fix the problem and that my next stay would be much better. (If there is one). My wife had to pay for the hardwired connection in their "business center" but at least she could get her email read in less than 45 minutes.

I'd still recommend staying here, but you should get a deal, because it's not quite worth what we have been paying.

It was nice to see it full this time during spring break.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheManagement01, General Manager at Casa Dorada Los Cabos, responded to this review, April 19, 2010
Dear DMenscha,

I thank you for your continued preference and for the wonderful comments on our staff and the pool-sice service.

Nevertheless, I am sorry to read that not all aspects of your stay were as should be expected of a luxury resort and I apologize for the shortcomings.

Let me assure you that we do not turn off our boilers at night, as it would hamper on everybody’s vacation and hot water should be available 24/7… that is a minimum expectation on any hotel, regardless of quality of service. I have shared this information with our Director of Maintenance and we will follow-up on this issue for your particular room.

I am sorry that you perceived our conversation as meaningless, as I had a different impression based on your positive comments and observations during it. Let me assure you that we are currently working in a solution to the low wireless internet signal on some of our rooms and it will be implemented shortly.

We thank your comments and I again apologize for the issues that you faced in this stay.

Regards,

Victor Gomez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,245 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    796
    282
    89
    39
    39
See reviews for
321
571
19
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (372)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2010

We really enjoyed our time there, having said that we got sucked into a timeshare roll and it took 5 hours of our 4 day vacation. RUN don't walk from the "friendly" lobby folk. If you do get sucked in and give up $20 deposit.... let it go because there was no special deal worth wasting precious time.
Upside the pool conceirge Paco was awesome.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2010

We were so excited to stay here and had high expectations ~ Casa Dorada completely exceeded them. We were greeted by a friendly staff at the desk and upgraded from the 'web special' room to an amazing one bedroom suite on the ground floor over looking the beach. It was fantastic!! I can not wait to go back. I have been to Cabo numerous times and won't even consider staying anywhere else : )

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Idaho
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2010

I booked travel thru Casa Dorada's booker GBS - I made the reservation in Oct. 2009. I book a Jr. Suite as three of us a sharing a room. (DON'T GO THRU THEM IF POSSIBLE !) The plan is to go shopping for breakfast & lunch and then eat dinner out each night. They took my money but would never send me a confirmation. I called every week and was told it was coming. Finally 2 days before my trip Feb. 10th The confirmation is Faxed to me. I'm ready for this vacation! The travel was great! US Airways from Boise to Phoenix then Phoenix to Los Cabos. I meet up with my friends at the airport and our driver is there to meet us Arturo who owns (TRANSLOBO) is wonderful book with him for sure translobo@gmail.com. We arrive at the hotel and go to check-in. My turn comes and I am asked to wait while the girl comes from around the desk and askes me to come with her. I am lead outside to a near by patio with chairs and asked to sit down.. Finally after some small talk I am told that GBS did not send my reservation until 2 days ago and there is no room for me at Casa Dorada! She just sits and watches my reacation!!! I say " So what are you going to do? I have already paid! She says they are going to put us up at their sister hotel next door. I'm not happy as I am here with a group of 6 friends. We were hoping to have suites next to eachother or at least close... I kept insisting that this is not good but they don't seem to care about my situation and just keep checking in other people around me.. I have finally had enough and ask them to at least pay for the taxi to get our luggage to the other hotel... Which after much discussion they do... Like it's my fault I'm going next door. We get to the hotel and yes it's also nice but the room is just a hotel room Not a suite with a kitchen...AND NO ROOM FOR 3 ADULTS WHO ARE NOT WANTING TO SLEEP IN THE SAME BED! I again go back to complain. Granted I am on vacation and do not want to let this ruin my stay so finally I get them to at least comp us breakfast for the 7 days... My friend who owns the timesahre at Casa Dorada is very upset since she invited us to all come and stay. I can say she told every person from the maid to one of the owners our troubles for the whole 7 days and everyone just smiled and said Sorry... I tried not to let it ruin my trip and I made the best of it but what a let down to have to deal with this when you paid and no one cares if you are pushed aside... We had decided not to go back to Casa Dorada. After all there are 1000's of other vacation destinations to visit...

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2010

We were fortunate enough to enjoy a friend's timeshare at Casa Dorada. The views from the rooms were breathtaking, especially the sunrises. The grounds were always clean as well as our room. The pools were orderly and clean as well. Suggest that you devise a plan to reserve chair/cabanas by the pool, as they go quickly. The staff monitor unoccupied reserved chairs. If they are empty for 30 minutes, the staff will remove your belongings. Understand the policy, though a bit frustrating. The staff was gracious overall.

The sales"force" for the timeshares were alittle irritating, though nothing different from other places that we have traveled to.

The kids club didn't seem fully utilized. I tried to take my 3 1/2 year old son there and they told me that they had to be atleast 4. Fortunately, my son befriended another boy, to which they occupied themselves. The other families vacationing at Casa Dorada were friendly as well.

Hope to travel back to Casa Dorada in the future.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2010

Our stay was delayed by a day due to weather, the staff was very helpful in adjusting the days of our stay. We received a free up grade to a one bed room suite and it was absolutely beautiful. The staff was very attentive and friendly. The location couldn't be better. Walking distance to town and the marina. The 12 tribes restuarant was awesome and beautiful at night. Room service was also very good. Loved the free 5 minute massages by the pool during the day. The grounds were spotless and so comfortable. I can't think of one complaint.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, MI
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2010

Our group consisted of three adult couples, all well traveled in the U.S., Canada and Mexico. Casa Dorada Resort at Medano Beach is right in the heart of it all, and is by far the best resort and vacation destination we've ever stayed. Not one of the six of us can wait to get back there again for next year's vacation. The resort has every amenity you could imagine, the cleanliness of this gorgeous new resort is unbelievable, each room is totally private with it's own balconies (there were 2 in our 1-bedroom condo), and an OCEAN VIEW TO DIE FOR (National Geographic'ish), a nice-sized kitchen with granite countertops, full-sized fridge, fully-equipped kitchen, our condo had two flat-screen TVs, and the jacuzzi and gorgeous spa-like bedding and beautiful tile everywhere made us feel like royalty. They have a terrific fully-equipped gym, and the spa is absolutely unbelievable. When we'd wake up in the morning, we could look out one of our two balconies to see the breathtaking view of The Arch, the sunny, blue sky, and where the Pacific Ocean and Sea of Cortez come together... and we saw whales! and sea turtles! and sea lions! and pelicans! and it was FAB! We never needed a car, because everything is within walking distance. You can either mosey down to the beach to go for a walk or go swimming (Medano Beach is one of the rare places in Cabo that you can safely swim), and go to any of the bars or restaurants on the beach, and you can buy whatever your heart desires from the vendors who walk the beach, grab a water taxi over to Lover's Beach, zip around on a jet ski, go parasailing, or whatever you want. And if you don't want to do a thing, you can quietly and peacefully sit at the pool or beach and read or snooze all doggone day, and a very nice staff member is always happy to refresh your cocktail or bring your lunch. If you want to go into town, it's about a 10 minute walk over to the marina and see all the bizillion dollar yachts, and do some great shopping and eating along the way. You can also swim-with-the-dolphins over alongside the marina, or you can just go in and watch others do it. There is a fun nightlife at Cabo Wabo, El Squid Roe and Giggling Marlin (and many other places), and great restaurants such as The Office (which also has excellent food and is right on the beach next to the resort), Ediths is also next door to the resort, and many others. We also went zip-lining in the canyon-awesome experience! We also did the sunset dinner cruise, pirates booze cruise, marlin fishing, whale watching, and each one of these activities was a blast. All of the restaurants are superb, and also very affordable. We ate like royalty, but didn't gain any tonnage because we had so much fun walking around. Honestly, it is true paradise. There is something for everyone. You can go out and have the adventure of your life, or just sit back and relax. The pools at Casa Dorada at Medano Beach are spectacular - and at night they even have little lights in the bottom of the pool that look like the stars are sparkling - verrry dreamy. There are two large firepits adjacent to the pool that have soft and relaxing seating around them. The pool temperature is perfect, and there is a huge swim up bar. There are very luxurious lounges sounding the pool, and umbrellas to protect you from the sun or shade your eyes while you sleep or read, and there are also large "cabanna-type" enclosures that are covered with a canopy in case you want to just take a snooze with no one bothering you. The golf courses look wonderful, but we're not golfers, so we didn't go. The weather was always perfect - just the right balance of heat, humidity and ocean breezes to make you feel refreshed. If only we didn't have the reality of jobs, family , friends and pets back home, we'd live there. If I were to describe the perfect vacation, this would be it.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Casa Dorada Los Cabos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Dorada Los Cabos

Address: Av. Pescador S/N | Col. El Médano, Cabo San Lucas 23410, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > Cabo San Lucas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#11 Business Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#13 Luxury Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#13 Romantic Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#19 Family Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Casa Dorada Los Cabos 4.5*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With an incomparable location on Medano Beach -- the best swimmable beach of Cabo, Casa Dorada is just steps away from world-class shopping, dining, entertainment, and the marina. As a member of Preferred Hotels & Resorts, a collection of the world’s finest independent luxury hotels, Casa Dorada Los Cabos brings the upscale service and family-friendly features to the Cabo San Lucas oceanfront. The Resort grants visitors a more convenient, yet equally spectacular, alternative to the more remote hotel zone of the Tourist Corridor. Boasting unobstructed vistas of Land’s End and the famous Arch, Casa Dorada is just 30 minutes away from Los Cabos International Airport. All of the 185 spacious one-, two- and three-bedroom suites and penthouses, open up to Los Cabos’ most dazzling ocean view, while the luminous and contemporary interiors ensure your comfort and satisfaction. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TravelClick, Cheap Tickets, Amex, BookIt.com, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Casa Dorada Los Cabos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Dorada Los Cabos Hotel Cabo San Lucas
Casa Dorada Los Cabos Resort
Casa Dorada Los Cabos Cabo San Lucas

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa Dorada Los Cabos, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.