We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Casa Dorada at Medano Beach is exceptional!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Dorada Los Cabos

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Casa Dorada Los Cabos to your Saves list
Casa Dorada Los Cabos
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   Av. Pescador S/N | Col. El Médano, Cabo San Lucas 23410, Mexico   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Complimentary bottle of wine
Ranked #16 of 68 Hotels in Cabo San Lucas
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Seattle
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Casa Dorada at Medano Beach is exceptional!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2009

This resort opened only a few years ago and this was our first visit. It's located right on the beach, behind the Mango Deck and the Office, convenient to a range of restaurants and every kind of water activity you can imagine. But who wants to leave the resort? Great two-pool system and a hot tub. Swim-up bar. Plush cushioned lounges, even double-sized with curtains for privacy if you wish. Wonderful hammocks in curtained gazebos where you can doze or read while enjoying the breeze. Very nice workout area and spa -- but the best were the 15-minute complimentary neck and shoulder massages around the pool. And the chilled towels that were served around the pool in the heat of the afternoon. And gorgeous, spacious rooms. Large verandas with lounges, and the best view of the Arch. The only downside -- and well offset by all the positives -- was the party noise from the Mango Deck in the evenings, for those who weren't twenty-somethings. But it didn't go on until the wee hours, and you could escape it in your room with the door closed and a/c on. Again, not a big deal in comparison to all the good stuff -- and if you ARE twenty-something, it's actually a good thing! Can't wait for my next visit.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,248 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    798
    282
    90
    39
    39
See reviews for
321
572
19
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (373)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
t-deannd
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2009

I was stressed out and definitely in need of a vacation that would help me unplug and relax. Casa Dorada and Cabo San Lucas fit the bill perfectly. The property is beautiful and the location can't be beat. Our room on the fifth floor overlooked the pool and the beach. The view was spectacular as we could see land's end and lover's beach along with the parade of fishing boats leaving the harbor early each morning. Casa Dorada sits just off the beach with easy access through a secure gate.
The room was spacious, immaculate and comfortable. Super-comfy beds and plenty of storage space in the bedrooms. The only problem we had was a very slow drain in our bathtub that did not seem to get corrected even though we did let them know.
The pool area is fabulous with attentive service, delicious food and drink and plentiful and well appointed lounge furniture. Paco, the pool concierge was always available to answer any questions or offer a suggestion for dining. His hospitality helped to make our stay special. Make sure to take a look at the pool area in the evening as there is a special surprise when you view it from above--thousands of tiny twinkling lights that appear to come from under the water. Paco told me that it is all due to the magic of fiber optics! Don't miss the opportunity to enjoy the fireside in the evening or try out one of the comfy hammocks with your sweetie!
One of the highlights of my stay was a massage on the beach. My massage therapist was Elma and she was fantastic. This was a better massage than what I have been recieving in the states. It was super-relaxing and a nice treat! Massage therapists also visit the pool area in the afternoon to offer complimentary mini massages if you aren't able to book a massage during your stay.
All of the staff at Casa Dorada were fantastic and I felt pampered and taken care of all week long. I would definitely recommend it if you are considering Cabo San Lucas as your destination.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
los angeles, ca
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2009

It was our first time in Cabo Thanksgiving weekend and we had a wonderful time! We did not do any of the timeshare meetings. When we booked the hotel we received free breakfast and 30% off Wild Canyon advetures. If you dont want to do the timeshare meeting but do want to book some activites call the concierge and book with them or book the tour directly threw the company. I highly recommed the Zip Lines it does take a bit of hiking but we had a lot of fun!!! We also took a sunset cruise on Le Paz Gato -2 hr booze cruise $30 pp all you can drink. We rented jet skiis at a place right on the beach not the hotel bc they want you to do the timeshare thing.
We had a one bedroom suite and it was great! very clean plenty of room and wonderful belcony. The pool area was very clean and chairs were always available, pool side service was fast and drinks were 2 for 1 all day. Food was really good and not to pricey. The hotel wait staff was very friendly and wanted to make you happy. As for the front desk and activities desk...agh.. they were a bit annoying about the timeshare. We loved to location very close to the marina and easy access to other hotels. We ate lunch next store at The office, it was very busy but they turned tables quick. Order the fish tacos -made with seabass- they are amazing!!!! We loved our stay and now that we know where things are we cant wait to go back. I would like to check out the hotels on the Pacific side, but Casa Dorada was a great place to stay location wise, its a beautiful hotel and great beach area!!!

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2009

Having read recent months' reviews stating construction concerns at this resort, we were relieved to find it w/o any work going on during our week long stay there in November.

Location
Casa Dorada is in a location that's great if you want to walk to Cabo's shops and restaurants. It is literally 10 minutes walk to the Marina. We found it very convenient for strolling to different dining and drinking spots in the evening. It is a very bustling part of the beach though. During the day and well into the late evening, you might hear lots of noise from the Mango Deck on the beach. Sometimes there is an event at Casa Dorada that will result in loud music playing into the night. Several times a week, there are 1-3 cruise ships docked outside the Marina, obstructing the view of the Land's end. Lots of water taxis and jets skis and all that on the water. Music by the pool. So it's...lively. But it didn't bother us too much. However, if you want a total relaxation w/o any noise, this is not a place for you.

Rooms
We stayed in a high floor 1 bedroom suite facing south-west. This side of the building gets the most light and the longest direct sun exposure. During our stay there the sunset was at 5:30pm, but because of the mountains to the west of Cabo, the sun would hide behind them earlier. So having direct sun on the balcony in the late afternoon, while the pools were almost entirely in the shade at that point, was nice. Our windows and balconies looked out on the Land's End area (not the actual rock) ,the hillside of Cabo, the beach and some Marina. Not much open ocean view, so if you want that, make sure to request rooms in the center or north-facing (little direct sunlight) side. Suite itself was VERY spacious and nice, with all the amenities mentioned on the websites. It was kept very clean by the housekeeping. Coffee in the room for the coffee maker is NOT free. Instead of dipping into expensive mini-bar water, etc, go across the street to one of the two convenience stores and get it there.

Pools/beach
Two pools: heated(slightly) and cold water. The latter is the lower pool and I've noticed some cheaping tiles in it so I guess that's the one that's going to go under construction at some point in the near future. The pools were great. Never too crowded. Plenty of chairs around. Same problem as at all other resorts I've been to: people throwing towels to 'reserve' 'their' chairs at the crack of dawn. Still, you can always find chairs and the staff is helpful in moving umbrellas and what not. We haven't used the beach but we've walked on it and through it to go to the Office or Mango Deck or to take water taxis and it looked clean and nice. There is a small area that's Casa Dorada's but the beach itself is public and free to all vendors, etc. And it is a busy, but swimmable beach.

Restaurants/bars
We have not dined at the restaurant for dinner because it was more expensive and not as fun as going to one of MANY restaurants in Cabo w/in walking distance of the hotel. For breakfast we would usually go to the Office on the beach or eat in the room on the beautiful, large balcony.

Spa
Spa looks really nice and the facilities are free of charge (including gym) to hotel guests. Services, however, are extremely expensive. The prices must have kept their business really slow because twice when we were in the pool area in the late afternoon, the spa staff were walking around handing out flyers that were essentially something like '50% off if booked in next hour for the same afternoon for most spa services'. Even with that the services were not a huge deal.

Other
One major complaint we have about Casa Dorada is the situation with transport to the airport. They dont' allow shared shuttles, only taxis, which are unionized and cost an arm and leg ($65 US one way) , unless you find people to share it with (where min per person is $16 US). We didn't, so we had to pay the full amount.

Overall, Casa Dorada is a modern looking, beautiful place in a rather busy swimmable beach location, with excellent walking access to the Marina in Cabo and all the shops and restaurants there. The staff work hard to make your stay pleasant. The guest crowd is very mixed, but mainly multi-generational families. There was lots of timeshare marketing going on, but it did not take away from our enjoyment of the place. We would go back.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
canada,calgary
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2009

We just came back from a week long holiday. I have 4 boys, ranging in ages, and the hotel was suited for us all. They loved the pools, the painting, and especially the ping pong table!!! We all loved Hectar, who worked poolside, and made my kids laugh. The waitress, Alieda, was amazing! She would always come to us and make sure we were taken care of.
I love a hotel that is not huge, and this one was the perfect size for us. I could always see where my kids were, and never worried. The location is perfect!!! We could walk anywhere and the beach was super close.
The Twelve Tribes, restaurant, was very good! I loved the morning buffet, I would grab breakfast and bring it back to the room. The swimup bar, was fun, and the food ok. The kids liked it more than I did.
Our room, was a 2 bedroom suite, which was pricey, but with 4 kids, I usually need two rooms anyway, so this was much better. It was HUGE! So much room, 3 patios, nice big kitchen, and living room. Master bedroom was so nice! Lots of space for clothing etc.
The beds were also great, noone complained!
Here is the one biggest complaint..... THE BAR NOISE. It wasnt every night, but nearing the weekend, it was LOUD... and until 1-2 Am... Yes you can shut your balcony doors, but its still a wee bit noisy... One more thing, dont walk around your rooms without sandals or slippers, or your feet will be black... They dont wash the floors well......
If you are looking for a young place to party, this isnt for you. This place was more middle aged and older.
Overall I rate this a 5 star.... and recommend it!
P.S make sure you go to Edith's restaurant, so so so good. Pricey yes, but worth it!

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelowna, Canada
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2009

Just got back from Casa Dorado and wanted to let everyone know that I think that it is just a great place. The location is perfect and the views of the bay are just magnificent. The housekeeping staff are wonderful; the pool area is very clean....the big pool has been worked on and is finished but the smaller pool will need some work on it as some of the tiles are coming up but,it seems that they've stopped work for now. Whether it was because of all the complaints that they've decided to put it off for now ...I'm not sure. But they were not working on it while we were there. The Bar area gets a little noisy at night but if you close your balcony door and put the a/c on low it pretty well blocks it out. There are a few employees that I would like to mention as they certainly made our vacation a fun time. Firstly, the pool concierges, both Paco and Oswaldo assisted us with all the reservations and town information that we needed. As well, Paco gave us our daily Spanish words to learn (which was a hoot) and Hector with his contagious smile just made it a pleasure to go to the pool everyday. Yvonne and Joenny have to be mentioned for their great poolside massages and Aleida (not sure of spelling) but the waitress from the pool bar is just soooo cheerful and nice that "happy hour" was worth waiting for. The only bad thing I have to say about our whole experience is that the time share people are a bit too aggressive.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2009

Casa Dorada Medano Beach, on a scale from 1-10 is a perfect 10. This was our second stay and everyone remembered us. The welcome back was phenomenal. The resort is small in comparison to some of the other giant hotels in Cabo. Because of the size you get to know many of the hotel's staff who are so warm, friendly and willing to please. You don't have to walk a mile to be at the pool or on the beach like many of the hotels in Cabo that we have seen.The rooms are all gorgeous (beautiful kitchen, great beds, flat screen TVs, great showers) with stunning views of Medano Beach and the famous rock formations. The resort was spotless and the housekeeping service (which was twice a day) was wonderful. The pool area was beautiful and only steps away from the beach.... which is the most swimmable beach in Cabo. A water taxi to Lover's Beach was only a short few minutes away.
Location, location, location!!! We were able to walk to town and the marina every night and have fabulous dinners in the many restaurants that Cabo offers. It was nice not to have to take a taxi every time you wanted to go out in the evening. The taxi's in Cabo like to charge different fares for the same locations...be careful and always ask what the fare is first.
Casa Dorada is a resort that I will be returning to EVERY YEAR!

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Casa Dorada Los Cabos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Dorada Los Cabos

Address: Av. Pescador S/N | Col. El Médano, Cabo San Lucas 23410, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > Cabo San Lucas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#11 Business Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#13 Luxury Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#14 Romantic Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#19 Family Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Casa Dorada Los Cabos 4.5*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With an incomparable location on Medano Beach -- the best swimmable beach of Cabo, Casa Dorada is just steps away from world-class shopping, dining, entertainment, and the marina. As a member of Preferred Hotels & Resorts, a collection of the world’s finest independent luxury hotels, Casa Dorada Los Cabos brings the upscale service and family-friendly features to the Cabo San Lucas oceanfront. The Resort grants visitors a more convenient, yet equally spectacular, alternative to the more remote hotel zone of the Tourist Corridor. Boasting unobstructed vistas of Land’s End and the famous Arch, Casa Dorada is just 30 minutes away from Los Cabos International Airport. All of the 185 spacious one-, two- and three-bedroom suites and penthouses, open up to Los Cabos’ most dazzling ocean view, while the luminous and contemporary interiors ensure your comfort and satisfaction. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TravelClick, Cheap Tickets, Amex, BookIt.com, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Casa Dorada Los Cabos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Dorada Los Cabos Hotel Cabo San Lucas
Casa Dorada Los Cabos Resort
Casa Dorada Los Cabos Cabo San Lucas

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa Dorada Los Cabos, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.