We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Trip!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Dorada Los Cabos

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Casa Dorada Los Cabos to your Saves list
Casa Dorada Los Cabos
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   Av. Pescador S/N | Col. El Médano, Cabo San Lucas 23410, Mexico   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Complimentary bottle of wine
Ranked #14 of 67 Hotels in Cabo San Lucas
Florida
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Amazing Trip!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2009

This review is coming a little late but I wanted to make sure we posted a review since we had such a great time as Casa Dorada. This was our third trip to Cabo but first time at Casa Dorada. We stayed the first week of July and will make this hotel our first choice on future trips. The grounds are kept spotless, the pool was very relaxing, and the spa treatments (tequila massages) were excellent. We loved the location and were able to walk to town and even to catch a boat for an early morning fishing trip. We stayed in a beautiful one bedroom suite with fully equipped kitchen, dining area, living room, and amazing balcony. The food and service at the pool was great and although we didn't participate there was even festivities set up for the 4th of July. We also went to the onsite restaurant 12 Tribes which had a fabulous ocean view. Our other restaurant recommendations include La Fonda (Authentic Mexican food), Alcaravea Gourment (wonderul seafood - hidden gem), and Salvatores (Italian - yummy homemade lasagna!). We hope to come back in January and bring friends!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,187 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    764
    267
    84
    37
    35
See reviews for
302
547
18
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (343)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2009

This was our first time visiting Casa Dorada at Medano Beach in Cabo San Lucas. The facilities were beautiful, clean and spacious. The staff were extremely helpful and courteous and the food, when we ate at the hotel, was delicious. The hotel is situated in the center of Medano beach and our view of the sea was very memorable. Starting in the morning, my husband and I took advantage of the well equipped fitness facility, then followed by time around the two pools. One pool is heated and the other is cold for a very refreshing dip. We all went back and forth between pools. The beach sand is nice and we all loved taking dips into the sea, plus the kids loved to build sand structures. Of course everyone has to put up with the travelling beach merchants, but if you have ever been to Mexico, it is just part of the Mexican experience. That being said, the hotel has a cordoned section of the beach next to the hotel, where you are left alone. We used the spa and treated ourselves to a massage. Heaven... I liked the location of Casa Dorada, because there are so many great restaurants in the area and we certainly felt very safe to walk to all of them. We ended the day by either hanging out on the spacious balcony (we had the 2 bedroom, that comes with 3 balconies), or sitting by the fire pits overlooking the sea.

The only thing I did not like was the noise from the beach bars, as it was spring break for many college students, but they all seemed to shut down by early evening and we could enjoy peaceful evenings.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2009

I cannot say enough good things about Casa Dorada. The service was perfect, the location could not be better and everyone was very friendly. The staff really went the extra mile to make sure that we did not have to worry about anything during the wedding. Our entire family had the best time. It is a very classy place. After visiting a few other hotels in the areas, I can say that Casa Dorada is the best. Thank you Casa Dorada!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2009

The hotel has been open for a little over a year and needs a new pool because all of the tiles are coming off the pool. Which makes me wonder about the construction quality of the overall hotel. We arrived on September 4, 2009 and had 4 days of both pools being open. They included in their daily letter the night before saying that one of the two pools was closing tomorrow Sept 8 for construction. The pool that they closed was the nicer pool with the swim up bar. The construction included extensive jackhammering which made it difficult to sit at the other pool and really took away from the hotel. Additionally, the noise was very loud during the day so it could be heard from our balcony which made it difficult to utilize our room during the day. While they tried to be make everyone happy they probably should have told us when we arrived instead of the night before. I would suggest avoiding this hotel for some time as they will need to do over the second pool after the first one is complete.
It should be noted after the pools are completed it should once again become a nice hotel until they decide to do more unexpected construction. The location is very nice but not having pool construction takes away from the location.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheManagement01, General Manager at Casa Dorada Los Cabos, responded to this review, September 15, 2009
Dear traveler5553

I am truly sorry that your experience at Casa Dorada was negatively impacted by the remodeling of one of our pools. As you could ascertain during your stay and as some reviewers had previously mentioned in this and other forums, it was quite evident that we needed to do these works at the earliest and I am convinced that the final outcome will be very much appreciated by both our frequent customers as by our future guests. During these challenging times, Casa Dorada is investing over US$150,000 to correct this construction flaw and taking the opportunity to upgrade the pool finish to PebbleTec, with no other objective in mind than to provide the best possible facilities and services in Cabo San Lucas.

I am glad to inform you that the works at hand are progressing ahead of schedule and the first phase of our pool renovation will be finished by the first days of October; at this time, both pools will be open as usual.

Nevertheless, I am sorry to read that we deserved such a low score for upgrading our facilities. I apologize if the information was not provided at check-in, yet we are doing our utmost to offer the best possible service and attention under the present circumstances. Do not hesitate to contact me directly or our Guest Services Manager, in order to address your issues and correct the image that you might have from Casa Dorada.

Best regards,

Victor Gomez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norristown, PA
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2009

We spent our honeymoon in Cabo and fell in love with the Casa Dorada and even bought a time share here! It was incredible everything was golden! The food, the employees, amenities, locations, activities there, and the rooms!!! Looking forward to going back there for the next 30 years!!!

  • Stayed August 2009
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2009

The upper pool is closed while they jackhammer out all of the tiles. It is not possible to sit outside without the constant piercing noise of the jackhammer.

I was expecially annoyed that I was given just 12 hours notice of the work. I would expect the project to continue for a couple of months.

I would not stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheyenne
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2009

We stayed at Casa Dorada on the beach in Cabo for a week. They upgraded us to a suite and staff were very friendly and service was supuerb.

We were there during the hurrincane, Jimema, and rode out the storm which passed about 180 miles off shore, so we only had a bit of wind and rain.

The hotel is withing easy walking distance of everywhere, but, mostly we spent our time on the beach and at Mango's Deck.

We would recomend this hotel and give is a A++++.

The timeshare sales pitch, was "Would you like a free breakfast ?" which we said no to as we knew there was a catch - like having to go for the timeshare presentation - which we did not want to do.

There are many vendors selling stuff on the beach, but, if we sat at the back of Mangos - on the beach - then we were "out of range" from the constant stream of vendors selling everything from Cuban Habano's, T-shirts, silver (or tin) jewelry, beach wear, mangos, hats, sunglasses etc.

The main street in Cabo is torn up and undergoing major repair, so walking about was a bit confusing for a newbie like us in Cabo, so we ended up taking a taxi for US $6. The taxi's are Ford V10's mini-bus and can be located right in front of Casa Dorada.

Walking to the marina is 5 minutes, but, again expect to be hounded by salesmen to either to rent a boat, go fishing, come and eat or attend a timeshere presentation. Some of them can be very persistent - especially since Cabo was deserted when we were there. It was almost as if we were the only touristas as some stages.

But, Casa Dorada is THE PLACE TO BE !

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Casa Dorada Los Cabos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Dorada Los Cabos

Address: Av. Pescador S/N | Col. El Médano, Cabo San Lucas 23410, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > Cabo San Lucas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#9 Spa Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#11 Luxury Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#11 Business Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#12 Romantic Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#19 Family Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Casa Dorada Los Cabos 4.5*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With an incomparable location on Medano Beach -- the best swimmable beach of Cabo, Casa Dorada is just steps away from world-class shopping, dining, entertainment, and the marina. As a member of Preferred Hotels & Resorts, a collection of the world’s finest independent luxury hotels, Casa Dorada Los Cabos brings the upscale service and family-friendly features to the Cabo San Lucas oceanfront. The Resort grants visitors a more convenient, yet equally spectacular, alternative to the more remote hotel zone of the Tourist Corridor. Boasting unobstructed vistas of Land’s End and the famous Arch, Casa Dorada is just 30 minutes away from Los Cabos International Airport. All of the 185 spacious one-, two- and three-bedroom suites and penthouses, open up to Los Cabos’ most dazzling ocean view, while the luminous and contemporary interiors ensure your comfort and satisfaction. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Jetsetter, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, Splendia, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Casa Dorada Los Cabos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Dorada Los Cabos Hotel Cabo San Lucas
Casa Dorada Los Cabos Resort
Casa Dorada Los Cabos Cabo San Lucas

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa Dorada Los Cabos, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.