We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's all about location!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Dorada Los Cabos

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Casa Dorada Los Cabos to your Saves list
Casa Dorada Los Cabos
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   Av. Pescador S/N | Col. El Médano, Cabo San Lucas 23410, Mexico   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Complimentary bottle of wine
Ranked #16 of 68 Hotels in Cabo San Lucas
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Grand Rapids, MI
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“It's all about location!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014

Casa Dorada is hands-down our favorite resort in Cabo (we've tried 6 or 7 of the nice ones so far). The location is perfect. It's smack-dab in the middle of Medano Beach where all the fun is happening, and it's within easy walking distance (10-15 min) of the marina, the Luxury Avenue mall, and downtown, so there is no need to rent a car or spend oodles on taxis. (You can't say that about many vacation spots, can you...) Their new sushi bar served up the most delicious sushi I've ever had - I think it was called something like 'favorito maki' - to die for... They also added a wood-fired pizza oven, which I look forward to trying next visit. They have the best guacamole and pico-de-gallo, and the 12 Tribes restaurant served up a deeeee-lish pork chop as well. The staff are like family: Gilberto (also known as Pepe), Sylvia, Martin, Reyna, Jeanine, Ivan and Laura. They are wonderful people, whom we continue to think about between visits. The housekeeping and grounds staff do an excellent job of keeping everything ship-shape inside and out. I noticed one of the reviews mentioned some loudness from the Mango Deck bar. Welllll, folks, that's part of being on Medano Beach in Cabo. This is where all the fun is happening. And, seriously, just close your sliding door to the balcony and you won't hear a thing. Plus, you can always catch up with a snooze by the pool. Just have fun and enjoy yourself. Smile and say 'no gracias' to the timeshare people and vendors, and enjoy the sun, beautiful weather, and spectacular tropical breezes - with a mango marguerita in your hand. It's always 2 for 1 anyway, so ENJOY! You won't be sorry. You will love this resort, it's location, it's amenities, it's staff, and all of the surrounding fun, awesome sea-life, and some very eye-opening people watching.

Room Tip: We enjoy the higher rooms (5th & 6th floor) to view the bay. (Note: We haven't stayed on th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Casa_Dorada, Guest Relations Manager at Casa Dorada Los Cabos, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
Dear Guest,

You are so kind to write such a glowing review of your visit to our beautiful resort. As you noticed, we are blessed to have a wonderful staff who are so willing to extend their Hola!

Thank you for taking the time to share this review, we hope to see you soon at Casa Dorada.

Regards,

Laura Lachica
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,248 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    798
    282
    90
    39
    39
See reviews for
321
572
19
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (373)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

This was our 4th stay at CD. So I guess we're hooked. It's good to know what to expect - like how to avoid the Time Share folks. We found many of the same workers as in previous years. Martin, Laura and Sylvia on the beach are true gems. Gus at the front desk was very helpful and the bellman were always ready to assist. Housekeepingn tries hard and does a good job overall, but they are inconsistent with delivery of hand towels and wash cloths. We never seemed to have one when we needed it but they would bring fresh ones during the day and remove them overnight. Also, the lounge chairs on the beach are not very comfortable and should be replaced. We tried 12 Tribes this year and enjoyed both the food and the service. The price of beers on the beach has gone up so we often went to a neighboring beach bar for a break. None of these are deal breakers - we like it there. We like the location to many of our favorite restaurants and bars and the view from our balcony. It is very likely we will return next year.

Room Tip: The higher the floor, the better the room. We were in 504 this year and even though the sign for Ma...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014

I really liked the resort, and would have no hesitation suggesting someone stay here... so long as you get the room you booked. And I did, but not at first, and not without some effort. So the story goes. I booked a junior suite, separate living, dining area and 665sf w/200 SF balcony and a king bed That's what I booked. Upon arrival, I was advised that we were the last one to the hotel that night and we were told that there were no rooms with king beds left, that they give rooms put on first come first served basis, apparently not on what you reserved. So, they promise us another room tomorrow.. ok, well, #%$& happens right. So I go to the room.. its a standard hotel room, 300sf w/ 60sf balcony.. I go back and explain that not only was there no king bed, but the room type was wrong. They tried to tell me that there were different types of junior suites, and this was one, upon which I pulled out my reservation papers showing the size etch, and pointed them to there website on my phone.. it got sorted put the next day, and we had a lovely stay... right till the end when they just threw one more little irritation.. when we left the room ion the first morning, I told them that the coffee pot did not work, after trying to make coffee... well, on checkout, there was some small $11.50 mini bar charge. Turns out that's what the coffee costs if you use in the room... even when the coffee pot does not work.. I just found that a small insult. Paid my bills and advised that I will just pre warn all via trip advisor..so.. its really a lovely property, we loved it.. but. If you book a room of certain size, take your paperwork to prove it so they don't short you what you paid for..and if your in the hotel room.. and think to use the coffee, don't. Walk downstairs, get great cup under the lobby area for 1/3 the price.
Staff overall were great, food was pretty outstanding, pool was awesome. Don't expect face clothes each day... we got only 2 of the 5 nights

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2014

The hotel was in a perfect location, nice clean rooms, great for the group. The amenities were plentiful, nice pool, spa, hot tub. Meeting area by the beach was accommodating, enough room for everyone. We were there during the week and were not kept up by noise.
Breakfast was good, dinner wasn't so great.
Overall it was a really nice experience.

Room Tip: 4th floor was easy access , and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nj
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2014

We stayed for 5 nights in a 1 bedroom suite that was beautiful and very spacious with separate bedroom, kitchen with granite countertop and killer views. Every morning we rose early to enjoy the beautiful sunrise. The hotel beach area is comfortable and lively. There are many beach bars and restaurants where you can have a drink or lunch. The pool area is large with a lot of cushioned loungers, swim up bar, activities and sushi bar. The location is perfect as it is in walking distance to town, marina and all restaurants which is great. We stayed at the end of February and I would say that the crowd here is baby boomer-wish with very few children. We booked 2 massages in the Salt Water spa which was very nice and relaxing. We had the breakfast buffet included and it was fresh and plentiful and you can sit beach front. Yes, Mango's deck is loud but not a deal breaker. There are also a lot of aggressive vendors on the beach to contend with but just be polite and say "no gracias" and that is enough. Overall the resort is beautiful and a great choice!
A few tips: When going to the beach, select a lounge chair to the far left and the Mango deck music is minimized. Also, you must wake up early to get your towels and reserve your favorite pool or beach chairs. Gardenia's for excellent, super-fresh and inexpensive fish tacos is within walking distance of hotel. Bar Esquina across the street has a good coffee bar for mornings and high quality, fresh food & drinks for dinner in a stylish setting. Overall, I would recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Request a room farther away from Mango's.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2014

Booking a hotel on the web is always a risky bet- all of the pictures online make the hotel look like a palace, and sometimes when you get there, you realize there was a lot of photo-shopping going on, Not the case here-Casa Dorada was way better than we expected. The hotel is on a beautiful beach, and is truly top notch. The service was excellent, and the place is very well kept- very clean and well maintained. The only less than stellar thing we ran into was an inconsistent water temp in the shower, and a wide variation in the times the room was cleaned. Other than that, this place is awesome and we look forward to going there again next year! I highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Get the ocean front room. The views are awesome, and the sunrise is beautfiul!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Casa_Dorada, Public Relations Manager at Casa Dorada Los Cabos, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Greetings from Casa Dorada!

Thank you for taking the time and share your experience on your past visit a Cabo, we hope to see you back soon!

Regards,

Laura Lachica
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eagle, Idaho
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014

The hotel and staff are wonderful. Unfortunately, the Mango Deck Bar lies between the hotel and the beach. If you want to go to sleep before 10:00 pm, bring ear plugs. At 4:00 am the garbage haulers arrive and start dumping beer bottles into their truck. If you hope to listen to the waves lapping on the beach during the night, good luck with that!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Casa Dorada Los Cabos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Dorada Los Cabos

Address: Av. Pescador S/N | Col. El Médano, Cabo San Lucas 23410, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > Cabo San Lucas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#11 Business Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#13 Luxury Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#14 Romantic Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#19 Family Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Casa Dorada Los Cabos 4.5*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With an incomparable location on Medano Beach -- the best swimmable beach of Cabo, Casa Dorada is just steps away from world-class shopping, dining, entertainment, and the marina. As a member of Preferred Hotels & Resorts, a collection of the world’s finest independent luxury hotels, Casa Dorada Los Cabos brings the upscale service and family-friendly features to the Cabo San Lucas oceanfront. The Resort grants visitors a more convenient, yet equally spectacular, alternative to the more remote hotel zone of the Tourist Corridor. Boasting unobstructed vistas of Land’s End and the famous Arch, Casa Dorada is just 30 minutes away from Los Cabos International Airport. All of the 185 spacious one-, two- and three-bedroom suites and penthouses, open up to Los Cabos’ most dazzling ocean view, while the luminous and contemporary interiors ensure your comfort and satisfaction. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TravelClick, Cheap Tickets, Amex, BookIt.com, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Casa Dorada Los Cabos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Dorada Los Cabos Hotel Cabo San Lucas
Casa Dorada Los Cabos Resort
Casa Dorada Los Cabos Cabo San Lucas

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa Dorada Los Cabos, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.