We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, great service, great property!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Dorada Los Cabos

Save Saved
You added Casa Dorada Los Cabos to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Casa Dorada Los Cabos
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   Av. Pescador S/N | Col. El Médano, Cabo San Lucas 23410, Mexico   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$25.00 USD Coupon Credit
Ranked #13 of 66 hotels in Cabo San Lucas
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Great location, great service, great property!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

My fiancé and I were debating between two or three hotels, all central and within the same price point. After a bit of research (and scouring TripAdvisor), we opted for Casa Dorada and we couldn't have been happier with our decision! The property is beautiful; the views are stunning and the rooms are well appointed. The service is great; the staff went above and beyond to make our stay comfortable and the concierge service was very helpful. And the location... well, I'm not sure how you can beat it! This was my first time in Cabo (my fiancé's third or fourth) and we were walking distance to everything. If we decided to cab, we weren't more than a $6 cab ride from any restaurant that we wanted to visit.

The pool area is great -- wonderful pool, great lounge area and especially nice towels (minor, but I even commented on them)! They have happy hour from 11-12 and from 4-5PM where drinks are 2 for 1. The lounge area by their restaurant, 12 Tribes, is great for a pre-dinner cocktail, too! I didn't experience much of their spa, but the spa menu looked great for any ladies looking to get pampered on their getaway. Nice workout facility, though I didn't use it as much as I had hoped (the pool was too enticing).

All in all, a fab experience. If we go back to Cabo (which we probably will!), we would stay here again without a question!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Casa_Dorada, Guest Relations Manager at Casa Dorada Los Cabos, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Dear falzons,

Thank you for choosing Casa Dorada for your past getaway! We are glad to know that we met your expectations.

Our Facilities are the perfect place to create special moments; we have an entire team who can assist you to make a unique experience on a memorable event, perhaps a wedding! They will be contacting you soon.

On behalf of our staff we appreciate your comments and we are more than excited to host you again!

Kindly Regards,

Laura Lachica
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,009 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    641
    231
    75
    34
    28
See reviews for
256
475
15
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (280)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stamford, Connecticut
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

This was our first trip to Cabo San Lucas and we agree with most reviews that the vacation club staff are persistant in trying to get you to go to one of their presentations. After two days of "no thank you" and finally firmly stating we were not interested, they were better. Other than that the hotel is fantastic in every way. The location is perfect. Very close to town and the marina, the food was good and there were many great restaurants close by, the entire hotel staff was friendly and accomodating in every way, the rooms are clean and spacious. We asked for an upgrade, and we were given a bigger room with a pool/beach view. We were often asked how things were going and if we needed anything. We will most likely go back again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Casa_Dorada, Guest Relations Manager at Casa Dorada Los Cabos, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Dear Mel419,

Thanks for sharing your comments!!

Please don't miss our property next time you stay in Cabo.

We are constantly innovating and improving and you may find a different and better hotel next time.

Regards,

Laura Lachica
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

Casa Dorada was a lovely place to stay for a girls weekend. The room was big and comfortable, and the staff was generally helpful. The property is pretty quiet and has a broad mix of people staying there but trended towards older couples and families. The hotel is directly in front of the Mango Deck and The Office, and also there are tons of water activities directly outside the hotel. It was about a 10 minute walk to the marina.

Our only complaint was that since the property is a timeshare property, those people that are staying in it as a hotel will be displeased to find out that they only arrange airport shuttles on Fridays. Otherwise, you're stuck with an expensive cab fare. We went over to the ME Cabo and asked to ride their shuttle, which they let us do :)

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a higher floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberta
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

There is absolutely too much to write about this place. What I will start off with is the negative, and finish the the positive. Probably the only negative (but very negative) is the time share staff. I know that they are trying to make a living and they are just doing their job, but their manners are HORRIBLE, they are way too PUSHY, and they don't know how to just let people be. We literally had the Time-Share manager run after us as we were trying to head out for a lovely morning at the marina. It really puts a damper on what is supposed to be a 5-star resort - especially when they are chasing after you to attend their breakfast meeting (AKA Pushy Time Share Meeting not worth anything that they promise) and then insult you when you say no. Not fun. So, be strong, be firm and do not fall for the quick breakfast - it will turn into 3 hours of high pressure, multi-level sales.

OK - now that that huge negative is out of the way - here is what we loved about Casa Dorada:
1. The location is GREAT! Turn left when you leave the lobby and keep walking left. Eventually you will get to a "Y" intersection ... keep going left. Once you are half-way down the hill, turn right and you will be right beside the mall/shopping and restaurants of the marina. Superb location - maybe a 10 minute saunter?
2. The view is stunning!
3. The beach is really great and fine to swim in - tough to find in this part of Mexico.
4. The pool - loved the multi levels, loved the temperature (much more comfortable than the cold ocean). We didn't get to the pool bar, but I think we would have loved it.
5. Attentive poolside staff, but not overbearing. They knew when to bug you and when to not.
6. Great lounge area on the beach - and the vendors are NOT PUSHY! I loved it! They would ask (ask they should as they are in sales), but all you have to say is "No gracias" and they leave. It was a splendid change from other areas of Mexico.
7. The drinks were really yummy, as was the one meal we had there.
8. While the wifi there is awfully overpriced, walk to the coffee bar in the hotel across the street, or even to the Marina, or walk all the way down to the Cabo Bakery ... all give free wifi, as do many other places all within walking distance of Casa Dorada.
9. Speaking of the Cabo Bakery - this is a great location for that (I will write another review) and a must visit while staying in Cabo.
10. The firepits! I absolutely hate smelling like campfire, but these are natural gas (I think) so no smell!!! They are surrounded by a relaxing seating area with a stunning view of the ocean. Spend a couple evenings here with a glass of wine (or your fave beverage) - there's nothing like it.
11. There are many places to relax in this resort ... hammocks ... loungers .... large private balconies .... loved it all. Spend an evening reading a book while lazing in the hammock with one of the best views you'll ever have.
12. The room staff were great - clean up, turn down ... loved being spoiled and having a clean room all the time. They even washed our dishes! We were going to do them later ... but they did them for us! What a treat.
13. This is more of a tip - but get up around 6:30AM or so one morning and make sure to take time to watch all of the fishing boats heading out. It's really a beautiful site.

Well ... I'm not sure how quick that was ... but those are my favourite things of Casa Dorada. I'd go back ... in a heart beat ... just be prepared for the pushy timeshare people. We even tried to plan our escapes from the resort without having to go through the front doors! haha

Room Tip: Do try to ask for a room on Floor 3 or higher, and on the east side of the resort (away from the Man...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Casa_Dorada, Guest Relations Manager at Casa Dorada Los Cabos, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
Dear sassychik,

Thank you for your kind review! We were happy to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and were able to relax and disconnected yourself.

It is great to know that you will back! We are looking forward to assist you on your next stay.

Kindly Regards,

Laura Lachica
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redmond, Washington
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

We have been to Cabo San Lucas with our children/grandchildren and since this trip was just for us, we searched and read all the reviews regarding different hotels. We chose Casa Dorada based on the pictures, location but mostly because of the reviews. And we were not disappointed!!!!! It is so convenient on location, and this hotel is so well maintained and clean. The reviews do not do it justice on the staff! You can tell that everyone truly enjoys their job there and the staff go above and beyond to make things wonderful for you. The Sea Bass prepared by Carlos at 12 Tribes was the best I have ever had. We loved all the happy hours and the 2 for 1 meals by the pool everyday. Sunny, and Angela always served us happily, Marivn was there to even turn our chairs to face the sun and beach every morning with a smile, Evan always stopped by to visit and see if there was anything he could do to make our visit better. I cannot say enough great things regarding our stay, we are already talking about our next stay at Casa Dorado. Wish we had Omar to great us at the door when we returned home. He always made us laugh!!!! And Mr., Perli, your graciousness will never be forgotten! Thanks to the entire staff for such an incredible vacation!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Casa_Dorada, General Manager at Casa Dorada Los Cabos, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
Dear C W

On behalf of my staff and myself, we do not have words to thank your gracious lines.

Words like yours encourage us to work every day with passion...

Regards,

Leonardo Perli
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

We have stayed at Casa Dorada several times and it is a beautiful place to stay. It is within walking distance to the harbor and is central on Medano beach. Our last stay a friend of ours was severely injured at Wild Canyon zip lines and she was hospitalized. Casa Dorada provided us with a car and driver to take us to and from the hospital. We were touched when all the staff would ask how our friend was doing and also asked if there was anything they could do for us. The entire staff was wonderful and made the rest of our stay great. Thanks especially to Tomas at the front.

Rob

Room Tip: Building C is the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Casa_Dorada, Guest Relations Manager at Casa Dorada Los Cabos, responded to this review, April 28, 2013
Dear Cabin605,

Thank you for share your experienced with us.

We are proud to hear that our staff helped you in any way in what could have been difficult situation in which your friend and yourself wellbeing and comfort was vulnerable.

Please let us know if there is something else that we can do for you.

Best Regards,

Laura Lachica
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013 via mobile

Stayed there for 3 nights. Service was very attentive. Were upgraded to a suite which was equipped with a kitchenette , a large living room and a vast bedroom. Very convenient and pleasant. One cons was that he living room floor was not as clean as we expected , but one phone call sorted it out.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Casa Dorada Los Cabos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Dorada Los Cabos

Also Known As:
Casa Dorada Los Cabos Hotel Cabo San Lucas
Casa Dorada Los Cabos Hotel
Casa Dorada Los Cabos Resort
Casa Dorada Los Cabos Cabo San Lucas
Address: Av. Pescador S/N | Col. El Médano, Cabo San Lucas 23410, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > Cabo San Lucas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#10 Luxury Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#11 Romantic Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#13 Business Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#14 Family Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Casa Dorada Los Cabos 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With an incomparable location on Medano Beach -- the best swimmable beach of Cabo, Casa Dorada is just steps away from world-class shopping, dining, entertainment, and the marina. As a member of Preferred Hotels & Resorts, a collection of the world’s finest independent luxury hotels, Casa Dorada Los Cabos brings the upscale service and family-friendly features to the Cabo San Lucas oceanfront. The Resort grants visitors a more convenient, yet equally spectacular, alternative to the more remote hotel zone of the Tourist Corridor. Boasting unobstructed vistas of Land’s End and the famous Arch, Casa Dorada is just 30 minutes away from Los Cabos International Airport. All of the 185 spacious one-, two- and three-bedroom suites and penthouses, open up to Los Cabos’ most dazzling ocean view, while the luminous and contemporary interiors ensure your comfort and satisfaction. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Amex, Cheap Tickets, Splendia, TravelClick, BookIt.com, Priceline, Tingo, Hotels.com, Venere, Agoda, Otel and Jetsetter so you can book your Casa Dorada Los Cabos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa Dorada Los Cabos, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.