We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel - refusal to stop chair savers taints vacation” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Dorada Los Cabos

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Casa Dorada Los Cabos to your Saves list
Casa Dorada Los Cabos
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   Av. Pescador S/N | Col. El Médano, Cabo San Lucas 23410, Mexico   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 66 Hotels in Cabo San Lucas
New York
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Nice hotel - refusal to stop chair savers taints vacation”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

Very nice place, rooms are modern and spacious. Excellent location: close to beach bars and town.

But the conduct of rude, selfish guests who reserve multiple chairs in the wee hours of the morning only to disappear for hours on end and the refusal of Casa Dorada management to enforce their rules taints the vacation. I am on vacation to relax, not to wake up at 7am in the morning to get a seat or play the towel game with people later on. Management allows this behavior to go unabated, making for an unpleasant experience for guests who play by the rules and are not selfish and rude.

I will be back in Cabo next year again, not sure if I would stay at this hotel because of this.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,170 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    752
    263
    84
    37
    34
See reviews for
298
537
18
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (334)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Greenwood Village, Colorado
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

Given the fact that we made the decision to book 3 days prior to travel and it was Easter week-end, I was expecting a lot less. A whole lot less. Now it's not Pamilla, Ventanas or Esperanza but this resort was great. It is right on the beach, the room was huge, the view was great, the restaurant not so great but overall, a gem. I probably walked by this place 30 times during my other stays here and never realized it was here. It is behind The Office so there was a lot of people on the beach over the week-end, but wow this is nice.

Room Tip: We used Expedia for the flight/room package (something we usually never do) and got a great deal wit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

Upon arriving to Casa Dorada I instantly had a positive vibe of the place. Walking in I was greeted with complimentary margaritas and warmly welcomed by all of the staff around me. The resort itself is incredible with a huge outdoor swimming/seating/lounging area that has every amenity you could ask for.

The staff are all genuinely friendly please not my emphasis on the GENUINE part. I have stayed at quite a few resorts now and while all staff are usually polite their is usually a hidden look of disdain for tourists that I am able to pick up on. This can be understandable as we american tourists are notorious for being obnoxious and demanding but none the less its discouraging. Casa Dorada however is not like that! You can tell the staff actually are friendly and make you feel welcome and at home the moment you walk in.

The other huuuuuge plus about this place is their amazing 1 for 1 and happy hour deals that they have every day. Usually when you stay at a resort as nice and expensive as this one you can expect that their food/drink will be just as pricey. Not Casa Dorada. Every day they have an alternating menu item that you can buy 1 get one free for. And im talking about full sized, large, delicious (im a food snob), high quality meals that if split with another person can end up being $6-8 for TWO meals. They also have happy hour drinks, 1 for 1 drinks of pretty much any drink you could ask for.

Our rooms were cleaned perfectly and immaculately every day top to bottom.....The location is PERFECT, a 5 min walk to downtown cabo (squid roe etc.) and a perfect location on the beach right above mango deck and with a perfect view of lovers beach.... i could go on and on but you get the point. the place is awesome. stay here when you go to cabo its well worth your time and money.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

We have been to many of the beach resorts in Mexico (Cancun, Playa, Cozumel, Tulum, PV and Zihuatanejo) but this was our first time to Cabo. We researched many of the resorts before chosing Casa Dorada. The hotel is very nice, the rooms are large, the service was excellent and the location is walkable to the marina district and/or a short taxi ride by boat or car. A boat taxi from the beach is approximately $3 per person (very convenient) and the cab fare is $8 or so........everything is negotiable.
The hotel staff upgraded us on arrival from a Jr. Suite to a one bedroom suite. Our friends had the Jr. Suite (same floor) and their view was better. The main advantage of the one bedroom suite is the size of the bathroom and the jetted tub. We would have been happy with either room.
We said no-thanks to the time share staff upon arrival and we were never seriously bothered again. I did notice the message light (my guess is the time share staff) on the hotel phone flashing but never bothered to check messages since I had my cell phone and knew if anybody important wanted to get ahold of us they would call on the cell.
Sound from the Mango Deck - we stayed at the east end of the resort (opposite end from the pool bar) and the sound from the beach bars was not a factor. We slept with our door open. The sound from the bar was definitely louder at the opposite end of the resort.
Breakfast was included with our room rate and was very good. The food at the pool area was also good. We ate all of our other meals off-site (within one block walking distance) and there are numerous choices and all of the them were good - I especially liked the Baja Brewery which is on the eight floor of an adjacent hotel with a very nice view and live music.
Two businesses and their owners who were very helpful, knowledgeable and I would recommend them if you are going to visit Cabo. Airport Transportation - Arturo at Translobo is the best!! - he met us at the airport and had an immaculate suburban, ice cold drinks and we were at our hotel very quickly - a super nice guy - the same goes for the trip back. We also took advice from another trip advisor review regarding a cafe in the marina called D Right Joint and the owner is Carlos. D Right Joint overlooks the marina, is very casual, we watched the NCAA basketball games there and Carlos (the owner) knows everything about Cabo and his customer service is excellent. A very casual and affordable restaurant.
Cabo is more expensive than the other locations we have visited in Mexico but it is definitely worth a visit. We had a great time.

Room Tip: We had a decent ocean view from the third floor. The 4th floor or higher would be better if view is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munster, Indiana
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

Do not under any circumstances give anyone at the hotel your credit card information along with your drivers license. I e-mailed the concierge prior to our trip in order to arrange transportation to and from the hotel. The concierge insisted I e-mail a copy of the front and back of drivers license and credit card, which I did. I received e-mail confirmation that he received, however no transportation was arranged and I had to take care of it when I arrived. I suspect my information was received and a fake card created as false charges started to appear in Texas mid-way through my trip to Mexico. The concierge was very evasive at the hotel as to why no transportation was booked. The hotel uses Trans VIP in Los Cabos. Had to cancel card this morning and spend next several hours rearranging auto pay options on my card. I cannot definitively prove that it was the personnel at Casa Dorada, but the concierge's actions were very unusual and suspicious.

As far as the hotel itself, would rate it a 3 star. The accommodations are dated. The hotel is in a great locations however and very close to lots of great restaurants within an easy walk.

Be warned that the solicitations from vendors and hotel staff is relentless. The beach is virtually unusable as you and your family will be approached by locals every 2 minutes selling bracelets, hats, and other trinkets. It is overpowering. I am not exaggerating, every couple of minutes your entire time at the beach. To top it off you have to run a gauntlet of hotel sponsored booths on your walk down to the beach selling water activities, site seeing, boarding, etc. It gets unbelievably annoying. Good luck trying to walk on the beach..same deal.
They also get you on the hotel grounds. Constant solicitations to eat at the 12 tribes restaurant, get massages or look at time share units. Would not recommend this hotel to anyone. We stayed during spring break and it was very pricey. Very disappointing experience,

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Casa_Dorada, General Manager at Casa Dorada Los Cabos, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Dear bb46321

Thank you for your information. When you request services before your arrival, for your own security, we require having the correct information for the credit Card and Id, just to avoid any situation like the one that you have experienced. We take security very seriously, is the reason that we have internal protocols for your own protection.

Cabo San Lucas and The Medano Area are certified as a Safe Place by Tourism Boureau, because of that local authorities ran an investigation and found alterations in an ATM.

We need more information in order to close the case and your testimonial is essential.

We would really appreciate if you provide me a phone number ir order to call you and get more details. My e-mail address: leonardo.perli@casadorada.com

Saludos,

Leonardo Perli
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

We couldn't be happier with our stay at Casa Dorada, and will go back again and again. We have already booked our next trip to go back! I would recommend this hotel to ANYONE. The rooms are spacious and clean, the pool is perfect, the location can not be beat, and the atmosphere is everything you look for in a vacation. It is cool and trendy, yet classy and relaxing.

Room Tip: Book in the center of the hotel. If you can afford it, upgrade to the 1300 sq foot suite or larger...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Issaquah, Washington, United States
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

Every year is a treat! Amazing Views of the Baja Peninsula from every room! Cathedral ceilings, travertine throughout, huge jacuzzi bathtub inside with hot tub on the deck too! Property features two Infinity Swimming Pools with Swim Up Bar, Relaxing Spa, Large Full Gym, 3 Outdoor Fire Pits, Lounge & 2 Restaurants. This property is located in downtown Cabo San Lucas situated beautiful beach front on the calm Sea of Cortez, known as Medano Beach.
You can stay active or just relax here. The Beach is Great for Swimming, Jet Skiing, Parasailing, Kayaking, & Snorkeling!!! World Class Golfing is close by. Quad Rentals also available nearby.
Walking Distance to Marina, Shopping Mall & Restaurants, Dancing & Nightlife...
This year was a little different - I invited family & we brought donations down for a local orphanage in Todos Santos. My beautiful nieces aged 9 & 13 were able to translate for us as they have attended Spanish Emersion school since they were young. Visiting these children was an amazing experience for all of us!

Room Tip: If you are not able to rent a penthouse don't worry all rooms are beautifully furnished & ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Casa Dorada Los Cabos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Dorada Los Cabos

Address: Av. Pescador S/N | Col. El Médano, Cabo San Lucas 23410, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > Cabo San Lucas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#8 Spa Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#10 Luxury Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#11 Business Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#13 Romantic Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#19 Family Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Casa Dorada Los Cabos 4.5*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With an incomparable location on Medano Beach -- the best swimmable beach of Cabo, Casa Dorada is just steps away from world-class shopping, dining, entertainment, and the marina. As a member of Preferred Hotels & Resorts, a collection of the world’s finest independent luxury hotels, Casa Dorada Los Cabos brings the upscale service and family-friendly features to the Cabo San Lucas oceanfront. The Resort grants visitors a more convenient, yet equally spectacular, alternative to the more remote hotel zone of the Tourist Corridor. Boasting unobstructed vistas of Land’s End and the famous Arch, Casa Dorada is just 30 minutes away from Los Cabos International Airport. All of the 185 spacious one-, two- and three-bedroom suites and penthouses, open up to Los Cabos’ most dazzling ocean view, while the luminous and contemporary interiors ensure your comfort and satisfaction. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, TravelClick, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Casa Dorada Los Cabos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Dorada Los Cabos Hotel Cabo San Lucas
Casa Dorada Los Cabos Resort
Casa Dorada Los Cabos Cabo San Lucas

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa Dorada Los Cabos, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.