We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“20th Anniversary” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Dorada Los Cabos

Save Saved
You added Casa Dorada Los Cabos to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 16 more sites!
Casa Dorada Los Cabos
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   Av. Pescador S/N | Col. El Médano, Cabo San Lucas 23410, Mexico   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 66 hotels in Cabo San Lucas
Warwick, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“20th Anniversary”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

We stayed at Casa Dorada on March 12-18th. When you arrive at the airprt the Time Share people are right through the door, they told us that our driver from the company that we pre-paid wasn't there yet when he was standing right outside, cause they were trying to see us on the activities and time shares. Just say no thank you and walk outside. Our ride to the hotel we used Trans VIP was great, the driver was telling us about all the sites, its about a 40 minute drive, but beautiful!! When we arrived at the hotel we checked-in, they won't let you in the room until 3:00 and once you turn around someone comes out from behind the desk with a drink in their hand telling you to come sit and trying to get you to go to a free breakfast for a "Vacation Club" code "Time Share", and they must tell you five times during this that it's not a "Time Share". We got into our room at 3:00 (room 301) it is a jurior suite, beautiful room, kitchen, living area, bedroom with tub, two bathrooms, it was only my husband and myself and it was perfect, big comfy bed. My first shower was cold, but after that it was fine. The only draw back of this roomis the Mango Deck Bar, you are right above it, can hear the kids screaming, some guy on a bullhorn or something, and in the morning they are cleaning it. After three days of them chasing us around for the breakfast we told them we weren't interested and they left us alone, but kind of woanted nothing to do with us anymore. The Office, which is right next to the Mango Deck Bar, is the best for breakfast, right on the beach, great food!! The pools are great, service was great, the beach is great, but the venders walk by every two seconds and you spend your day saying no thank you. We did our vows on Thursday at sunset, which was beautiful except for the spring breakers at the Mango Bar yelling and jumping in our pictures. The town is a short walk or cab ride, and has tons of resturants, bars, shops, entertainment. Besides the Mango Deck Bar, and the spring breakers yelling off the balconies, we had an awesome time, beautiful place for our 20 year vow renewal!!!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,073 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    681
    246
    81
    36
    29
See reviews for
276
501
16
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (303)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

This was our second stay at the Casa Dorada in Los Cabos. Last time was a family trip & this time an anniversary celebration for just my husband & myself. Both vacations were perfect! We stayed in a one bedroom suite which was very roomy, beautifully appointed with the most comfortable bed we have ever experienced in a hotel, and a breathtaking view of the Sea of Cortez from two balconies. The two bedroom suite was a great choice when we brought the family. The service and staff are second to none. The property is gorgeous and impeccably kept. Quite a few excellent restaurants have opened within walking distance of the hotel since our last stay. A very nice surprise, but don't miss the food at the Casa Dorada. Certainly worth it for breakfast, lunch or dinner. And a quick cab ride to Wal-mart is always a good idea to stock up on snacks, drinks or anything you may have forgotten to pack! While we are willing to try new activities & restaurants each time we visit, the only hotel we would consider is the Casa Dorada. What a wonderful find!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

We had a wonderful time staying at the Casa Dorada last July. The people were very nice and helpful. Our 2 bedroom unit was perfectly located with a view of the Sea of Cortez and El Arco, with ground floor access. We thoroughly enjoyed our time in Cabo and would certainly go again. I would recommend staying on the left side (as you look out to the sea) of the property, it's not as close to the beach bar and the loud music. However, I felt like the room was very well insulated, and we weren't bothered by the loud music at all. We were on the left side of the resort. The weather in July is hot, almost too hot. I wouldn't go any later than mid-July and would avoid Aug. and Sept. We went scuba diving and the water was very murky. I think October would have been better for diving. Be prepared to be hit up by timeshare people everywhere, airport, resort, even the grocery store!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013 via mobile

I have been to Cabo eight times, however, the first time I've stayed at Casa Dorada. I will never stay any where else now! What a beautiful propery! The views and location are unbelieveable...the service impeccable! We stayed in a 1 bedroom suite which was gorgeous...two balconies over looking the pool and the Sea of Cortez. We ate at the 12 Tribes which was an experience in and of itself, food and wine great, service excellent, view unbelievable! The pool is beautiful and the swim up bar was wonderful! The location of the property is perfect, ocean, marina and downtown are all within walking distance. On a scale of 1-10 I give the Casa Dorada a 10! We are already in the process of planning our next trip to Casa Dorada!!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorba Linda, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

My husband surprised me with this getaway trip and it was awesome! We went in Feb-the weather was mild and it was not too crowded. Our room was clean and huge with 2 balconies and great views. The pool service and beach service is good, the staff are friendly and attentive, plus 2 for 1 drinks all day. Just avoid to first row of chairs on the beach and you won't be too bothered by the constant vendors trying to sell overpriced junk. The location is perfect with the hotel's own beach area, plenty of activities and walking distance to the marina, shops and restaurants. Highly recommend Bar Esquina which is in the Bahia Hotel right across the street. Excellent food and service but make reservations for dinner-it gets packed! The Office is right behind the hotel, great margaritas and seafood tacos right on the sand. I highly recommend making reservations at Hacienda Cocina on the Hacienda property-the food was amazing with awesome views. Mango Deck is annoying which is a shame for this great location, but we just shut our doors and weren't too bothered. We were never approached by any timeshare people as others have mentioned.
Even at the airport, we just kept walking and we were never approached at all.
We had such a great time here and hope to return soon!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

This is the right place to be in Cabo. You can wake up, have your coffee, walk down to the pool, swim, read your book, then later go to the beach, get a chair, get and umbrella, get hot, go for a swim in the ocean for an hour. After your afternoon nap, stroll in to town (15 minutes to all the restaurants). Eat some amazing food (I recommend Gordo Lele's Tacos and Burrito Surf). Then walk back to the place by the fire station and see the two old fashion firehouse Dalmatians.

There may be better beaches at other resorts. And you could be closer to town by staying at a hotel in town without a beach, but if you want it all, this is the place to go.

As for the room, it was huge and spacious and had 2 balconies on the 5th floor. It did not smell from hotel room cleaning agents which is good--I hate that. And it has a little kitchen and everything. I do recommend bringing your own coffee pods for the maker.

The only downside is the Mango club in front of the hotel on the beach. It is fun in some ways to have thud thud thud 90's and 2000's dance music, but the DJ guy gets old. And the general "spring break party atmosphere" gets a little old. It stops sometime in the middle of the night and starts at about 11am. At the pool, the Mango music conflicts with the piped in resort music. This is the only reason I give 4 stars not 5. Try to get a room on the 5th or higher floor if you can!

That being said, I don't know that there is a better hotel to stay at in Cabo--I would go there again tomorrow!

Room Tip: 5th floor or above
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

You have to go!! We have been going for six years and have loved it every time. The resort is gorgeous, everyone is SO accomedating, the pools are perfect. The food at the twelve tribes is delicious! And the food at the pool bar is fantastic for lunch. We ate there almost every day. The beach there is great for swimming. The service on the beach is awsome! Laura, SYlvia, and Martin make us feel like family. We've never had to rent a car. You can walk to everything. All year long we look forward to being there. Hope you can too!!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Casa Dorada Los Cabos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Dorada Los Cabos

Address: Av. Pescador S/N | Col. El Médano, Cabo San Lucas 23410, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > Cabo San Lucas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#11 Spa Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#12 Luxury Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#14 Romantic Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#16 Family Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Casa Dorada Los Cabos 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With an incomparable location on Medano Beach -- the best swimmable beach of Cabo, Casa Dorada is just steps away from world-class shopping, dining, entertainment, and the marina. As a member of Preferred Hotels & Resorts, a collection of the world’s finest independent luxury hotels, Casa Dorada Los Cabos brings the upscale service and family-friendly features to the Cabo San Lucas oceanfront. The Resort grants visitors a more convenient, yet equally spectacular, alternative to the more remote hotel zone of the Tourist Corridor. Boasting unobstructed vistas of Land’s End and the famous Arch, Casa Dorada is just 30 minutes away from Los Cabos International Airport. All of the 185 spacious one-, two- and three-bedroom suites and penthouses, open up to Los Cabos’ most dazzling ocean view, while the luminous and contemporary interiors ensure your comfort and satisfaction. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, TravelClick, Splendia, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, Tingo, Hotels.com, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, Jetsetter, Priceline, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Casa Dorada Los Cabos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Dorada Los Cabos Hotel Cabo San Lucas
Casa Dorada Los Cabos Resort
Casa Dorada Los Cabos Cabo San Lucas

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa Dorada Los Cabos, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.