We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Time share central” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Dorada Los Cabos

Save Saved
You added Casa Dorada Los Cabos to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 16 more sites!
Casa Dorada Los Cabos
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   Av. Pescador S/N | Col. El Médano, Cabo San Lucas 23410, Mexico   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 66 hotels in Cabo San Lucas
Alexandria
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Time share central”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

Casa Dorada is a typical time share set up but great for regulars and first timers alike. First off, you can't beat the location. It has one of the best views in all of Medano Beach but its still close enough to walk into town in five minutes if you want to go to dinner. The hotel is very well maintained and the staff a excellent. Few hotels have as good of of area on the beach and the pool always has plenty of space too so you don't have to worry about not getting a chair. The food is very good however I didn't find the new 12 Tribes chef to be all that incredible. Probably why it's empty every night. The spa and gym could use an update but they are ok.

Room Tip: Don't waste money on a room with a hot tub, none of them are that great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,078 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    686
    246
    81
    36
    29
See reviews for
277
502
16
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (304)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Panora, Iowa
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

Please let me give credit where credit is due, this hotel is great and so is the hotel staff (but read the whole review........, it will save your trip). The potential is there for a 4.5-5 star hotel. The room, balconies (One bedroom suite) and view are perfect except for the row of shanti bars (the Office, and Mango Deck) in front of the hotel pool, you get over it and the noise coming from them in a day or so, as the location and property makes up for it. Prices are very high at these bars (not afiliated with the hotel) but its location your paying for, the food is ok but $$$. The 12 tribes meal on site was very nice but cool outside at night, heaters would not stay lit in the wind. The beach service is awesome!! Thank you to everyone that works under the hotel Casa Dorada directly. Thank you for a great time.

Traveler tip: If you are just getting into town, and dont know what to do and need to get your bearings, feel like you can trust someone in town, you like cold beer, good margaritas, and can appreciate the owner working the place (Carlos) Take a taxi, run, walk whatever to get away from the timeshare mess. Go to "D's right joint" (Karlitos way) right on the marina in front of Wyndham instead of the hotel timeshare presentation(s), you can get advice for better deals on excursions, while driking ice cold beers 6 for 10$ on ice, free chips with home made guac, pico, and salsa. The wife can shop, while you drink and shoot the breeze with Carlos. If we had done this and had this advice, we could have changed our entire experience. Just ask for Carlos.... if he is not there, he is never to far. The staff will call him.

Ok....... now for the tongue lashing that I have been saving until I came home as I did not want to ruin our vacation and think about it any longer.

Upon check in, we were a little early and the room was not ready (no problem as they gave an upgrade upon asking for it) This however opened the door for the timeshare people. They disguise the timeshare rep, as the concierge person. They politely ask to help with reservations, excursions, and things to do while you are there as a good concierge does. We were offered breakfast in the morning 25$ value per person, 100$ credit for a two person meal at 12 tribes (on site), a tropicat wine and jazz tour discounted for 20$ per person, and fishing for 260$ on a 28' personal 5 hr trip (bait, license and trans. another 65$ needs to be considered) total of 325$ all said and done without tip for crew. Great right......, but no good deed goes unpunished with Globequest. All seems normal at this point, then comes the reality, which is you are already in the timeshare bait and switch.

At this point we were still a little disorientated from travel and just wanted to get on with vacation, so we did the nice thing and accepted the invite to get it over. I will try to keep the rest short as I could go on forever about it, I am only trying to help others avoid the same thing we experienced. Here we go......
- be up at 7am to be ready for your sales presentation and breakfast @ 8am. (they were late by 30 minutes, eating by 9am) be ready for questioning during eating. We didnt get to finish eating as we were obviously cutting into the salespersons time and she was frustrated by our eating. The sales presentation (4 sales people in and out, by the time is was done) continued unitl 10:30am. Be ready to divulge your personal life, income, family, and be insulted if you dont have the money to buy if you want go on this presentation. As harmless as it seems, be ready to be annoyed.
-The 100$ credit for buffet, did not happen. We had a nice meal but paid for the difference over 40$ buffet, which was not a buffet anymore? but a planned meal which my wife could not or would not eat. Thank goodness there was some pasta in the courses and the staff abliged to bring some more for her. When we addressed this with the hotel, they respectfully pushed it to the timeshare people and it was our fault for misunderstanding them, they conveniently lost the aggrement (yes you sign a contact for this misery) they did say they were sorry, and for the first time since meeting them, I agreed.......... they are truly "sorry" people, but not apologetic. We moved on from it.
- The fishing with Edith Fleet was great but of no extra value from the hotel, it could be obtained anywhere for the same price and probably get the money to the people that deserve it more.
- The tropicat cruise was the same, great but of no extra value from the hotel. It could have been bought anywhere for the same money and supported the people actually working and not just brokering.

Go to see Carlos at "D's right joint" in front of Wyndham right on the marina, its in the middle all of the other stuff like Squid Roe, Senor Frogs etc. Its worth your time to trust me on this one, you need a friend in Cabo that you can trust as you will quickly learn they are hard to come by.

Room Tip: 4th floor and above for a view, one room suites are worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leawood, Kansas
Top Contributor
143 reviews 143 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

This is great place to stay in Cabo. This beautiful hotel is a short walk to the Marina or town and is on the Medano beach - a large and swimable beach. There are plenty of good restaurants within a short walking distance. The rooms are spacious and nicely appointed. We had the one bedroom suite and there were two balaconies for us to use. From the upper floors, there is a a great view of the ocean, the rocky cliffs and Lover's Beach. The staff were friendly and attentive. The swimming pool is heated.

Two shortcomings of the hotel:
1. The food poolside and at 12 Tribes is not very good. But you have your own kitchen and there are plenty of good alternatives a short walk away.
2. The wi-fi speed was ok, but the coverage was spotty inside the room. We found the best coverage by the pool or out on our balcony. Wi-fi cost $50 per week and can only be used on one device at a time.

We agreed that on our next trip to Cabo, we would stay at the Casa Dorada again.

BTW, we rented our room from vbro.com at a very attractive price.

Room Tip: Higher floors (4+) give better view of the bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

From our 1 bedroom suite with a kitchenette, we had a view of the pool, Kidz Club and the Mango Deck. The music was extrememly loud until 11pm at night.

The Casa Kidz Playzone is closed on Fridays. Open 9-4pm. Closed for lunch from 1-2pm. Only one worker. With our 2 active boys ages 5 and 9, this place did not have enough for them to do.

There is one kiddie swimming pool by itself outside the Casa Kidz. Then there's the big major one, which can be quite limiting for young kids.

Overall, it didn't meet our needs of what we were hoping for. We were looking for a place to relax with some adult time, kids activities and a quiet beach. We ended up changing hotels to Dreams. That was so much better for us as a family!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Campbell, California
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

You can't pick a better location in Cabo. Best views of the arch, clean sand beaches and walking distance to downtown and the marina. Crawling distance from "The Office" . Plus The rooms are spacious and they all include balconies w/ocean views. The pool staff is phenomenal. Happy hour all day (2 for one cocktails) on Mon/Wed & Fridays. Weekly poolside Ping Pong tournaments with Bismarck, Marvin, Julio, Emilio & Ilse. the only bad thing I can say about Casa Dorado is that their Wi-Fi connection is less than desirable. it is very intermittent and there is a $50USD weekly rate to use it. However when you're on vacation, you really shouldn't be working anyways!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

I have just returned from four days in Los Cabos @ Casa Dorada and the experience was excellent. Feb 2-5, 2013. Our room was huge, with a kitchenette that was very helpful for casual refreshments and snacks, an independent bedroom and it was perfectly located (Room 219), we were very close to the swimming pool (10 steps from room to the water).

My 10-year old son could spend time in the water while we could sit outside of our room listening some music. The water temperature was warm, very easy to get it, even for my wife who can´t stand cold water.

We had lunch in the hotel only once, the rest of the days we walked around the hotel, there are many good restaurants at walking-distance, plenty of choices available.

There was a wedding one night and we could hear some of the music inside the room, but it didn´t bother us.

The hotel is conviniently located very close to the Marina in Cabo San Lucas, so any activities related to whale-watching, the arch, etc., are very close.

The only downside I could think of is the proximity of the hotel to the public access to the beach, which brings some people selling their products or offering tours; it did not affect us because is winter and the ocean water is cold and we spend our time by the swimming pool.

Room Tip: Rooms near the swimming pool are recommended.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

This is our third visit to Casa Dorado and the main reason we stay there is because of the location, no car needed which is a huge plus. The staff are so friendly and helpful and always smiling and the grounds are immaculate and lovely. The pool area is nice as well and the rooms are always clean. The not so greats are the pillows, the air conditioning that worked about half of the time, the breakfast buffet which they cannot seem to keep hot or even warm. It was 40$ for a cold buffet. Also if you like a really quiet atmosphere then you will be annoyed because the beach bars below can be loud at night. That doesn't really bother us but it might it may if you like to sleep with the door open to hear the ocean. I wish Casa would find some way to keep their time share people from being so pushy. We know what to expect when we go there and in no uncertain terms will be pushed into one of their presentations but you almost have to be rude so they will leave you alone. I think the reason the rooms are never ready until 4 o'clock is so that they can try to trap you into getting your welcome packet and listening to their sales pitch. The maid were always cleaning our room early in the morning so I think that must be part of the whole time share trap. The positives outweigh the negatives though so I would recommend staying here. Also, the restaurant is just ok, eat away and you will be happier. Cabo is safe at night so wandering around and eating at the local places is better. Just be ready to always say "no thank you" firmly because someone is always trying to get you to buy something in Mexico. You have to take the good with the bad!

Room Tip: stay on the south side if you can! Less noise from the Mango Deck
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Casa Dorada Los Cabos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Dorada Los Cabos

Address: Av. Pescador S/N | Col. El Médano, Cabo San Lucas 23410, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > Cabo San Lucas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#10 Spa Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#12 Luxury Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#14 Romantic Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#14 Business Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#17 Family Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Casa Dorada Los Cabos 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With an incomparable location on Medano Beach -- the best swimmable beach of Cabo, Casa Dorada is just steps away from world-class shopping, dining, entertainment, and the marina. As a member of Preferred Hotels & Resorts, a collection of the world’s finest independent luxury hotels, Casa Dorada Los Cabos brings the upscale service and family-friendly features to the Cabo San Lucas oceanfront. The Resort grants visitors a more convenient, yet equally spectacular, alternative to the more remote hotel zone of the Tourist Corridor. Boasting unobstructed vistas of Land’s End and the famous Arch, Casa Dorada is just 30 minutes away from Los Cabos International Airport. All of the 185 spacious one-, two- and three-bedroom suites and penthouses, open up to Los Cabos’ most dazzling ocean view, while the luminous and contemporary interiors ensure your comfort and satisfaction. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TravelClick, Splendia, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, Venere, Agoda, Otel and Jetsetter so you can book your Casa Dorada Los Cabos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Dorada Los Cabos Hotel Cabo San Lucas
Casa Dorada Los Cabos Resort
Casa Dorada Los Cabos Cabo San Lucas

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa Dorada Los Cabos, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.