We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best location in Cabo if you like action.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Dorada Los Cabos

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Casa Dorada Los Cabos to your Saves list
Casa Dorada Los Cabos
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   Av. Pescador S/N | Col. El Médano, Cabo San Lucas 23410, Mexico   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Complimentary bottle of wine
Ranked #14 of 65 Hotels in Cabo San Lucas
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Best location in Cabo if you like action.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012 via mobile

Rooms are huge, clean, all with great views. The staff was awesome, fast service to any request, polite and all speak perfect English. This location is right on Mendo Beach so if you want isolation, not your place. 5.00 water taxi to the marina or 10 min walk. Great restaurants within 10 min walking.
Just had to tell the timeshare people No and they left me alone. Its worth getting that No out of the way immediately or they will keep asking.
Internet 12.00 day or the marina has public wifi for free. The hotel is immaculate, the pool is perfect and rooms are huge with cable.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,146 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    737
    256
    82
    37
    34
See reviews for
292
529
17
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (324)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

We were a bit worried about going to Cabo, in that most resorts we have been to in Mexico feel like a trap with bad food and no place to go outside the hotel. This one was not like that. A great location near the marina and a great beach, what really makes this hotel are the people who work there. From Lili in the front desk, to Oswaldo the manager, to May the Conceirge, they are all like family. Doing their bets to help you have a good time. Things didn't go perfect, but they did their best to fix everything. Rooms are nice, all with great views and a kitchen. Hotel pool very nice for kids and adults with food that is actually good. Marina and nice restaurants (Bar Equina and Edith's) within a stone's throw. As long as you have a high room not to hear too much of the noise of the Mango deck, you will enjoy. We did! Our two kids loved it. We will be back.

Room Tip: Away from Mango deck- we had 713, which was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

This hotel is in the perfect location. The rooms are excellent. Right behind the mango deck. Easy walk to town. U must walk to gardenia for the best shrimp bowl ever!!!! Fish tacos are excellent. Bar esquina across the street is excellent. Good food excellent romantic atmosphere.
Get a massage!!! Best one I have had and I've had over 100

Room Tip: Get at least on the 3 rd floor. As u face the ocean the rooms to the right are near a kiddie pool s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

I was at the Casa Dorada this last week and really enjoyed myself except for a couple of issues. We paid well over 250 night, but it was 3 dollars for a cup of morning joe and 14 dollars for a day of internet. Should be included. Having to pay for morning coffee sets the morning off on the wrong path.

I was there for wedding and I would not recommend them for those services, especially at night. There is an unaffiliated bar called the Mango Deck that is very loud at night and will ruin your wedding. Casa needs to make an agreement with them to shut down for 15 minutes during the wedding. The wedding planner is a joke as well and you have to really watch them concerning agreed to services. The food was quite good though.

They do have a great spa that is included in the cost of the hotel, which was a nice surprise.

I enjoyed my stay there, but would probably not go back.

Room Tip: Just get the junior suite. Everything else is almost too big.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san diego, CA
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

I am not going to waste anymore time on this place with a lengthy review.
1. Timeshare salesmen (only men) everywhere. You walk down the stairs while they are having a meeting and it's like blood in the water. All through breakfast all you can hear is the chitter chatter about what a great "deal" this is.
2. Lucia Lucinda in the VIP check in area broke every standing rule of customer service. Not sure how many more times she could tell us "no" and "no your room is not ready (for the 4th time)" and "no" we can't change your room even though it is right next to the front door of the hotel and we could hear crazy people coming in all hours of the night. Perhaps I should not have said "no" to the timeshare guy until we were checked in.
3. The Hacienda next door is fantastic! Restaurant is amazing, pool is gorgeous. Spent some time there and all I heard was "yes". And no one tried to sell me anything other than lobster enchiladas and a margarita (which they got right on the first try).
4. WHatever you do, don't look (or inhale) behind the pool bar area (or up top where the food is). You will lose your appetite, even for drinks, immediately.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

We just returned from a 5 night stay during Thanksgiving week. The resort is on Medano beach part of which is behind the Mango Deck beach bar. The location is great if interested in a combination of beach (with a lot of action) and marina/downtown activities. If looking for a more relaxed atmosphere, going further down Medano beach would be a better choice. The water was great and it was a short walk to the marina where there are a lot of restaurants and other activities (5-7 minute casual walk from the street in front of the lobby). We usually prefer to relax on the beach so we started by hanging at the beach when we arrived but quickly decided to switch to the pool for several reasons:

1) The beach setting was very noisy and busy with vendors and nearby beach bars.
2) The beach chairs were not as comfortable as the padded pool chairs.
3) The beach area slopes to the water making the chairs even more uncomfortable.
4) With all the boat activities along Medano beach, the fumes was pretty obvious and became annoying quickly.

The room we were in had a great ocean view and most rooms (especially upper rooms) should also have a great view. The weekend prior to Thanksgiving had 2 weddings (Sat and Sun) at 12 Tribes restaurant. The noise from the weddings was very loud and very obvious even with the balcony doors closed in our room. The music played until 11 or 12 midnight and the partying continued until 3am. I talked to the concierge the next day and she said the party should have moved to the Maydan after 11pm, but a lot of people continued to hang around 12 Tribes and the pool area. The other nights were fine and I was worried about noise from the Mango Deck at night, but that wasn't a big issue. Suprisingly the on property noise was much worse.

Overall, I would rate this resort 3 star+ to 4 star. My personal preferences lean more to a quieter more relaxing atmosphere as opposed to a party atmosphere.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 618 which is a one-bedroom suite which also has a lockout to an adjoining bedroom...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

We just got back from a week at Casa Dorado and we were extremely happy with our stay. The resort is well kept up and they go out of their way to make you feel comfortable and welcome. The Bell Captain, (I think that is his title) Tomas Rodreguiz does an outstanding job managing this very busy hotel entrance - he and his staff were so accomodating and brought our car around within minutes of the request. Front desk, housekeeping, 12 Tribes, and beach and pool staff also incredibly nice and excellent service. Yes, you may pay for some extras but it is well worth it - There is enough staff at this place to man a small army - therefore no customer need goes un -noticed.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Casa Dorada Los Cabos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Dorada Los Cabos

Address: Av. Pescador S/N | Col. El Médano, Cabo San Lucas 23410, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > Cabo San Lucas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#10 Business Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#10 Spa Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#12 Luxury Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#15 Romantic Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#20 Family Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Casa Dorada Los Cabos 4.5*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With an incomparable location on Medano Beach -- the best swimmable beach of Cabo, Casa Dorada is just steps away from world-class shopping, dining, entertainment, and the marina. As a member of Preferred Hotels & Resorts, a collection of the world’s finest independent luxury hotels, Casa Dorada Los Cabos brings the upscale service and family-friendly features to the Cabo San Lucas oceanfront. The Resort grants visitors a more convenient, yet equally spectacular, alternative to the more remote hotel zone of the Tourist Corridor. Boasting unobstructed vistas of Land’s End and the famous Arch, Casa Dorada is just 30 minutes away from Los Cabos International Airport. All of the 185 spacious one-, two- and three-bedroom suites and penthouses, open up to Los Cabos’ most dazzling ocean view, while the luminous and contemporary interiors ensure your comfort and satisfaction. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Despegar.com, TravelClick, Orbitz, Expedia, Splendia, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Casa Dorada Los Cabos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Dorada Los Cabos Hotel Cabo San Lucas
Casa Dorada Los Cabos Resort
Casa Dorada Los Cabos Cabo San Lucas

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa Dorada Los Cabos, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.