We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Blown Away at the Riu Santa Fe” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Riu Santa Fe

Save Saved
You added Hotel Riu Santa Fe to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Riu Santa Fe
3.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Camino Viejo a San Jose, Cabo San Lucas 23410, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Summer Special Offer
Ranked #34 of 66 hotels in Cabo San Lucas
Peoria, Illinois
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Blown Away at the Riu Santa Fe”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2009

Just returned from a fabulous trip at the Riu Santa Fe. We stayed in building 7 and had the romantic oceanfront room we requested. Did some fantastic diving on our 2nd day with 89 degree waters. Unforunately all of that changed with the arrival of Hurricane Jimena. However the hotel did a fantastic job in how they handled the situation. Guests were not panicked and felt well taken care of - with food delivered to our building lobby during the worst of the weather situation. At no point were we concerned about our safety or the knowledge of the hotel staff. We never lost power and awoke the next day to find no significant damage to the hotel. It is an all inclusive, which means the buffet food can get boring after so many days. I would highly recommend taking a day or two to go to the marina, do some shopping and visiting the local establishments. We also rented a car at the hotel and spent a few hours in Todos Santos (approximately 1 hour north). Charlie from FunJet was great and did not push any trips or activities on us. One warning - NEVER stop in the airport once you are thru passport control. You are constantly harassed by locals looking to get you to buy into timeshares and they will use every excuse imaginable. Simply walk briskly to the exits and do not engage in any conversations and you will be fine - your transportation will be waiting for you outside the airport. Overall we had a great trip and really enjoyed the hotel.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,348 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,468
    1,687
    668
    320
    205
See reviews for
883
1930
67
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,182)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2009

You can not go wrong with this hotel. The staff was amazing. You can see the Arc from the hotel. Water sports right on the beach. Hotel is very clean. They keep your bar stocked. Food is awesome. Drinks and Bar tenders are even more awesome. They put on shows for you at night that are cute and fun. Not far from down town. Lots of chairs to relax by the pool/beach and some nice pools overlooking the beach (my favorite). I will def be using the RIU again when I go back to Cabo. =)

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2009

Re Santa Fe Aug 15-29/09
We arrived at airport to have id bracelet put on before
boarding bus, check in was fast, room keep clean, fridge cold and stocked every 2 days, air conitioning was quiet and keep room cold, lining up at 7:00 am to book a al la carte restaurant very inconvenient, grounds well maintained, pools clean, definetly no ocean swimming current way too strong but we knew that before booking. Lounge chairs plentiful. Food is average, salads and breakfasts good, you can always find something to eat, lunch very repetative. Steakhouse is good but the Italian Restaurant does not have much in the way of Italian food on the menu, food okay . We had a nice time at this hotel. A special thankyou to Lu with Sunquest Holidays at the Rui Santa Fe who made our trip even more memorable.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2009

We went to the Riu Santa Fe for a well deserved get away from the real world. We had never been to Cabo before, but had always wanted to go. I have to say, that in Cabo, you really feel like you are in Mexico. Not "touristy" and very rustic. The scenery is absolutely breathtaking!
The hotel was fabulous! No problems whatsoever at check in. We actually arrived about 6 hours early, and they showed us right to our room, with cold drinks in hand. The resort is huge - but the walk is not as bad as some have said. Now, we splurged for a suite. If at all possible, go for it. It's really not too much more $ in the big scheme of things. Marble bathroom - huge, comfy bed, balcony and a hot tub on the roof that you reach via spiral staircase. AND THE VIEW! Opening our eyes in bed to see The Arch every morning was amazing! Set the mood for the entire day!
We loved the food! Now, if all you eat are burgers and hot dogs - you're going to be disappointed. My husband, however, said the only thing he didn't like about the buffets was that he got too full to try everything he wanted to try! The variety is amazing - and the quality was great! I'm not saying every last thing was perfect, but holy cow! If you can't find enough to fill your plate at least two times at this buffet, you should go to McDonalds. Be sure to try all the authentic Mexican dishes - and whatever is in the BIG POT! We went to the Mexican dinner one night, the only one we really wanted to go to, and it was fantastic! We were too full for dessert.
The staff was great. Especially Laura, (our hostess at the buffet), and Freddie and Rosemberg, our servers. They made us feel like family! And PLEASE tip them! A few dollars goes a long way to make your stay more enjoyable - and is GREATLY appreciated by the staff! A few of the pool bartenders left something to be desired, but I think I may just be spoiled.
Please remember, 5 stars in Mexico is not going to be the same as 5 stars in Manhattan. This place is phenomenal for the price! If you want a laid back, relaxing, fun vacation - go for it! If you are one of those people who look for the bad in everything - you're going to find it at any resort, you'll just have to look a bit harder to find it here!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2009

Our stay at the Riu Santa Fe was an enjoyable one. The grounds were beautiful and well-maintained and the staff was pleasant. Food at the buffet was adequate and there were actually some things that we liked alot. It's buffet food...you wouldn't expect buffet food in the US to be OUTSTANDING so I am not sure why people expect it here. You are paying for all-inclusive...meaning you're paying for quantity, not necessarily quality, and for a place that is preparing food for a zilion people at a time, I thought it was pretty damn good. Then again, I eat pretty much everything so it's also about personal taste and tolerance as well.
Anyway, our complaints are minimal and they include the pool being a bit cleaner (This goes for the infinity pool. We cannot justly comment on the other pools as the infinity pool is the only one we swam in) (Actually i'm lying...we did hang at the other pool closest to the lobby once, but to be quite honest I did not take notice to the murk-factor). Also, the 24 hr snack bar would have been even better had it offered more than refrigerated burgers, nachos, and cheese. Pizza is always a fantabulous option. However, the sports bar was setup nicely with video games, computers/internet, foosball, pool tables (kicked my man's poo hole!!! YAYY!!), and air hockey. I'm not sure about those air hockey tables though. I think one of them may have been rigged and it looked a little slanted to me. Who knows.
There is definitely an unnerving aspect of the internet access in the sports bar. We met a few different people on our trip, and one person told us about his bad experience. He was paying to use the computer to go online. Apparently, the staff member who sits by the computers is there to monitor the internet usage...and by monitor I mean he is using one of those Virtual Networking softwares where he can see exactly what you have on your screen - on his screen. In this case our friend was checking his Facebook account and when he walked over to the guy to buy more computer time, he saw his own account up on the guy's screen. When he pointed it out, the guy simply replied "Yea, i'm watching you." How's that for feeling violated? Luckily he wasn't paying a bill or banking online.
The beach was nice and the views of Lover's/Divorce Beach (great excursion btw) were amazing. Don't swim in the water unless you're ready to meet your maker. I waded for about 10 minutes before I became a walking sandbag.
Overall our trip and stay at the Riu was fantastic and the only reason we would not return is if we were going to stay at a different resort just for the sake of variety.

  • Stayed August 2009
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2009

The resort is nice. The food is low quality buffet style food. We have been to other all-inclusives in Cancun, Cozumel and Talum and this is by far the worst ever. To get reservations to the ala-carte restaurants requires going to lobby at 7am to maybe get reservations. We ate at the steakhouse and it was terrible. It is not worth going to the ala carte restaurants at this resort because the food is terrible and the buffet is at least quicker. The six ounce ribeye was low quality and tough. The reservations policy is the worst ever; the staff is not interested in changing any of the policies and act as if they don't care. The beer is dos ickies on tap and the mixed drinks are made using cheap liquor.

The beach is not swimmable due to the undertow. Walking out of the resort to the beach you are greeted by many vendors trying to sell Mexican souvenirs. There are no umbrellas on the beach chairs. When sitting at the beach or pool areas do not expect anyone to take your drink order. You will only get drinks if you go to the bars and order yourself. The pool bars close at 6pm.

Overall the resort was nice but the overall experience was a 2 out of 5 star rating for the hotel. Bad food and unhelpful staff. Would not stay again.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2009

Went to the Riu for 9 days after the wife spent Christmas at the Riu Palace and loved it. As everyne says, the reservation thing stinks but there was so much great food available, I didn't really miss it. Bartenders and staff are very good. See Carla in the Sports Bar. She is great and goes out of her way to make sure you have a good time. The most annoying thing was the kids. There are huge pools all over the property and no reason kids should be in the pool bar area(s). They would "Cannonball," splash, and get a fresh drink and dump it in the pool. It would not be hard to keep kids from these areas while not limiting the family aspect of the resort. At least keep one pool/bar area all adult. This was our first trip to a non adult only resort. We will never do it again. If you vacation without your kids and don't want to be around other peoples, DO NOT go here. Too bad, I liked the place otherwise.

Stayed August 2009, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Riu Santa Fe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Santa Fe

Address: Camino Viejo a San Jose, Cabo San Lucas 23410, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > Cabo San Lucas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Top resorts Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#22 Spa Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#26 On the Beach Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#31 Romantic Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#33 Family Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#34 Business Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Riu Santa Fe 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
* Located in the southern Baja California peninsula, 4.5 km/2.8 miles from Cabo San Lucas * Opened winter 2007/8 * 1-story main building and 3-story and 4-story annexes * On the beachfront * Complimentary sun loungers on the beach * 3.5 km/2.2 miles from downtown Cabo San Lucas * 40 km/25 miles from the airport * 500 m/1650 ft from a bus stop ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, BookIt.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, Hotels.com, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Otel, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Hotel Riu Santa Fe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Santa Fe Cabo San Lucas
Riu Santa Fe Los Cabos
Riu Sante Fe
Hotel Riu Santa Fe Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Riu Santa Fe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.