We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Riu Santa Fe

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Riu Santa Fe to your Saves list
Hotel Riu Santa Fe
3.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Camino Viejo a San Jose | Cabo San Lucas, Cabo San Lucas 23410, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #39 of 66 Hotels in Cabo San Lucas
Winnipeg, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

This was our second visit to the Riu Santa Fe within the past 18 months(2 Week Stay) and were not disappointed! That being said, we only have three issues, 1) The Coffee and 2) The Beach and 3, the Internet Service.
1) We have stayed at various Riu's but have noticed that the Riu has changed the Coffee Brand, not only at the Santa Fe but at the other locations as well, seems to be a Instant Coffee Brand, in all Restraunts within the Property, the only place to receive a respectable Coffee is at the Sports Bar, from which is open 24 Hours. The Riu has to revisit this change as most North Americans do like their Coffee!
2) The Beach itself has a Great Color of Water, a Good walk to the East, about a 30 min walk each way toward the rocks but is indeed wide but the Beach has basically has 3 Levels with the 3rd top level being flat but slops sharply as you go toward the water, hard to walk. As many have warned, unless you are a Terrific swimmer, you cannot go into the water as there is a drop about 12 feet in, with a under tow that can cause damage, again, unless you are a swimmer, so beware! There are life guards directly on the beach and will warn you if they notice that you are too far out. The same holds true wealking toward the West, 3 levels, you can walk toward the Marina, about a 60 min walk.

3) You do have 90 min of free internet service but this is a straight 90 min, If you log on lets say for a 10 min period to check email and log off, you figure, you have 80 min left for later in the day, No, after you login to your initial time, this runs for the 90 min straight, regardless if you log off, close your wifi etc, so if you try later in the day, you will receive a notice that you have expired your free time, I complained at the frony desk via duty Manager, he explained this process and called tech to allow me further time.

Now, the Hotel, the rooms are cleaned and stocked every day, lots of Hot Water, showers are Good. We stayed within building 7, the closest to the Beach, we had no noice issues at night- were never in the room during the day. Each room has a air conditioner as well as a fan, the only room issue, no exhaust fan within the washroom. Each room has a safe, building 1 is the furtherest away from the beach!

Staff were friendly, I had no issues with the hotel, the only issue was with the tour Company that we arrived with, Sun Wing, their reps were no help at all, one didn't even speak english! We walked along the dirt road, west of the security check point, this does lead you to the Marina as well, or you can take a Bus, just along the entry road for $1.00 (10 Peso's) per person, or a cab at a cost.

People complain about the Food but how can you, there are 4 restraunts along with the Buffett, lots to choose from, I would not to go at 6 as obviously the early food prep is early in the afternoon, so go later, 7 for example to ensure of a Hot Meal, excellent food choices! We saw many, many males, go to Dinner with Muscle Shirts, this is a No, No, how can a male dress up and his partnet always dress up, please have a shirt with at least a collar and sleeves, they will advise you as you enter to go back and change, Cheers! The Dinner Building does allow casual dress but Females have to have a cover up.

The pool areas are cleaned each and every day, I believe there are 4 pools, I was up early and the desks are hosed down, chairs are cleaned.

We would go back again, but Please bring back the Coffee!

Room Tip: Any building is acceptable, 7 closest to the Beach, 1 is the furthest from the Beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,657 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,546
    1,796
    715
    346
    254
See reviews for
953
2,040
73
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,304)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

We had a wonderful vacation and a much needed get away from snowy and cold Colorado. The Riu Santa Fe is a very large property so be prepared to walk! We found the service staff to be excellent and very accommodating; however, 2 out of the 7 days, due to the electricity being shut off in our building, our room was not cleaned nor cool. We stayed in building 1 which is the closest to the lobby and the main gathering areas but furthest from water views. There is a large pool a few steps away but the main activities are geared in the pool areas in front of building 7 which was where our group decided to gather. The downside of the pool areas in front of building 7 is the remarkable lack of restrooms. There is only 1 for three pools and two bar areas so don't wait until the last minute lol! We stayed on the 2nd floor and should you have any type of climbing issues, request a ground floor room. There isn't an elevator and it would be very difficult for some people to climb the stairs on the 2nd-4th floors. The service staff will put your bags in your rooms after check-in, but it is your responsibility to remove them at check-out. The food at the buffets was very good and a had a wide variety. Do take advantage of the restaurants while there. We ate at the Steak House and the Mexican Restaurant. The Mexican Restaurant was by far the best. Unfortunately, the butter at the Riu isn't butter so avoid it, if possible. Have to say, climbing the stairs and walking did me a world of good and despite being an all-inclusive and taking full advantage of the food and drink, I lost 5 pounds! My husband, on the other hand, gained 10 lol! You'll have a great time!

Room Tip: For a water view and a room closest to the three pool, two bar and a buffet area, stay in building 7...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

I think our overall experience at this hotel was pretty average. The rooms were nice, the pools were great and the beach was beautiful! The property is huge, so it was quite a walk to get anywhere, especially the beach. I thought the service was very poor-the staff didn't really care to help us at all. The buffets were HORRIBLE. I'm not a picky eater, so for me to think its bad is really saying something. The dinner restaurants had pretty good food, however, making reservations was a nightmare. We were told we could only make 2 reservations, which was different from the other Riu's I've stayed at, and the only available times were at 10pm. I didn't really understand why since those restaurants were part of the all inclusive package...
Also-be careful when trying to break down large bills-we tried to get change for a $20 from an employee, and he gave us 18 ones and 2 pesos. When my friend questioned him, he said that it was the right change. When I told him I knew it wasn't, he snatched his money from my hand and said "Fine, I don't have change for you then!" We are pretty easy going, so we laughed it off. No point stressing while you're on vacation!
Regardless of the negatives, we had a great trip and got an awesome deal! I definitely won't return to this hotel if I visit Cabo again though.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chilliwack, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

There were 4 of us staying at the Santa Fe. In February 2014. Rooms were great and very clean. Food was excellent and better than the cruise we went on last vacation. Staff were friendly and helpful. There was a language problem but we managed. After all it's not Canada. My only complaint is the resort is too big. Along walk to the beach from building 6. One of our group needed a wheel chair to get there. Available but not free to use. You have to rent. Free internet is painfully slow but if you pay it's quite fast. The grounds are immaculate and very clean. I would recommend this place. Much better than I have read with other reviews of this place. Can't swim in the ocean...strong undertow...people tried...life guard watching...pools very nice. Tours were good whale watching was excellent saw lots.....

Gerry from Chilliwack BC

Room Tip: If you have problems walking get close to lobby and get a ground floor room. No elevators. Entertain...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

We had a wonderful vacation last week. Needed to get away from the sub zero temps in Chicago. Riu Santa Fe was the answer. Everything was clean, service excellent, food very good. This isn't a Four Seasons, so people looking for that kind of facility should look somewhere else. It is a very big resort, lots of people. But it fit the bill for us perfctly. We found a small outside patio in the back of the large dining room. It is in the back towards the left. Check it out.
Food was plentiful, nicely presented, excellent quality. Again, if you want gourmet dining, look somewhere else. The people who post negative reviews have not listened to these reviews.

There is a Walmart close by where you can buy anything you forgot. We took a cab, but others said they walked. The beach for the hotel is on the ocean side and the surf was too rough to swim. Check other reviews for ocean swimming information. We only left the hotel complex twice - once for Walmart, another for a whale watching, dinner cruise. Other than that, we chilled by the pool. Met some people from Canada and started hanging with them.
At the pool, when you order a pina colada - be sure to ask for the real coconut milk. Also, bring a couple $5 bills for tipping bartenders, waitress every now and then. They will remember you. You don't have to tip everyone evey time. But once you start seeing the sample people in the restaurant, bars, etc.

Room Tip: Most of the buildings don't have elevators. Ask for a ground level or 2nd floor room if you don...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boise
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014 via mobile

Just spent 5 days at this resort. From a very efficient check-in and greeting cocktail, to check-out, the staff is friendly and willing to accommodate. Food quality is anywhere from good to excellent.
Pool areas are very fun and there is someone for everyone (quiet places to wild bars). Staff at spa were not friendly and obviously not happy.
For the money, you can't beat the value.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, ab
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014

Wow I can't believe how picky some people are. This resort is truly Fantastic. The Staff at this hotel go out of their way to please you. . If you can't do 3 flights of stairs (kept me in great shape) then ask for ground level. Food was good, it's an all-inclusive and they are feeding thousands of people, we always found something to eat and as all-inclusives are, you get a little bored by the end of the week. They had a great variety and the specialty restaurants were excellent. You can take food from the sports bar with you on your tours to save money. The Lands end and ATV tours are great.
There are a few English tv channels, just search the remote. Yes, the resort is big. We were in building 5 and found it to be the most central. There are lots of activities at this resort and a children's area.
The place is spotless and extremely well maintained. I asked the operator in the lobby to have a minor repair done in our room and by the time I got back to my room it was fixed!
The rooms are spacious, the beds are fine, yes the pillows are flat. Housekeeping does turn off the main power switch in your room, but as per the card in the bathroom, the whole Baja area is trying to conserve everything from power to water. We stayed at other hotels in the area and it was the same. It really doesn't take long for your room to cool down again when you turn it back on.
We were there as a group and everyone loved the place. I would stay there again and can't say enough how truly exceptional the staff are! Keep up the good work:)

Room Tip: Bldg. 7 is not central!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Riu Santa Fe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Santa Fe

Address: Camino Viejo a San Jose | Cabo San Lucas, Cabo San Lucas 23410, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > Cabo San Lucas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Top resorts Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#23 Spa Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#27 On the Beach Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#34 Romantic Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Riu Santa Fe 3.5*
Number of rooms: 902
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
* Located in the southern Baja California peninsula, 4.5 Km/2.8 Miles from Cabo San Lucas * Opened winter 2007/8 * 1-story main building and 3-story and 4-story annexes * On the beachfront * Complimentary sun loungers on the beach * 3.5 Km/2.2 Miles from downtown Cabo San Lucas * 40 km/25 miles from the airport * 500 m/1650 ft from a bus stop ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, BookIt.com, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Otel, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Riu Santa Fe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Santa Fe Cabo San Lucas
Riu Santa Fe Los Cabos
Riu Sante Fe
Hotel Riu Santa Fe Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Riu Santa Fe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.