We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“RIU Santa Fe 6/4-6/9” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Riu Santa Fe

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Riu Santa Fe to your Saves list
Hotel Riu Santa Fe
3.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Camino Viejo a San Jose | Cabo San Lucas, Cabo San Lucas 23410, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
EARLY BIRD SUMMER DEALS
Ranked #39 of 68 Hotels in Cabo San Lucas
atlanta
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“RIU Santa Fe 6/4-6/9”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

I give this resort 3 stars because of the location serene on the Sea of Cortez. Very pretty water, but not functional for play.

I travelled here with my husband two daughters ages 19 & 11 and my mother in law. We had adjoining rooms on the 2nd floor in building 4. This was a good location for us. In between the quiet pool and the loud/party pool where all of the poolside activities take place. Short walks to which ever side you wanted to be on.

Did not hear a lot of partying or noise except for a group of guys from Canada who stayed on our floor.

The hotel staff was awesome and very cordial. Did not like the idea that when I called for extra towels or an iron, we had to wait a whole day for the towels and the iron came the next day. The in room mini friges are stocked with sodas, beer and water. We advised housekeeping that we did not drink dark sodas and to switch out the pepsi's for 7ups instead. She took the pepsi's (about 5 of them) and brought only two 7ups. The next day, I had to make the request again and they finally got it right.

The property was extremely clean and spotless. Only insects in room were very very tiny ants. I saw about 4 or 5 and killed them on the spot. A mosquito or two when our balcony door was open. They were killed as well.

The mattresses weren't all that great, but were doable.

The food was okay a good variety in the main buffet area. The steak house and Mexican restaurants are used during the day for lunch buffet. I found better choices at the steak house for lunch. But it appeared that a lot of left overs from the big buffet were transported to the lunch buffets.

As for picking a restaurant for dinner at night, we were able to book 3 out of 4 during our stay. We didn't make it to the Mexican restaurant, but no heart break in that area since you can find some sort of Mexican food every night. This was not to our doing, but due to the public relations representative not booking us when she stated she would. She agreed to take care of our Steak nite and Mexican nite, but got side tracked. Almost didn't make steak nite.

If you like American ketchup, you may want to bring your own. The ketchup like in most other countries taste like sweet and sour sauce. The resort had a Mexican brand ketchup in bottles, but sometimes they were all gone. I find keeping the extra ketchup packets from restaurants in a zip lock bag comes in handy on vacation.

You can only book 2 nites at a time. We didn't get to book our 3rd and 4th nite dinners because my husband sliced his great toe on what we initially thought was broken glass in the infinity pool by the beach, but later found out that it was broken tile.

Yes, this sort of dampened our spirits and ruined his stay for two days. He had a 1 1/2 inch laceration that was deep enough for steri strips, but the doctor on the premises cleaned it really well and applied a bandage instead and advised to use wheelchair for two days and not put pressure on it. He was given a prescription for antibiotics and pain reliever which was delivered to him by the Public relations representative. She was very hospitable in transporting my husband to the medical facility.

We were never offered any sort of comps for this incident, just a room on a lower floor to keep my husband from having to travel the steps. The rooms weren't guaranteed to be adjoining so we declined them.

Back to the restaurants....If you have experienced all-inclusive a la carts before, then you would have expectations. The Asian and Italian restaurants were set up buffet style the entrée is served appetizers and desserts you have to get up and get. This really takes away from the experience.

You could basically get the same service in the buffet. The steak house is an open buffet area close to the beach. The food and choice was pretty good, the location would have been great if it weren't so cold. It can get very chilly at nite out by the ocean and we really couldn't enjoy our meal. They have these heaters up on the roof, but they did little justice.


The good thing is that we did not have to pay for the medical attention or medication since the incident was RIU's fault. Funny thing is that after this happened any request that we made was fulfilled expeditiously.

I would come back to Cabo, but maybe to a different resort. Preferably due to position on the beach.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,127 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,680
    1,976
    811
    381
    279
See reviews for
1,049
2,250
85
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,515)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland, Ohio
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

Just came back two days ago. Weather was great – no humidity at all. Absolutely gorgeous resort with beautiful landscaping and very clean. International Buffet has huge selection of food. The restaurant next to pool and ocean very conveniently located and open for breakfast and lunch also. Entertainment team is very energetic and doing some activity all the time next to the main infinity pool. Rooms are average and beds are OK. We had room with partial ocean view and it was nice and very comfortable. Unfortunately the beach next to the hotel is not swimmable but you can walk just 200 yards to the next resort and it has swimmable beach. Some evening shows are very good and some do not worth to spend time. A lot of bars around the resort and the service there is very fast.

Room Tip: Building 7 is the best!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

The food was the most disgusting thing ever. I had to drive into town to get food every day. The drinks were watered down, and the service was horrible. They also run a scam of trying to charge you 20 bucks for not returning a towel card. Worst hotel experience ever!!!!!! Nobody should ever go here!!!!!!!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olympia, Washington
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

Upon arrival we were greeted with margaritas and help with our luggage. The front desk was super helpful when explaining the resort property. Wifi was free for 1 hour every day. I went with 2 friends, stayed in bldg. 5 across from the spa and gym. The room was good for the price, beds were a little hard but not bad. The mini bar was stocked. Any time we called to the front desk (only 2 times) they were prompt to get us what we needed. (We couldn't figure out how to dispense the tequila) The pool area was awesome, love the entertainment during the day. They don't badger you about going on excursions they just let you know about what they offer and leave you alone. The food was pretty good.
Next time we go back I'm going to try the restaurants, we heard they were really good as well. Nightly entertainment every night and it was super fun. They had things going on in the court yard every evening and it was never a problem getting drinks, the staff were all very friendly and helpful. Can't wait for our trip in 2014!!!!

Room Tip: Bldg 5 super quite and in the middle of the resort so easy access to both pools.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

Nice location close to town...about 5 minute ($12 ride in)

Nice looking property...lots of people from all over. Lotta parties...nice scenes.

I guess it's good value but just know what you are getting into:

Food - most awful food I've ever had at any hotel I've ever stayed at. I've probably stay at 100-200.i had low expectations coming in and it was baaaad!!

Drinks - bottom of the barrel...couple bars...no waiters at pool. No food served at pool...no room service. They do provide beer and tequila and a fridge in the room.

Pool - not bad...party atmosphere mostly; not a great hotel for families! Couple swim up bars. There are 3 pools next to each other and one stand alone pool.No jacuzzi on property.

Lastly, SCAM Alert: hold onto your towel card...nobody tells you this but if you lose it or forget it they charge you $20 a card.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

Spawling hotel but some buildings were busy and others empty. Long walk to main area... Which is good because it is really quiet in our building in the evenings. Our building is next to the infinity pool...sorry do not know building number... Convenient because close to beach/pool and lunch buffet. Concierge at ground floor so no need to walk to main lobby. There is another quiet pool between beach and main lobby.

Drinks were great not watered down. Food what can i say you will not be hungry... Like on a large cruise ship buffet.

I would go back. 8.5/10

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomingdale, Illinois
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

This is our 4th Riu visit and our 3rd RIU review. Obviously we ENJOY the resorts, as we are return guests. We were at the Santa Fe from 5/25 – 6/1/13; 7 days. We again referred friends and booked through Apple Vacations without fail.

We travel often and have a fairly good knowledge base on what to expect with the help of Tripadvisor’s forum and referrals. I was somewhat skeptical booking at the Santa Fe as we have previously booked at the Palace next store. The recent reviews made us leery, but we are not picky people and decided to go with the flow.

Our arrival with United Airlines was fine. We managed our way through the shark tank without issues. Prior to arrival we contacted Sonja Vicente with room referrals and questions, no problem. As RIU Class members, check in was effortless and timely. Our friends arrived within minutes from Denver so we all proceeded to Building 7. Our room was 7454 and their room was 7457 - Top floor, great views. Perfect start.

The next morning (Sunday) I decided to make reservations with the bldg 7 concierge for the ala carte restaurants, only to find out that the resort was expecting a convention the next day (Monday). To our surprise we were informed that over 1700+ people were going to be arriving and staying not only at the Santa Fe, but the Palace as well. They were not taking ANY reservations for the next three days at any of the ala carte’s and we would have to go to a ‘special buffet’ for non-convention guests.

If you are familiar with the RIU’s they have large buffets (Baja California) with each meal and the selections may not be top notch quality, but sure are plentiful. We were informed the Torote restaurant (Steakhouse) near building 7 would be where we needed to go for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Tuesday we were allowed to have dinner at the Palace. The ‘special buffets’ were sub-par with a third of what the normal selections would have accommodated. Food was cold and not replenished. Not to mention the Steakhouse is an open air restaurant and the wind was horrendously COLD!

On Tuesday, the main courtyard was set up beautifully with 50+ tables for a formal dinner for convention guests. That area of the resort was off limits to us with signs stating ‘Private Event’. The Courtyard is a main passage way to the front of the resort by the main check in and entrance. I paid full dollars to use that area… and I wanted a drink from the Sports Bar and could not access it! Why the RIU chose not to utilize the several large white tents adjacent to the resort for all the convention needs, is beyond me.

Bottom line, had I have been informed by the RIU and /or Applevacations that a convention had been booked, I would have appreciated the option of being able to reschedule or book elsewhere. We were made to feel like second rate guests, pushed into a corner of the resort in order to accommodate said convention. I can tell you, the pool was buzzing with disgruntled visitors who felt the same.

Yes the weather was beautiful… 7 days of pure sunshine. The liquor was watered down. The evening we were allowed to go to the Palace was the first good premium liquor drink available. Did we have fun? ABSOLUTELY… Will we go back to Cabo – Definitely YES… Back to the Santa Fe, probably not. We originally wanted the Palace next store but it was booked. Either way, we would have encountered the same problems.

Word to the wise… When booking in the future…. ASK IF THEY ARE HAVING A CONVENTION WHILE YOU ARE THERE!!!

Room Tip: Room 7454 was in the corner and had a perfect view of Lands End
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Riu Santa Fe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Santa Fe

Address: Camino Viejo a San Jose | Cabo San Lucas, Cabo San Lucas 23410, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > Cabo San Lucas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Spa Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#19 Top resorts Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#26 On the Beach Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Riu Santa Fe 3.5*
Number of rooms: 902
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
* Located in the southern Baja California peninsula, 4.5 Km/2.8 Miles from Cabo San Lucas * Opened winter 2007/8 * 1-story main building and 3-story and 4-story annexes * On the beachfront * Complimentary sun loungers on the beach * 3.5 Km/2.2 Miles from downtown Cabo San Lucas * 40 km/25 miles from the airport * 500 m/1650 ft from a bus stop ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Expedia, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Amex, Despegar.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Riu Santa Fe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Santa Fe Cabo San Lucas
Riu Santa Fe Los Cabos
Riu Sante Fe
Hotel Riu Santa Fe Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Riu Santa Fe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.