We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oh cabos” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Riu Santa Fe

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Riu Santa Fe to your Saves list
Hotel Riu Santa Fe
3.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Camino Viejo a San Jose | Cabo San Lucas, Cabo San Lucas 23410, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Join us & get 500 Points
Ranked #42 of 70 Hotels in Cabo San Lucas
NEPEAN
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Oh cabos”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

another very nice riu resort. nice buildings, nice sites and as always super clean. staff where great,food was good but not great.views from beach or pools is breathtaking.beach is very nice but can't swim there. pools are nice.entertainment is good but it's the same at all these resorts.cabos san lucus is a short ride away ,with lots of shops and restarants/bars.whale watching was amazing.lots of excursions if thats what you want.yes i would go back was a great holiday

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,454 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,776
    2,098
    873
    397
    310
See reviews for
1,133
2,370
88
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,607)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Appleton, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
43 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

I stayed at the RIU Sante Fe for a week in March 2013 with 6 other women, 6 of us in our late 40's to early 50's. Overall we very much enjoyed the trip and I thought it was a good value. We saw a lot of whales and some dolphins on a couple of boat trips and even from the resort, even seeing a whale while up parasailing.

We stayed in building 7. It was a fun area being near the beach and pools and there was a lot of activity going on during the daytime. It was fairly easy to find spots to lay on the beach or near the pools, even when we didn't get up early to put out our towels. Many days we returned to our room to find cute towel sculptures on our bed. I only heard noise in the hallways late at night a couple of times during the week.

The buffet had a wide variety of foods, but it was the same every day and did get boring after a few days. We ate at the Asian, Mexian and Italian ala carte restaurants during our stay, and they were very good. We booked our restaurant reservations in the lobby of our buildind and didn't really have any problems getting decent times....a couple times they were a day out but we were flexible so it didn't matter to us.

We attended several of the nighly shows which were a lot of fun. We also spent some evening time at the bar near the show and the Sports Bar, where we met a lot of other guests. The evenings tended to be a little cool and I could have used more light jackets and long pants.

We went into Cabo a couple of times and it was very easy to get a taxi for $3/person each way. Found that most stores in town did not take credit cards so we could have used more cash. The water taxi drivers were very annoying during the daytime, constantly offering us water taxis back to the RIU even though we weren't ready to go back. They knew where we were staying because of our wrist bands. We walked back to the Riu one day on the beach. This was a bit difficult walking because of the sloped beach but it was interesting to see the bars and other sights along the way.


Pros
- Fun entertainment staff; they were very friendly and good at getting people involved
- Very clean rooms and grounds
- Beautiful pools, with multiple swim up bars


Cons
- We had requested adjoining rooms with 2 beds in each room but this was not honored. We ended up with our rooms on separate floors in building 7,but fairly close together. We only got one room with 2 beds. One was a room with a king size bed....we did request one with 2 beds and got one the next day. The 3rd room was a beachview suite, even though we had reserved a standard non-view room, which would have been great but we had 3 people in that room. They brought in a portable bed for the 3rd person, which wasn't the most comfortable.
- The vendors on the beach constantly wanting to sell us their wares or some sort of excursion. They are roped off from the private beach, but they are located between the private beach and the water so if you lay out on the beach, they are right in front of you the whole time.
- In room refrigerator was only stocked every other day.
- Service around the pools was not as good as I've seen at other all-inclusives. We had to generally go get our drinks ourselves. Service at the bars was pretty good though...we did tip with American $1s which probably helped
- No fan in bathroom so mirror was always fogged up after showers

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakefield, ON
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

We were 2 couples that stayed at the Riu Santa Fe the first week of February. We flew Sunwing from Toronto and left on time and arrived on time in San Jose del Cabo. Within 20 minutes of departing the plane we were thru customs, had our luggage (pearson airport take note)
and were pre-checked into the hotel. My husband was quite happy that they sold beer on our bus ride to the resort. We arrived around noon and our luggage was stored until our rooms were ready (note - if you have duty free alcohol do not store it, you may not see it again).

The resort is large as previously mentioned - feels like 2 resorts in 1 therefore depending on your mood you can experience a party atmosphere or a quiet one. The grounds are very beautiful and very well maintained. Lots of cacti. We were in building 7 and yes there was a bit of a walk to the main buffet and lobby but it only took 5 minutes.

We have stayed at a number of other all-inclusives over the past few years and this resort had the nicest infinity pool complete with an awesome view of Land's End. We also had amazing weather the entire week we stayed (sunny, hot and no rain).

Our room was as we requested - top floor of building 7, king size bed and a great view of Land's End (7403), since it was on the far side of building 7 it wasn't too noisy. They even had Hockey Night in Canada on TV 3 nights.

The food was fine for the most part. We were fortunate to eat twice at the steak restuarant and our 1st time was great and the 2nd time was disappointing. Also as previously mentioned the wine is very bad so I brought my own with me.

Almost all the staff at this resort are fabulous. Our favorite bartender was Armando.

We golfed across the street at the Cabo San Lucas Country Club and it was great. Guests at the Riu get special rates. We also checked out Cabo Wabo, Land's End and Cabo San Lucas. All are a must to see.

Yes the sand is quite coarse however the beach area is quite large. The Riu should utilize the beach area, perhaps installing a beach bar etc?

All in all we had a great vacation and would consider returning someday to this area.

Room Tip: building 7 top floor, far side facing Cabo San Lucas seems to be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
25 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Me and 2 of my girl friends went March 2013. (we are in later 20s). Food was just ok- but no complaints. There was a mixed crowd- families,singles, kids, adults. You had to walk far to get a good view of the beach. Riu Palace had a way better view of beach than Riu Santa Fe. Our room was NOT READY AT ARRIVAL. We had to wait atleast an hour. $10 cab ride to downtown. We NEGOTIATED $3 water taxi cab to Medano Beach. We parasailed and had to do some negotiating to get the price down- we paid $25 a piece. I recommend ordering the airport shuttle when you book the room--it was $11 roundtrip. The driver was 20 minutes late picking us up from hotel on way to airport--so make sure you schedule a pickup time very early. I RECOMMEND MEDANAO BEACH FOR LUNCH. We went to Mango Deck and Billygan's Island restaurants during day-- very affordable and decent food with GREAT beach front atmosphere and scenery.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

We have travelled all over the world and have had various experiences with all of our vacations. We have stayed from an orphanage in Kenya to numerous 5 star hotels. We went to the Riu with expectations that were not extremely high. We had went through the reviews on Tripadvisor and took them with a grain of salt, realizing that you cannot please everyone. The reviews on Tripadvisor happen to be true. Cabos San Lucas is an amazing town. We had so much fun on the adventures that we took from ATV's to a bus tour of Todos Santos. This was our very first experience with an all-inclusive. We did not realize with an all-inclusive that you would eat the exact same food, everyday at all buffets. We had to eat at the buffet because we could not seem to get reservations at any of the 4 restaurants before 8:30-9:00pm. Not that we couldn't eat that late but we just did not want to eat that late every evening. It did not seem to matter when we stood in line to book reservations. From early morning (setting our alarm for 6:30am), to mid afternoon to evening. At 6:30am, there were 25 people ahead of us. By the time we got near the front, they were already informing people that they would be on the waiting list for the restaurant they wanted to get into. Only one evening did we get a reasonable time for dinner but that took us 3 days to finally get it. This is one thing the Riu definitely needs to work upon. Needless to say, we ate outside of the hotel a fair bit. The food at the buffet was not bad, it just wasn't that good for the amount of money that we paid for this trip. Another complaint - the WiFi. We paid to get WiFi in our room. It was erratic at best. Shortly after we paid for it, we complained and tried to get a refund. They told us it would take 3 days for that to go through. We ended up keeping it because we could not seem to get them to refund it to us. So for the week we were there, we could only sometimes get on the internet. As every other review has stated, the noise was unruly all night long. Staffing did not seem to do anything to try and keep any of the really loud people quiet. You could most definitely hear the people coughing in the room next to us and every word spoken in the hallway. We stayed in Building 4. Centrally situated. Other areas were much more noisy so we were pleased we were not in those areas. The hotel itself was fairly clean, no real complaints there. It is definitely dated. If you walk to the Riu Palace on the same property, you will see a huge difference in the properties. We complained about not being able to get reservations at any of the restaurants and we were given a pass to eat at the Riu Palace buffet. You only had to do that once to realize that we booked at the wrong Riu. We found the staff to be incredibly helpful in any of the circumstances that we found ourselves in. The wait staff, superb, no complaints there. We were traveling with our family for March break. We requested adjoining rooms. We had an emergency that delayed our trip and we arrived 1 day late. We notified the companies in which we traveled with what the circumstances were and what was happening. But when we arrived, they gave our rooms to someone else and told us because we were late we lost them. We have one underage child so we had to split up and have one adult in each room. We were not pleased with that, although we notified all involved that we were still coming and would be a day late and had paid full fees, we did not get adjoining rooms. I must say they did try to give us adjoining rooms 3 days later but we were already unpacked and settled. We still had a great vacation in Los Cabos but, would we stay at a Riu again....not very likely. Would we be staying at the Riu Santa Fe, definitely not. They have a few things that they need to work on as far a customer service is concerned. Not at the staffing level but at a more corporate/administrative level. I am curious if they ever read these reviews. More reviews are negative than positive. They would have much to gain if they paid attention to what their customers have to say.

Room Tip: As with every other tip, Building 7 is party central. The walls are paper thin and you can hear eve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

I traveled with two children over Spring Break for a wedding.

The Good: Clean, large rooms. Well kept grounds. Friendly staff. Bar service is great - mostly top shelf alcohol. Last one picked up and first one dropped off for all my shuttles (less time sitting in a van - yeah!!). Nice views of the beach/peninsula. March weather is the perfect time to be in Cabo - bring a light jacket for morning and evening but during the day you are comfortable in shorts no matter the activity. We booked excursions through Cabo Adventures and highly recommend the whale watching and zip line activites. We also did the camel ride which was ok. They are top notch. Beach wedding - ceremony was beautiful, excellent officiant.

The Bad: Archaic system - they use envelopes and actual keys, no computers, no ability to leave messages for other rooms or find out room numbers. Front desk staff not truly bilingual - they know their specific job and that's it - can't answer any other questions (like where are the two backpacks that were with my luggage that didn't make it to my room?). LOUD - routinely had noise as late (early?) as 4:30 am - hallways echo and walls are thin. Food is blah - even when you make reservations for their non-buffet restaurants, the food you order is just the same as on a buffet but plated and served by a waiter - after one day it all tastes the same - no bar service in the restaurants (only beer and very bad wine). Spring Break college kids - drunk all hours of the day, language is terrible so we didn't get to really enjoy any of the evening on-site activities. Wedding planning didn't seem very seamless - the bride spent alot of time talking to the front desk about vouchers and guests and other things. Wedding Ceremony - beautiful ocean views to the left, to the right a construction fence, and behind us the thumping of the music at the pool and a crowd of drunk people hanging over the ledge watching and cheering.

Room Tip: Don't get a room with a view - these are quieter - be away from the pool and on a higher level.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quebec City, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

We stayed here in March, and I have to say on the positive side, the location is fantastic. This place has it all going for where it is located on the beach etc. The pools are clean and beautiful, the grounds are EXTENSIVE. By this , I mean you walk far for everything. It is huge and spread out.
We paid for a jacuzzi suite, which when we finally got in it was fabulous. But when we checked in, the "jacuzzi suite" was a oceanview room. We tried to talk to the front desk, and they were rude and demanded that we produced "paper work" to prove that we paid for the room we said. Even though we went through APPLE vacations.
I will cut to the chase. If you are a RIU exec reading these reviews,.... the bad ones are true. The good reivews are most likely made up.
The food was absolutely horrible. We ate out every night except 2 that we tried to give it a chance. So, on top of the all inclusive price , we paid for dinner in town. Which by the way was worth it, to get out of the resort and have food you could enjoy.
There is no security, and drunk people staggering, falling , puking. The drinks are horrible, the staff doesn't care about making anyone happy. You definitely get the feeling that they got your money, so...what are you going to do about it.
The best times are the times you spend away from RIU. Definitely go into town. Take water taxis and go to Lover's beach, whale watching.,, There are tons of great places to eat. Be sure to try "THE OFFICE" and if you have Dr. Hang Over for your waiter, you are in for a treat. Try the marina for eats and cocktails. Salomons landing, Alexanders, there are lots of great places.
Cabo is beautiful, but spend your money and do your homework on a better "all inclusive". this one is not it.

Room Tip: Try a different resort.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cabo San Lucas
1.6 mi away
Hotel Santa Fe Los Cabos by Villa Group
Hotel Santa Fe Los Cabos by Vill...
#38 of 70 in Cabo San Lucas
4.0 of 5 stars 99 reviews
0.6 mi away
Villa del Arco Beach Resort & Spa
1.0 mi away
ME Cabo
ME Cabo
#39 of 70 in Cabo San Lucas
4.0 of 5 stars 1,024 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Cabo San Lucas
Hotel Riu Palace Cabo San Lucas
#29 of 70 in Cabo San Lucas
4.0 of 5 stars 4,983 reviews
1.7 mi away
Playa Grande Resort
Playa Grande Resort
#16 of 70 in Cabo San Lucas
4.5 of 5 stars 2,444 reviews
0.4 mi away
Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa Los Cabos
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Riu Santa Fe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Santa Fe

Address: Camino Viejo a San Jose | Cabo San Lucas, Cabo San Lucas 23410, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > Cabo San Lucas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Spa Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#21 Top resorts Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#26 On the Beach Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#31 Family Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Riu Santa Fe 3.5*
Number of rooms: 902
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
* Located in the southern Baja California peninsula, 4.5 Km/2.8 Miles from Cabo San Lucas * Opened winter 2007/8 * 1-story main building and 3-story and 4-story annexes * On the beachfront * Complimentary sun loungers on the beach * 3.5 Km/2.2 Miles from downtown Cabo San Lucas * 40 km/25 miles from the airport * 500 m/1650 ft from a bus stop ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Travelocity, BookIt.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Otel so you can book your Hotel Riu Santa Fe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Santa Fe Cabo San Lucas
Riu Santa Fe Los Cabos
Riu Sante Fe
Hotel Riu Santa Fe Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Riu Santa Fe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.