We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New Year in Cabo!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Riu Santa Fe

Save Saved
You added Hotel Riu Santa Fe to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hotel Riu Santa Fe
3.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Camino Viejo a San Jose, Cabo San Lucas 23410, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Turn Spring Around!
Ranked #33 of 66 hotels in Cabo San Lucas
Wembley
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“New Year in Cabo!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013 via mobile

We had a great stay at the Riu Santa Fe in Cabo San Lucas. It was in a great location with fantastic views. The rooms were very clean and the grounds were imaculate! The food was average and the drinks were ok. Be sure to ask for name brand alcohol as the local stuff was terrible! The beach was beautiful. Much better than other resorts in the Cabo area. The vendors were quite annoying though as they stood there all day hollering to people. Overall the resort was quite good and we had a very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,135 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,408
    1,609
    638
    294
    186
See reviews for
841
1849
64
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,086)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

Well this was a pleasant surprise. We had a great time. Very lively resort. Food and beverage were excellent. Los Cabos is also fantastic. The only down side is the tide is very rough so the Beach is not the best for swimming.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regina, Canada
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

Great vacation. It is a party resort so prepare yourself for that. Food is excellent. Asian was the best. Drinks are great. If you want more liquor just ask. Beer was not the best I have had at a resort but ok. Pools are clean and have great views. Staff is very friendly and keep you entertained all day. Easy walk to town or down to Mango Deck (which is a lot of fun). Massages are 30 bucks for an hour just down from the hotel toward town. Beds are hard but no big deal at all. The Marina area is awesome. Very safe and clean. Only bad thing is that the currents make it hard to swim in the ocean. Just walk 20 minutes down the beach and it is calm.

Room Tip: Building 5 was great. Close to everything.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hudson, WI
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

Our experience was that the resort is beautiful! Very clean with nice pools, swim up bars, etc. It is a bit spread out so be prepared to walk a bit depending on which building you are in (which was fine for us). We were in Building 7 and loved having the ocean view and being close to the beach and nice pool / swim up bar and we also had a buffet place for breakfast close by.

Food was ~ well, breakfast was great with the omelets but some buffet dinners were hit and miss at times ~ some times not so warm which happens at any buffet here or there. One night we had large prawns that were good and a lot of the other food was good and they had a great variety. The Mexican place was okay ~ I asked for cheese (cheese person with my fajitas which were good) but my husband wasn't crazy about his. Really liked the oriental place food. We had heard iffy things on the steak place but the last day we talked to someone who said he had fabulous filet mignon and I tried to last minute book a reservation but they were full. We were on a waiting list but just ended up eating at a buffet.

The staff was wonderful! The town is FUN! $12 cab ride. Had Lobster in town for lunch one day for $10.95 and it was good! Went to town to buy a couple souvenirs for friends taking care of things back here. We had our kids with us (adults) and we went to Cabo Wabo (fun with a band playing that day).

Entertainment at the resort was good. A guy from the Dominican was super fun every night! Different theme every night. They did a great job for Christmas Eve and put out the red carpet for everyone to walk down for dinner. A lot of employees were lined up on each side and it was a special touch!

Would we go back? Yes! We tend to like a bit smaller places but would definitely go back!

Room Tip: We liked Building 7 for the views and proximity to the pool, etc., but it is further from the other...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
108 helpful votes 108 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

I had heard little about Cabo San Lucas, had seen images in some films and documentaries but I never imagined it as a tourist destination. When I got there I found a paradise, the desert landscape with cactus in contrast with the blue ocean and rock formations are one of the most beautiful scenery you can imagine.
Now talking about the RIU, the hotel is as beautiful as huge, a truly colossus. Open spaces and beautiful furnishings. The hotel's location is privileged because it is in front of the rock formations, therefore you have the best view of Cabo from the rooms (only in building 7), the pool and the beach.
The room was a very nice junior suite with panoramic views of the beach and the arch. Impeccable service in all aspects.
The food is pretty good at booking restaurants, and not so good at the buffet (personally because I do not enjoy that kind of restaurants). As to the drinks ... I have never seen so many people drinking 24 hours a day, undoubtedly they are part of the hotel entertainment haha!
The hotel's entertainment didn’t seem as good as in the rest of the RIU hotels, however the shows that take place in the open theater at night were excellent.
The "infinity pool" is huge, the water was maybe a little cold, but had a spectacular view.
Sea water is cold (remember that it is the Pacific Ocean). I recommend the pool for sunbathing and relaxing, as the beach is windy, it's still beautiful to walk, run and take photos.
Cabo San Lucas is an ideal place to escape for a few days, either with a romantic plan, or as a fun destination to go with friends, or a peaceful place to go with family, Cabo has it all, and the Riu Santa Fe staff will ensure that you enjoy the most, I would definitely go back!

Room Tip: Request room in building 7, has its own concierge for reservations, is just steps from the beach and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

Visited the resort Xmas 2012, The weather was cold and mostly cloudy. The temperature in the evening was freezing. We were all dressed with long pants, long sleeve sweaters and fleece sweaters. That is to say most of us were except for the very young 20 year old girls walking around in their short and sleeveless dresses shivering. Interesting to see that the young men accompanying these young ladies wore jeans and heavy sweaters. I would not recommend visiting this resort until late spring if you are looking for warm weather even during the day. The food was typical resort food. The front desk does not accept US dollars. You can tip in US dollars but you cannot get change or have the front desk convert US currency to pesos. The rooms and grounds were very well maintained. The staff is extremely cordial, service was excellent. Sad to see some guest behave with such arrogance and ignorance when it really was not deserved. Tips in US, CND or pesos are accepted. They do work very hard to accommodate even unpleasant guests and their wages are not very high. If you can afford the trip then why not tip the waitresses, waiters and hotel maids a few bucks every day. The evening shows are average. The cab fare to downtown is $12 each way and the town is secure, clean and you will find nice restaurants and patios along the marina. Again, I enjoyed the experience but would not return as the weather is really not that warm low 20's in the day and 11 to 17 in the evenings. Will select other warmer destination next time as most guests were quite disappointed with the weather.

Room Tip: building 7 has upgrades
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Missouri
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

Very nice resort. Check-in was very quick and easy. We were in Unit 1, garden view. Not much of view. Rooms were somewhat small, but clean. Stocked fridge with soda, water, beer, and liquor dispenser. The staff was always very friendly. The food was always good. The buffets were great. I was under the impression the 24 hour all-inclusive meant there was room service but was incorrect. 24 hours mean that there are snacks at the buffet at all times. The restaurants were good, but perhaps not worth waiting in line in the morning to get reservations. It is a large resort but all parts are an easy walk. The nightly entertainment was a little lacking compared to a previous resort we visited. Easy cab ride of $3/person into downtown cabo/marina.

Room Tip: Don't lose towel cards.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Riu Santa Fe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Santa Fe

Also Known As:
Riu Santa Fe
Riu Santa Fe Cabo San Lucas
Riu Santa Fe Los Cabos
Riu Sante Fe
Riu Santa Fe Cabo
Hotel Riu Santa Fe Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos
Address: Camino Viejo a San Jose, Cabo San Lucas 23410, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > Cabo San Lucas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Top resorts Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#21 Romantic Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#24 On the Beach Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#33 Family Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Riu Santa Fe 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
* Located in the southern Baja California peninsula, 4.5 km/2.8 miles from Cabo San Lucas * Opened winter 2007/8 * 1-story main building and 3-story and 4-story annexes * On the beachfront * Complimentary sun loungers on the beach * 3.5 km/2.2 miles from downtown Cabo San Lucas * 40 km/25 miles from the airport * 500 m/1650 ft from a bus stop ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Tingo, BookIt.com, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., getaroom.com, Otel and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Riu Santa Fe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Riu Santa Fe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.