We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awful food variety and attitude” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Hacienda Encantada Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hacienda Encantada Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Hacienda Encantada Resort & Spa
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   Carretera Transpeninsular Km 7.3, Cabo San Lucas 23410, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 68 Hotels in Cabo San Lucas
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Redmond, Washington
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Awful food variety and attitude”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

Paid for my wife and her mother in an all inclusive price. We are vegetarian. The resort setting is breathtaking but the restaurant is appalling. No choice of food for the none meat eaters and it was extremely difficult to ask the kitchen just to cook us something simple. Tonight i ordered an omelette and it came out like baby food saturated in oil. Yesterday we had a bake potato with lettuce! The staff on the facility ferrying you around are excellent, the waiters in the restaurant made us feel like we were terrorists and difficult. I would NOT recommend this place to none meat eaters. This is 2013 and you would think they could cater for everyone! Paid a hell of a lot of money for this place and its just not worth it... The resort is also a timeshare facility and they try to push this down your throat too....

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HaciendaEncantada, Guest Relations Manager at Hacienda Encantada Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
We are sorry for your experience and to improve our menus.
Thanks for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,013 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    538
    295
    88
    46
    46
See reviews for
281
484
14
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (354)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Slovakia
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

Hacienda Encantada is really a charming resort with good spa treatments, dramatic views of the rocky beach and Los Arcos, pleasant employees and exquisite cuisine. Different restaurants make all inclusive not boring and the meals are really tasty. The swimming pools with different activities, open-air jacuzzis and romantic gardens with Spanish colonial fountains are awaiting you here.

Room Tip: Get all inclusive for sure. Ask for a room on one of the top floors to get a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HaciendaEncantada, Guest Relations Manager at Hacienda Encantada Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
We are delighted that your stay with us was as you dreamed that way you confirm by your own we are a professional company.
Hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013 via mobile

This resort is really beautiful. It is as good or better than the pictures. We just returned from a 1 week stay and can report that the food selection and wifi service have improved since January 2012. Our 1 BR suite was huge and more than enough space for the 2 of us. We really enjoyed the view of the sea from our balcony and spent many hours sitting out in the perfect weather. The only thing we missed this time was the whales. Their season was over but we still managed to spot 2 or 3 during the week. In January we would often see that many in an hour.

The staff was friendly and helpful. We purchased the AI package and left 2 or 3 dollars additional tip at each meal. The waitstaff was very attentive all week. As timeshare travelers who rush out to the local grocery store right after check in on most vacations, we really enjoyed the treat of the AI where everyone just brought us whatever we wanted all week long. Having free access to the shuttle was a nice AI perk as well. We did not rent a car but managed to get into Cabo 5 times just to stroll around and shop for souvenirs.

Cabo is not for people who are not comfortable saying "no." In most cases we were able to disengage politely from the vendors we passed by if we were not interested in what they were selling. They were nice but they really have some sales skills.

We took a tour to La Paz and snorkled with sea lions with Cabo Expeditions. It was a long day but a great experience.

This ended up being one of our best vacations and we are already planning to return in December for my birthday. Hopefully the whales will be back by then!

Stayed May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milpitas, California
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

Best trip ever, staff was so nice, food was great and the resort was amazing, good activities every day for all ages i would recommend this to anyone. great pools with a view that is so nice. very close to down town with a shuttle every few hours.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HaciendaEncantada, Guest Relations Manager at Hacienda Encantada Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
Thank you very much for such nice words. Hope to see you again and letting our staff makes you feel at home.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Beach, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

Stayed from 5/3-8. I will keep this short. My first experience at an all inclusive. Went there with my husband and three year and eight month old. From the reviews and pictures off trip adviser I had high expectations of the resort. Not sure where the people who rated this place four stars and above were comparing it with but I certainly wasn't impressed.

Everything was just OK. We had requested a king bed and on check in were told that's what we got. Came to find out when we got to the room we had two full beds. My husband had to go to the front desk and rectify the problem while we waited in the room. Not a big deal if we didn't have two young kids and weren't tired from the flight. On arrival to our room we came to realize the air conditioner wasn't working. Someone from facility came and supposedly fixed it but by nighttime it was still not cool and at some point the thermometer registered off. We called again and about 20 minutes later when nobody had come, we called yet again and they said someone would be there in five minutes. An hour later after we had fallen asleep the phone rang at past midnight and we were informed someone was at our door to fix it. Unbelievable. Again, it's annoying enough when there are no kids involved, extremely annoying when there are. The bed was not comfortable and the pillows were stiff. For an extra $15 a night we got a crib for our infant. It was in poor condition. The food was mediocre at best. The variety and food choice were unimpressive. A few examples - the ceviche didn't taste fresh, the calamari and pizza tasted like something out of a box, and the only dessert that was good was the Tiramisu. The pools were ok, the view was beautiful but what turned me off was the dirt in the pool and the dirty grout. The cushions on the lounge chairs were all stained and dirty looking. The layout of the resort was weird and not easy to get around with a stroller. The idea of the golf carts is nice for when you have luggage or can't walk much especially because most of the resort is hilly, but the roads are narrow and it's unpleasant to be walking around and often times have a loud cart driving by you leaving behind exhaust fumes.

All in all my family and I had a good time but we would not be returning to this resort.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HaciendaEncantada, Guest Relations Manager at Hacienda Encantada Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
We are sorry to know that your staying wasn, t nice for you. We´ll pay attention in taking discipline to those who made you mad at mid night. We will appreciate a second change in our resort. Thank you for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
America
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

The location of this hotel is outstanding. Unobstructed views, excellent staff...food was awesome. After having gone several times now i've noticed the staff does not have a high turnover. I recognize this as a very positive sign with regard to management. Also its comforting seeing familiar faces from year to year. We would like to thank personally, Julia Calderon, Oscar our Concierge, Paul Lopez & Hector Quintero whom all went above and beyond in their respective areas to ensure we had the best vacation ever. Thank you for another stupendous trip to your beautiful Mexico. Please ALWAYS protect the Oceans..

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Mateo, California
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

Hacienda Encantada Resort and Spa is in the Los Cabos resort corridor between Cabo San Lucas and San Jose del Cabo. The resort is built on a bluff that descends to a small sandy beach surrounded by rocks. From our room we could see Arch Rock of Cabo San Lucas 7 miles away. The buildings and swimming pools were nicely designed. Most hotels in the area discourage swimming from the beach because of strong currents and possible rip tides.
Many of the resorts in the Los Cabos corridor are built on sometime windy bluffs leading down to the ocean. Because of the steep topography at Hacienda Encantada, you either have to walk up and down the steep paths between the pool, your room, the restaurant or reception or call for the six passenger shuttle cart. Cars are valet parked in a remote lot.
Development in the Los Cabos corridor is at the hotels and resorts and you have to drive either to Cabo San Lucas or further to San Jose del Cabo for restaurants, groceries or souvenirs other than what is available at the resort. This resort was a few minute drive to Costco and Wal-Mart where we bought a few groceries. The resort restaurant was decent and on the expensive side. The menu had only a few Mexican dishes but also to our surprise a few Chinese hoisin sauce dishes. We ate our meals either in Cabo or San Jose.
The resort provides shuttle service to Cabo San Lucas as part of the all-inclusive plan. If you did not purchase the plan the shuttle to Cabo San Lucas is $10 per person each way. We decided to rent a car for $106 for a week without insurance from Budget Rental car at the airport. However, If you got the full auto rental insurance program including personal liability (not covered by our credit card), Budget charges an additional $250.
The resort has a timeshare section and since they are expanding the sales people were busy in the early morning. It appears that everybody in Cabo wants you to attend a timeshare presentation. From the timeshare peddler on the street corner to restaurant hostess people are informing you of timeshare presentations and the gifts you will receive by attending. The finder fee must be rewarding. At the Hacienda Encantada, they graciously accepted my refusal to attend a timeshare presentation.
The hotel is well-maintained by a diligent and friendly staff. We were amused that even our room's plastic clock radio got a coat of furniture polish. Our room was exceptionally large equipped with a kitchen. (They could have provided more dishes and a teapot) The one bedroom had two full bathrooms.
Los Cabos is a growing, vibrant area where multi-million dollar homes and golf courses have been sprouting the past ten years. We will return some day on our way to central Baja to see the whales during the winter.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hacienda Encantada Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hacienda Encantada Resort & Spa

Address: Carretera Transpeninsular Km 7.3, Cabo San Lucas 23410, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > Cabo San Lucas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Top resorts Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#16 Luxury Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#18 Romantic Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#20 Family Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hacienda Encantada Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unique and breathtakingly beautiful, this spectacular Contemporary Hacienda style Luxury All Inclusive resort located on the Tourist Corridor in Cabo San Lucas offers magnificent panoramic views to the Sea of Cortes, romantic settings, distinctive dining, spacious and luxurious accommodations, and a variety of venues for special events. Your will be amazed of the bright, terracotta colored, Mexican Hacienda style buildings that are beautifully decorated with handmade Talavera tile murals, vases, classical sculptures, Spanish colonial fountains, contemporary art for contrast, and upscale traditional Mexican furnishing, driving them to experience an authentic Mexican ambiance throughout their stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Hacienda Encantada Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hacienda Encantada Resort And Spa
Hacienda Encantada Hotel Cabo San Lucas
Hacienda Encantada Resort & Spa Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hacienda Encantada Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.