We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant Los Cabos Corridor Resort” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hacienda Encantada Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hacienda Encantada Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Hacienda Encantada Resort & Spa
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   Carretera Transpeninsular Km 7.3, Cabo San Lucas 23410, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 65 Hotels in Cabo San Lucas
San Mateo, California
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Pleasant Los Cabos Corridor Resort”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

Hacienda Encantada Resort and Spa is in the Los Cabos resort corridor between Cabo San Lucas and San Jose del Cabo. The resort is built on a bluff that descends to a small sandy beach surrounded by rocks. From our room we could see Arch Rock of Cabo San Lucas 7 miles away. The buildings and swimming pools were nicely designed. Most hotels in the area discourage swimming from the beach because of strong currents and possible rip tides.
Many of the resorts in the Los Cabos corridor are built on sometime windy bluffs leading down to the ocean. Because of the steep topography at Hacienda Encantada, you either have to walk up and down the steep paths between the pool, your room, the restaurant or reception or call for the six passenger shuttle cart. Cars are valet parked in a remote lot.
Development in the Los Cabos corridor is at the hotels and resorts and you have to drive either to Cabo San Lucas or further to San Jose del Cabo for restaurants, groceries or souvenirs other than what is available at the resort. This resort was a few minute drive to Costco and Wal-Mart where we bought a few groceries. The resort restaurant was decent and on the expensive side. The menu had only a few Mexican dishes but also to our surprise a few Chinese hoisin sauce dishes. We ate our meals either in Cabo or San Jose.
The resort provides shuttle service to Cabo San Lucas as part of the all-inclusive plan. If you did not purchase the plan the shuttle to Cabo San Lucas is $10 per person each way. We decided to rent a car for $106 for a week without insurance from Budget Rental car at the airport. However, If you got the full auto rental insurance program including personal liability (not covered by our credit card), Budget charges an additional $250.
The resort has a timeshare section and since they are expanding the sales people were busy in the early morning. It appears that everybody in Cabo wants you to attend a timeshare presentation. From the timeshare peddler on the street corner to restaurant hostess people are informing you of timeshare presentations and the gifts you will receive by attending. The finder fee must be rewarding. At the Hacienda Encantada, they graciously accepted my refusal to attend a timeshare presentation.
The hotel is well-maintained by a diligent and friendly staff. We were amused that even our room's plastic clock radio got a coat of furniture polish. Our room was exceptionally large equipped with a kitchen. (They could have provided more dishes and a teapot) The one bedroom had two full bathrooms.
Los Cabos is a growing, vibrant area where multi-million dollar homes and golf courses have been sprouting the past ten years. We will return some day on our way to central Baja to see the whales during the winter.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

838 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    446
    241
    70
    38
    43
See reviews for
225
409
13
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (296)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
clifton.nj
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

I bought at this resort 5 years ago & came back this year for the first time. I hoped that it was completed (all three phases) but still has one to go. I was a little disappointed that phase 1 still had old TV's & it was getting a little worn. As an owner, every five years I pay a DOUBLE MAINTAINENCE so I expected a little updating. After the first day these things were minor because the resort is still beautiful. the Pools are beautiful & rooms spacious. Service is good & had no problem checking in or getting a late check out. The food at the pool bar & gourmet restaurant is good. At the end of the week I hated to leave. Make sure if you buy get everything in writting. I'll go back, just not every year.

Room Tip: Phase 1, second floor or higher has best view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walnut Creek CA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

The rooms are very high end, it is nice getting to the room and going wow. Then you go to the pools, another wow. The service from the employees another wow. Went to Las Marias restaurant, food, view, and the price wow again. We had quite a few dinners in town during our stay at the many recommended restaurants. Las Marias food was better, view probably the best we have ever experienced. I have added a photo of the view Still could not get over how inexpensive for so many courses and great location. I guess all I can say is WOW.

Room Tip: Ask for a higher floor room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fremont
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Just spent another week here. They have much improved their internet which makes it so much easier for us to stay in touch with our offices.

Had dinner at Las Marias, fabulous view, great service and food. Excellent value.

Looking forward to returning in a month with our family.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DENVER
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

Had a different room each year. They were all great with a beautiful view of the sea thru the patio doors. The interiors are all very spacious and luxurious. The two pools are beautiful and very well maintained. If you want to get a good spot at the infinity pool, get there early in morning. It would be nice to have more shade available in the form of additional umbrellas at both pools.

We were pleased with the improvements we found this year. The check-in process was streamlined and very efficient. The dinner menu at Las Marias restaurant has been improved. We had dinner there our first night. Sunday was grill night and all our dishes were very nice. Usually this is where we have breakfast and we are always pleased with what they serve. Antonio is there in the mornings making sure that the guests have a good experience and always takes very good care of us. A sushi bar along with the entertainment for several nights during the week at the tequila bar was another pleasant new addition.

Something that has fortunately remained largely the same, is the menu and food at the patio restaurant (next to the infinity pool). We like eating lunch there and always find it enjoyable. The staff there, especially Susy, are terrific. We were also happy to discover that they are open an hour later in the afternoon.

I look forward to returning.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norman, Oklahoma
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

Our son got married at the resort overlooking the Sea of Cortez at sunset. Staff were all marvelous and went out of their way to make this a wonderful event for our entire party. Great food and drink at every meal. Edith the wedding planner had everything so well organized and every event went off like clock work. Fernan, the activities director makes sure there is never a dull moment. A wonderful vacation! We will be back next year. The view is stunning from sunrise to sunset.

Room Tip: There are no bad rooms. Everyone is an ocean view. The hotel is built on the side of a mountain.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monroe, NC
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

Upon arrival, the bell hops create the first impression which is fantastic. These guys earn their money and more. The second stop at the resort is check in. That's when you back up and say, I didn't plan on a hassle! That is what the front desk is. It is not the employee's fault as I am sure it is management policy. Having read the reviews about this, I was prepared. Our trip was a gift and we were promised an ocean front/or view room. We were told that was not available and the only room available was a garden view. She insulted me by stating that their property was ocean front/view and then I showed her my confirmation and told her that was not acceptable. We had traveled over 4,000 miles and were not willing to settle for less. With some persistence, the she finally acknowledged she had a room on the third floor overlooking the Sea. We graciously accepted it and went on our way. We were given an information booklet about the place, but it wasn't until the second day we were able to get a map. Don't leave the front desk without it. They boast numerous restaurants, but actually, they change the menu and the restaurant name during the week so it looks like there are more restaurants than there really are. The food was mediocre at best. Actually, we found the bar food better than the restaurant food. One of the higher end restaurants requires reservations which we made for a Friday evening. We were the only customers in the restaurant, inside and out and found the food here less tastier than the one next door. Desserts at all restaurants are the same and taste like they come from a box. Drinks are fine, didn't seem the skimp on the alcohol. The rooms are spotless and the golf cart drivers are there within two minutes of when you call to take you any place on the resort you wish to go. There was a little noise above us that kept my husband awake, but it didn't bother me. The view is fantastic, but you cannot walk the beach within the property. The property is gated and they offer a free shuttle to/from the marina which feels like all the tourist traps at most island ports. The only shop at the resort is a little convenience shop to pick up necessities and snacks. The pools are beautiful, but the most magnificent thing about it is the climate. While our trip was free and it was beautiful, I believe there may be better choices. Plan for cool evenings. The outdoor restaurant actually provides blankets when needed.

Room Tip: Get a room on the top floor, then they'll be no noise above you and the view will be better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hacienda Encantada Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hacienda Encantada Resort & Spa

Address: Carretera Transpeninsular Km 7.3, Cabo San Lucas 23410, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > Cabo San Lucas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#12 Top resorts Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#14 Luxury Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#17 Romantic Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#18 Family Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hacienda Encantada Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unique and breathtakingly beautiful, this spectacular Contemporary Hacienda style Luxury All Inclusive resort located on the Tourist Corridor in Cabo San Lucas offers magnificent panoramic views to the Sea of Cortes, romantic settings, distinctive dining, spacious and luxurious accommodations, and a variety of venues for special events. Your will be amazed of the bright, terracotta colored, Mexican Hacienda style buildings that are beautifully decorated with handmade Talavera tile murals, vases, classical sculptures, Spanish colonial fountains, contemporary art for contrast, and upscale traditional Mexican furnishing, driving them to experience an authentic Mexican ambiance throughout their stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Jetsetter, Expedia, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your Hacienda Encantada Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hacienda Encantada Hotel Cabo San Lucas
Hacienda Encantada Resort And Spa
Hacienda Encantada Resort & Spa Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hacienda Encantada Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.