We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Cabo Experience!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hacienda Encantada Resort & Spa

Save Saved
You added Hacienda Encantada Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hacienda Encantada Resort & Spa
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   Carretera Transpeninsular Km 7.3, Cabo San Lucas 23410, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 66 hotels in Cabo San Lucas
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Beautiful Cabo Experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

We stayed at the Hacienda Encantada from 12/30/12 to 1/5/13 for New Years. We booked through Orbitz (airfare, resort, transportation). Recommend a direct flight, as the flights with connections took the whole day. The transportation from the airport was good; but as stated in other reviews, hang a final right turn OUTSIDE the terminal to get to your transit to avoid timeshare hawkers.

The weather was rainy and cool for a couple days when we arrived, but was great for the last 3 days. Even with the beautiful sunny days in the low 80s; the nights are breezy and cool in the 50s. Would not recommend Cabo in December/January; probably better weather in March/April.

Orbitz/HE really did us right on our room. We booked a Master Suite with an Ocean View Balcony, and that's exactly what we got. A beautiful, spacious suite with 15 foot high ceilings; separate bedroom; separate living room; full kitchen; 2 bathrooms; spa tub; 2 showers; giant double balcony outside both the living room and bedroom with fantastic views of the resort, Sea of Cortez and Lands End.

The service was good to excellent. Almost everyone was very warm and friendly. We really felt at home. The food was OK to very good. The fish dishes in particular were very good (Blackened Tuna, Mahi-Mahi). Highly recommend the All Inclusive. According to our "bills" we had over $200 a day in food/drinks. The fridge had 4 waters; 4 beers; 4 soft drinks every day. AI also included an hour of horseback riding on Friday afternoon through the desert, and free shuttle service to Cabo San Lucas every 2 hours. The entertainment was good (piano, mandolin, guitar songs); but we were somewhat disappointed they did not have at least a full cultural show. The activities director was a comedian, bartender, chef, magician and volleyball coach at the same time. Lots of fun. We tipped cash ($1-$10); got good service; and did not encounter the tip fee. We did encounter a charge for the included horseback riding at checkout; but they quickly removed it when we caught it.

Overall a beautifully designed resort with great rooms, views and staff. Would highly recommend. Five stars!

Room Tip: Phase 1 rooms look right over the infinity pools and Sea of Cortez. Phase 2 rooms with high floors...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

796 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    416
    230
    69
    38
    43
See reviews for
213
391
12
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (278)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hays, Kansas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

We have just returned from a week at the Hacienda Encantada in Cabo San Lucas and loved it. The whales are migrating from mid December through most of March and I could sit on our extremely spacious veranda and see them daily (I took binoculars along to help with viewing). The rooms are beautifully furnished...there is a work out facility that there is no extra charge for that is very adequate...there are only 3 restaurants...and they are pretty good also. THere is a small market on the property but things are very overpriced so we took a shuttle into town and caught a cab to the local Walmart....having 3 teens along, we needed to eat a little cheaper for the week. We used Cabo Expeditions for the whale watching and it was a very good experience and only about $44 each....The only negative was the sales presentation and we have sat in on these before in other locals....we own 2 weeks in a time share elsewhere in Mexico...but this was EXTREMELY HIGH PRESSURE....what was supposed to take 90 minutes took well over 3 hours....and would have gone on longer had we not just walked away finally...now that being said, they didn't bother us the rest of the week....so just be aware....I won't sit through another one...and we are definitly interested in purchasing at some point in this area....but it won't be at this resort...which is too bad becuase we really enjoyed it. It does not have true swimming beach but there is a beach...it's very rocky but there is alot of sea life to see like crabs and small fish which was fun..the pools are very nice and the view is spectacular so you don't feel like you are missing anything by not having a swimming beach plus there are public beaches within 10 minutes where you can get in a swim and snorkel. All in all I would recommend this resort!

Room Tip: Being higher up will help you watch for the whales...It's only about 4 stories so anything 2nd f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Woodlands, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

A little get away to the Condo for a week with friends for celebrating the new year & relaxing. Enjoyed the property as always,but ready for a new spa! The staff is always like greeting old friends when we return especially Paul Lopez & Hector. Would probably liked it if the weather was just a tad bit warmer, but overall we love it in Cabo and we love it at Hacienda Encantada.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HaciendaEncantada, Guest Relations Manager at Hacienda Encantada Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Our Mission is for you not to be homesick and that you feel as confortable as if you were at home.
We wish you to see you soon and thank you for visiting.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

My wife and I have a winter home in San Jose del Cabo, about 30 kms. north of Cabo San Lucas on the Mexican Baja. We often do "staycations" and recently (Dec. 8 -15, 2012) enjoyed a great week at Hacienda Encantada. The Property is fabulous, our Unit was spacious, well decorated and had a great view, the staff (especially Ricardo) were very cordial, and the eating areas and bars were neat. As is our normal custom, we made a point of introducing ourselves to the General Manager, Nahim Yitani Ortega - Peter & Ann.

Room Tip: Units in Phase 1, particularly on the upper floors, have unobstructed ocean views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HaciendaEncantada, Guest Relations Manager at Hacienda Encantada Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Your feedback helps us to keep improving. Thank you.
We hope to return soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southport, North Carolina
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

We loved the accommodations. Everything physically about the resort is lovely and very well attended. Service from all personnel was gracious and friendly.
Our ONLY complaint is probably part of Mexican culture, but nonetheless....the volume of music EVERYWHERE reduces the "serenity" of the location with it's "holistic gardens, etc." This seems to be common everywhere we went, not just in the resort. Loud rock (80's) music is piped into all common areas all day long. It sometimes makes it difficult to carry on a conversation with this distraction and since the restaurants are elevated on a cliff overlooking the resort, any event that they had with music was unbelievably loud and downright annoying.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plano, Texas, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

It was our first trip to Cabo and it won't be our last! This resort was beyond our expectations due to the service and value of our stay. We reserved Grayline for our transportation to and from the airport and were pleased with their services...BUT take note NOT to accept to visit with anyone until you walk outside the airport and see the BRIGHT GREEN shirts of Grayline as instructed. Otherwise your time will be taken for timeshare discussions. Once we were at Hacienda Encantada, our inclusive vacation was greatly enjoyed. PROS: Great and personal waitstaff, quiet and relaxing, exceptional views, beautiful rooms and comfortable beds, free shuttle to the Cabo marina when all inclusive. CONS: No beach swimming and nothing open after 10:00 on location but there is 24 hr room service. It would have been nice to have a piano bar or some type of bar with entertainment until midnight.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013 via mobile

We just left HE, and it was mostly great. It is a beautiful property. The rooms are very nice and clean. The view is breathtaking. The service was impeccable. We enjoyed our trip very much, other than one huge issue. We paid for the optional "all-inclusive" while we were there, and it was kind of a joke. Tipping is expected. You get an allotment of 4 bottled waters per day in your room (not unlimited like every other hotel in Mexico) and if you are not on the all-inclusive you pay for every bottled water. We signed a bill every time and if you did not sign it they kinda chase you down. Also they advertise 3 restaurants for dinner- but kids are not allowed at 1 of them which basically gave us one nice dinner option each night if we didn't want to eat by the pool. Also getting towels with a pool card was annoying. We have traveled to Mexico no less than 10 times and have never experienced these issues with an AI. If I were to go back I would not do the all inclusive. And I would go back, with a lot of lessons learned. The service, cleanliness, and beauty of the hotel was a major plus, and HE could be great without the confusion of the AI. It seems like they have a bit of an identity crisis- they either need to be an all-inclusive and honor that, or not.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hacienda Encantada Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hacienda Encantada Resort & Spa

Address: Carretera Transpeninsular Km 7.3, Cabo San Lucas 23410, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > Cabo San Lucas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Top resorts Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#16 Luxury Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#18 Romantic Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#22 Business Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#22 Family Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hacienda Encantada Resort & Spa 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unique and breathtakingly beautiful, this spectacular Contemporary Hacienda style Luxury All Inclusive resort located on the Tourist Corridor in Cabo San Lucas offers magnificent panoramic views to the Sea of Cortes, romantic settings, distinctive dining, spacious and luxurious accommodations, and a variety of venues for special events. Your will be amazed of the bright, terracotta colored, Mexican Hacienda style buildings that are beautifully decorated with handmade Talavera tile murals, vases, classical sculptures, Spanish colonial fountains, contemporary art for contrast, and upscale traditional Mexican furnishing, driving them to experience an authentic Mexican ambiance throughout their stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Amex, Travelocity, Expedia, BookIt.com, Booking.com, Tingo, Priceline, Orbitz, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Jetsetter, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Hacienda Encantada Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hacienda Encantada Resort And Spa
Hacienda Encantada Hotel Cabo San Lucas
Hacienda Encantada Resort & Spa Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hacienda Encantada Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.