We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Saving chairs” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Villa del Arco Beach Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Villa del Arco Beach Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Villa del Arco Beach Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Km. 0.5 Camino Viejo a San Jose, Cabo San Lucas 23450, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 69 Hotels in Cabo San Lucas
Leduc Alberta Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Saving chairs”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

Don't stay here unless you want to be up at 5:00 am to save a pool chair . We have been here 4 days and every morning you have to get up earlier to get just an basic chair . Ocean front are gone by 4:30 am or earlier . If you don't get one early you will never have a chair all day long . It creates a real competition among guests and some arguments if you take someone's chair because they have not sat in it for hours ...feel like a prisoner
Problem : to many guests not enough chairs . Worst I have ever seen in Mexico.....
Wrecks your vacation for sure .

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VDA-GM, Manager at Villa del Arco Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Dear Client,
Thank you very much for taking the time to sharing your experience in our Hotel. Your comments are very important for us as they represent an important feed back that help us identifying opportunity areas.

In Regards with the policy of No reservation lounge chairs around the pool area, we try to reinforce this policy to avoid lounge chairs being empty for hours, our pool Concierge Staff is working very hard to avoid the reservation of chairs and they are going to continue doing it, we apologize for any inconvenience this situation may cause to you.

Warmest regards

Miguel Angel Rodriguez
Room Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,506 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    970
    351
    80
    55
    50
See reviews for
591
522
13
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (428)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

Just came back from Cabo. We had a good time but it will take a while before I go back there and it's in large part because of the location and not the resort. If don't mind if it will be colder, don't go to the beach much and love to go out (restaurant and bars), you will love Cabo.

In my opinion the weather and the beach is much better in Nuevo Vallarta and Cancun. There were 3 consecutive days that were very cloudy. One afternoon we couldn't really stay by the pool. We didn't mind too much because we were there for 2 weeks but 3 bad days when you only have a week will have an impact.

As for the beach, the sand is not great and you can't really play in the waves. You also can't bring a chair close to the water to watch the kids. The chairs must stay in the defined area (some federal law). They did delimit a swimming areas where the water taxis can't go which is a great improvement to the previous time we were there.

The resort in itself is very nice and clean. Staff is great and service is good. We had dinner at both El Praton and El Farro and we had a great time. We did try to restaurant at the Palmar and would recommend that you don't :). Bad service and food.

Fro breakfast if you are not in the all inclusive you can go to the Palmita market and get pastries (the cinnamon buns are great) and coffee. We'd get a bunch of pastries and lattes (that are also good) for about 10$.

You can do some groceries there but you will pay twice as much as you would at the Walmart (you get there with the city bus (10 pesos) and come back in a taxi (8$). There is also a liquor store with a great wine selection in the same shopping center.

The gym is well equipped and there are also 2 tennis court (recommend you make a reservation).

The biggest disappointment is the activities team. They don't do much other then loan the paddle boards and kayaks. There is a list of activities but the only time they did one is when we asked what they were doing. Too bad because the kids loved it. Note that there are many families with kids and they are welcomed.

A must if you go there is to take the water taxi to lovers beach and spend a few hours. Totally worth it.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VDA-GM, Manager at Villa del Arco Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Dear Member,
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us about your last vacation at Villa Del Arco Resort. We are always striving in providing Quality Of Services to all our valuable guest. We hope to host you once again soon.

Sincerely,
Miguel Angel Rodriguez.
Room Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haddon Heights, New Jersey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

The mobs of spring breakers ruined an otherwise great vacation. This resort has to figure out if it is going to cater to families or spring breakers gone wild. I would suggest that the resort bring in loads of extra security to control the drunk, out of control spring breakers. I could not believe the behavior I witness and the lack of response from the resort.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VDA-GM, Manager at Villa del Arco Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Dear Client,
Thank you for investing some of your valuable time to filling out the service survey, chosing our resort and sharing your vacation experience at Villa del Arco. We will be more than happy to have the opportunity of serving you again in the near future in a more quiet season that will allow you to enjoy and rest pleasantly.

kind regards.

Miguel Angel Rodriguez
Room Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hillsborough, New Jersey
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

We spent 8 days in Cabo, and packed those days with activities ranging from snorkeling and whale watching to zip-lining, ultralighting, fishing, and shopping, from San Jose Del Cabo to CSL to La Paz and Todos Santos. We rented a car, and wanted a hotel in a central location, accessible to all the above, that was clean, pleasant, safe and priced somewhere between the highest priced resorts and the lowest priced local hotels. Villa Del Arcos is a very easy choice. It is a beautiful self-contained resort-style hotel, with its own circular drive entrance/parking, and resort features (nice pools, restaurants, bars, beach, spa etc.), yet shares the immediate area with 2 related hotels (Villa La Estancia and one other) that you can access and use by walking or taking a 1 minute San Francisco Cable-car like transport to. You can access the city 4 ways - drive your car, take a taxi ($8), take a bus from a bus stop one block from the entrance ($1-2), or take a water taxi from the beach $3-8 - city and El Arco). The hotel by car is just 3-5 minutes from downtown, where there is parking in many public lots ($1-3.hour, easiest at the Puerto Paraiso Mall), 20-30 minutes from San Jose Del Cabo, and located directly on the junction to the road that takes you to Todos Santos (about an hour) and La Paz (about 2 hours). Everyone on staff (from front desk to very helpful concierges to the bellmen and parking crew to the barkeeps) we dealt with was most pleasant, spoke excellent English, and were always helpful. The rooms are spacious, squeaky clean, with full air conditioning/heating, mini kitchens with coffee maker, small refrig/freezer, dishes and silverware, microwave, and the room also has a safe, iron/ironing board, pay as you go internet, warm showers and really nice beds. We had just a garden balcony view and that was just fine. All ages were staying here from young parents with toddlers to grandparents, and all fit in just fine. We ate out every night so cannot comment on the hotel's restaurants, but they looked nice. We visited over a dozen other medium to highest end hotel/resorts on our trip, and for the cost Villa Del Arco is top flight yet reasonable. We can highly recommend to anyone at any level - and comparing this to resorts at 3-4X the price, unless you seek total seclusion and will never leave the property, Villa Del Arco will likely suite your needs. PS we are not timeshare owners nor were we bothered even once by salespeople

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VDA-GM, Manager at Villa del Arco Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Dear Client,
Thank you for investing some of your valuable time to filling out the service survey and sharing your vacation experience at Villa del Arco. We are delighted to read you spent a wonderful time at our resort. We will be more than happy to have the opportunity of serving you again in the near future.

kind regards.

Miguel Angel Rodriguez
Room Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

We were very satisfied with this beautiful resort. Beautiful pools, spacious suites, good food, friendly staff, right on the beach. We travelled with our kids 4 and 7 and they loved the pools and multiple hot tubs. Big balconies are lovely. Location is excellent. You can take a water taxi from the resort into town. Glass bottom boats pick you up right in front of the beach. Lots to do! Jet skiing, parasailing, kayaking all right there.

We've stayed at a few different all-inclusive resorts in the past few years, and this one was by far the best. We plan to return next year.

Only disappointment was that the kids club wasn't what I had hoped. They walk with the kids on the beach and will supervise them in the pool. I was hoping for more games and crafts -- and a big play room packed with toys would have been really nice. The babysitting was equally disappointing due to the price. It's $15/hour which isn't that bad, but there is a 3 hour minimum and then you have to pay a $15 fee for the sitter to get a ride home. That means your minimum payment is $60 for 3 hours. Very expensive if you want to have a few dinners to yourself.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VDA-GM, Manager at Villa del Arco Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Dear Customer,
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us about your last vacation at Villa Del Arco Resort. We are always striving in providing Quality Of Services to all our valuable guest. We hope to host you and your family once again soon.

Sincerely,
Miguel Angel Rodriguez.
Room Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, NV
Level Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

My actual stay was in June 2012. Looks like the newest resort on the beach. Very Clean. Like having a kitchenette. I had an all inclusive package through Living Social:
I thought the breakfast buffet was just ok. Liked the fresh juice.
The a la carte restaurants were the best. I'm glad that I didn't have to pay.
The taco stand was very good. I tried all the tacos!

Liked the option of going to sister property Villa Del Palmar for their nightly entertainment and food...but I like my resort better.

Staff was very nice and professional.

The resort is like a ghost town around 10pm. So you don't have to worry about noisy guests. But I was expecting a little more action at night. Glad downtown Cabo is a short cab ride away!

I would stay again in the future.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VDA-GM, Manager at Villa del Arco Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Dear Client,
Thank you for investing some of your valuable time to filling out the service survey and sharing your vacation experience at Villa del Arco. We are delighted to read you spent a wonderful time at our resort. We will be more than happy to have the opportunity of serving you again in the near future.

kind regards.

Miguel Angel Rodriguez
Room Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

It is very disappointing to find that the member services office has been closed. We prefer dealing with Lydia and Mary because we find them to be honest and helpful.
Booking rooms thru San Diego we are not offered the members rate and are always told there is nothing ever available for additional days at the Villa Del Arco. It is very disappointing after purchasing a fixed week that we always have to relocate to the Del Palmer.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VDA-GM, Manager at Villa del Arco Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Dear member,
Thank you for taking the time to share your opinion with us as we are always striving in providing Quality Of Services to all our valuable guest, we decide to close that office but now you can book your next vacations through our front desk staff, they will be more that happy to help you. We hope to host you once again soon.

Sincerely,

Miguel Angel Rodriguez.
Room Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Villa del Arco Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa del Arco Beach Resort & Spa

Address: Km. 0.5 Camino Viejo a San Jose, Cabo San Lucas 23450, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > Cabo San Lucas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#5 Business Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#5 Luxury Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#6 Romantic Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa del Arco Beach Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 225
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stunning seaside views, historic scenery and high-energy entertainment results in a carefree and unforgettable vacation in the heart of El Medano Beach at Cabo San Lucas's Villa del Arco Beach Resort & Spa.If you're looking for a high-end, family-friendly resort, you've found it. In addition to its lavish surroundings with the wondrous El Arco rock formation on the horizon, Villa del Arco boasts a full-scale pirate ship, exotic cuisine, the renowned Desert Spa as well as numerous athletic and cultural activities.All 225 spacious, colorful and air-conditioned suites offer kitchens or kitchenettes and private balconies facing either the azure Sea of Cortez or our lush, exotic gardens.Our meticulous staff is committed to providing guests with "The three Rs": Relaxation, Recreation and Romance (yes, even for those with the kids in tow!). As our General Manager likes to say, "We offer experiences that make you forget the time and simultaneously remember every moment." For a lavish experience you are not soon to forget, we invite you to be our guest at Villa del Arco Beach Resort & Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Despegar.com, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Villa del Arco Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Del Arco Hotel Cabo San Lucas
Hotel Del Arco
Del Arco Hotel
Villa Del Arco Cabo San Lucas
Villa Del Arco Beach Resort & Spa Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa del Arco Beach Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.