We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Far exceeded our expectations” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villa del Arco Beach Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Villa del Arco Beach Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Villa del Arco Beach Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Km. 0.5 Camino Viejo a San Jose, Cabo San Lucas 23450, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
Ranked #6 of 69 Hotels in Cabo San Lucas
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Far exceeded our expectations”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

This was our first stay at Villa del Arco with the All Inclusive package. The two previous years we stayed at Villa del Palmar, the neighboring property.

Going to VDA was the best decision we made! I loved the quiet and serene evenings and it never got crazy and wild around the pool areas.

We booked the 2 bedroom suite which really was two adjoining rooms, but it worked out perfectly. The larger room was a true 1 bedroom unit. With one bedroom with a full bathroom and a separate living room and full sized kitchen and full bathroom. The adjoining room had 2 queen beds, a full bathroom, and a small kitchen.

This worked out perfectly for our family of 6 travelers. The three kids shared the 2 queen room, my husband and I used the one King bed room, and the other adult family member used the Murphy bed in the living room. Before we got there we were a bit worried about the living room sleeping arrangements (expecting a traditional fold out couch) but were pleasantly surprised at how comfortable the Murphy bed was.

Each room had its own full bathroom so there was never an issue of waiting for the bathroom or shower. Everyone had their privacy at night, and the kids enjoyed having their "own" room.

When we arrived in our room we had a welcome basket of treats welcoming us to our room. Each night we had turn down service and a plate of cookies, or other baked treats waiting for us. The one thing that I absolutely went crazy for was the aromatherapy candle that was lit when we checked into the room. It smelled absolutely divine!

We booked through Funjet Vacations, with whom we'd booked the two previous trips. Everything was as advertised, except the hotel didn't honor our request for an ocean view which we had submitted but told were not guaranteed to get. We actually ended up very happy with the room they gave us because it got the late afternoon sun and was very quiet at night. No noise from guests or pools which was nice. The late afternoon and evening sunsets were beautiful from our balconies, which were nicely furnished with lounge chars and tables.

The pool and beach service was perfect. The waiters were attentive and quick, and kept checking back with us. We would tip one or two dollars per order. The food was good and fresh, and the drinks were excellent as well. We realize that it's not top gourmet cooking, and the drinks are not top shelf liquor, but the convenience of All Inclusive overshadows that. The main thing for us is the convenience of everyone eating and drinking what they want, when they want. One time when the waiter brought my margarita I was asked to fill out a survey. I said that it was tasty, but too sweet. Within minutes, the pool bar manager was down at the beach with a new drink and asked me to taste it to see if I liked it better. That was impressive.

The restaurants were quite tasty and there was plenty of variety to eat something different each night. The adults really enjoyed the seafood restaurant - the creamy bell pepper soup and the seafood soup were really spectacular! The kids enjoyed the Mexican restaurant and also the pirate ship restaurant.

The breakfast buffet was not as large and with as many selections as VDP, but there were definitely enough choices for everyone to be happy every morning. The whole breakfast experience was much calmer and not as noisy and overbearing as VDP. Most morning we were lucky enough to get a table on the balcony overlooking the beach which made breakfast so much tastier! We always had wonderful and attentive service in the restaurants, both breakfast and dinner.

During our stay, it seemed that most guests preferred to be at the pool. We prefer the beach, so we ended up having most of the beach area/chairs to ourselves. On any given day, there were never more than 20 or 25 people in the beach chair area. At VDP it always seemed extremely crowded with lots of smokers which was not the case at VDA.

My mom and I booked several spa treatments and we also used the gym facility. The massage therapy was fantastic. My mom said the facial was ok, but would probably not do it again. We would both definitely go back for the massage treatments. My mom took the group exercise classes which she really enjoyed.

We will definitely come back to this resort again. We really enjoyed how basically mellow and quiet it was. None of us like "organized" resort activities and none of us liked the theme shows at VDP, so it was really pleasant to have the VDA resort experience.

We were approached once about the time share presentation and I was very firm and upfront that we had ZERO interest in it. We were never asked again after that one time during check in.

The front desk was very helpful and friendly. I don't think they were telling the truth when they said there were no direct ocean view rooms available, but in hindsight, we were actually really happy with our room on the side of the hotel facing the city. We had a 3/4 ocean view and a full blown view of the city and hills. And, with the gorgeous sunset every night, it ended up being a perfect location.

We will definitely come back to Villa del Arco.

Room Tip: We stayed in the first building, closest to the beach, on the right side of the hotel. Building 3? T...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank WorldTraveler201194
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VDA-GM, Manager at Villa del Arco Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Dear Client,
Thank you for investing some of your valuable time to filling out the service survey and sharing your vacation experience at Villa del Arco. We are delighted to read you spent a wonderful time at our resort. We will be more than happy to have the opportunity of serving you again in the near future.

kind regards.

Miguel Angel Rodriguez
Room Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,874 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Grosse Ile, Michigan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

We had a great stay a Villa Del Arco-we booked through expedia and had no problems what so ever. Beautiful resort that is quiet but on a lively beach with lots to do. We declined the time share presentation upon checking in and were never bothered again. The food at Del Arco is pricey but the all inclusive did not make since for us. We ate most of our day meals at the sister property Villa Del Palmer that was more reasonable. There is a trolley between the properties or a short walk. Great trip!

Room Tip: As far as I could tell all rooms were ocean view-not really a bad room to be had!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kksmama35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VDA-GM, Manager at Villa del Arco Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Dear Customer,
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us about your last vacation at Villa Del Arco Resort. We are always striving in providing Quality Of Services to all our valuable guest. We hope to host you once again soon.

Sincerely,
Miguel Angel Rodriguez.
Room Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san francisco
Level Contributor
76 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

I booked my trip to Cabo through Costco and I think that was a mistake as Costco advertised the 1 bedroom rooms and studio suites as same except for the more space and extra bathroom in 1 bedroom. I expected the amenities to be luxurious as advertised, turndown service.....but did not get anything and my friend who booked the 1 bedroom got a fantastic room and all the advertised services.
Our studio room was on 1st floor and was very basic. Housekeeping did not replace towels or shampoos or coffee. I had to ask for everything by calling housekeeping who in turn did a great job in sending everything within 5 mins. But these are basic things and I was upset that I had to ask for them everyday. Never got any hand towels or small towels. Only bath towels. There was a small note that said " Dear guest, here is a complimentary basket for you" but there was no basket whereas my friend got one with wine, candy.......
The resort overall is beautiful with clean grounds, lovely pool, complimentary kayak, paddle board rental. The staff is excellent and very attentive to your needs. The sister resort Villa palmar had great nightly entertainment. They even did a surprise Bday cake for me at my husbands request which was awesome. The shops at the resort are very expensive but thats what you would expect at all resorts so whether its toothpaste or antibiotics, go to downtown to buy them.
I would go back to this hotel but just be more aware of what room I am getting into.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank goin2cancun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VDA-GM, Manager at Villa del Arco Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Dear Client,

thank you for investing some of your valuable time to filling out the service survey and sharing your vacation experience at Villa del Arco. We wish to have the opportunity of serving you again in the near future and pamper your as you deserve.

Warmest regards.

Miguel Angel Rodriguez
Room Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

We've been here twice as a family and couldn't be happier! The location is gorgeous, the accommodations are first rate, and the service is amazing! Friendly and accommodating staff at every turn...they literally anticipate your every need! A perfect place to relax, soak up the sun and party as little or as much as wanted. Great restaurants, entertainment, and wonderful spa packages...

Room Tip: Definitely spend a little more and get a suite experience. Comes with fully-functional kitchen and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank muckandduck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VDA-GM, Manager at Villa del Arco Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Dear Client,
Thank you for investing some of your valuable time to filling out the service survey and sharing your vacation experience at Villa del Arco. We are delighted to read you spent a wonderful time at our resort. We will be more than happy to have the opportunity of serving you again in the near future.

kind regards.

Miguel Angel Rodriguez
Room Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cabo San Lucas, Mexico
Level Contributor
65 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Our friends come down every year and stay at Villa Del Arco. We always visit them a couple of days during the stay. It is a beautiful resort! The pools are amazing, service is great and the staff is attentive! The resort looks out to a sweeping view of Lands End!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CaboLauraB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VDA-GM, Manager at Villa del Arco Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Dear client,
Thank you for have chosen our resort to expend your last vacation in Los Cabos, and also for investing some of your valuable time to sharing your vacation experience in Villa del Arco. We are very happy to read that you had a blast at our Resort, and we will be more that happy to assist you again in the near future.

Warm regards ...

Miguel Rodriguez
Room Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maplewood, Minnesota
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in a 2 bedroom room with 4 adults and 4 children (ages 12, 11, 10 and 9). The rooms are very spacious and the kids enjoyed the Murphy bed in the living room. The washer and dryer are a huge advantage - don't need to pack as much, etc. We had a garden view overlooking the swamp, but we prefer that as it is much quieter at night. We were on the 3rd floor and my only complaint was the extreme noise from the neighbors above. You can't hear anyone next to you but above... Yikes! Every time they move a chair, push something on the floor, etc. you hear this wonderful grinding noise. We were up at 7am, but they were up by 6am. By putting the ac on high fan helps, but not enough! My parents had a bunch of kids above them and it was much worse...

The pool area is wonderful, but one of the hot tubs closet to the ocean was so hot that no one was in it! I swear if we had a bag of potatoes, you could boil them... We told management, but nothing happened and the hot tub stayed empty. The taco bar by the pool is fabulous. You can also get a great grilled burger! The kids liked going up and getting quesadillas.

One of main complaint about the food is there really isn't much "Mexican" to it! We had the all-inclusive, which was great for the kids during the day and drinks by the pool... but, for dinner I want some true Mexican. Fajitas, cheese fondue, carne asada, burritos, tacos for the kids, mahi mahi, shrimp, whatever! There was an enchilada on the menu, but it is gourmet up! I understand that they are trying to gourmet everything and the chef wants to impress.... But a sushi bar? We ended up eating offsite quite a bit to get better Mexican and variety. The kids wanted pizza and the sister property to Arco has a pizza oven, which I've heard is great! But it was not working when we were there. We did try to the Italian restaurant at the Palomer and it was ok.

All in all, Villa del Arco was great! Good location on the beach, you can walk downtown easily in 20-30 minutes, the service by the pool was good (just tip them $5 bucks here and there), the rooms are spacious but can be noisy depending on your above neighbors, food is ok (although the breakfast buffet is fantastic), nights/mornings are chilly so bring a sweater, pool was great (but get up early if you want a prime spot), avoid the timeshare folks and things are good, expect to pay big time for wifi (unless you do the timeshare presentation and get the "code" for using the hospitality suite)!

Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank MNMexicoFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VDA-GM, Manager at Villa del Arco Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Dear Client,
Thank you for investing some of your valuable time to filling out the service survey and sharing your vacation experience at Villa del Arco. We apologize for the issue with the temperature of the jacuzzi; our maintenance department already know about this incident in order to not to happen again.
Likewise our food and beverages Management already read your comment and they are going to take the proper measurements to improve the Quality of the food and includes more Mexican food in our menus. We wish to have the opportunity of serving you again in the near future.

Warmest regards.

Miguel Angel Rodriguez
Room Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
60 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

If they could just get the elevators to work this resort would be perfect! I suppose the exercise climbing the stairs helped offset the the food and drinks we were shoveling down non-stop. The poolside service was amazing! Tip your waiters well and your drink will never run dry! The food was pretty good for all inclusive, (breakfast is awesome, suspect because its part of the time share pitch). Location is good and the spa is one of the top ten we have ever been to relative to the amenities. The Villa Del Palmar resorts are great!

Room Tip: Higher up have better views but the elevators were constantly not working. Rooms on left facing the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lawre3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VDA-GM, Manager at Villa del Arco Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Dear client,
Thank you for have chosen our resort to expend your last vacation in Los Cabos, and also for investing some of your valuable time to sharing your vacation experience in Villa del Arco. Your comments are very important for us because they help us identifying opportunity areas, and thank you for bringing to our attention the elevator issue, our maintenance department already spoke with the elevator provider in order to reinforce the revision of our elevator to maintain them in working order.

Warms regards ...

Miguel Rodriguez
Room Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cabo San Lucas hotels
0.2 mi away
Villa La Estancia
Villa La Estancia
#8 of 69 in Cabo San Lucas
4.5 of 5 stars 1,069 reviews
2.0 mi away
The Cape, a Thompson Hotel
The Cape, a Thompson Hotel
#3 of 69 in Cabo San Lucas
5.0 of 5 stars 187 reviews
0.2 mi away
Villa del Palmar Beach Resort & Spa Los Cabos
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Grand Fiesta Americana Los Cabos All Inclusive Golf & Spa
0.6 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Cabo San Lucas
Hotel Riu Palace Cabo San Lucas
#32 of 69 in Cabo San Lucas
4.0 of 5 stars 5,464 reviews
1.2 mi away
Grand Solmar Land's End Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa del Arco Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa del Arco Beach Resort & Spa

Address: Km. 0.5 Camino Viejo a San Jose, Cabo San Lucas 23450, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > Cabo San Lucas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#4 Luxury Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#4 Family Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#5 Business Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#6 Romantic Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa del Arco Beach Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 222
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Create magical memories the minute you walk into Villa del Arco Beach Resort & Spa in Cabo San Lucas, an idyllic and delightful retreat, where the staff is committed to ensuring you get the best of the 3 Rs: relaxation, recreation and romance. This sophisticated five-star, all-suite property, often referred by past guests as calming, beautiful and comfortable, offers secluded stretches of beach where you can shut out the world and relish in the surroundings. Our comfortable, yet luxurious suites feature unbeatable views of sand and sea, including the exotic El Arco rock formation, the official symbol of Los Cabos. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Orbitz, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp. and Jetsetter so you can book your Villa del Arco Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Del Arco Hotel Cabo San Lucas
Hotel Del Arco
Del Arco Hotel
Villa Del Arco Cabo San Lucas
Villa Del Arco Beach Resort & Spa Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing