We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place to spend a family vacation” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Villa del Arco Beach Resort & Spa

Save Saved
You added Villa del Arco Beach Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Villa del Arco Beach Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Km. 0.5 Camino Viejo a San Jose, Cabo San Lucas 23450, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 66 hotels in Cabo San Lucas
Indianapolis
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Good place to spend a family vacation”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

I liked this resort, but not quite as much as it's two sister resorts, Estancia and Palmar. The staff was friendly. Service on the beach was slow, but they were very busy the week we were there and quite overwhelmed it seemed. Very clean and cleaning staff was on top of things from dawn till dusk. Comfortable beds too. Only complaint is the garden tub in the master sticks out quite a bit and the floor is all tile. The last night we were there, I slipped on the bed side rug and bashed my face on the garden tub, causing a cut and three fractures in my nose and a concussion. We had to leave for the airport in 12 hours, so I toughed it out till we got back to Indy, then hit the ER. Remove the wicker rug from beside the bed and you will be fine!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VDA-GM, General Manager at Villa del Arco Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Dear Customer,

Thank you very much for your comments, wich is really appreciated! We strive our staff to provide the best quality of Service.

I trully hope to host you in the near future.


Sincerely,

Mr. Jorge Herran
VDA GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,096 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    647
    285
    67
    50
    47
See reviews for
432
388
11
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (296)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Washington
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

The Desert Spa at Villa del Arco in Cabo San Lucas is a spa lovers delight. The facilities are spacious, attractive, and well-maintained by friendly and accommodating staff. The exercise equipment is plentiful and up-to-date. The three whirlpools – hot, warm and cold - are pristine, and the airy, skylit wet area is a perfect place to relax.

Daily spa treatment specials are an excellent value and of exceptional quality so we tried several. Eugenia worked her magic with the Baja Bliss Facial and Eye Treatment. She was warm, friendly, highly skilled, and selected just the right products to suit my sensitive complexion. She has a smooth, flowing style and does a transcendent foot massage. Mariana worked wonders on my husband’s sore muscles after personal yoga sessions with Robin, the spa’s energetic personal trainer. Minga’s manicure was relaxing and professional, with just the right attention to detail. After ten days we returned home looking very well tended, and indeed we were!

Thanks to the front desk staff – Olga, Veronica, Judith, Angelica, Nancy, Gladys – and to Adrianna and Indira, the women’s spa assistants, and Christian, the men’s spa assistant, and Francois, the manager, for their attentiveness. What a delight to be welcomed back by name after a year away!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VDA-GM, General Manager at Villa del Arco Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Deat Customer,

It is always nice to be able to read such a great comment about our Resort. We thank you for taking your time to do so.

Our staff is comitted to provide the best quality of Service.

I trully hope to host you once again soon.


Sincerely,

Mr. Jorge Herran
GMVDA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubuque, Iowa
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

Traveled here in February 2008 and it was great! The bartenders were fun and the resort had a ton of activities! Walked downtown (took the scenic route) and there was lots to do in Cabo as well. There are also a few other resorts next door with events happening also. We did the all-inclusive for 4 out of the 7 days which was perfect. Loved Cabo!! p.s. make sure you spend a morning in the hot tub overlooking the beach/sunset!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VDA-GM, General Manager at Villa del Arco Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Dear Client,


It is always a pleasure to read how much you enjoy your stay with us. Thank you for taking the time to write as I will share this with my entire staff.

I hope to host you once again very soon.

Best Regards,

Mr. Jorge Herran
GM VDA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miramar, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

We have stayed here two times. In the summer of 2011 and 2012. We are scheduled to return in
July 2013. The staff is wonderful and very helpful. Food is Amazing. Trust me, I know food and all the meals were spectacular. We had an amazing time. This is our favorite place in the world to stay. Service is top-notch! The only disappointing part was that last year we noticed that the restaurants had long wait times or there was no availability even though there were empty tables. Strange. This was the only disappointment. Lack of staff it seems during the night for the restaurants.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VDA-GM, General Manager at Villa del Arco Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Dear Client,


We are so happy to hear that you and your lovely family had such a great time in our Resort.

We are always striving to provide the Excellent Service you deserve.

I will share your comment with my staff of how wonderful vacation you had.

I trully hope to host you once again wich will be our pleasure!

Thank you and see you on July.

Sincerely,

Mr. Jorge Herran
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denton, North Carolina
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

I found this property after scouring the internet for a great location near Cabo San Lucas that had a beach you could swim in the ocean. Wow did we find just what we wanted. We traveled on the 26th of Dec 2012 and stayed for 6 days. The rooms are large, beds sleep wonderful, very clean and the staff were so helpful. Now THE DESERT SPA is fabulous!!!! I loved the products so much I bought them all to bring home. The Agave body lotion.....I have used everyday since we have been home. Thanks again for such a great stay and we will be back!!!!

Room Tip: We found the right side of the property closest to the marina has the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VDA-GM, General Manager at Villa del Arco Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Dear Customer,

Thank you so much for your feedback of your recent stay with us. I trully appreciated and will share your comments with my staff.

We are all striving to provide the best service you deserve.

I hope you give us the opportunity to host you once again.

Sincerely,

Mr. Jorge Herran
GM VDA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California, United States
1 review
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

We booked a five night, six day family vacation at the Villa Del Arco Beach Resort and Desert Spa in Los Cabos, Mexico. We are not strangers to traveling in Mexico and have stayed in the Los Cabos area on various other trips. This trip was booked through Costco.

The food and food service staff were good. The beds were comfortable.

The whole reason we picked Los Cabos was to relax and swim in the warm water.

Strike 1: We were placed in a hotel room where there four giant electric fans approximately twenty feet away from the exterior wall of the room. Apparently part of the air conditioning system. These fans actuated periodically, several times both day and night. The electric fans were very noisy. I thought that a helicopter surely had just landed on the building by the associated sound. Needless to say, we all woke up each time the fans actuated, all night long.

Strike 2: The temperature of the swimming pool water was approximately 65 degrees (Fahrenheit). We were told that there was a temporary failure with the pool heating system and that the normal pool water temperature would be restored by the next day. That did not happen. In fact, the pool water in the adjacent sister hotel (Villa Del Palmar) was also cold, an indication that cold pool water is hotel standard rather than a rare occurrence. The pool water remained cold for the next five days and likely long after we left the hotel. Unless you like cold pool water, don't waste your time and money by checking into this resort. I have photos that show hundreds of people gathered around the pool, but none actually in the pool because the water was so cold. Just ask me to forward the photos and you will see.

Strike 3: There was thermostat control on the room interior wall, but no operative heating system within the hotel rooms. The air temperature in January is cool in Cabo (approximately 55 degrees Fahrenheit). We froze at night.

I don't expect perfection, but I do expect a reasonably good standard of care considering the cost of the resort. It just did not happen. This hotel is unprepared.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VDA-GM, General Manager at Villa del Arco Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Dear Client,

We deeply apologized for all the conveniences you encounter during your recent stay. I will make sure to stress this out among the departments involved to avoid this to happen in the future.

Thank you for your comments.

Sincerely,

Mr. Jorge Herran
GM VDA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BC, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

We spent a fantastic week at Villa del Arco on the all-inclusive/meal plan. We were traveling with a group of 14 people including a couple that travels extensively and stays at many very high end/luxury business hotels and resorts. Everybody was very happy and Villa del Arco exceeded our expectations (the 'luxury' travelers said that it was the best resort they had stayed at in Mexico).
The rooms are beautiful and clean and the beds are very comfortable. If you are not happy with your room assignment (i.e. bad view), the front desk will do their best to accomodate.
The pool is gorgeous and the ocean was calm enough to swim in (which may not always be the case - make sure you check for the warning flag before getting in the water). The poolside, beach, and restaurant service is great.
If you are expecting the typical Mexican all-inclusive experience here, with endless mediocre buffets and watered-down swim-up bar drinks, do not come here. With the exception of the breakfast buffet, everything is ordered off the menu. (There is also a breakfast menu in additional to the buffet - the eggs benedict, mimosas, and espresso drinks are great!). The food is very high quality. We tried all of the restaurants at Villa del Arco as well as 'Bella California' - the Italian restaurant at the sister resort (Villa del Palmar) and they were equal to any higher end restaurants at home. The wine was very good as well. I would have happily paid full menu prices at home for these meals. I cannot overemphasize just how impressed we were with the food quality. The sushi should be mentioned as well - it was great (and this is coming from sushi lovers from Vancouver!). Yes, signing the check at the end of each meal or round of drinks is a bit odd for an all-inclusive, but I am more than happy to do that if it means that the food quality is on par with a four star resort at home.
The spa is amazing as well - very professional and quite an impressive facility.
Thank you to the staff at Villa del Arco. We had a lovely time and hope to return very soon!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VDA-GM, General Manager at Villa del Arco Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Dear Customer,

We are so happy to know that your vacation was fantastic. Our staff is striving every single day to provide the excellent service you deserve.

I trully appreciate your comments and hope to host you soon once again.


Best Regards,

Mr. Jorge Herran
GM VDA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Villa del Arco Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa del Arco Beach Resort & Spa

Address: Km. 0.5 Camino Viejo a San Jose, Cabo San Lucas 23450, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > Cabo San Lucas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#4 Family Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#6 Luxury Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#7 Business Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#8 Romantic Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa del Arco Beach Resort & Spa 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stunning seaside views, historic scenery and high-energy entertainment results in a carefree and unforgettable vacation in the heart of El Medano Beach at Cabo San Lucas's Villa del Arco Beach Resort & Spa.If you're looking for a high-end, family-friendly resort, you've found it. In addition to its lavish surroundings with the wondrous El Arco rock formation on the horizon, Villa del Arco boasts a full-scale pirate ship, exotic cuisine, the renowned Desert Spa as well as numerous athletic and cultural activities.All 225 spacious, colorful and air-conditioned suites offer kitchens or kitchenettes and private balconies facing either the azure Sea of Cortez or our lush, exotic gardens.Our meticulous staff is committed to providing guests with "The three Rs": Relaxation, Recreation and Romance (yes, even for those with the kids in tow!). As our General Manager likes to say, "We offer experiences that make you forget the time and simultaneously remember every moment." For a lavish experience you are not soon to forget, we invite you to be our guest at Villa del Arco Beach Resort & Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, HotelsClick, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Villa del Arco Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Del Arco Hotel Cabo San Lucas
Hotel Del Arco
Del Arco Hotel
Villa Del Arco Cabo San Lucas
Villa Del Arco Beach Resort & Spa Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa del Arco Beach Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.