We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome all around.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Villa del Arco Beach Resort & Spa

Save Saved
You added Villa del Arco Beach Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Villa del Arco Beach Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Km. 0.5 Camino Viejo a San Jose, Cabo San Lucas 23450, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 66 hotels in Cabo San Lucas
Midale, Saskatchewan, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Awesome all around.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

Villa Del Arco is awesome. We took the 3 kids there over Christmas and it was a blast. We all had a great time.

Food was awesome. There is a great pool side taco stand that they kids went to everyday even twice some days. So fresh and delicious. The staff was always around the pool to get you whatever you needed, lunch poolside, drinks you name it. There is a snack stand in the middle of the pool as well that we all enjoyed. Restaurants were great as well, our favorite was the sushi place we went twice.

Room was awesome we stayed in a 2 bedroom suite where everyone had pleanty of space and room to spreadout. This room was a score for sure.

Close to downtown Cabo, easy to take the kids down and shop or go whale watch and always felt safe. If you have the chance to stay here you have to take it.

Cannot wait to go back again !!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VDA-GM, General Manager at Villa del Arco Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Dear Customer,

Thank you for taking the time to write your wonderful experience in our Resort. We strive our employees by providing the Best Service.

I will share with my staff your great comments. Also I trully wish to host you again soon.

Best Regards,
Mr. Jorge Herran
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,093 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    645
    284
    67
    50
    47
See reviews for
431
387
11
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (295)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

Very nice hotel, unfortunately we were not able to stay there even tho we booked 6 months in advance ....at the same time as another family we were traveling with. Once we arrived we were notified that they were booked and we were transferred to their sister resort Villa Palmar. Needless to say we were upset, mad and confused as to why this had happened...especially booking and paying so far in advance. We were also confused as to why our friends had a room there and we did not even tho we booked at the same time I will say, we were taken good care of by the staff and given extras as the spa for our trouble, free of charge. I would go back, worth the money, gorgeous grounds, excellent food and very clean. Once again, I cannot say enough about the staff, they were all amazing, genuine, helpful people.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VDA-GM, General Manager at Villa del Arco Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Dear Client,

I am happy to hear that you had a great time even you were moved to our sister Resort Villa del Palmar. Our staff is comitted to provide the best service possible to make your stay enjoyable and happy.

Thank you for your comments.

Best Regards,

Mr. Jorge Herran.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

We are a timeshare owner in the villa group and this was our first stay at the Arco in Cabo. We got a full two bedroom with a great ocean view. The room was very comfortable and clean and the staff did a good job of responding quickly to maintenance needs when we needed it (flickering light, running toilet). In addition, the waitstaff and pool service were both very friendly and attentive.

The spa and gym on the property were both very nice and the people managing the spa were very professional. The hotel does not have water in the gym, which is a little unusual though.

The food at El Patron was very good, it was one of the better restaurants in the resort. Avoid the Italian restaurant at Villa del Palmar as the pastas are very watery.

While, the place is nice there are a few cons and watchouts:
1) The walls are a little thin, so it's pretty easy to hear any repair work going outside or your upstairs neighbors walking around.
2) The wifi service is a little slow and at least in our room we had to be closer to the balcony to get stronger service. (Would be nice if wifi was free).
3) The "timeshare tour" was really unpleasant. Avoid "Mike from Oregon".
4) I found it odd that there wasn't a room service menu in the room. Some times, we didn't want to eat out, but didn't have the option to order in.
5) For both breakfast and dinner, we sometimes had waits of +30min, even though there were plenty open tables. Not sure if the staffing is low. Take a later breakfast to avoid the morning rush and make dinner reservations the day before or earlier in the morning.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VDA-GM, General Manager at Villa del Arco Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Dear Customer,

We are so happy to hear that you had a great time in our Property. We trully strive in providing the best for our clients and to make sure that all your needs are exceded.

For the few cons and watchouts I am passing this to the proper departments to avoid this in the future.

I love to see you back in to our Resort and host you again as you deserve.

Thank you for your comments!


Best Regards,
Mr. Jorge Herran
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Chester, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

Our 1st visit to Villa Del Arco time share. We went with more experienced travelers who requested suite near the Sea of Cortex....we got great view. Rooms are fairly large and very comfortable. Pool was a bit warm for my taste and beach was really lovely...water a bit strong and sudden drop off seems typical of region. The pool side service was very good and food/drink reasonable..the turkey burger and salads especially good. Several local places in walking distance on the beach or into town. really convenient location. Special offers desk helped us get discount golf [no strings attached], snorkel trip at discount, and ATV ride that didn't turn out so good. The on site restaurants got good review from our group but I never ate there... Cleaning services good and we really had no complaints expect for the lack of internet in the room [$50/computer/week fee]. Not the right place for young kids....the sister timeshare next door caters to younger crowd and teenagers. Don't forget to watch the sunrise!!!

Room Tip: request room as far away from lobby as possible....
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VDA-GM, General Manager at Villa del Arco Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Dear Customer,

We are so happy to hear that you had a great time in our Property. We trully strive in providing the best for our clients and to make sure that all your needs are exceded.

I love to see you back in to our Resort and host you again as you deserve.

Thank you for your comments!


Best Regards,
Mr. Jorge Herran
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leawood, Kansas
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

The entire food staff was replaced last year when a Ritz-trained operations manager took over the management of La Estancia and Villa Del Arco. He hired Gabriel, a young chef trained in Argentina, who established a strong reputation in Chicago and Teluride before bringing his family here. We have avoided the ocean side restaurant in recent years. It now ranks as one of our favorites in all of Cabo, right up there with Hacienda. Food service, preparation and flavor were simply outstanding. Two items stand out -- the three mole sauce dinner with superb and distinct flavors on beef tenderloin medallions and shrimp -- and the red snapper entree. The restaurant reminded us of finer dining experiences in Europe. Rather than the monstrous portions served in so many Cabo dining establishments, the portions were reasonable and the sauces and other dishes designed to create a melody of tastes. We paid $250 for a much less enjoyable experience at Ruth's Chris on Christmas night at the Puerto Paraiso Mall; the meal we enjoyed tonight was $49 after our Gold Card discount. That gets a five star value rating from me. If only we could spend that money in town and come away with a similar taste sensation.

It's clear hotel management is working to improve all aspects of service. We do own a time share for Christmas week here. We have been coming for ten years and the reports of bad experiences suggest to me either hard to please people or we've just been very lucky. Wait staff here is terrific, friendly and service oriented.

We purchased our time share here and can't wait to return each year; the food was the only thing that made this a generally four star experience for us. Today, it's a five star experience.

Room Tip: Ask for Ocean View rooms on the north side of the building and you will receive a clear view of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VDA-GM, General Manager at Villa del Arco Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Dear Customer,

We are so happy to hear that you had a great time in our Property. We trully strive in providing the best for our clients.

I love to see you back to our Resort and host you again as you deserve.

Thank you for your comments!


Best Regards,
Sr. Jorge Herran
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

Wow! Just returned from our vacation and have to say, it was by far, the best experience ever! We work a lot of hours and really want to make sure each vacation we take gives us the best bang for the buck. We absolutely hit the jackpot with VillaDelArcoCabo.com and DestinationCabo.com. I did a lot of research and price comparisons and Destination Vacations beat them all. AND they have a ton of information on the resorts, Cabo, activities, and advice on everything from where to eat to where and when to pickup groceries for our group. They are in Cabo several times a year, and more importantly knew who to work with to make our vacation the best. They even worked with the resort on some special requests we had talked about. One of our group had a flight delay, but Destination Vacations helped us contact the transportation company, kept in contact with us until they were on the way to the resort so we could greet our missing friend with a chilled local tequila! Every time we ate out, it was on the recommendation from Destination Vacations and we all thanked them with a toast at each meal ;-). We had an exceptional vacation and can't wait to do it again! This time we have several more friends who are going, after hearing all of us rave about the incredible room prices and overall great experience!

Room Tip: All the rooms have a view of the ocean!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VDA-GM, General Manager at Villa del Arco Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Dear Customer,

We are so happy to hear that you had a great time in our Property. We trully strive in providing the best for our clients.

I love to see you back to our Resort and host you again as you deserve.

Thank you for your comments!


Best Regards,

Mr. Jorge Herran
VDA-GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, WA
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

There were lots of negative reviews on this property, which we booked via Costco travel on the advice of a family friend who stayed here in spring. Someone said they were accosted, someone else said they were ripped off, there were lots of negative comments on timeshare sales tactics, etc. I took these seriously and had my guard up when we got there.

But not once were we bothered with timeshare people (we have dealt with them in Whistler, same game--free stuff if you sit here and let us try and get you to prepay for the next 20 vacations, etc.). The staff was not only helpful but very pleasant. Given the wide range of guests we mt at Villa Del Arco, language & cultural differences, etc. it's to be expected there are some issues as there always are with hotels no matter the country or how much you spend.

Our room was very nice and relaxing, plenty of room with kitchen & washer/dryer combo. They pool area was well taken care of and the food was very good. We did not go all inclusive because we wanted to spend time and meals in the town, and we are glad we did that. Doing the math it was cheaper to get a few meals per day from Costco and/or nibble at the taco bar as wanted, and hit the town for the fun restaurants. I will say I am very sick of Mexican food but it's still my favorite, had some great food at Del Arco in the Pearl restaurant and the Bucanero has a great daytime menu. The location is perfect for us--close enough to town we can walk the beach to Mango Bar, etc. but far enough away to be quiet and with fewer party animals (you know who you are, I love you but now I have little kids). Lots of families with kids and this made it fun for ours as well.

Do make sure you understand the checkout procedures, with people from all over the world coming and going they do have some procedures that are slightly different viz a viz checkout, paying your room tab, etc. but they were flexible in our checkout time (we have two little kids who needed a nap before a long day of travelling home).

Loved this place, we'll be back next year.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VDA-GM, General Manager at Villa del Arco Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Dear Customer,

We are so happy to hear that you had a great time in our Property. We trully strive in providing the best for our clients.

I love to see you back to our Resort and host you again as you deserve.


Best Regards,

Mr. Jorge Herran
VDA-GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Villa del Arco Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa del Arco Beach Resort & Spa

Address: Km. 0.5 Camino Viejo a San Jose, Cabo San Lucas 23450, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > Cabo San Lucas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#4 Family Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#6 Luxury Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#7 Business Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#8 Romantic Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa del Arco Beach Resort & Spa 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stunning seaside views, historic scenery and high-energy entertainment results in a carefree and unforgettable vacation in the heart of El Medano Beach at Cabo San Lucas's Villa del Arco Beach Resort & Spa.If you're looking for a high-end, family-friendly resort, you've found it. In addition to its lavish surroundings with the wondrous El Arco rock formation on the horizon, Villa del Arco boasts a full-scale pirate ship, exotic cuisine, the renowned Desert Spa as well as numerous athletic and cultural activities.All 225 spacious, colorful and air-conditioned suites offer kitchens or kitchenettes and private balconies facing either the azure Sea of Cortez or our lush, exotic gardens.Our meticulous staff is committed to providing guests with "The three Rs": Relaxation, Recreation and Romance (yes, even for those with the kids in tow!). As our General Manager likes to say, "We offer experiences that make you forget the time and simultaneously remember every moment." For a lavish experience you are not soon to forget, we invite you to be our guest at Villa del Arco Beach Resort & Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Tingo, Amex, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Villa del Arco Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Del Arco Hotel Cabo San Lucas
Hotel Del Arco
Del Arco Hotel
Villa Del Arco Cabo San Lucas
Villa Del Arco Beach Resort & Spa Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa del Arco Beach Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.