We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Attention to detail!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Villa del Arco Beach Resort & Spa

Save Saved
You added Villa del Arco Beach Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Villa del Arco Beach Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Km. 0.5 Camino Viejo a San Jose, Cabo San Lucas 23450, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 66 hotels in Cabo San Lucas
Tulsa
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Attention to detail!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

Enjoyed 5 days and would definitely return. Hotel is clean, staff efficient, food is delicious at the hotel restaurant. Don't love all the time share salespeople constantly around but I guess this is the business that you have to deal with.

Room Tip: Ask for Ocean FRONT when booking to have nothing between your room and the ocean. Ocean VIEW is goo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,033 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    599
    272
    66
    50
    46
See reviews for
397
372
9
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (271)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

The suite was fabulous, full kitchen, 2 Bedrooms, 3 baths - more than enough space for 7 women. The place is immaculate, & the trolley that runs to the two sister Villa hotels down the beach gave many choices.
However, the food & drink service at the pool & beach were very poor, only one tiny bar for a huge property. The beach was hard, rough, pebbly sand & you had to walk down a long flight of stairs to get there.
The vendors on the beach were very polite, didn't bother you when you said "no gracias". Friends had fun at Cabo Wabo dancing all night, the town was nothing great. Cruise ships anchored outside the marina blocking the beautiful veiws of Lands End & Lovers Beach.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Youngstown, Ohio
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012 via mobile

I just got back from a vacation to Cabo with friends from Cleveland, November 9th thru November 16th...Friday to Friday. Two out of four of us are time share owners with the Villa Group. One great perk of being a time share owner is access to the gold card, which offers many great discounts to food, drink and entertainment!

I'll start by telling you that all four of us bought the all-inclusive package for the first three days we were on the resort. Everyone in the room must go all inclusive. Knowing that there are a limited number of restaurants and bars at both Del Arco and Del Palmar, we figured three days would be plenty. We definitely made the $89 work for us all three days, particularly at 'El Farro', the sushi bar! Had great service there too! We got food and drink poolside all day as well...service begins at 10am. You can get some great greasy American or Mexican food at the taco bar or the Buckanero. We even got sushi rolls poolside one day. If you don't go all inclusive, they bill everything to,your room. They don't deal with cash anywhere. We sometimes gave cash tips, to make sure we got attentive service.

As far as the pool, it's awesome beyond belief! If you want pool chairs with both an ocean view near the pool, you'll need to put your towel out around 6am to save your seat. These are the first chairs to go every morning. There are plenty of umbrellas if you need shade, plus palm trees that block sun at times. There are also chairs in the very shallow part of the pool that are cool if you want to dip your feet will laying back. The servers are pretty on top of things over all, but cash tips help get quicker service.

They offer trolley service to their sister resort, Villa Del Palmar, just a few minutes down the road...also walkable. Palmar has twice as many guests and lots more planned activities if you want that sort of thing. We went over one night for Casino and karaoke night, which was a lot of fun. We also paid for the buffet for dinner, which was good...plenty of prime rib! There s also some shops and a small market for grocery essentials for your room.

Del Arco is the much more relaxed and upscale of the two resorts, with half as many rooms...so no over crowding. It's a combination of professionals, families and couples. I didn't see a lot of kids...but of course school is in session. We mainly saw very young kids under 5. So not much kiddie noise in early November.

Downtown, the marina and the beach offer many other food and entertainment options. Cabo Wabo, El Squid Roe, Nowhere Bar and The Office are a few to name. 'The Office' on the beach has the best margaritas! Pochos in the marina had a great dinner menu, Pepe's was some wonderful Mexican and the Baja Cantina near the beach had a nice sushi menu.

I also recommend a sunset cruise/bruise cruise, many to pick from. We took the Tropicat, which was a wine and cheese version of what most call a booze cruise. Beautiful cruise of lands end (the arch) and the southwestern coastline. Roughly a two hour cruise.

Anyway, I highly recommend the Villa Del Arco. I wouldn't say it's cheap...but you get what you pay for! The front desk and concierge staff are very good, as well as the door and bell hop staff. Most of the wait staff are quite good as well. Rooms are immaculate with fantastic views...ours was of the pool and ocean. Very spacious outdoor patios with comfortable seats and table.

Give it a shot.

Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, NV
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

We have a great time at the villa del Arco. We are enjoying our time share and annual stays there in Cabo San Lucas. This was our second trip there. The food, service, activities, and access to town are very good. A superior team, Cindy Bartz, a marketing director, and the other consierge staff at the resort were helpful to ensure our package was the value we bought. We appreciate the people at Villa del Arco. Lori

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keystone, Colorado
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

I have read a lot of reviews on this site before our Cabo San lucas vacation, so in all fairness, my great review may be biased as I had low expectations. I have come to realize that people are quick to complain about anything and everything, whereas the ones who have a great experience go home from vacation and may tell a few friends.
From the moment we arrived, we were greeted by concierge, Sandra, who was helpful and pleasant. We decided not to attend a presentation from what we had read online.
My husband and I arrived in a beautiful one bedroom villa, we had a glimpse of the sea of cortez. We unpack and headed straight to the beach, an easy walk from the villa. We had cadillac margaritas pool side and had wonderful service from gracious, smiling waiters. Over the next few days we heard talk around the pool. The gold card was helpful for food and drinks and activities. You get this by attending a presentation. My husband talked to a couple that had owned for 2 years and they were very happy. We met another young couple that attended the presentation, and although they could not afford to purchase on their honey moon, they said their sales guy was really nice the entire time, even after they said no. so, close to the end of our vavcation we decided to see a presentation. We met Valerie Knickle. She was fun, gave us a lot of information about the area and told us that whether we said yes or no, she would help us get our gifts.
Through the presentation, we kept expecting the speil to start. She had a very patient approach with us, we enjoyed the entire time we spent. We didnt feel any pressure. She was very honest about reservation windows and how to work the membership to recieve the best value. We found the deal too good to pass up. We could justify the money because we were already spending it. We are now happy owners, looking forward to returning. They also have other properties that we can use. We finished the vacation with some great meals, we recommend los tres gallos for mexican food, and mariscos de mazatlan for seafood, both recommendations that Valerie gave us and they were awesome. Swim in the sea, have a drink, use the desert spa, enjoy the friendly service and big smiles from the staff, dont be afraid to attend a presentation, the gifts and recommendations were worth it even if we hadnt bought. Thank you Villa del Arco for a perfect vacation. Oh, we also appreciated the washer dryer in the one bedroom villa as we went home to reality with clean clothes!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

Hello Fellow Celiacs

My wife an I are from Vancouver and picked Villa Dela Arco for our two weeks in the sun, escaping the clouds and rain of Canada's winter west coast.

A few things about Los Cabos, this is our second visit, the first was 2009 at Villa Del Palmar the poor cousin to VDA. First off VDA is a really nice property, certainly geared towards a more mature laid back clientele, if you want to party go to Rui, if you have kids go to Villa Del Palmar.

So far we have avoided the Time-share sharks, if you get hooked in by them they will literally steal +3 hours of your life that you will never get back and possibly worse get you to hand over +$15,000 of your hard earned money on a really crappy deal.

We checked into VDA and had to do the typical Mexican room dance, first you get put in a crappy room, you go to the front desk and say this won't work, they move you to one notch above sub-standard after the speech they're at 100% capacity, you endure the evening and head back to the front desk first thing in the morning and start the process again until they find a decent room. We went from a walk out swamp-side room, infested with moths to a nice ground level pool-side and are very happy with our new digs. Finally we get to unpack and start the two week vacation we flew here for. Remember....(polite)squeaky wheel gets the grease.

Okay now let's talk GF, I've been Celiac for +9 years and traveling (my favorite past-time) can be a challenge, a couple bad meals and the multi-thousand dollar vacation goes for crap!!! I researched as best as I could GF in Cabo, not a lot of info out there however there is a new Organic Market called California Ranch Market located downtown. They're on the right track but still a ways to go, there are a number of products in the store and they continue to try to build stock but honestly you'd be hard pressed to get more then three days of meals from them.

Because we were coming down for two weeks, we decided the best course of action would be to pack an extra suit case stuffed with GF food; pasta, Udi's bread, pizza crust, nuts, pancake mix, crackers, cookies, granola, etc. Enough staples that with a trip to the local Wal-mart we would have a number of GF meals. We purchase a cheap case from Value Village and literally packed it full and so glad we did, best idea ever.

VDA has decent kitchens so making meals has been very easy. If you're Celiac and planning all-inclusive in Mexico you will be sick most days. Maybe the alcohol will help but be prepared for killer guts. If you're bring kids and not planning on cooking reconsider coming to Mexico.

So far the staff at VDA have been great, I would certainly recommend this place to any GF travel seeker on the west coast, direct flights, fantastic weather, safe, great people.

We rented a car because of the GF requirements, three trips to Wal-Mart and I think were good for the rest of the week. It's 10 minutes down the road, without a car I'm not sure it's possible.

I'll add to the review after our trip ends, if you have any questions don't hesitate to contact me I'm happy to help out.

Best

Jim

Room Tip: Be prepared to do the Mexican room dance, start at the bottom and work you're way up. It's...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Just got back after five days at the VDA. The only reason we stayed at this resort was because a family member was getting married and all 51 guests were staying at VDA. We enjoyed ourselves so much, that we would return in the future. We purchased the all inclusive and were glad that we did. We had the deluxe room, which was more than big enough for two. The kitchenette had everything you would need, frig, microwave, blender and toaster. Very comfortable king bed. We were on the third floor of building 2 and had a decent view of the ocean. With the all inclusive all of your drinks and food are included at all VDA restaurants and a couple of the VDP restaurants, plus the pirate ship and poolside. The breakfast buffets were good and had great variety. You could also get eggs scrambled, fried or omelets. Dinner at the El Patron was our favorite. The pirate ship was a great meeting place. The chips and guacamole are amazing! All of the staff was friendly and accomodating. I agree with the other reviewers, food service is slow. Waiting for your check to sign, is even slower. We also wish that it was made more clear to us that we would be receiving a check with a dollar amount to sign, just for accounting purposes. We thought that we were being billed for food when we first arrived. We were also tipping the first day, until we realized that taxes and tips were included. However, we continued to tip the servers that went over and beyond.

My sister and I booked a pedicure and a shampoo/blowout at the spa. This enabled us to use the spa facilities until they closed. The spa was great. You can also buy a pass for $10, do it, it's worth it for the pressure shower alone.

A taxi right into town is $8 - $10 for the entire car full and takes less than 10 minutes. Make sure you book your transportation for your return flight through the hotel. We paid $20 each for that. The only thing that we would've done differently on this trip, would be to arrange our transportation with the hotel before we arrived. If you've never been to the Cabo San Jose airport, it's very chaotic on the way out. The ride to the hotel is about 40 minutes.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Villa del Arco Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa del Arco Beach Resort & Spa

Address: Km. 0.5 Camino Viejo a San Jose, Cabo San Lucas 23450, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > Cabo San Lucas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#6 Luxury Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#7 Family Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#8 Romantic Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#11 Business Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa del Arco Beach Resort & Spa 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stunning seaside views, historic scenery and high-energy entertainment results in a carefree and unforgettable vacation in the heart of El Medano Beach at Cabo San Lucas's Villa del Arco Beach Resort & Spa.If you're looking for a high-end, family-friendly resort, you've found it. In addition to its lavish surroundings with the wondrous El Arco rock formation on the horizon, Villa del Arco boasts a full-scale pirate ship, exotic cuisine, the renowned Desert Spa as well as numerous athletic and cultural activities.All 225 spacious, colorful and air-conditioned suites offer kitchens or kitchenettes and private balconies facing either the azure Sea of Cortez or our lush, exotic gardens.Our meticulous staff is committed to providing guests with "The three Rs": Relaxation, Recreation and Romance (yes, even for those with the kids in tow!). As our General Manager likes to say, "We offer experiences that make you forget the time and simultaneously remember every moment." For a lavish experience you are not soon to forget, we invite you to be our guest at Villa del Arco Beach Resort & Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Tingo, Hotels.com, Travelocity, HotelsClick, Amex, BookIt.com, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Villa del Arco Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Del Arco Hotel Cabo San Lucas
Hotel Del Arco
Del Arco Hotel
Villa Del Arco Cabo San Lucas
Villa Del Arco Beach Resort & Spa Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa del Arco Beach Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.