We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gluten Free in Los Cabos at Villa Del Arco” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Villa del Arco Beach Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Villa del Arco Beach Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Villa del Arco Beach Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Km. 0.5 Camino Viejo a San Jose, Cabo San Lucas 23450, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 65 Hotels in Cabo San Lucas
Vancouver
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Gluten Free in Los Cabos at Villa Del Arco”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

Hello Fellow Celiacs

My wife an I are from Vancouver and picked Villa Dela Arco for our two weeks in the sun, escaping the clouds and rain of Canada's winter west coast.

A few things about Los Cabos, this is our second visit, the first was 2009 at Villa Del Palmar the poor cousin to VDA. First off VDA is a really nice property, certainly geared towards a more mature laid back clientele, if you want to party go to Rui, if you have kids go to Villa Del Palmar.

So far we have avoided the Time-share sharks, if you get hooked in by them they will literally steal +3 hours of your life that you will never get back and possibly worse get you to hand over +$15,000 of your hard earned money on a really crappy deal.

We checked into VDA and had to do the typical Mexican room dance, first you get put in a crappy room, you go to the front desk and say this won't work, they move you to one notch above sub-standard after the speech they're at 100% capacity, you endure the evening and head back to the front desk first thing in the morning and start the process again until they find a decent room. We went from a walk out swamp-side room, infested with moths to a nice ground level pool-side and are very happy with our new digs. Finally we get to unpack and start the two week vacation we flew here for. Remember....(polite)squeaky wheel gets the grease.

Okay now let's talk GF, I've been Celiac for +9 years and traveling (my favorite past-time) can be a challenge, a couple bad meals and the multi-thousand dollar vacation goes for crap!!! I researched as best as I could GF in Cabo, not a lot of info out there however there is a new Organic Market called California Ranch Market located downtown. They're on the right track but still a ways to go, there are a number of products in the store and they continue to try to build stock but honestly you'd be hard pressed to get more then three days of meals from them.

Because we were coming down for two weeks, we decided the best course of action would be to pack an extra suit case stuffed with GF food; pasta, Udi's bread, pizza crust, nuts, pancake mix, crackers, cookies, granola, etc. Enough staples that with a trip to the local Wal-mart we would have a number of GF meals. We purchase a cheap case from Value Village and literally packed it full and so glad we did, best idea ever.

VDA has decent kitchens so making meals has been very easy. If you're Celiac and planning all-inclusive in Mexico you will be sick most days. Maybe the alcohol will help but be prepared for killer guts. If you're bring kids and not planning on cooking reconsider coming to Mexico.

So far the staff at VDA have been great, I would certainly recommend this place to any GF travel seeker on the west coast, direct flights, fantastic weather, safe, great people.

We rented a car because of the GF requirements, three trips to Wal-Mart and I think were good for the rest of the week. It's 10 minutes down the road, without a car I'm not sure it's possible.

I'll add to the review after our trip ends, if you have any questions don't hesitate to contact me I'm happy to help out.

Best

Jim

Room Tip: Be prepared to do the Mexican room dance, start at the bottom and work you're way up. It's...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,202 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    735
    298
    71
    50
    48
See reviews for
464
428
11
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (336)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Just got back after five days at the VDA. The only reason we stayed at this resort was because a family member was getting married and all 51 guests were staying at VDA. We enjoyed ourselves so much, that we would return in the future. We purchased the all inclusive and were glad that we did. We had the deluxe room, which was more than big enough for two. The kitchenette had everything you would need, frig, microwave, blender and toaster. Very comfortable king bed. We were on the third floor of building 2 and had a decent view of the ocean. With the all inclusive all of your drinks and food are included at all VDA restaurants and a couple of the VDP restaurants, plus the pirate ship and poolside. The breakfast buffets were good and had great variety. You could also get eggs scrambled, fried or omelets. Dinner at the El Patron was our favorite. The pirate ship was a great meeting place. The chips and guacamole are amazing! All of the staff was friendly and accomodating. I agree with the other reviewers, food service is slow. Waiting for your check to sign, is even slower. We also wish that it was made more clear to us that we would be receiving a check with a dollar amount to sign, just for accounting purposes. We thought that we were being billed for food when we first arrived. We were also tipping the first day, until we realized that taxes and tips were included. However, we continued to tip the servers that went over and beyond.

My sister and I booked a pedicure and a shampoo/blowout at the spa. This enabled us to use the spa facilities until they closed. The spa was great. You can also buy a pass for $10, do it, it's worth it for the pressure shower alone.

A taxi right into town is $8 - $10 for the entire car full and takes less than 10 minutes. Make sure you book your transportation for your return flight through the hotel. We paid $20 each for that. The only thing that we would've done differently on this trip, would be to arrange our transportation with the hotel before we arrived. If you've never been to the Cabo San Jose airport, it's very chaotic on the way out. The ride to the hotel is about 40 minutes.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walla Walla
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Beautiful, clean, quiet resort. It has an amazing spa with it too. It was one of the top ranked spa's in Mexico. Food, buffet breakfasts at the restaurant were delicious. Food poolside was equally as good. If we return to Cabo this is where we will stay. Just a short cab ride away from great restaurants and activities.

Room Tip: They are all good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, NV USA
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

We spent our October week away from home in Cabo San Lucas. The weather, though a bit humid, was warm and very enjoyable. The ocean was the greatest surprise. You could walk right out into it. Warm, and refreshing. No startling entry.. just walk right out and stay in the bay as long as you want! (The ocean in May can be a bit chilly)

We have a special thank you to Crystal for helping to arrange our travels to be the most memorable. As owners we meet differnt people whose work is to assist us. We could not be happier. Please thank Crystal Meisner for us. She is always our go to person and always gives us the care and direction that we need while in Cabo and also before we arrive. Gracias!

Room Tip: All rooms will be comfortable and appropriate to you wants and needs, but you spend so much time out...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

Great stay. Lovely, clean hotel. Awesome spa massages, pedicures and manicures.

Close to everything, but there is more staff warmth and friendliness at the villa del palmar, their sister hotel. Arco Staff seemed to be under some type of pressure, which may contribute to staff coolness. The roped off Elite areas look silly. Overall a wonderful stay.

Breakfast buffet is good, but way overpriced. Usually love villa del palmar theme nights, but went to last Friday's which had foods from their various restaurants, and food was surprisingly disappointing. Not sure what the problem is. They seem to really be going toward all-inclusive which may mean more mass production food, thus lower quality food.

Anyway, I like VDP and arco, but want them to retain their friendliness and good food at reasonable prices.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surprise, Arizona
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

We recently spent four nights at Villa del Arco after spending four nights in the quaint, quiet town of San Jose del Cabo. We weren't sure if we would prefer that location or the more lively Los Cabos. We absolutely loved both! Del Arco was a very good experience for us. We stayed in their smallest rooms, the studio but it was plenty large enough for the two of us. We had a fabulous Lands End view from our sixth floor balcony. The pool area is beautiful and clean but gets busy so snatch up your lounge chair by 10:00 am or selection will be slim.
The location is perfect, close enough to the downtown marina area but quiet too. The beach is gorgeous! We did attend a timeshare presentation to receive great deals on tours and it was not a negative experience others mention at all!
We treated ourselves to 80 minute couples massages and thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. The spa was pristine, top notch all the way.
We did the all inclusive and were not disappointed!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aliso Viejo
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

We just returned from a week vacation in Cabo, at Villa Del Arco. We travelled with another couple and stayed at a two bedroom time share rented from a friend. The resort and room well exceeded our expectations. The grounds and pool area were gorgeous. Beautiful stone work, clean pool area, breathtaking views of the Ocean. We were not expecting any hurricanes, but found out while there that hurricane Paul was passing by us. It only affected about a day and a half of our trip, and because we were all inclusive we were able to stay on the resort and hit the sports bar. The food was good, but it did get a little old eating on the resort after a few days. We also were able to eat at Villa Del Palmar. It was worth the money we paid for the all inclusive, because the prices were expensive and we ordered many cocktails by the pool. I highly recommend "Daniel" and "Jesus" as your waiter's they took care of us, and we took care of them. Their service exceeded any of the dining area's. The restaurant service was slow and we sometimes joked that they identified us because of the bracelet's we had to wear being all inclusive. We went in to town two or three times, and took a glass bottom boat ride over to Lover's beach and El Arco. It was worth the $12 each to see the scenary, however, you could not see any fish in the glass bottom boat. There was not much night life at this resort and we were a little disappointed being that we were with another couple and would have liked to stay out past 10PM. There were several families, and this could be family friendly provided parents avoid the noisy pool area. The beach was extremely clean and the water was nice and warm. Even after the hurricane, the beach was cleaned up and the water looked as good as when we arrived after about two days. You could not sit on the beach without being approached to buy from the local beach walkers/vendors. It became "No Gracias" before we even saw what they were selling. If we made another trip we would probably stick to all inclusive, but possibly only three days and the other days get food from Walmart / Costco or eat in town where it is more affordable. The reviews I read indicate to watch out for time share people. Other than in the airport and once at the hotel at check in we were not bothered by time share people. Book your transportation to your hotel ahead of time and after going through customs walk all the way out of the airport, do not stop for anyone and meet your car outside. We were stopped twice by people trying to trick us into transportation and attending timeshares. They even said they were from our hotel/transportation company. The hotel requires you to go to the concierge after check in, we did but knew in advance to proceed with a firm NO and we do not need a gold card. You can get a reasonable breakfast over at the coffee shop at Villa del Palmar, which you can get to by trolley. They also have a store where you can buy essentials, The parties at Palmar were a little on the weak side. I would not pay for this if you are not on all inclusive. The TV's in the rooms were older, no flat screen and did not work real well. But overall the room area and balconies were better than expected. We would definitely visit Cabo and Villa Del Arco again.

Room Tip: Would recommend not being on the first floor, rooms flooded a little during the hurricane and it was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Villa del Arco Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa del Arco Beach Resort & Spa

Address: Km. 0.5 Camino Viejo a San Jose, Cabo San Lucas 23450, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > Cabo San Lucas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#4 Family Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#5 Luxury Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#6 Romantic Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#7 Business Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa del Arco Beach Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 225
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stunning seaside views, historic scenery and high-energy entertainment results in a carefree and unforgettable vacation in the heart of El Medano Beach at Cabo San Lucas's Villa del Arco Beach Resort & Spa.If you're looking for a high-end, family-friendly resort, you've found it. In addition to its lavish surroundings with the wondrous El Arco rock formation on the horizon, Villa del Arco boasts a full-scale pirate ship, exotic cuisine, the renowned Desert Spa as well as numerous athletic and cultural activities.All 225 spacious, colorful and air-conditioned suites offer kitchens or kitchenettes and private balconies facing either the azure Sea of Cortez or our lush, exotic gardens.Our meticulous staff is committed to providing guests with "The three Rs": Relaxation, Recreation and Romance (yes, even for those with the kids in tow!). As our General Manager likes to say, "We offer experiences that make you forget the time and simultaneously remember every moment." For a lavish experience you are not soon to forget, we invite you to be our guest at Villa del Arco Beach Resort & Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., BookIt.com, Orbitz, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Villa del Arco Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Del Arco Hotel Cabo San Lucas
Hotel Del Arco
Del Arco Hotel
Villa Del Arco Cabo San Lucas
Villa Del Arco Beach Resort & Spa Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa del Arco Beach Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.