We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice hotel....but something has changed” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Villa del Arco Beach Resort & Spa

Save Saved
You added Villa del Arco Beach Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Villa del Arco Beach Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Km. 0.5 Camino Viejo a San Jose, Cabo San Lucas 23450, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 66 hotels in Cabo San Lucas
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Very nice hotel....but something has changed”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

Great stay. Lovely, clean hotel. Awesome spa massages, pedicures and manicures.

Close to everything, but there is more staff warmth and friendliness at the villa del palmar, their sister hotel. Arco Staff seemed to be under some type of pressure, which may contribute to staff coolness. The roped off Elite areas look silly. Overall a wonderful stay.

Breakfast buffet is good, but way overpriced. Usually love villa del palmar theme nights, but went to last Friday's which had foods from their various restaurants, and food was surprisingly disappointing. Not sure what the problem is. They seem to really be going toward all-inclusive which may mean more mass production food, thus lower quality food.

Anyway, I like VDP and arco, but want them to retain their friendliness and good food at reasonable prices.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,093 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    645
    284
    67
    50
    47
See reviews for
431
387
11
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (295)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Surprise, Arizona
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

We recently spent four nights at Villa del Arco after spending four nights in the quaint, quiet town of San Jose del Cabo. We weren't sure if we would prefer that location or the more lively Los Cabos. We absolutely loved both! Del Arco was a very good experience for us. We stayed in their smallest rooms, the studio but it was plenty large enough for the two of us. We had a fabulous Lands End view from our sixth floor balcony. The pool area is beautiful and clean but gets busy so snatch up your lounge chair by 10:00 am or selection will be slim.
The location is perfect, close enough to the downtown marina area but quiet too. The beach is gorgeous! We did attend a timeshare presentation to receive great deals on tours and it was not a negative experience others mention at all!
We treated ourselves to 80 minute couples massages and thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. The spa was pristine, top notch all the way.
We did the all inclusive and were not disappointed!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aliso Viejo
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

We just returned from a week vacation in Cabo, at Villa Del Arco. We travelled with another couple and stayed at a two bedroom time share rented from a friend. The resort and room well exceeded our expectations. The grounds and pool area were gorgeous. Beautiful stone work, clean pool area, breathtaking views of the Ocean. We were not expecting any hurricanes, but found out while there that hurricane Paul was passing by us. It only affected about a day and a half of our trip, and because we were all inclusive we were able to stay on the resort and hit the sports bar. The food was good, but it did get a little old eating on the resort after a few days. We also were able to eat at Villa Del Palmar. It was worth the money we paid for the all inclusive, because the prices were expensive and we ordered many cocktails by the pool. I highly recommend "Daniel" and "Jesus" as your waiter's they took care of us, and we took care of them. Their service exceeded any of the dining area's. The restaurant service was slow and we sometimes joked that they identified us because of the bracelet's we had to wear being all inclusive. We went in to town two or three times, and took a glass bottom boat ride over to Lover's beach and El Arco. It was worth the $12 each to see the scenary, however, you could not see any fish in the glass bottom boat. There was not much night life at this resort and we were a little disappointed being that we were with another couple and would have liked to stay out past 10PM. There were several families, and this could be family friendly provided parents avoid the noisy pool area. The beach was extremely clean and the water was nice and warm. Even after the hurricane, the beach was cleaned up and the water looked as good as when we arrived after about two days. You could not sit on the beach without being approached to buy from the local beach walkers/vendors. It became "No Gracias" before we even saw what they were selling. If we made another trip we would probably stick to all inclusive, but possibly only three days and the other days get food from Walmart / Costco or eat in town where it is more affordable. The reviews I read indicate to watch out for time share people. Other than in the airport and once at the hotel at check in we were not bothered by time share people. Book your transportation to your hotel ahead of time and after going through customs walk all the way out of the airport, do not stop for anyone and meet your car outside. We were stopped twice by people trying to trick us into transportation and attending timeshares. They even said they were from our hotel/transportation company. The hotel requires you to go to the concierge after check in, we did but knew in advance to proceed with a firm NO and we do not need a gold card. You can get a reasonable breakfast over at the coffee shop at Villa del Palmar, which you can get to by trolley. They also have a store where you can buy essentials, The parties at Palmar were a little on the weak side. I would not pay for this if you are not on all inclusive. The TV's in the rooms were older, no flat screen and did not work real well. But overall the room area and balconies were better than expected. We would definitely visit Cabo and Villa Del Arco again.

Room Tip: Would recommend not being on the first floor, rooms flooded a little during the hurricane and it was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington, United States
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

We are members at this resort group and so we enjoy coming to Cabo each year. This was our first stay at the Villa Del Arco and we were not disappointed. The rooms are spacious, and very clean. Our only complaint is ours was literally right next to the pool heater and it was loud 24/7.
Other then that the maids do an excellent job going above and beyond what there job is! The pools are clean and there is usually plenty of chairs available even in the afternoon. The staff are all very courteous. The food and drinks at the pool are pretty expensive compared to other places we have stayed. But the service is the best around! We go without our kids, but there are plenty of families there. Its quite a mix of age groups, and ethnicities at this resort. The breakfast buffet is good but expensive. If your gonna eat and drink at the resort get the all inclusive!!! If your gonna go into town or to costco to get supplies to eat then don't bother.

Room Tip: Always ask for a ocean view upgrade!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regina, Canada
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

We were visiting Cabo for a week of R&R when were caught in the remnants of hurricane paul.
Since outside activities were limited we decided to view some hotels on the Sea of Cortez side hoping it would be a little calmer. We were told about the Villa Del arco and decided to take a look and grab some breakfast.
The restaurant was packed with patrons as outside seating was cancelled due to the storm. While enjoying a very good breakfast we met Bill McCrea. He asked about our visit and what we thought of the hotel and we said we liked the location and views but were interested in a newer complex. He said if we had time he could show us something that was amazing. We really didn't want a time share presentation but Bill was a fellow Canuck and very personable so we went along.
The building he showed us was amazing in amenities as well as ocean/beach views. This was something we could enjoy not only for ourselves but our grandchildren as well. Did I mention the pirate ship by the pool! The tour was made enjoyable by Bill's hospitality and no pressure approach. The property sells itself with the gym and large onsite grocery store with pharmacy.
The property is a further to the marina than the property we were staying in but it is still walkable. Next trip to cabo will be at The Arco!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Discovery Bay, California, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

Just spent another week at the Villa Del Arco in Cabo San Lucas, Mexico. Even though Hurricane Paul arrived 3 days after we arrived, the staff and Chef's at the Del Arco made are stay so relaxing. As owners of a 2 bedroom time share with UVC, we have always loved Cabo. Being on the Main beach (La Playa Medano) gives you great flexabilty for activities with all of the water sports. You can take a water taxi into town or the local taxi service will take you to all of the sites, shops and restaurants. While at the Villa, we had the opportunity to meet with Derek Exner and he gave us our annual members update. From the additional personal suggestions of things to do in town or at the resort, while also updating us on all of the other Villa Group properties. So many to chose from and more being added in the years to come. Next trip will be to the Villa Group property in Loreto for 3 days to a week and then another week in Cabo at the Del Arco. Thanks Derek!!!
Thanks again to all of the wonderful staff around the pool, Reception, our Chefs and bartenders and all my friends and "friends to be" at the Desert Spa. Thank you to my personal trainer Robin Littlewood for my Yoga, Step and Wellness training.
If you need to rest and get well or just have fun in the sun and water..... DO IT HERE at Villa Del Arco, Cabo San Lucas Mexico

Room Tip: Building 2 looks stright out to the ocean and some of our friends prefer that building when they com...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richland, Washington
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

We had a beautiful room and a gorgious view of the bay. From the minute we were spoiled. How many times have you been to a condo and they decorated the bed with flower petals and made swans out of the towels? The minute we arrived the resort staff was treating us like honored guests. Maid was fabulous, conceirge was helpful with ideas of getting around Cabo. The only negitive was the bartenders at the pool were not very attentive. Sometimes they even ignored us. But all in all we had a very relaxing vacation at Villa Del Arco.

Room Tip: Higher floors have nice views and are very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Villa del Arco Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa del Arco Beach Resort & Spa

Address: Km. 0.5 Camino Viejo a San Jose, Cabo San Lucas 23450, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > Cabo San Lucas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#4 Family Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#6 Luxury Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#8 Romantic Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#12 Business Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa del Arco Beach Resort & Spa 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stunning seaside views, historic scenery and high-energy entertainment results in a carefree and unforgettable vacation in the heart of El Medano Beach at Cabo San Lucas's Villa del Arco Beach Resort & Spa.If you're looking for a high-end, family-friendly resort, you've found it. In addition to its lavish surroundings with the wondrous El Arco rock formation on the horizon, Villa del Arco boasts a full-scale pirate ship, exotic cuisine, the renowned Desert Spa as well as numerous athletic and cultural activities.All 225 spacious, colorful and air-conditioned suites offer kitchens or kitchenettes and private balconies facing either the azure Sea of Cortez or our lush, exotic gardens.Our meticulous staff is committed to providing guests with "The three Rs": Relaxation, Recreation and Romance (yes, even for those with the kids in tow!). As our General Manager likes to say, "We offer experiences that make you forget the time and simultaneously remember every moment." For a lavish experience you are not soon to forget, we invite you to be our guest at Villa del Arco Beach Resort & Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Tingo, HotelsClick, Amex, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Priceline, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Villa del Arco Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Del Arco Hotel Cabo San Lucas
Hotel Del Arco
Del Arco Hotel
Villa Del Arco Cabo San Lucas
Villa Del Arco Beach Resort & Spa Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa del Arco Beach Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.