We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Feels like old Mexico” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Marbella Suites en la Playa

Save Saved
You added Marbella Suites en la Playa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Marbella Suites en la Playa
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Transpeninsular Highway Km 17 | Colonia Cabo Real, Cabo San Lucas 23400, Mexico   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Holy weekend special!
Ranked #7 of 66 hotels in Cabo San Lucas
Sacramento, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Feels like old Mexico”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

This is an excellent hotel, especially for couples and those that don't want all the commercialism of downtown Cabo. The place is beautiful with a great beach. Just relax, kick bach and enjoy the great Baja weather.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

492 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    339
    116
    19
    9
    9
See reviews for
86
226
24
24
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (150)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

My wife and I just returned from a 6-night stay at Marbella. The facilities were beautiful, especially the colorful tiled staircase through the garden to the pool area. The staff at the restaurant were superb. One of the waiters, Santos was notable in his hospitality. Always friendly and attentive. He even helped me brush up on my Spanish. The beach was a 5-minute walk from our room. We even swam in the ocean. It was SO FUN! We also took the municipal bus into San Jose Del Cabo and walked around the town square. We would go back to Marbella in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medina, Ohio
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

I traveled Europe six months, lived in Mexico 3 years, and have been to most US states, as well as Thailand, Canada and the Caribbean. This is my favorite hotel anywhere. Here's why.
We were in early May...off season....not crowded. Perfect weather. Felt like family. Were able to use the massage table out by the ocean under the palapa to share relaxing moments. Greeted with a wonderful minty-lime drink on arrival. Rooms and space immaculate. Hammock in the crows nest to read in and enjoy the ocean views. Scrumptious meals. Loved the Ranch eggs, guacamole, tortilla soup....all terrific. Sparkling clean pool. Had frig and micro in room and dishes. On bus line. Could take the bus from the airport. (Ask where the airport staff catches the bus...get pesos first. ITs about $3.00 to the hotel from airport...but they will take US bills too.
It should be about $45 by cab...but I was told it would be $80. Don't pay that! You can take the bus to nearby Cabo and it stops at SAMS club. If you want Wal-Mart...that's it. You won't see the Walmart sign from the bus...the building is positioned to the side. (Word to the wise).
Get off at McDonalds when you get to town. Go through the Mall towards the Marina. Clean bathrooms in there, nice merchandise. Be sure to go to the Arts and Crafts market, but have
pesos..most don't accept credit cards. Eat at seafood place on Leona (?) street....has a big palapa roof and starts with an M. (Mocambo I think). Order shrimp ceviche tostados or anything else. Fabulous! Go to the Museum and the Church. Both lovely.
Staff at Marbella Suites are friendly, warm, genuine. None better. You'll feel safe,
nurtured and happy.

Room Tip: If you can handle the stairs, close to the beach is nice. If you can't, close to the lobby is b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Mateo, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

My wife and I were married at the Marbella Suites en la playa on April 13th, and it was the perfect location for our perfect day. All our family and friends kept coming up to us to rave about the hotel and their wonderful staff. Everyone knew the staff's first names by heart and kept saying how nice and accommodating they are. Our guests loved how the beach is not crowded with people trying to sell you something, and it felt like we had our own private beach. The staff went well out of their way to set up the wedding and make sure our guests had everything they wanted. The rooms are very clean and the authentic Mexican decour make it a special hotel. The hotel took care of our food for the wedding, and my friends are still raving about the restaurant weeks after the trip. My wife and I will definitely be staying here for many years to come!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

Just returned from a 5 night stay at Marbella. Very clean authentic hotel with a wonderful attentive staff. Housekeeping was great, Lupe the bartender makes a great margarita and the restaurant waiters were funny and thoughtful. We wanted breakfast one morning past the time they serve it and they happily accommodated us. The beach front location was Ideal. Hotel situated between Cabo San Lucas and San Jose del Cabo. Free internet as well as free calls to U.S. All in all, a great value. Met our needs in every way.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Menlo Park, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

We were part of a group staying here and I was surprised by how organized and on top of it the staff were. Excellent customer service, clean rooms and beachfront access made this an easy and effortless trip. As this was my first trip to Cabo, I appreciate the style and decor of the hotel (I loved the clam shell headboard) and the staff were friendly and helpful. The ice cold beer upon arrival was a nice touch! I would definitely stay here again and recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013 via mobile

Just got back from 4 days at the Marbella Suites. It is a lovely hotel with authentic Mexican architectural touches set on a beautiful stretch of beach. The service was top notch; everyone from the front desk to the wait staff at the restaurant was friendly, cheerful, and helpful. We had breakfast everyday on an outdoor patio overlooking the beach, and the food was delicious. The rooms are a little on the rustic side, but they are clean and comfortable. For the price, this place can't be beat!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Marbella Suites en la Playa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marbella Suites en la Playa

Also Known As:
Marbella Suites En La Playa Hotel
Marbella Suites En La Playa Hotel Cabo San Lucas
Marbella Hotel En La Playa
Marbella Hotel Cabo San Lucas
Marbella Suites En La Playa Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos
Address: Transpeninsular Highway Km 17 | Colonia Cabo Real, Cabo San Lucas 23400, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > Cabo San Lucas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#6 Family Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#7 Business Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#9 Romantic Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Marbella Suites en la Playa 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This quaint Beachfront hotel embodies an authentic Mexican experience, while remaining distinctly different. Its traditional Mexican architecture and spacious accommodations ensure relaxation and comfort for all of our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, Otel, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Venere so you can book your Marbella Suites en la Playa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marbella Suites en la Playa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.