We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Effortless, clean and amazing service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Marbella Suites en la Playa

Save Saved
You added Marbella Suites en la Playa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Marbella Suites en la Playa
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Transpeninsular Highway Km 17 | Colonia Cabo Real, Cabo San Lucas 23400, Mexico   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
25% off room rate
Ranked #10 of 66 Hotels in Cabo San Lucas
Menlo Park, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Effortless, clean and amazing service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

We were part of a group staying here and I was surprised by how organized and on top of it the staff were. Excellent customer service, clean rooms and beachfront access made this an easy and effortless trip. As this was my first trip to Cabo, I appreciate the style and decor of the hotel (I loved the clam shell headboard) and the staff were friendly and helpful. The ice cold beer upon arrival was a nice touch! I would definitely stay here again and recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

514 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    353
    120
    20
    12
    9
See reviews for
91
240
24
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (160)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013 via mobile

Just got back from 4 days at the Marbella Suites. It is a lovely hotel with authentic Mexican architectural touches set on a beautiful stretch of beach. The service was top notch; everyone from the front desk to the wait staff at the restaurant was friendly, cheerful, and helpful. We had breakfast everyday on an outdoor patio overlooking the beach, and the food was delicious. The rooms are a little on the rustic side, but they are clean and comfortable. For the price, this place can't be beat!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Menlo Park, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

We stayed as a group at this hotel last week and it was perfect for our needs. The rooms are clean and the beachfront location is awesome. We also had an awesome group volleyball game on their court. The staff are very friendly and make sure you have an afternoon margarita from Lupe. It is a great value all the way around.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

First and for most the Staff was beyond amazing. We were given our stay at the Hotel as a gift through Living Social. Not ever using a Living Social Escape deal before I was a little scared on what to expect. When we arrived we were greeted by name and a drink. Once taken to our room we were greeted by the restaurant staff with chips and dip. We were on our honeymoon/1st anniversary and it was nice to not hear a child's voice anywhere. We stayed for 5 days and 4 nights and it was very relaxing. If we need anything the bar staff and the hotel staff was right there to help and more than willing to go the extra mile to make our stay perfect. On the night of our anniversary they prepared an amazing dinner on the beach with a fire and is something I will never forget. The beach was beautiful and so was the view. We will be back and next time with our kids!

Room Tip: Ocean view - its breathtaking
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Menlo Park
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

We recently had a group 40th birthday celebration (three friends all turned 40 around the same time, so we joined forces!!) and used the Marbella Suites for our accommodations. They were awesome. Great communication, answered every email and phone call within hours. They were also extremely flexible and understanding- we had already arranged to have most of the festivities at a different location, and they were very willing to meet our needs without demanding that we use any more of their services than we needed! The rooms were clean and tidy, the hotel service staff was great, and the bartender was outstanding! Those margaritas were incredible!! Excellent breakfasts, and the prices are unbeatable. It's a little rustic, but for the old-school Baja charm, you get to pay the OLD-SCHOOL BAJA PRICES!!!! Yeah, that's why we came here in the first place, right?

For athletes: there is excellent trail running both along the beach and into the hills behind the hotel (WATCH OUT CROSSING THE HIGHWAY!!!). If you go west along the beach from the hotel, get off the sand and follow the ATV trails- much easier on the knees, and great views. It's like hill repeats. The hills trails all start on the paved road immediately across the street, past the Glass Factory. Just keep climbing and follow the ATV trails (arrows nailed to trees) down to the riverbed along the El Tule river. It puts you out just up the coast at El Tule beach. We found a 4 mile loop and a six mile loop. The open water ocean swims are also spectacular, with lots of fun reefs and sea mounts to look at, and big schools of cool fish (mackerel??).

All in all, WAY more bang for not much buck... this place is a great value.

Room Tip: The suites nearer the beach are just that... sweet!! The ones lower down are bit of hike at first, b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberta
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

I know my title is a little creative ... ok ... maybe a little over the top. But it's true! First off, I found an AMAZING rate on Expedia and booked a garden view suite for one night before we were able to book into our resort. We checked in to the hotel with the pleasant front-desk staff and then had our bags literally carried to our suite. When we walked in, it was a full suite - a living room, dining room, kitchenette, grand bathroom and beautiful bedroom. And the best part was that there was no TV and no radio. Loved it! I was surprised by all that was there as I was not expecting so much for the price! Our room was not actually a garden view, but that did not matter as the architecture was enough to take in. I will definitely post photos as soon as I can, but everything is beautiful ... from the concrete headboard, to the mexican tile countertops, to the beautiful passageways around the hotel. When we made our way towards the ocean, we could head up towards a rooftop patio, go straight to the restaurant, or go downstairs towards the pristine pool and, eventually, the ocean. What I remember most about this hotel was probably the majestic show put on by mother nature and the ocean - honestly better than you could ever get at the Bellagio. There was ample space to relax on a loungechair by the pool, or on the beach under an umbrella, or even on the hammock on the rooftop patio. We chose to enjoy the beach rather than the pool, but the pool would have been just as lovely. The resort was not busy when we stayed there, and the rest of the guests were honestly there for a quiet, relaxing time. There were (unfortunately) a group of young boys who obviously "got lost" and did not realize that they were not in the party town of Cabo San Lucas, but they were definitely out of place, and you could tell that the rest of the guests did not appreciate having them there. Hopefully they felt as out of place as they were. Oh - and to walk on the beach - you could walk forever without running into more than two other couples. It was really beautiful. The only reason I gave this place a 4/5 is that, while some of the locals considered it a 2 star hotel, the architecture and scenery outweighs all of that. But the dinner menu is extremely overpriced for the quality (I know the manager has addressed this in the past, but I would strongly suggest another review of the menu and the prices vs quality), while the breakfast menu was diverse with prices just a little higher than they should be, but much more reasonable than the dinner menu. There are aspects of the grounds that do require some TLC and more attention, and vary from everything from tiles missing in the pool floor to large cracks in the railings. But we had a great time and wished we would have stayed longer. If you are looking for a party, please keep heading towards Cabo San Lucas and don't stay here as you will find yourself out of place and the cause of frustration for others. But if you are looking for a quiet, serene get-a-way, this is your place.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

My friends and I spent 4 days at Marbella in April. We had a substantially discounted rate, so I'll say the hotel was good for that price. But I wouldn't pay full price (i.e., the prices on their website) for a stay here. The hotel is located between San Jose and Cabo San Lucas...removed from downtown Cabo San Lucas. The location is quiet and the beach is secluded...you cannot do any activities on the beach or swim there. This is great if you're looking for an escape/quiet hideout. But not so great if you want to be in teh midst of the action.

Also note that this is not a luxurious place...but it works. if you're looking for pampering, I wouldn't stay here because everything is pretty basic. I found the pool area and water pressure disappointing. I found basic amenities to be sub-par: e.g., we spent a lot of time one night trying to find ice..the hotel doesn't have an ice machine.

The thing that makes this place worthwhile, though, are the people that work there. They will go to great lengths to make sure you're comfortable. Unfortunately, they cannot change the dated look of the place.

We rented a car, which was a huge lifesaver. The rental was cheap ($150 for the entire time) and it meant we didn't have to wait for buses or take taxis, which are quite expensive. I was worried about driving in MX, but it's actually pretty easy to drive in Cabo/Los Cabos. There is one major road (Highway 1) that tuns the entire length from the airport in San Jose to downtown Cabo. So it's impossible to get lost (at least you won't be lost for long) and easy to find places if you have one of those simple maps from the airport or the hotel.

Room Tip: I found that the rooms with partial ocean views actually had better views than the ones with suppose...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Marbella Suites en la Playa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marbella Suites en la Playa

Address: Transpeninsular Highway Km 17 | Colonia Cabo Real, Cabo San Lucas 23400, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > Cabo San Lucas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#9 Romantic Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#10 Family Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#10 Business Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Marbella Suites en la Playa 3*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This quaint Beachfront hotel embodies an authentic Mexican experience, while remaining distinctly different. Its traditional Mexican architecture and spacious accommodations ensure relaxation and comfort for all of our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, Priceline, Travelocity, Otel, HotelsClick, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Marbella Suites en la Playa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marbella Suites En La Playa Hotel Cabo San Lucas
Marbella Hotel En La Playa
Marbella Hotel Cabo San Lucas
Marbella Suites En La Playa Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marbella Suites en la Playa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.