We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great place to unwind” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Marbella Suites en la Playa

Save Saved
You added Marbella Suites en la Playa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Marbella Suites en la Playa
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Transpeninsular Highway Km 17 | Colonia Cabo Real, Cabo San Lucas 23400, Mexico   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
25% off room rate
Ranked #9 of 66 hotels in Cabo San Lucas
Beachwood
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“A great place to unwind”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

Extremely friendly staff. Location about halfway between Cabo and San Jose. Reasonably priced. Small beach but more than enough. We enjoyed going for walks or jogs almost every day. Even whale watched from beach chairs and watched hopping mantas. To the right you go about two miles round trip and it's undeveloped and pretty. To the left there are a variety of condos and hotels, but still total beach access. Food and service at the hotel were good. Lots of steps to go up and down (so if you don't want the exercise skip it). Rooms with great views are limited, but the place is charming and with such easy access to the beach and lower level pool it really doesn't matter. Rooms have kitchens too, so we occasionally picked up food in town at WalMart (used the local buses, easy/cheap, no need to use taxi's which are expensive). The optional prepaid shuttle to/from airport is worth it. We liked to do the happy hour in the upstairs small bar.....every friendly and accommodating.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

510 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    350
    119
    20
    12
    9
See reviews for
88
239
24
24
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (158)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

Cozy boutique hotel, small, friendly, personable, excellent food, good prices, large portions.
Since the hotel is at the end of the beach all most it is very private and feels like you have the whole place to yourself. You can walk for hrs along the white beach, look at other hotels, private villas, see plenty variety of birds and whales!
Beautiful sunrises and sunsets......you feel like you are sitting at the edge of the world when you look out at the endless water......little piece of HEAVEN!!!

Great place to rest, and recharge......both towns 15mins away via car or local bus if you are itching for more action, stores, restaurants and local attractions. A lot of excursions pick up and drop off at the hotel which is very handy.

Would recommend and travel back to this lovely hotel. Clean rooms which are a good size and most have views, lots of lush plants while you walk threw the hotel to and from the beach or reception.

Room Tip: ask for beach front view
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

We stayed here a week in February 2013. Loved our meals at the terrace restaurant listening to the ocean waves and watching the jumping whales and manta rays. Gorgeous peaceful walks on the beach. We have been to Cabo many times, and this gorgeous beach is the nicest I have seen. Not a swimming beach, but few in Cabo are. Only place I get up at sunrise to walk the beach and see the sunrise. Very clean rooms. Pool music is perfect, not too loud, not too soft. The hotel offers private bonfires on the beach, really beautiful. I imagine it costs, but just ask. There are books to share, ping pong, pool, beach volleyball. I saw some people having a spa. There was also a wedding on the beach there. Room was quiet. Staff was friendly and helpful,but not intrusive.
All in all, we were very impressed with this hidden gem. I think independent travelers would love this experience.

Room Tip: There are many different rooms. We had a pet and were put in a lower level room, separated by a wro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

After our beloved and unique old Solmar on the Pacific ocean in Cabo San Lucas was destroyed to create "the Grand Solmar", making it more like the other built-for-timeshare sales and partying Americans, we sought a new sanctuary. Marbella Suites en la Playa looked like it might offer some of the calm quiet of Solmar. We stayed there for three nights, sharing a 2 bedroom unit with a friend. We all loved the place and will be back.
Marbella was built in descending levels from the highway level down the steep decline to the beach. It has many stairs but I spotted a number of ramps to facilitate transport of luggage and perhaps easier on those intimidated by the steps. If this is a concern, you may want to inquire... There is a little elevator that serves some levels. The charm of this place is that it is not updated with the stuff one leaves behind in the states...and the hustle and bustle of big resorts. We could read in quiet at the beach or in the "crows' nest " , walk the beach..etc and felt so relaxed and on vacation without encountering timesales people or peddlers of souvenirs etc.. We were usually one of at most three parties at meals on the open air balcony resturant with the nice view of the ocean..and the food was quite good as were the drinks. The beach level pool was similarly uncrowded...as was the perfect little beach. The staff was friendly and attentive and seemingly quite pleased to have us there. We took plenty of photos and spotted iguanas and seabirds and other creatures...every day. A bonus was that Mirabella is one of the closest accomodations to our favorite snorkel beach (5 minutes by car) enabling us to get there at the least crowded times...when the only earlier birds were the vultures perched on the palapas, unperturbed by our presence. The photos really say it all... If you love a nice quiet place, do not smoke or party or do not want to listen to a " boom box ", this is a place for you.There is a massage area under a palapa on the beach. You can have drinks by the pool or take them to your lounge on the beach. Its very casual here.

Room Tip: We reserved too late for an "ocean front view" this time but the rooms face little terrace...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, OR
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
72 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
124 helpful votes 124 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

I'll agree with everyone else on this thread: Marbella is quite a find along The Corridor of condos and mega-resorts stretching from Cabo San Lucas to San Jose del Cabo. This was my first visit since 1977 and the first ever for my partner. Needless to say, things are a little different!
We were tempted by the larger properties including the Westin and Sheraton Hacienda (since we are avid SPG fans), but the Tripadvisor reviews and Marbella's website persuaded us to try this option. Overall, we're very happy we did.
Our first impression of Marbella, however, was rather disappointing given the rather uninspiring frontage that the hotel presents and the somewhat bleak surroundings on either side. Everything changed once we registered and started down the "infamous" set of stairs.
Marbella is a series of narrow buildings on both sides of a series of steps that meander down to the restaurant, pool and beach. As previously commented, there are a lot of them! Our room was #63, just steps from the reception area and at the end of the first building. Our "patio" was in reality the end of the hallway, and we were afforded a panoramic "partial" view of the ocean. We had similar views from the "dining room" and bedroom. For us going up and down the stairs presented no difficulty and, in fact, we actually enjoyed the extra bit of exercise!
Because Marbella did not seem to be anywhere close to full occupancy, everything around the property was quiet and relaxed. I was always the only one swimming (laps) in the pool, and the beach never seemed to have more than a handful of people. I'm sure all of the mega-resorts were quite different!
We did not have or need a car but used the very inexpensive and efficient public buses for trips to Cabo or San Jose.
Marbella offers excellent value. We will definitely return!

ROOMS:
Spacious and reasonably well equipped. A/C units are present but were not needed during our visit. Not sure how effective these are in peak summer heat. Furnishings are adequate and could use some updating. Refrigerator, microwave, and coffee maker were all fine. Bed was OK. Lighting could be improved with more table lamps to facilitate reading at night. Otherwise, lighting consists of rather harsh ceiling mounted lamps. As others have commented, rooms lining the stairs are dark and lack any views. In these cases, better interior lighting would be even more critical.

ACTIVITES:
Wonderful moderately large free form pool. I'm a lap swimmer, so I take note of a pool's length, and the Marbella pool had to be at least 25 yards long in its greatest dimension. I couldn't tell if it was heated, but it was quite comfortable for active swimming.
A small gym is barely functional consisting of some weights and two treadmills, only one of which was working. The treadmill was hard to program, but once started it did the job. I thought about jogging/running along the road but eventually concluded that this was too dangerous given traffic speed and lack of an adequate shoulder.
The poolside bar also has table tennis and a billiards table (which was a fun distraction at times).

SERVICES:
Complimentary wi-fi, which for the most part worked well throughout the property. We had some trouble getting a consistent, adequate signal in our room, but it was consistently strong on our patio and other public areas including the beach.
Restaurant with very good food and competitive prices (no better or worse than many establishments in Cabo or San Jose).
Friendly service from all staff.

Marbella is apparently owned by a "fraternity" and was going to close the entire month of March with a "private party." We were told they were expecting upwards of 150 guests at any one time. No idea if these are college-aged folks or what, but we imagine the atmosphere of the property will substantially change during this time.
We're looking forward to a repeat visit during the quiet times!

Room Tip: # 63 is a great room if you don't mind the trek up and down stairs. The view of the ocean is ge...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keswick, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

This was our third week-long stay at Marbella Suites. That says it all. We love this place! Our corner suite is perfect. We have requested this room since our first stay. The restaurant is great, the menu is varied, the food is delicious, and the portions are huge. The beach is lovely. It is not unusual to find that you are the only people on the beach. What could be better than reading on the beach and watching the whales play in the Sea of Cortez? Best of all are the folks that work at Marbella. From the front desk, to the gardener, to the housekeeping staff, to the waiters, everyone is friendly, helpful, and a joy to see each day. We plan to make Marbella an annual trip.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa City, Iowa
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Marbella Suites. The staff were very friendly, the accommodations were clean and comfortable and the price is great. We wanted to play tennis; while this property doesn't have tennis courts, Lillian was great at giving us options and we had no trouble finding close places to play at a reasonable cost. The beach is lovely and we had great whale watching! Highly recommended.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Marbella Suites en la Playa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marbella Suites en la Playa

Address: Transpeninsular Highway Km 17 | Colonia Cabo Real, Cabo San Lucas 23400, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > Cabo San Lucas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#5 Spa Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#9 Romantic Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#11 Family Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Marbella Suites en la Playa 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This quaint Beachfront hotel embodies an authentic Mexican experience, while remaining distinctly different. Its traditional Mexican architecture and spacious accommodations ensure relaxation and comfort for all of our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Otel, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Marbella Suites en la Playa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marbella Suites En La Playa Hotel Cabo San Lucas
Marbella Hotel En La Playa
Marbella Hotel Cabo San Lucas
Marbella Suites En La Playa Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marbella Suites en la Playa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.