We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A perfect place to unwind.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Marbella Suites en la Playa

Enter dates for best prices

Best prices for your stay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Expedia.com Booking.com
and 8 more sites!
Marbella Suites en la Playa
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Transpeninsular Highway Km 17 | Colonia Cabo Real, Cabo San Lucas 23400, Mexico   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Holy weekend special!
Ranked #7 of 66 hotels in Cabo San Lucas
SF
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A perfect place to unwind.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

This is a beautiful spot between San Jose and San Lucas. We had never been to Los Cabos before, and we're lucky to have found Marbella Suites. The staff was super friendly and the room was quiet, and clean. I would return and choose this hotel over any other resort.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

492 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    339
    116
    19
    9
    9
See reviews for
86
226
24
24
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (150)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Idaho
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

We stayed from January 15-19th. The room was very clean and had a nice view of the ocean and the pool. We thoroughly enjoyed the experience. The food and service in the restaurant were excellent. I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

Believe the reviews! This place is a gem! Don't forget to ask for Edgar! He brings the most amazing food and "edgaritas"! He even cooked up our tuna we (ok HE) caught on a fishing excursion! What's not to love? Quiet, great food, affordable price, right on the most amazing beach! Great place to fall in love!

Room Tip: If you have trouble with stairs book close to the beach. If you need a little exercise, it doesn'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

This was my second trip to the Marbella Suites. Any five star review below will be accurate in describing the rooms, location, beach and staff. On the first trip we arrived in a group of 40 and this trip we had about 25, It is the perfect place for meet up with friends and family. We were three generations and everyone from the toddlers to the grandparents had a great time. We had a banquet table for 20 on the beach for dinner one evening. The staff went all out with luminaries lighting our way to the table, hanging lanterns and a fire on the beach. They could have gotten away with serving the kids ice cream in bowls but instead served them fancy decorated plates with mint garnish.
We saw whales everyday and lounged by the pool. There is a breakfast special every morning but don't overlook ordering the french toast. Highly recommend the steak sandwich and vegetarian enchiladas from the lunch menu. Pick up the Gringo News in the lobby and go to the BBQ across the street. It is held in some guys front yard. He smokes the chicken, ribs and pulled pork and offers freshly made pizza's
Be sure if you bring kids to stop at the Mega store and buy sand buckets, the kids will be entertained for hours playing in the giant "sand box". We also brought a couple of blow up pool toys.
Initially we rented a car and planned to explore but we couldn't tear ourselves away from the pool and the view other than a trip into Cabo for a water taxi ride and breakfast.If you go into Cabo have breakfast at Mama's.
The same rooms on Expedia are cheaper than on the hotel site. If you book thru the hotel you will also pay 14.5% tax and a $3 service fee per night.

Room Tip: As mentioned in a previous post the rooms in the 20's and 30's are the best locations. Ask t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Comox, Canada
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

Just got back from a wonderful trip to Cabo! We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Marbella Suites en la Playa the past week. We were looking for a small more traditional Mexican style hotel, (have done the mega resort all inclusive thing and once was enough) where we could take long walks on the beach, enjoy some great meals and relieve some stress in a quiet laid back atmosphere! The Marbella was perfect for this. The location couldn't be better, a sandy beach stretching for miles in one direction, a mix of sand and undulating rock formations in the other. We walked on the beach every morning and never got tired of the waves, birds (pelicans, sandpipers, seagulls and even saw some turkey vultures one day) and attempts to find patterns in the rock formations! Saw Humpback whales on several days. The staff were great, very helpful and always courteous. I would especially like to thank Lilian for all her assistance and suggestions. Enrique and Edgar provided professional and efficient service in the restaurant. The food was always top notch. Make sure to book dinner on the beach. We did this on our last day. The 'volcano fire' was a nice touch. Our rooms were always kept very clean. Speaking of cleanliness, the whole resort is spotless...no sign of any garbage. We had originally booked a garden view room. We thought it was a bit dark when we had a look at and we really wanted a view of the ocean. We managed to upgrade to a wonderful spacious room (separate bedroom) with an awesome ocean view! We took the bus into Cabo San Lucas and San Jose a few times (20 pesos) and had no trouble finding our way around after receiving helpful hints from reception staff. The only negative, and really it didn't bother us that much is all the stairs. This is not the hotel for disabled or people with limited mobility. I would like thank the managment and staff for our best holiday ever in Mexico and we will definitely be back again to stay at the Marbella!

Room Tip: Try to get an ocean view room...it is really worth the extra money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silverton, Oregon
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

Pros: Amazing location - watched whales jump while laying on the beach! Really nice staff. Great value for Tourist Corridor. Very clean and well kept. Beautiful views when you have them. Good quality TP (you might be using it a lot in Mexico). Dinner on the beach was delicious and very romantic. Spacious and attractive rooms. Pool clean, beach raked with sun umbrellas, beach bonfire every night.
Cons: "Garden view" room more like a dark, cold, cave (too cold and dark to hang out in) - never got direct sun, looked out on a tile stairwell, bedroom windows screwed shut, tried to open bathroom window to hear the ocean, but only heard sound of air conditioners of other units. Hot tubs barely lukewarm with jets on the floor of the tub (no jets for massaging back). Smaller facility so when a large noisy group is there they intrude on the entire place. Food very inconsistent: Ceasar Salad and Sea Bass for beach dinner was awesome. Ordered same items at separate times for lunch - much differently prepared (even the salad) and was actually pretty bad. Low flow showerhead. Didn't automatically get clean sheets everyday (hopped into a nicely made bed with yesterday's sand in it).
For this very expensive part of the world, Marbella Suites is a really great value with an amazing location and I would consider staying there again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver CO
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

The Marbella Suites en la Playa was absolutely amazing! From the time we walked into the lobby until we left it was wonderful. The food was outstanding! The service top notch! The beach was private and quiet! We found ourselves not wanting to adventure out. Thank you for the great hospitality!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Marbella Suites en la Playa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marbella Suites en la Playa

Also Known As:
Marbella Suites En La Playa Hotel
Marbella Suites En La Playa Hotel Cabo San Lucas
Marbella Hotel En La Playa
Marbella Hotel Cabo San Lucas
Marbella Suites En La Playa Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos
Address: Transpeninsular Highway Km 17 | Colonia Cabo Real, Cabo San Lucas 23400, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > Cabo San Lucas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#6 Family Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#9 Romantic Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Marbella Suites en la Playa 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This quaint Beachfront hotel embodies an authentic Mexican experience, while remaining distinctly different. Its traditional Mexican architecture and spacious accommodations ensure relaxation and comfort for all of our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, Otel, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Venere so you can book your Marbella Suites en la Playa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marbella Suites en la Playa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Marbella Suites en la Playa to your Saves list