We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cute hotel with authentic Mexican design” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Marbella Suites en la Playa

Save Saved
You added Marbella Suites en la Playa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Marbella Suites en la Playa
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Transpeninsular Highway Km 17 | Colonia Cabo Real, Cabo San Lucas 23400, Mexico   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
25% off room rate
Ranked #10 of 66 hotels in Cabo San Lucas
st. clements
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Cute hotel with authentic Mexican design”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

We stayed at the Marbella suites en la playa over Christmas and although it was our first trip ever to Los Cabos, we lucked out finding this gem. We rented a car from Dominic at the airport. One of his guys waited right by the car and greeted us, no hassles. Even at the drop off, one of his guys found us and took back the car, no problems, just wonderful! NO time share guys here!
On our way to the hotel we enjoyed the scenery and were pleasantly surprised how easy it is to get around. You don't have to go fast if you don't want to. This is a two lane highway and if someone speeds they can just pass you. Since the hotel is on the other side of the road and you cannot just turn left, we had to keep going until we found a turn-around (Chileno beach area at least I think it was this one) which was no problem to find. Chileno beach turned out to be our favorite beach, esp. if you walk a bit further south where you can find a few less busy beaches/bays for swimming and fabulous snorkeling.
Once at our hotel we were greeted by the friendly front desk man, sorry don't remember his name. Checking in was fast, no line-ups. They brought our stuff to our one bedroom suite (#52) and we made ourselves at home. It had a kitchenette which can be misleading to some folks as it only has a microwave and coffee maker with a fridge but no stove top. We may bring a small cooking element/stove with us next time to fry up some eggs or fish.
The suite was nice and very clean, no bugs unless you keep the unscreened windows open with the lights on. It has a safe which has a code to open and close. We did have to call the front desk to send someone to show us how the safe is operated and also to bring a hair dryer as they forgot to put one in the room. Whithin minutes we had both taken care of.
The beach is only a few steps down past the restaurant and pool. There are two hot tubs who are pretty hot. The pool isn't heated so it's nice to have dip in the pool in between hot tub sessions.
We did eat at the restaurant a few times and the food was really good. Being on a budget we bought some wine and beer and used plastic cups or travel mugs to put our drinks in and take with us anywhere on the property.
The staff works so hard to keep the place clean and neat it was great to see. Needless to say we left a nice tip for the maids every day and also other things like clothing, cosmetics and such which they may like.
There is an elevator for anyone who cannot do stairs.
Movies where on most nights on a screen above the swimming pool. We were mosly alone watching movies in a lounge chair with our drinks in hand.
They also made a fire on the beach every night. If you plan to have dinner by the beach, you can sit by the fire after, which is really nice.
If you sit anywhere near the pool or beach, the staff will come and ask if you need anything and you can order food or drinks if you like.
We are going back to Marbella next winter. I like that this place is less busy and quiet. Our room was the basic garden view room but from our bedroom we could the see the beach and the water, it was awesome!

Room Tip: If you want to be close to the beach choose a room with a lower room number. Room 14 had a full sea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

508 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    349
    120
    19
    11
    9
See reviews for
88
236
24
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (156)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013 via mobile

Great resort. Staff was friendly and accommodating. Food was excellent. The best guacamole on the planet. The location and beach was superb. It was not crowded like the other nearby resorts. All in all a great vacation getaway.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Clarita, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

The welcome drink, the comfortable room, the incredibly delicious food and the amazing staff, especially Lilian who helped arrange and book our activities in the area. All of it exceeded our expectations!

Room Tip: 5 adults stayed in the two bedroom suite and it was perfect with a large balcony and ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coeur d'Alene, Idaho
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

Just got back from a 7 day vacation. We had stayed at the Royal Solaris 2 years ago-but I wanted to be closer to town this trip. 1st of all-the staff was Awesome!! They catered to us the whole time. Con-the stairs (a lot of them), not a lot of activites, rooms could be updated (shower curtain about to fall off), pool too cold to get into, hot tubs scalding hot, and when laying on beach in chairs to relax, was eaten alive by some bugs. Spent almost everyday in town-so was great to get on bus easily both ways. If you want a very relaxed stay just staring at the ocean being waited on-this is perfect.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 13-pretty good view, but since the restaurant was right there they start playing m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

We were in desperate need of a break from our hectic lives in Los Angeles and were worried that Cabo might be too touristy, but we took the risk anyway. We were so pleasantly surprised by Marbella's secluded ambiance. They truly cater to their guests, from the prearranged shuttle service to and from the airport to the pristinely clean suites. There are no TVs or radios in the suite which forces you to truly unwind. The terrace restaurant features delicious food and breathtaking views. The waiters are friendly and humorous and grant any special requests you may have. Early birds can enjoy seeing whales and dolphins swimming in the distance as you walk the span of the beach, which is pretty much all to yourself. I highly recommend a massage and dinner on the beach, as well as tequila and margarita tastings. There is a bus stop in front of the hotel that takes you into downtown; it's a quick 15min trip. We can't wait to return to Marbella!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clifton, New Jersey
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

We used a living social deal for this resort. It was a nice 5 days. We got there around 5:30pm since the flight was late getting into Cabo. The checking in was very smooth and the rooms were nice. But be prepare for a work out depending on where your room is located. Holy steps, there were 97 elevated steps between our room and the lobby. The beach was very quiet and the weather was lovely. My boyfriend and I had a romantic dinner on the beach. It was beautiful. The restaurant had great food at a reasonable price. The views from pretty much anywhere in the property were amazing. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Really enjoyed Oswaldo and Sandra at the lounge. The drinks were also good, we spent alot of time at the bar. They had nice flat screen tvs and the football package. If you are a football fan, you wont miss your games here. The place was at a nice location, not too far from the airport or San Lucas if you want to venture out to town. The bus took about 15mins into town and it was about $2. The rooms are peaceful. there are no tvs in the rooms, the alarm clock only plays one station and reception is very weak if any.
Checking out took a little longer than I would have liked. There were items charged to my room that we did not make. It took a little while, but they did take them off.
Over all it was a fun trip!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012 via mobile

The restaurant had delicious food and was priced very well. The staff was extremely nice and helpful. The beach was secluded and romantic perfect for a couple trying to relax. Loved this place and I will definitely be coming back!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Marbella Suites en la Playa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marbella Suites en la Playa

Address: Transpeninsular Highway Km 17 | Colonia Cabo Real, Cabo San Lucas 23400, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > Cabo San Lucas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#9 Romantic Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#10 Business Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#11 Family Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Marbella Suites en la Playa 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This quaint Beachfront hotel embodies an authentic Mexican experience, while remaining distinctly different. Its traditional Mexican architecture and spacious accommodations ensure relaxation and comfort for all of our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Otel, HotelsClick, Priceline, Orbitz, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Marbella Suites en la Playa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marbella Suites En La Playa Hotel Cabo San Lucas
Marbella Hotel En La Playa
Marbella Hotel Cabo San Lucas
Marbella Suites En La Playa Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marbella Suites en la Playa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.