We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our own private paradise!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Marbella Suites en la Playa

Save Saved
You added Marbella Suites en la Playa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Marbella Suites en la Playa
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Transpeninsular Highway Km 17 | Colonia Cabo Real, Cabo San Lucas 23400, Mexico   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Holy weekend special!
Ranked #7 of 66 hotels in Cabo San Lucas
Los Angeles, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Our own private paradise!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

We were in desperate need of a break from our hectic lives in Los Angeles and were worried that Cabo might be too touristy, but we took the risk anyway. We were so pleasantly surprised by Marbella's secluded ambiance. They truly cater to their guests, from the prearranged shuttle service to and from the airport to the pristinely clean suites. There are no TVs or radios in the suite which forces you to truly unwind. The terrace restaurant features delicious food and breathtaking views. The waiters are friendly and humorous and grant any special requests you may have. Early birds can enjoy seeing whales and dolphins swimming in the distance as you walk the span of the beach, which is pretty much all to yourself. I highly recommend a massage and dinner on the beach, as well as tequila and margarita tastings. There is a bus stop in front of the hotel that takes you into downtown; it's a quick 15min trip. We can't wait to return to Marbella!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

492 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    339
    116
    19
    9
    9
See reviews for
86
226
24
24
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (150)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Clifton, New Jersey
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

We used a living social deal for this resort. It was a nice 5 days. We got there around 5:30pm since the flight was late getting into Cabo. The checking in was very smooth and the rooms were nice. But be prepare for a work out depending on where your room is located. Holy steps, there were 97 elevated steps between our room and the lobby. The beach was very quiet and the weather was lovely. My boyfriend and I had a romantic dinner on the beach. It was beautiful. The restaurant had great food at a reasonable price. The views from pretty much anywhere in the property were amazing. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Really enjoyed Oswaldo and Sandra at the lounge. The drinks were also good, we spent alot of time at the bar. They had nice flat screen tvs and the football package. If you are a football fan, you wont miss your games here. The place was at a nice location, not too far from the airport or San Lucas if you want to venture out to town. The bus took about 15mins into town and it was about $2. The rooms are peaceful. there are no tvs in the rooms, the alarm clock only plays one station and reception is very weak if any.
Checking out took a little longer than I would have liked. There were items charged to my room that we did not make. It took a little while, but they did take them off.
Over all it was a fun trip!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012 via mobile

The restaurant had delicious food and was priced very well. The staff was extremely nice and helpful. The beach was secluded and romantic perfect for a couple trying to relax. Loved this place and I will definitely be coming back!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Paso, Texas
Top Contributor
215 reviews 215 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

Los Cabos is jammed with hotels - almost literally shoulder-to-shoulder. The Marbella Suites offers a peaceful spot some 17.5 kilometers from San Lucas (about 11 miles) with its own beach access. There's a restaurant on-site, and so you won't have to leave the premises unless you want to go into town for a change of scene or to take a whale-watching trip, or the like. The price is quite reasonable for this resort area - many hotels along the "Corridor" charge vastly more. We enjoyed our meals here and had no need to go elsewhere.

Our room had a small kitchen area with microwave and mini-fridge, although I can't imagine choosing to cook and eat inside unless it were raining. I made a cup of tea, nothing else. There is a small sitting area. The bed and bathroom elevated above these, but there is no actual separation other than the two steps. This requires some care to remember where you are if you awaken at night! The light outside was quite bright however, and there are no light-blocking curtains, so you may find that you want a sleep mask. Reading light, on the other hand, was not very good, and you might also want a small reading light if you plan to bring a book or two.

Anyone with mobility issues would not do well here, as the drop in terrain from roadside to seashore is several hundred feet and the hotel is built in tiers along this slope. An elevator takes you down one flight and there is a ramp for a short way, but after that you'd have to be able to walk to get to the restaurant or on to the beach. This does mean that each group of rooms (or true suites, some have more than one room) is somewhat separate.

Given the warmth of the climate at this end of Baja Sur, it should not have been a surprise to us to find mosquitoes in the room, but we had not thought of that when we opened the screen-less windows so we could hear the surf. A small spray can of mosquito repellent would be a good idea!

Staff, both reception and restaurant, were indeed very friendly as many writers have commented. We did not use the spa services, but noticed several pedicures being done beachside, quite a nice way to do it! There is an exercise room, which I used twice - the treadmills were hard to program and there is no TV or other source of entertainment, just watching yourself in the floorlength mirror run on the machine! You will get a substantial amount of exercise just going up and down the multiple flights of steps every day, or walking/jogging along the beach (not swimming, this is not a safe swimming area).

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

This was a perfect place to relax and enjoy the sunshine. We had the beach practically to ourselves and it's one of the few in the area that is safe for swimming. The rooms are very large and had everything we needed for the entire week. We had a nice pillow-top mattress and slept well every night. We enjoyed being outside of town and took full-advantage of the easy public transportation and even carted our groceries back on the bus. The staff were very friendly and extremely helpful with setting up reservations, giving us directions and everything else we needed. We would definitely come back for another couples trip and even a family trip. It was great to be able to use the phone-room to make truly free calls to the U.S. This place is a gem. And to comment on other reviews I had read before I stayed here, yes the building is older but it is very clean and I personally prefer the tile and adobe architecture to the newer, sterile mega-resorts we toured. Gracias Lilian!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SFbayarea
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

I very rarely give a excelent rating to any hotel but this property fits. Every staff member was very pleasant and helpful to any need we had. The restaurant staff made dinner as we wished off menu. The front desk staff arranged things we wanted to do in a very efficient manner. The rooms were made up every day to spotless. The beach was beautiful and quiet. This property has comfort built into there business plan. We had cars so the location was perfect for us midway between towns.

Room Tip: Always special to have a ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

This was one of the most enjoyable vacations I've ever been on. The rooms are homey, spacious, and clean. Every single person on staff was friendly, welcoming, and very informative. I came on a getaway with my mom, but I can easily see how this place would be great for everything from a family trip, to a romantic vacation, to a wild weekend with friends. It's the perfect distance between San Jose del Cabo (more low key) and Cabo San Lucas (party town) yet it still has quiet, relaxing beaches. You absolutely HAVE to try their restaurant. It's exceptionally affordable considering how well-prepared it is. And if you can, I HIGHLY recommend getting one of the massages. The deep tissue massage and pedicure were among the best I've ever had. I can't wait to go back!

Room Tip: We got a garden view room but were still able to have an ocean view from the bedroom. The fact that...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Marbella Suites en la Playa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marbella Suites en la Playa

Also Known As:
Marbella Suites En La Playa Hotel
Marbella Suites En La Playa Hotel Cabo San Lucas
Marbella Hotel En La Playa
Marbella Hotel Cabo San Lucas
Marbella Suites En La Playa Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos
Address: Transpeninsular Highway Km 17 | Colonia Cabo Real, Cabo San Lucas 23400, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > Cabo San Lucas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#6 Family Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#9 Romantic Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Marbella Suites en la Playa 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This quaint Beachfront hotel embodies an authentic Mexican experience, while remaining distinctly different. Its traditional Mexican architecture and spacious accommodations ensure relaxation and comfort for all of our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, Otel, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Venere so you can book your Marbella Suites en la Playa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marbella Suites en la Playa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.