We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great weekend getaway” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Marbella Suites en la Playa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Marbella Suites en la Playa to your Saves list
Marbella Suites en la Playa
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Transpeninsular Highway Km 17 | Colonia Cabo Real, Cabo San Lucas 23400, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 67 Hotels in Cabo San Lucas
Fort Collins, Colorado, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great weekend getaway”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

Nice quiet hotel, a little out of town but really beautiful and private. Really nice to be close to Cabo and the amenities, but really private/ serene and lovely area.
Lovely beach dinner- good food, reasonable prices, wait staff (Enrique is the best) and front desk help.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

520 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    357
    121
    20
    12
    10
See reviews for
91
242
24
24
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (162)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

We arrived on Dec 2 and it seemed to be a very quiet time, which we were looking for. It almost felt like having the hotel to ourselves. The staff are wonderful and very accomodating to any request. We enjoyed the food at the restaurant, and the service was second to none. The beach was lovely as there were no vendors hassling you to buy anything, and you can walk for miles. A nightly soak on the hot tub before bed was the perfect way to relax before sleeping.
The hotel is close enough to Cabo to zip to town without the need for a rental car as the bus stops directly across the street for about $2. There is a Costco on the way into town, which was great to buy snacks and beer for the fridge in the room. If you do rent a car, head up to Todos Santos. We had a drink at the Hotel California, tacos at Bob Marlin and then released baby turtles on the beach. Couldn't have asked for a more perfect day. Highly recommend Marbella and we're trying to organize a group of friends to come back next year!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

The hotel is nestled above a gorgeous private beach with breathtaking views, giving you that exclusivity feeling without the celebrity price. Rooms are very clean and well kept. The staff at the Marbella is top notch. They go out for their way to ensure that you have a wonderful experience. I will definitely return to Cabo and the Marbella!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

Lilian,Ruben and the whole staff were professional and pleasant. I asked to upgrade my room and they went out of their way to make it happen. We will be back! Beautiful secluded beach and the restaurant will set up tables on the beach for dinner.

Room Tip: We Stayed in lucky room 13. Might be the best room in the hotel. All of the rooms are very nice thou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

This has been my 3rd year going to the Marbella, Just like every other year, we had an incredible experience. I want to thank all the staff at the Marbella for making our trip a great one! From Lilian at the front desk to Edgar and Pedro at the restaurant, they have become a part of my family! Hotel is beautiful, food was fantastic. A real great place to enjoy the beauty of Cabo. For all the people that want to watch monday night football while being in such a wonderful place, you don't deserve the Marbella! Stay in the USA1

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

Based on the positive feedback from trip advisor, my girlfriend and I chose to stay here for a mini-vacation after Thanksgiving.

Overall, the rooms were very clean, check-in was easy, and the beach location was fantastic. Located at the far end of the touristy hotels, the beach has a very 'private feel.'

Another thing worth mentioning was the restaurant menu. Some items were so-so, however it was my understanding they were in a transition to a different menu, so perhaps this was just growing pains. Despite this, the shrimp omelette with poblano cream sauce was one of the best omelettes I've ever had.

If you want to go into town, the public bus stop is directly across the street and will drop you off in the city center (about 15 minutes).

The staff was again very friendly and made sure that we had a great time. Overall, I'd highly recommend the hotel over spending lots of money on other places with worse service.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

Very nice hotel on the beach. The beach is just incredible, white sand, huge waves, you can walk for miles or just relax.

Great Swimming Pool! Beach-Volley Ball Field!! (we played all the time but don't expect anybody else playing, hotel was pretty empty).

Our room was huge with a half-equipped kitchen (fridge, micro-wave, sink, coffee-maker), so we could have breakfast on our terrace overlooking the ocean. Clean, comfortable.
However, you need to pay 26 pesos for the coffee they leave for the coffee maker...

You need a rental car - we had one, which was great, so we discovered different villages around.

The hotel has a restaurant and bar - a little expensive though -Suggestion: introduce a happy-hour for guests or lower your prices - we only ate in the restaurant once as everything else around is less expensive - good food and very tasty margaritas though.
Also the massage/spa service that they offer is a little expensive ($85). The massage that you can get on the beach close to the Hilton Hotel is $40 and wonderful!!!!

Ask for a room closer to the beach - we could hear the highway as our room was a little higher up.

Friendly staff in general!

Loved our stay there - so much to see there, Cabo San Lucas, San Jose Del Cabo (go to the Thursday Night Art Event), Todos Santos (we released baby-turtles on the beach), Cabo Pulmo (Snorkling)!

Room Tip: Ask for a room closer to the beach - the highway is close, so may be noisy at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Marbella Suites en la Playa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marbella Suites en la Playa

Address: Transpeninsular Highway Km 17 | Colonia Cabo Real, Cabo San Lucas 23400, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > Cabo San Lucas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#9 Family Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#9 Business Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#11 Romantic Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Marbella Suites en la Playa 3*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This quaint Beachfront hotel embodies an authentic Mexican experience, while remaining distinctly different. Its traditional Mexican architecture and spacious accommodations ensure relaxation and comfort for all of our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Marbella Suites en la Playa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marbella Suites En La Playa Hotel Cabo San Lucas
Marbella Hotel En La Playa
Marbella Hotel Cabo San Lucas
Marbella Suites En La Playa Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marbella Suites en la Playa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.