We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place to stay, especially if you're on a budget” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Quinta Del Sol

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Quinta Del Sol to your Saves list
Hotel Quinta Del Sol
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Boulevard Lazaro Cardenas S/N | Bordo. Col. Arenal, Cabo San Lucas 23450, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #34 of 68 Hotels in Cabo San Lucas
Central Point, Oregon
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Nice place to stay, especially if you're on a budget”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

We stayed here eight days. The staff is very accommodating and eager to please. Our package included a wonderful buffet breakfast each day ... fresh squeezed orange juice, GREAT coffee, waffles, French toast, pancakes, scrambled eggs, frijoles, and all the makings for fajitas from 7:00 AM to 10:00 every day. Their lunch and evening offerings are so-so. Our room had a small fridge, a double stove-top, a microwave and coffee maker but very few utensils, dishes, pots or pans. Downtown is about a half mile one way and Wal Mart is about the same in the opposite direction. Local buses pass by frequently and cost about $1.50 to go anywhere in town. Medono beach is a 1/4 mile walk ... just beautiful. I HIGHLY recommend Hotel Quinta Del Sol !!

Room Tip: We were on ground level and tile floors above transfer the sound of footsteps very well. Our upstai...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Juan Carlos M, General Manager at Hotel Quinta Del Sol, responded to this review, March 21, 2014
Dear Dave:

Thank you very much for your kind review. All our staff is happy to know that all their efforts are reflected in your comments. And of course, we all will be happy to see you again in this place.

Best regards.
The Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

195 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    82
    65
    33
    5
    10
See reviews for
44
61
20
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, AZ
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2013

Likes:
Bed was comfortable
Shower was very large and water pressure was fantastic
Free full breakfast was very good
Full kitchen in room including coffee maker and coffee, mini fridge, sink
Location was walkable to just about everything
Adequate A/C and fan was just loud enough to drown out noise
Friendly staff
Daily maid service did a good job

Dislikes:
Only option is 2 double beds
Very noisy. There is a granite/stone business right next door, so if you stay during the weekdays you will likely be awakened by loud trucks. On the other side, there are some run-down high rise condos with lots of barking dogs.
Tried to use the hot tub at 10PM - they shut it down pretty early.
Hotels.com was advertising this as INCLUSIVE, but it is not. Only the breakfast. Not sure if there are other options to upgrade, but we didn't ask.

Now when I say that everything is pretty much walkable, I mean for someone reasonably fit who doesn't mind a bit of a walk. About 20 minutes to the beach, 20-25 to the marina where all the shops are.

We got gutsy and took a city bus from the airport. This isn't really advertised anywhere, and the car service guys outside the airport will not tell you about it. The bus stop is located off of Terminal 1, by the Avis car rental. Nothing is posted about how much the bus is, but my boyfriend and I gave him 50 pesos for both of us and he took it. It was quite a bus trip into Cabo - about 90 minutes with lots of stops and not much pretty to look at. The way back was better, it was a Wednesday and not many people on board so a little less time. We decided instead of paying $40-$300 for taxi/car services we would save for beer money. So, we didn't mind a little inconvenience and culture.

Cabo overall was great, but the vendors on the Medano beach were absolutely relentless. You could not get a moment's peace. If I had to do it over again, I would go to a more private beach.

Room Tip: Be sure you get a room away from the street noise, and away from the granite/stone business next doo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Juan Carlos M, General Manager at Hotel Quinta Del Sol, responded to this review, January 4, 2014
Dear AZ89:

Thank you very much for the nice comments, I will share it with my staff. They work hard to make of this a good place for our guests, and they are happy to know that their job is appreciated.

Best regards.
The Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

We were able to book this little hotel walkable to Medano Beach at the last minute. It has huge updated quiet clean rooms and very friendly staff. I really liked that there was a restaurant on site so I could get a late night snack and breakfast in them. Our room came with free continental breakfast, but sometimes I upgraded to the full breakfast buffet which was excellent for I think $4 more. Special thanks to Ranulfo who was a very friendly server who went out of his way to give us our favorite table and lots of hot coffee with a big smile. There is security on site which are very diligent and makes one feel very safe.

Room Tip: If you don't want to spend hundreds of dollars on a hotel room this is the place for you--it is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Juan Carlos M, General Manager at Hotel Quinta Del Sol, responded to this review, December 21, 2013
Dear Kay:

I'm glad to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. Your review is an exact reflect of what we want to offer to our guests, I'm happy to see that we made it happen at your stay. We want to see you again here in cabo to make you feel at home.

Best regards.
The Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

i went for my annual birthday trip. the hotel is on the main street in and out of cabo so it's easy to find. the staff was friendly and welcoming, especially the restaurant staff. i just wanted to relax so i didn't do much exploring outside the hotel. the pool is large and clean. they were doing some renovations so there was some noise. the room was large and clean. i had the inclusive package so you can order anything off the menu a la carte. when i went it wash't very bust; most days i had the pool to myself. the bartender makes a mean drink.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Juan Carlos M, General Manager at Hotel Quinta Del Sol, responded to this review, December 21, 2013
Dear Wendy:

Thak you very much for your nice review, and congratulations for your birhtday. We appreciate the privilege of been chosen for such an important event. I'm glad to tell you that all the renovation works are concluded, we have no more noise.

Best regards.
The Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guadalajara, Mexico
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

We went in a family vacation to Los Cabos and stayed in this hotel because it had been recommended by friends. We got there and found out that the reservation had been made incorrectly and they gave us twin queen-size beds instead of a single king-size bed on the rooms. A minor mistake, which we overlooked. The beds are comfy, but if you don't like a soft mattress, then ask for something different. The rooms are really clean, the all have a kitchenette, and tub. The TV is an old CRT but has a decent number of channels. The pool and gym are small but do the job. We had an issue with one of the access cards they gave us for the rooms, but the facilities manager fixed the issue within minutes. A very affordable, clean and comfortable place to stay. I would recommend it to someone who will be out enjoying Cabo all day and just wants a good place to sleep and rest.

Room Tip: Ask for the rooms in the back, furthest away from the street. The will be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Juan Carlos M, General Manager at Hotel Quinta Del Sol, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Dear Ugo C:

It's always a pleasure when I read that one of our guests have a good story to tell about us. Your comments are the best recommendation for those who are looking for a nice and clean place to stay in cabo. I hope to see you soon again in this place.

Best regards.
The Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mayfield, Kentucky, United States
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

My husband and I stayed 7 nights here. We are from the states so I will describe the hotel as an Extended Stay Hotel, no frills but clean. Upon arrival we were greeted by the hotel concierge whom was pleasant but get ready because they will be in your business about every detail of your stay and they are VERY assertive. It's an never ending annoyance. We were given a room that had a clogged toilet and finally after the maintenance employee tried to unclog after 10 minutes I requested another room. We were moved to the second floor next to the granite yard. You will hear the saws and hammers all day and through the night depending on their workload. The pool is very small but seemed to be clean and the hot tub was drained and refilled daily. Depending on the guests this will be a crowded noisy place or quiet. We had the pool to ourselves one afternoon. The beach is a distance away and not easy to access as you must walk through a dirt road and sand but it's public access from multiple locations. This is a modest hotel in the center of town walking, as we opted, or bus/cab will be necessary to go anywhere. The marina is a 5 minute walk and we walked to Walmart as well, about a 10 minute walk. The refrigerator did not cool well, the tub was slow to drain, you'll be standing in a pool of water with each use. The walls are paper thin so be prepared to hear your neighbors conservations and TV; we did. The beds are comfortable and sheets are changed daily. Washer and dryer are nice but have pesos for tokens as I was told that my passport would be necessary to exchange $4 for the token to use, I declined the request. You are allowed to use the pool and beach at Solmar but it will require asking the office to call over and give you a card for this access. This is where the concierge will ruin your stay. We drew straws to see who had to go and get our pass as it was the most annoying part of our trip. You will be asked to visit their new resort and "there's nothing to purchase" however it will be a 90 minute tour and they will arrange a cab and even throw in a buffet breakfast! What a deal right??? NO absolutely nothing is free in Cabo without a timeshare presentation so decide ahead if you are willing to give up half a day of your vacation to play the game, if you are then get ready you can rack up on free excursions, sunset cruises and if you're really lucky free decorative tequila bottles as some friends we met did. It just isn't our thing to do on vacation and I really didn't appreciate the "log book" that is kept by the concierge that tells them what has been offered and what your decision is. This was the worst part of our stay and is the sole reason why we will not stay here again. We will book at a resort next time as the amenities within make up for the extra expense. If you're looking for a "hotel" this is the one, just be aware of the timeshare pressure and sales. They will chase you down the street if you allow it and good luck saying No, it takes about 10 NOs before they will walk away. It's ridiculous and annoying and it's a deal breaker for us staying here again. Internet is nice and free but a phone call will cost. A can of diet coke was $3.00 from the restaurant. We did not eat here other than 1 continental breakfast, which was not as expected. It's Cabo so be prepared to drop some dinero to eat and play! Buenas Dias and safe travels!!

Room Tip: Request a room on the left corridor as far from the pool as possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Juan Carlos M, General Manager at Hotel Quinta Del Sol, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Dear Robsdiva:

I appreciate the comments you shared about our property, and I apologize for the inconveniences you found during your stay. As you well said, we are a low-cost hotel, however, our goal is to give you the best service and experience possible and the convenience of a well located place.

We already took corrective measures in order to fix the situations you reported, in order to give a better service to you and our loyal guests.

Best regards.
The Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Carolina
Top Contributor
278 reviews 278 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 88 cities Reviews in 88 cities
147 helpful votes 147 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013 via mobile

We were booked though orbitz for two nights for October 4 and 5 2013.
Our flight on 4th from Atlanta was missed as I had tripped and hurt my leg and left hand. Delta changed our tickets but they only had flight available next day so we missed one day in Cabo. I called orbitz and they called the hotel and said that they have approved the refund for one night as we could not stay for two nights as we had missed our flight.
The next day I called orbitz to confirm this and they said they have confirmed everything but I need to go to reservation in cabo next day and get the refund.
When I went to the front desk they said the reservation is closed right now and we will send them a email and they will email me with refund details.
I did not hear from them there or even after coming back I did not hear from them. I have written email to them but they have not replied yet. I think if a hotel can not honor your accident or sickness and could not give your money back for the night not stayed I will never go there again or recommend any one to stay there. Same thing goes for orbitz . They should have helped me being my booking agent.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Juan Carlos M, General Manager at Hotel Quinta Del Sol, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Dear Gotofly2:

I'm really sorry to know about the accident you had just the day you were supposed to arrive. Unfortunately the policies of the online travel agencies are out of our hands, and in this case the policy about cancellations is clearly explained in their website. Unfortunately we can't refund something that won't be supported for the online travel agency.
What is directly in our hands is the quality of the service we give once you are installed, the quality of our facilities, the location and all those aspects that make us have good comments in this website. I understand that the bad experience you had about the cancelation issue made you give us a low rating in all the other aspects, I'm sorry about that.

Best regards.
The Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Quinta Del Sol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Quinta Del Sol

Address: Boulevard Lazaro Cardenas S/N | Bordo. Col. Arenal, Cabo San Lucas 23450, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > Cabo San Lucas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#25 Family Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Quinta Del Sol 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Guests at this cozy 72-suite property now enjoy a beautiful new lobby, remodeled event space, a new Jacuzzi area and an on-site restaurant, Las Quintas.Located less than a mile from the Sea of Cortes and close to the many attractions of Los Cabos, guests at the Quinta del Sol have access to a long list of activities on land and sea. There’s world-class golf, deep-sea fishing, scuba diving, horseback riding, shopping in downtown Cabo San Lucas and sunset boat rides. In every sense, the Quinta del Sol is close to everything.Hotel amenities include a multilingual staff, 24-hour front desk, currency exchange, baggage hold, laundry facilities, dry cleaning, on-site car rental, business services, ice machines, airport shuttles (fee applies), free parking, adult and family pools, outdoor Jacuzzi, and interior corridors. Guests also have access to facilities at nearby sister resorts, including the Solmar Resort Beach Club.Las Quintas Restaurant and Bar is a new addition to Quinta del Sol. The well-appointed restaurant features an indoor air-conditioned area overlooking the pool and an outdoor terrace for those who want to enjoy the splendid weather of Los Cabos. The menu features American and Mexican favorites. When staying four or more nights, theme nights may be enjoyed at the Solmar Resort.Spacious junior suites feature satellite television, free Wi-Fi Internet access, and two double beds. For added convenience, there are work desks, hair-dryers, laptop size electronic in-room safe deposit boxes, blackout drapes/curtains, iron and ironing board, air conditioning and wake-up and daily turndown service. Kitchenettes include a refrigerator, coffee-maker, cook top, sink and dining space. In-room child care is available. This property is handicapped accessible.The All Inclusive plan includes breakfast, lunch and dinner at Las Quintas Restaurant. Unlimited domestic beverages, parking and WiFi, complimentary in room minibar beverages the day of arrival, laundry service, discounts at recommended restaurants and spa treatments at our sister hotels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Quinta Del Sol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Cabo San Lucas
Cabo San Lucas Best Western
Hotel Quinta Del Sol Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Quinta Del Sol, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.