We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than average Sheraton” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sheraton Hacienda del Mar Golf & Spa Resort Los Cabos

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Sheraton Hacienda del Mar Golf & Spa Resort Los Cabos to your Saves list
Sheraton Hacienda del Mar Golf & Spa Resort Los Cabos
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Corredor Turistico Km 10, Lote D | Cabo del Sol, Cabo San Lucas 23410, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Best Rate Guaranteed
Ranked #20 of 69 Hotels in Cabo San Lucas
Certificate of Excellence
Fairbanks, Alaska
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Better than average Sheraton”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

I'm a Starwood guy. This is not an average Sheraton or even Sheraton vacation property. The grounds are very nice, and well maintained. Everything is clean, the rooms, the linens, and the pools. Staff was very helpful and friendly. The rooms, especially the bathrooms are more what I would expect in the Westin part of the chain. The restaurants are spendy but clean and decent food. The whole place operates on a dollar economy. This is a resort, a little American oasis, not really Mexico. On the plus side, you can drink water from the tap.

The beach is nice but the surf is a little much, especially if you have little kids. it actually isn't bad to swim in but it would toss a child around.

It's well worth it to rent a car and get out and explore. Cabo is very safe and the worst thing you have to contend with are annoying hawkers, very iffy directions and mile markers and drunk kids in the spring break area of CSL.

Room Tip: Many upper floor "garden view" rooms have ocean or partial ocean views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheraton H, Public Relations Manager at Sheraton Hacienda del Mar Golf & Spa Resort Los Cabos, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us at our beautiful Sheraton Hacienda del Mar. Beyond providing world-class service with heart, it is our goal to do whatever we can to please our guests and make them feel at home, so our entire staff thanks you, both for your kind words and for sharing your comments!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,163 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    627
    338
    96
    67
    35
See reviews for
289
404
23
77
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (293)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

My husband and I went here to simply relax, catch some sun and do a whole lot of nothing. Success. The resort is quite large especially with the timeshare part - but there is quite a bit of pools on the property to select from. Our first day we didn't realize there were other pools (our fault) so we spent that day on the beach. By day 2, we found the Delphine pool and swim up bar - nice touch. There were two destination weddings going on while we were there - no big deal - and if anything fun to see everyone partying it up.

Special shout out to Front Office Manager Emmanuel Vega. Our flight wasn't leaving until close to 7pm that night and he graciously extended our checkout to 3pm. I really appreciated his high level of service and he did it without out even asking. First Class Emmanuel.

Pros about this hotel: we loved the shrimp tacos (@ sirenas bar) and the shrimp caesar salad (@tomatoes restaurant). pina coladas were excellent @ pool/swim up bar. Bartenders David and Enrique @ Tequila bar were some of our favorite people - great drinks, good conversation and just nice peeps.

Cons: no swimming in the beach, the waves are huge and will crush you. The food gets a bit old...we went off site to Cabo and the Trailer Park a few nights - well worth the change in scenery and food. The hotel's shuttle is a good deal ($10 RT) but if you need to take a taxi, you'll pay upwards of $30 OW for it. We paid $50 USD just to get a taxi from the hotel to the airport...yikes. Beyond that, it was fine. The room is a bit dated, but fine...we spent most our time outside.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheraton H, Public Relations Manager at Sheraton Hacienda del Mar Golf & Spa Resort Los Cabos, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Thank you very much for sharing about your stay with us at the Sheraton Hacienda del Mar. We are so happy that you enjoyed a relaxing stay, very much appreciate your kind words and hope that you will return again to our unique corner of Cabo paradise!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thunder Bay, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

My wife and I travelled to San Jose Del Cabo to stay with some relatives, and broke up our trip by staying at this resort for three days and three nights in Mid-April, 2013. I was somewhat leery of the expenses we might incur, given some of the reviews I had read prior to the trip. If you are reasonably informed leading up to your stay, you will have a very pleasant experience, as my wife and I did.

Upon check-in I was informed that the resort was placing a hold on my credit card of roughly $600 USD (approximately $200 USD per night). The process went fairly quickly and we were directed to the concierge desk. As you likely know, the concierge desk informs you of all the resort has to offer, but will also pitch the timeshare breakfast/tour to you, as the timeshare is actually co-located on the resort. The gentlemen was nice enough about it - we only had to tell him politely twice that we weren't interested in it. After that, we were shown to our room and did not have any other hassles in terms of a sales pitch for the duration of our stay on the property.

Pools: The property is well-planned and in immaculate condition. There are three pools that overlook the ocean, with another two pools located further back in the property (one is in the timeshare area). There was ample seating at the pools for the time we were there. The resort makes a conscious effort to limit the holding of prime chairs with towels with their signage...but let's face it - you can't effectively enforce courtesy.

Beach: While many highlight the beach as a weakness of the resort, I found it to be quite the opposite. The beach has a sharp incline towards the water which causes some pretty unpredictable and dangerous wave action. For the most part, the beach was off-limits for swimming. However, as a result, there was nearly nobody hanging out under the palapas down there, which meant a semi-private beach area for my wife and I. The wave action was nice to watch and really relaxing - at least for me. Further, the beach property is quite lengthy, due to the size of the resort property. You can spend a lot of time walking out there.

Restaurants: We went to Girasoles each day. For $16.50 USD per person, we were able to order as many dishes off the breakfast menu as we wanted, with included coffee and mimosas. There is a beautiful view of the Sea of Cortez and we were usually set until dinner time. We only went out for one dinner when we were there, and it was the fancier one (can't recall the name). They had a special on Saturday evenings for an assortment of Asian Tapas - well prepared and delicious for about $40 USD each. The prices were equivalent to an above-average steakhouse back home. Other times we had nachos and tacos either by the pool, on the beach or via room service. They were all slightly expensive, but not prohibitively so.

Bars: There are happy hours available beginning at 11 am each day until 5 pm for the pool/beach area, and until 10 pm in some of the restaurants. The happy hours rotate, so become familiar with them if you plan to have a few drinks during your stay. Two-for-one drinks are much more affordable than paying full price.

Shuttle: There is a shuttle that runs into Cabo San Lucas for $10 round-trip per person. The shuttle takes you to the mall, which is very north-americanized. If you're a gringo target like me (white guy with a straw hat and back pack), you will be mauled by locals trying to sell you things the second you go to explore the touristy city of Cabo. We spend about 1 hour walking around the area and decided to hop on the next shuttle back. You're likely not going to get an authentic Mexican experience visiting Cabo, nor will you save a great deal on meals - again, it really is quite touristy.

Tips: Pack a bottle or two of liquor to save yourself some money. We stopped at the Costco close by before coming and picked up some very inexpensive bottles of booze.

If you're not interested in the timeshare, just don't do it. Why waste so much of your precious vacation time to be pressured into a purchase you don't want to make?

While the resort accepts Mexican Pesos, it is in your best interest to pay in US dollars, as there calculations give you an unfavorable rate if using Pesos.

If you're in the SPG program, cash and points is pretty reasonable for this property (only $60/night for the room itself).

That's about all I can think of. We had an amazing time and would definitely look to stay here again when travelling in the area.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheraton H, Public Relations Manager at Sheraton Hacienda del Mar Golf & Spa Resort Los Cabos, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
We are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us at the Sheraton Hacienda del Mar and very much appreciate your comments. While we understand that strong waves, as they prevail,can be disappointing for those who would like to swim in the ocean close to the resort, we consider the sparkling Sea of Cortez with its dramatic surf and our white sand beaches a natural part of our environment and encourage our guests to enjoy its beauty, as you have, along with our extensive swimming and lounging pools. We look forward to welcoming you again -- and thank you for your kind words.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

This hotel is located in a very quiet area and in the middle of nowhere, there is not much to do outside the property, so if you are looking for a place to rest and relax, this is the right spot to be.
The beach is beautiful perfect for walking, the sunsets are amazing, and there are rock formations with such amazing landscapes nearby.
Food is good, except if you want to have something from the menu, the service can be really slow.
Rooms are clean and private.

Room Tip: The buildings facing the ocean are the best and the rooms on the second floor are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheraton H, Public Relations Manager at Sheraton Hacienda del Mar Golf & Spa Resort Los Cabos, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us at our beautiful Sheraton Hacienda del Mar. Along with providing world-class service with heart, it is our goal to do whatever we can to please our guests, so we appreciate having your comments and thank you for taking the time to share them here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

This is our 6th time staying at the timeshares at Hacienda del Mar. While the grounds, pools and beach are beautiful and well maintained, the dining options, with the exception of the all you can eat breakfast at Garisoles are really, really slow and way over priced! Do not go to Garisoles for dinner unless you want to spend a good 3 hours waiting to eat. The food is mediocre at best, and service extremely slow (to the point we got up to refill our own water glasses out of boredom). And who wants to pay $ 16 for a hot dog at the pool? The little grocery store at the resort is very handy - but again, way, way over priced! Do yourself a favor and get a cab to Walmart. Cook your meals in your condo or leave the resort to eat - you will enjoy yourself so much more. Even with the cost of cab fare you will save a ton of $. Paying for internet (30 minutes free per day) is ridiculous also!

Room Tip: Sorry - you don't get a choice! Even if you tip big at the front desk there is no guarantee tha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

Spent a week here and enjoyed the resort. Water is beautiful to watch although you cannot swim in 20 foot crashing waves. Pools are plentiful and beautiful, several infinity pools where you can sit in the water and watch the ocean. Pool bars have great nachos.
Things to be aware of: based on other reviews that discuss the high price of drinks and food, we bought beer and snacks at Costco. What we didn't realize is that there is a 15 dollar per day charge to use the refrigerator in your room; so be sure and get a disposable ice chest (ice is free). There are several 2 for 1 happy hours that move from bar to bar starting at 11:00am and going until 6:00pm. The front desk will give you the list of where and when. Even so, the happy hour brings prices down to 5 dollar mixed drinks and 3 dollar beers.
After checking in, you will be sent to what we thought was the concierge at a desk near check in. She is actually there to sign you up for the time share pitch which comes with a free breakfast and various resort discounts. We were told that these things were offered to us because we were staying a week.....not true. They will ask for a refundable 20 dollar deposit for the breakfast to make sure you show up.
Lastly, the resort put a 800+ dollar hold on our credit card for incidentals. This would not have been such a problem had they told us about it. As it were, my husband saw the charge on his IPad and thought we had our credit card stolen. They were apologetic, but still. Also, there are 2 places for breakfast; Tomatoes is and all you can eat buffet for about 27 dollars per person and Girasoles is an all you can order off the menu for 16 per person, both include mimosas and bloody marys......don't confuse them as we did! All of these things happened the first day and we were very upset. Day two through seven were great however. Beautiful beach, beautiful weather, many fun places to explore if you rent a car (recommended).

Room Tip: Ocean view is different than ocean front. We had ocean view to our side but it was still lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kila, Montana, United States
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

Hacienda del Mar was GREAT. The staff makes you feel at home! Always greeting you with a smile! The grounds were beautiful, and extremely well maintained. The rooms were nice and lots of pools.... would go back again... Thank you for a wonderful experience.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Sheraton Hacienda del Mar Golf & Spa Resort Los Cabos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Hacienda del Mar Golf & Spa Resort Los Cabos

Address: Corredor Turistico Km 10, Lote D | Cabo del Sol, Cabo San Lucas 23410, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > Cabo San Lucas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#10 Top resorts Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#15 Luxury Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#16 Romantic Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#19 Family Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton Hacienda del Mar Golf & Spa Resort Los Cabos 4*
Number of rooms: 270
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With its cobblestone lanes, winding paths, quaint Placitas, fountains, restaurants, and shops, the Sheraton Hacienda del Mar Resort & Spa, Los Cabos captures the feel of Old Mexico. A full complement of guest services is offered on premises to satisfy the refined needs of both the meeting and leisure travelers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Media 8, Inc., Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Odigeo and getaroom.com so you can book your Sheraton Hacienda del Mar Golf & Spa Resort Los Cabos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Hacienda Del Mar Hotel Cabo San Lucas
Sheraton Hacienda Del Mar Resort And Spa
Sheraton Cabo San Lucas
Cabo San Lucas Sheraton
Sheraton Hacienda Del Mar Golf & Spa Resort Los Cabos Cabo San Lucas

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sheraton Hacienda del Mar Golf & Spa Resort Los Cabos, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.