We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another great trip to this property” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sheraton Hacienda del Mar Golf & Spa Resort Los Cabos

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Sheraton Hacienda del Mar Golf & Spa Resort Los Cabos to your Saves list
Sheraton Hacienda del Mar Golf & Spa Resort Los Cabos
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Corredor Turistico Km 10, Lote D | Cabo del Sol, Cabo San Lucas 23410, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 66 Hotels in Cabo San Lucas
Scottsdale, Arizona
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Another great trip to this property”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

We have now had the opportunity to stay at this property twice in a combined business/vacation manner - Jayson was our companies "host" and is AWESOME!!!!! It is with out a doubt the prettiest and best maintained properties in Cabo! The staff, no matter front desk or tree trimmer, are polite and very accommodating! The guest rooms are spacious and decorated well with well appointed bathroom facilities. We love the "Delphines Pool" and tend to gravitate to it more so than the beachfront pools - it has a great swim-up bar after all! The restaurants on property are all top notch but our favorite by far is "Girasoles!" The breakfast is wonderful as is dinner. The staff at Girasoles is our favorite group of professionals on the entire property - they can not do enough for you. PLUS they know how to keep all of the birds under control! We are looking forward to our next visit already!

Room Tip: Villas 22 and 23 are our favorites!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,028 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    554
    293
    88
    60
    33
See reviews for
247
356
21
61
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (234)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

We stayed at the Sheraton Hacienda Del Mar January 29 - February 5, 2013 as part of the all inclusive package through Sunquest.

The resort was beautiful, the grounds are maintained to perfection, the food was delicious, the staff was so accommodating, the rooms were clean, the bed was comfortable (yes - in Mexico!) and the service was excellent (although in my opinion Mexican resort service is always a little 'over the top' at the restaurants - seriously I can put my napkin in my own lap!) The resort is HUGE, pools are everywhere and you could always find a chair at one of them.

The hotel is not your typical all inclusive though. As many of the guests are not part of the all inclusive package (we seemed to be the only people there with the all inclusive bracelets) you have to sign for everything you order. This was a little bit of a hassle. In addition, there were not the usual number of waiters around the pool asking you if you want a drink - you had to go to the bar, which is not a big deal but a difference from the typical all inclusive.

A couple of the restaurants are not included in the all inclusive and a few dishes at some of the restaurants are also not included, but there was free internet! One thing I really liked was the availability of healthy food - lots of fresh fruit, veggies, etc. - not all fried fare like in many of the other Mexican resorts I've been to.

One of the things my husband and I agreed on is that we would never stay at this resort if it was not all inclusive - the prices they charge are quite expensive! ($115 for a margarita (about $10) isn't outrageous but $55 pesos (just under $5) for a can of diet coke!)The breakfast buffet was about $300 per person, which if you only eat cereal and yogurt for breakfast like I do it seems quite excessive, although the dinner buffet (also around $300 pesos) seemed a bit more reasonable. If we had added up what we spend on food/drink each day we figured we would have been around $300 US dollars, and we did not drink that much.

There were no evening activities (actually, there were no activities period) at the hotel, which was fine by me but I know some people really enjoy this part of resort life so I thought I would mention it. I did think it would have been nice to have a little disco or something just for something to do at night..

The fitness center was spectacular, lots of really good quality treadmills, elliptical trainers, weights - better than many Canadian hotels I've stayed in! The spa was beautiful - again much nicer than many Canadian spas - expensive - an 80 minute massage was about $2200 pesos (we'll see how much VISA decides this is in Canadian $ LOL but I expect just under $200) I thought this was pricey for a not-that-great massage - can get better at home for almost half the cost, but I guess the atmosphere of the spa counts for something.

All in all this was the nicest resort I've stayed at in Mexico by far. I honestly don't think I could go back to a regular Mexican resort after this. So if you can get the all inclusive package I would highly recommend it.

Room Tip: Pool on the West side of the resort is well blocked from the wind.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

Just returned yesterday from this resort. I am sure time of year matters on some things. We were there in January and it was not full. Whales could be seen frolicking in the ocean out front...AWESOME!

Transportation, from airport shuttle one way is $16 USD per person and you do NOT need to purchase Round trip from the airport. The most difficult task will be maneuvering around ALL the timeshare people. You must make it outside to get a taxi. ALL people inside are working on a timeshare. If you choose not to do a timeshare with the first guy, he will forward you to a second guy, who will eventually have his manager come over. Just don't do it. Private taxi is $60 USD one way, if you have more than two this is the way to go, but if it is just two of you take the shuttle but know it is a two beer trip and they serve them up cold at the aiport.

Resort facilities, are quite stunning, it is like walking around a tropical garden and well maintained. The pools are heated. The property is expansive, meaning NOT every unit will have ocean view, nor would the resort be able to accomodate all the requests for ocean view. For us they did, but again it wasn't full. The resort staff are very helpful and would accommodate your requests if possible but they just can't there won't be enough.

To Cabo San Lucas, the resort provides a shuttle service for $10 USD round trip (you can buy one way for half price) per person beginning at 9:00 am and drops you off at the mall every 1.5 hours with the last pick up back to resort from the mall at 9:30 pm. Private taxi is $20 USD one way. Again if you are traveling with another couple this is the better way to go. Also if in a group, you may choose to rent a car we ran into several that did it and had no problems getting around. Know that there is special insurance you must purchase in Mexico and while others in the car may drink the driver cannot so you must take turns each day if you go this route.

The beach, is NOT swimable, but it is beautiful and this is the only resort that sits on this strech of beach so it is quite secluded. If you wish to swim, snorkel, rent wave runners or visit Lover's beach then pack a bag, go to Medano beach. It is a public beach and you can do it all right here too, plus get buckets of beer significantly cheaper than at the resort.

Spa, is very pricey. A massages start at $140 USD and to get your nails done it is $80 (tip not included). While you are at Medano beach, they have massage huts right there for $30 USD and while you will miss some of the ambiance, it is a very good massage. If you are lucky your husband will have a bucket of beer waiting for you when you are done.

Restaurants onsite, are all very good, serve large portions but are pricey. If you are a foody, you really will enjoy the meals you get here. Breakfast is the best deal at Mexican restaurant with all you can eat that includes Mimosa's for $16.50 USD, the breakfast buffet at Tomatos is $25 USD. The snack bar is also reasonably priced for sandwiches or whatever you may need during the day. Naturally dinners run higher, but again the portions are large and the food is very good. Most people we spoke with went to the store and cooked one night and went out the next. If you decide to go to town, you could eat for less, but it will cost you a taxi so really it isn't that much less.

Summary, this resort is in the corridor. With a little effort you can get into downtown Cabo if you wish to do anything during the day or party of the evening but it will cost. We hit one of the 7 pools and it was definitely where all the retiree owners sat. Bingo or whatever every day. They all seemed to know each other as they do this every year. As you walk towards the hotel side of the resort you actually see the crowd getting younger. Not much really goes on of an evening, so unless you are with another couple you may have to keep each other company...in Cabo (you really will not suffer too much). This is a beautiful resort and the staff assist with what they can, your vacation is what you make of it. Enjoy!

Room Tip: We all want ocean view, it is NOT likely to happen but the grounds are tropical and the rooms are ni...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

We booked this property through SPG. When we called, the person seemed very nice and friendly and gave us a rate of $279 per night with breakfast included for a partial ocean view room, but they said that they would give us an upgrade to a full ocean view room since we mentioned that it was a special occasion and we are SPG members. They also said that the wifi was free.
When we got the email confirmation it said the rate was $ 329. It seemed odd, but we didn't pay much attention to that.
When we got to the hotel, the receptionist confirmed the rate at $329 and denied us the upgrade, arguing that there were not such notes on the reservation and that we were not SPG Gold or Platinum members. They gave us the partial ocean view room which was ok, but a little outdated. When we tried to connect to the internet and had to call the front desk, they said that there was a charge to use it and that it was only free to gold and platinum members. Another dissapointment.
We had dinner at the Pitahayas restaurant and it was good. Had breakfast at the tomatoes restaurant which was already included and it was also good, otherwise, at $45 for the buffet it would've been too much for what it was.
At checkout, another surprise. It turns out, the rate was without taxes. We ended up paying close to $1000 for 2 nights at this hotel. It ended up being more than twice what we had expected.
I will definitely never be back to this hotel.

Ohh I forgot to mention, they charge you $15 a day for using their fridge....

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Littleton, Colorado
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

We looked at staying at other hotels but thought that the Sheraton looked good on the website, so we thought we would give it a shot. We were very pleased from the minute we arrived. The staff, from check-in to poolside were courteous and always there when needed. The grounds are immaculate and the rooms are beautiful. The beach and pools were spectacular. We will definitely return to the Sheraton for our next visit.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chickamauga, Georgia
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

After reading many reviews on Trip Advisor, I chose the Sheraton over several other properties I had been looking at and I am so glad. It was a beautiful, secluded property that overlooked the ocean. The sunrise was spectacular from the beach at the hotel, and watching the whales play while eating breakfast on the terrace was wonderful. So many great things about this hotel!! We chose the all inclusive option and were so pleased with the food we were able to choose from. Our last night was at Pitahayas for a wonderful meal. It is the type of hotel where you would never have to leave the property to have a wonderful time. The service was wonderful in every aspect. I can't wait to go back to Cabo and stay at this resort again!!!

A couple of things I will note for future travelers:

If arriving at terminal 2, after going through customs do not stop until you get outside the airport! We were stopped several times for people saying they were from Thirty car rental, when in fact, they were trying to sell time shares. Just keep going until you get past the 2nd set of sliding doors to avoid that.

Also if you have rented a car, beware of the Mexican required insurance. Our car rental quickly went from 73.00 for our trip to an outrageous price of $338.00 for 4 days. I was told by a person at the resort later that she rents with Avis because you can get the insurance online and it was only 12.99 per day.

There is a shuttle from the hotel to Cabo for $10.00 roundtrip per person. It drops you off near the marina which is centrally located to most shops, etc. in downtown Cabo.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise
Top Contributor
171 reviews 171 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

Staff was exceptional; cleanliness was excellent; rooms could stand some updating as they are showing some wear. Visited in mid-Jan and say whales every morning from the balcony of Tomatoes and flying manetee. Pool was nice and warm and service was great Would definately go back. Premises felt safe and walked on the beach and up to the golf course.

Room Tip: Get an ocean view as it is wonderful with the balcony. The main building is the best I think as I d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sheraton Hacienda del Mar Golf & Spa Resort Los Cabos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Hacienda del Mar Golf & Spa Resort Los Cabos

Address: Corredor Turistico Km 10, Lote D | Cabo del Sol, Cabo San Lucas 23410, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > Cabo San Lucas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#11 Top resorts Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#12 Spa Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#13 Luxury Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#15 Romantic Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#16 Family Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton Hacienda del Mar Golf & Spa Resort Los Cabos 4*
Number of rooms: 270
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With its cobblestone lanes, winding paths, quaint Placitas, fountains, restaurants, and shops, the Sheraton Hacienda del Mar Resort & Spa, Los Cabos captures the feel of Old Mexico. A full complement of guest services is offered on premises to satisfy the refined needs of both the meeting and leisure travelers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Sheraton Hacienda del Mar Golf & Spa Resort Los Cabos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Hacienda Del Mar Resort And Spa
Sheraton Hacienda Del Mar Hotel Cabo San Lucas
Sheraton Cabo San Lucas
Cabo San Lucas Sheraton
Sheraton Hacienda Del Mar Golf & Spa Resort Los Cabos Cabo San Lucas

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sheraton Hacienda del Mar Golf & Spa Resort Los Cabos, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.