We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, with great service and excellent location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sheraton Hacienda del Mar Golf & Spa Resort Los Cabos

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Sheraton Hacienda del Mar Golf & Spa Resort Los Cabos to your Saves list
Sheraton Hacienda del Mar Golf & Spa Resort Los Cabos
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Corredor Turistico Km 10, Lote D | Cabo del Sol, Cabo San Lucas 23410, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Sunsational Savings
Ranked #26 of 70 Hotels in Cabo San Lucas
Certificate of Excellence
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great hotel, with great service and excellent location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

We stayed in room 2221 between December 1st - 5th, 2012. The room is spacious and has an incredible view of the ocean. Air conditioning works great and is reasonably quiet; beds are very comfortable. The white sand is amazing. There is one down side, the water temperature in the swimming pools is very cold; my son and I got in with difficulties and my wife did not get in at all. It´s easy to see when the water is cold, because most of the guests spend their they outside the pool.

Restaurants are OK, we had dinner at Pitahayas with a Pacific Rim style, great service, the food is OK although not very kids-friendly.

Our trip to Los Cabos was perfect, we released some sea turtles from their nest into the ocean, tried some buggies and sailed around the bay. Weather was incredible!

Several people approached us offering discounts if we accepted attending a promotional breakfast, we turned them all down, it started at the rental car facility, the hotel, the marina but it´s all about time shares; my suggestion stay away from them and enjoy your vacation.

Room Tip: Get an oceanfront room, it worths the extra payment and, if you get the option, get the all-inclusiv...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,228 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    652
    363
    104
    71
    38
See reviews for
311
431
24
84
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (310)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

Had a ocean front villa (under $200 per night) and the view was amazing. Great value, great beach, good pools and grounds and overall a better hotel than I expected.
Downside was I thought the food and drinks were expensive. Maybe it is the current dismal $USD, I dont know. Cabo across the board seems more expensive than it should be.
There are rotating drink specials and happy hours acorss the 6 or 7 bars so if you are diligent and dont mind walking the property, you can grab 2 for 1 on beers, margs, other cocktails and food specials pretty much the entire day. There was also a great breakfast/brunch buffet everyday that was well worth the price.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

Having been to Cabo a couple time before and loving the Hilton, I am now wondering why we even took the chance by staying here but hind sight is always 20:20. The 3 nights for 2 plus resort credit reeled us in...you definitely get what you pay for. The staff is accommodating but not friendly and in no way go out of their way to treat you like a guest. Our room was never clean before 4PM and we had to inevitably call for clean glasses and coffee for the morning. I travel a lot and have never been in a hotel where I had to change my own toilet paper...big deal?...yes, when you're paying of it. The only plus is the vicinity to town, otherwise run forest, run...and run fast.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
42 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

The hotel ground is beautiful and meticulously kept. The view of Sea of Cortez was perfect. The beach is clean. We rented a car and had to drive around twice to find the entrance road to the hotel. The hotel website needs to spell it out clearer.

I emailed the hotel two weeks before arrival to ask a couple of questions. I never got a reply.

Once we got there, staff were all friendly and wonderful.

The room itself was dated and dark. We booked an ocean-view room. It turned out that you can't see the ocean from the room itself. You have to go on the balcony. It should be advertised as such.

At night, there was clicking sound coming from outside the room. I couldn't locate where it came from. It sounded like HVAC pipe noise. It woke me up several times at night even with my ear plugs in. It wasn't a restful vacation as I had hoped.

We went to most of the restaurants on site since we got a credit. They were all good but overpriced.

Now the timeshare presentation. When we checked in, we were directed to a "welcome" desk, which turned out to be the timeshare company. The guy was very nice introducing us to the restaurants and local interests and activities. He didn't force us to go to the timeshare presentation, but pointed out we would get a free breakfast, plus $150 restaurant credit and discounts on many activities. Since we love food and like to get out and explore, the savings was tempting. He said the timeshare presentation would be 75 minutes. So we signed up. It turned out to be 2.5 hours! The manager guy came in after we didn't jump on it and slashed the price by 1/3. Wondered how he could do that. Timeshare doesn't fit our live style anyway so we declined. We did save some money but wasted half a day. We didn't like the fact that the hotel seemed to be connected with the timeshare company and gave them two desks right in the check-in area.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pacifica, CA
Level Contributor
19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

REMEMBER THAT YOU ARE IN MEXICO!!

This is a gorgeous property IF you get the room you want and can get far enough away from loud Americans who have NO sense of respect for people who want to have a romantic, quiet vacation.

Overall, we liked this place, we think it lacks in certain areas and excels in others.

1) we changed room three times, after paying for an ocean view, the first room looked at another building, even after I specifically asked while checking in for the VIEW room. The second room was in the elevator shaft, we did not sleep the whole night, really horrible especially when this is the second room we asked for, and the staff 'knows' where they are putting you, after waiting an HOUR to get this room, we got such attitude from the desk woman, even though we speak Spanish, really poor service. At 7am I went to speak to the manager who FINALLY gave us a room in a "villa' that was quiet with no elevator and a view of the ocean. Mind you we had to wait another 3 hours, for this room to be ready, even though it was empty and clean.
2) the food and drinks are VERY expensive...if you have a budget, this is not the place for you. Luckily, we were there to splurge, and we did. Food was excellent but the fair was pretty much the same, shrimp, lobster, meat, however presentation was exceptional.
3) The Spa services were DELIGHTFUL, this was a highlight!
4) There were so many LOUD children and even more inconsiderate Americans. It was quite annoying that people have no concept of what a real vacation is, to have 7 children directly in front of you on a mile long beach SCREAMING at the top of their lungs, with a drunk father watching them almost drown in this potentially deadly / rough ocean was a joke. On another occasion some men decided to have a little football game in the middle of the beach, there is a huge beach...Please, be considerate & go where no one is sitting we just wanted PEACE, not a middle aged testosterone farce. (It was obvious they wanted attention and were from the midwest states, Texas and so on, over and over again I find Americans, RUDE. This was not the only time in our 5 days that people were too loud too drunk and inconsiderate.
5) IF YOU WANT TRANQUILITY ::: this is NOT the place for that.
6) we had to ask daily for the coffee to be replenished, you can have TONS of shampoo but no coffee, be mindful and watch your valuables.

Room Tip: Do your research and look at the rooms before you choose one, they are NOT as advertised.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auburn, California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

This facility is literally on a private beach 1/2 mile long...the pools (2 infinity pools + others) are overlooking the ocean...the complex is 10 miles from Cabo so figure a $ 10 cost round trip per person and a $ 16 cost to the airport per person. Auto rental available on site...about $ 75 for a small car including insurance per day...the grounds are impeccable, lush and border a golf course...the ocean is warm from May-Dec though you are advised not to swim in it due to the undertow of the water...meals and beverages are expensive here...you can shop at Walmart about 5 miles south to temper costs...when you package everything together, it makes the trip here worth the visit and memorable...

Room Tip: Newer units in Bldgs 16, 17, 18 are further from the ocean Complex is shared with Sheraton Hacienda...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Bermuda
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

My friend and I visited Los Cabos in August for 6 days. We stayed here as part of a mediocre location while we visited other hotels for possible wedding guests accommodations. This resort ended up being a very good contender for our guests to stay. The location is off the beaten path, yet not too far away from the Marina (10 minutes by car). We were not harassed by timeshare personnel, the food was good, the service was really good, the pools and swim up bars were great! Also, the rooms were way more spacious and well kept than we had expected. We booked a Garden View room and saw a few of the suites etc. The rooms here are very spacious and the resort grounds are well kept. You definitely can't beat the value for the amenities here.

Room Tip: Even on the ground floor (Garden View room) it was very spacious, quiet and relaxing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cabo San Lucas hotels
4.3 mi away
Villa del Arco Beach Resort & Spa
4.2 mi away
Villa La Estancia
Villa La Estancia
#4 of 70 in Cabo San Lucas
4.5 of 5 stars 949 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hacienda del Mar Vacation Club
Hacienda del Mar Vacation Club
#14 of 70 in Cabo San Lucas
4.5 of 5 stars 789 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hacienda Encantada Resort & Spa
Hacienda Encantada Resort & Spa
#24 of 70 in Cabo San Lucas
4.0 of 5 stars 1,141 reviews
5.1 mi away
Playa Grande Resort
Playa Grande Resort
#17 of 70 in Cabo San Lucas
4.5 of 5 stars 2,444 reviews
2.1 mi away
Welk Resorts Sirena Del Mar
Welk Resorts Sirena Del Mar
#12 of 70 in Cabo San Lucas
4.5 of 5 stars 980 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Hacienda del Mar Golf & Spa Resort Los Cabos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Hacienda del Mar Golf & Spa Resort Los Cabos

Address: Corredor Turistico Km 10, Lote D | Cabo del Sol, Cabo San Lucas 23410, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > Cabo San Lucas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#14 Top resorts Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#18 Romantic Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#20 Luxury Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#21 On the Beach Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#23 Family Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton Hacienda del Mar Golf & Spa Resort Los Cabos 4*
Number of rooms: 270
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With its cobblestone lanes, winding paths, quaint Placitas, fountains, restaurants, and shops, the Sheraton Hacienda del Mar Resort & Spa, Los Cabos captures the feel of Old Mexico. A full complement of guest services is offered on premises to satisfy the refined needs of both the meeting and leisure travelers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Media 8, Inc., Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, getaroom.com, Odigeo and Booking.com so you can book your Sheraton Hacienda del Mar Golf & Spa Resort Los Cabos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Hacienda Del Mar Hotel Cabo San Lucas
Sheraton Hacienda Del Mar Resort And Spa
Sheraton Cabo San Lucas
Cabo San Lucas Sheraton
Sheraton Hacienda Del Mar Golf & Spa Resort Los Cabos Cabo San Lucas

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sheraton Hacienda del Mar Golf & Spa Resort Los Cabos, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.