We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“activities” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pueblo Bonito Pacifica Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Pueblo Bonito Pacifica Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Pueblo Bonito Pacifica Resort & Spa
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   Cabo Pacifica s/n, Cabo San Lucas 23450, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
45-50% Off All-Inclusive
Ranked #13 of 66 Hotels in Cabo San Lucas
Seattle, Washington
1 review
“activities”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

the activities staff are very friendly, fun and engaging of the guests! the activity schedule was so varied and had something for everyone. we would come back to see adriana and josh again for sure! The service staff at the pool got to know us and brought our morning drinks to us before we even ordered upon arriving at the pool.

Room Tip: 1245 verygood view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,950 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,179
    465
    165
    83
    58
See reviews for
83
1,350
32
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (539)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

The Pacifica is a wonderful peaceful getaway which provided excellent value for money and wonderful vacation memories.

Obviously this hotel is well reviewed already so I'll add little to what has already been said.

Firstly the pool tiles, we asked about this and were told that they have attempted repairs a couple of times and are now planning to replace the tiles with stonework beginning this week when the pools will be shut down. Sucks for those who are there this week as they will be treated to paddling pools on the beach apparently (yikes) but it is work that has to be done sometime.

The buffet was for me a bust, there was little choice on the night we went but that's perhaps because it is not particularly popular and more choice/food would just be wasted?

Siempre, the main restaurant is very nice, great service and you can tell it's attempting to be fine cuisine but I think it just misses the mark. It's not awesome, it's just very good.

We loved our room, loved the facilities, enjoyed the tennis courts, took sunset walks along the beach, laid out at the pools, drank numerous cocktails we hadn't tried before and would definitely visit again.

The all inclusive is such good value, I can't understand why anyone staying wouldn't take advantage. Seems a no-brainer to me.

My one piece of advice to the resort manager is to find some other way of inviting guests to tour the time share properties. Being given the hard sell after a long flight + transport to the hotel is not the time for it.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mayra P, General Manager at Pueblo Bonito Pacifica Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Dear reviewer,

Thank you very much for your kind remarks and for taking the time to review us.
Hope to welcome you to Pueblo Bonito Pacifica anytime soon.

Best Regards,
Jose Ernesto Coppel, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

My husband and I (from Ontario, Canada) booked the 7-day all-inclusive vacation from Sunwing Vacation at the end of April, 2013. We booked through a travel agent because the price quoted by the agent was the same as that I found on itravel, red tag vacation and other internet sources.

This is our 6th time at an all-inclusive resort in different countries, so we do have some experience with at his type of holiday. We had spent a lot of time to find an intimate and quiet adult-only resort. We want to avoid a gigantic, spread out, hotel with loud boom-boxes around the pool all day long. We want to stay away from "Jersey Shore" type people. And we want to enjoy some peace and quiet without children running around and screaming. This is the ideal resort.

I see reviews complaining the lack of activities, the resort being too small and it's so windy that you cannot swim in the beach. I find these comments unfair. The resort is as advertised. Such complaints are akin to buying an apple, then complaining that it is not an orange.
* There are only 150 rooms, of course it is small and of course there are not as many activities as would a large resort (like Riu). There is a half-hourly free shuttle (van) to and from the sister resort, Sunset Beach, which is less than 5 minutes away. Sunset Beach is a much bigger resort (but NOT adult-only), and patrons of Pacifica can use the facilities of Sunset Beach for free. So if one so chooses, one can go to Sunset Beach every day and take advantage of the bigger resort and its amenities. We went to Sunset Beach once during our stay, and never went back. We wanted a quiet vacation, and found that it would defeat our purpose if we ended up spending most of our time at a large resort with children running around. We'd mind as well have stayed at Sunset Beach itself or even a bigger resort like Riu.
* It is "well-known" with even a quick internet search that one cannot swim in the ocean in that part of town. We still enjoyed walking on the beach everyday, listening and watching the majestic waves, getting a glimpse of the pelicans and other birds.

We never received any sales pitch, not once, about time share at the resort. We did get "cornered" by somebody right at the airport. We thought he was a Sunwing representative showing us to the coach to transfer to the resort. Not until 5 minutes later did we realize he was a time-share sales rep. We kept on saying "no, thank you" and left. No harm done.

The Sunwing coach transfer was comfortable and relatively quick. Pacifica is the very last resort on the strip so it took about 1 hour 15 minutes to drive from the airport to the resort, with one stop (only 10 minutes) at another resort to drop off some people.

The room is lovely - clean, tastefully decorated and functional. We sat on a balcony many afternoons, reading and admiring the ocean. The in-room fridge was always stocked with pop and bottled water. If you need more bottled water, you can always go to any of the bars for more. The shower is large (can fit more than one person) and the water pressure is great.

We never encountered any foul smell anywhere.

We got a couples' massage at the spa ($120 per person for 50 minutes). Considering a comparable massage in Canada would cost $100 plus HST, the cost is not unreasonable. The massage was divine. The spa was luxurious and Zen-like.

Finally, it costs $12 Canadian to take a cab to the town centre (about 10 minutes).

Of course, one can always find things to complain. Yes, the tiles around the pool are somewhat chipped. But if anyone would let that ruin their vacation in this 5-star resort, then I suspect they're the type of people that cannot be pleased even if they were to live in Buckingham Palace.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

My new husband and I stayed at this resort for our honeymoon in April 2013. There were a lot of issues I would like to make you aware of, but we are not at all complaining about the over-all experience. We had a very good time and I came home feeling relaxed and refreshed.

However you may not be as easy to please as we are. If you are a demanding traveler, I would say avoid this place. If you go in aware, this is a relaxing time. Not the best week I've ever had on vacation, but once the time share sales pitching dies down, it is very relaxing.

-GREAT PLACE for R&R
-The atmosphere is nice
-The beach is beautiful
-The pool during the day is very relaxing and enjoyable
-You can bounce around to the other resorts
-We enjoyed the food a lot. Everything I tried was very good.
-The Sunday Brunch was a huge, awesome spread!
-The people were friendly
-The set up a lot of cool activities every day. Yoga classes and speed walking. I mean, I'm not going to take advantage of that cuz I'm on VACATION folks, but it was nice to know it was there.


Things you need to know before you book:
-There is a lot of sales pitching throughout your stay for time shares (more about this below)
-The service was very slow. Please allow this to be colored by the fact that we were not tipping as much or as frequently as we normally would. We were doing the All-Inclusive thing for the first time and we really just didn't want to deal with a lot of that sort of, you know, PAYING for things. We only tipped when there was outstanding service (Alexis at the sushi bar was a total delight!) This probably accounts for the servers being so reluctant to come back on a regular basis. Take that for what you will.

-The Seimpre is a bit open-air, so birds flew in and got into the bread basket many mornings
-There were sometimes mosquitos in the butter. Over-all in the evening there are a ton of mosquitos, so bring bug spray
-By the evening the bars ran out of a lot of things we liked
-You get unlimited refill on your in-room minibar, but it is mostly soda, bottled water, and a couple cans of beer. No liquor.
-When we were there the return shuttle was ~ 44 USD, so plan for that. It's not bad. Taxi negotiations start at $100, so we took the shuttle and it was fine.

Feel free to read on for some further details, but those are the main points.

I do want to expand on the sales pitching because it can be grating and I want the resort and future travelers to know that we were bothered by this at first.

We arrived late afternoon and the front desk staffer was pleasant and there were no problems with our reservations. The lobby is nice in that calming spa sort of way- exactly what we needed.

We were a bit tired and frazzled from travel, so when they ushered us over to the woman across the lobby I think we both would have said anything to just get to our rooms. THIS IS WHEN the sales pitching starts.

They presented it as a "welcome reception" to aquaint you with the features of the resort, but it was odd because they took my husband's $20 and then explained that when we get to the "breakfast" they would provide us with a $300 spa credit. We blindly forked over the cash so we could just move on already. Once in our rooms we had more time to think about this interesting "deal" and realized something was up and maybe we should just kiss the twenty behind and skip it? So that's what we did.

But it doesn't stop there. All the staffers come off very friendly "How are you, my friend! Are you enjoying your stay?" Then when you respond they immediately ask if someone has talked to you about the welcome reception yet. There IS FOR SURE a cut in it for these people if you buy into the time share. I am convinced of this because this happened over and over for the first two days, then it seemed to die down once they realized we weren't biting....

....Only to begin anew when we went over to another resort. We only went to the other resort because ours had run out of cigs and rather than offering to go get it for us, they made us get on a bus and go over ourselves which is whatever. Standard service, not great service, but we were happy to go see what was up over there anyway.

Once we got there, tho, it all started up again with the trying to sell us on these time shares. It makes it a bit difficult to relax because you can't walk anywhere without someone pitching you. At some point you just try to stop engaging the staff at all.

After that we stayed at our resort, we weren't bothered anymore, and we relaxed by the pool most days. In the evenings we'd do the sushi bar mostly because it is very very good.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johnsburg, Illinois
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

We spent a lovely 5 days/nights at this resort, April 25 - 30th. There were many positive aspects to our stay and some negatives - thus the rating of 4 rather than 5 - it was all about the details.

First and foremost, the graciousness and desire of the staff to please was a huge plus. Brian in the main dining room was especially charming. We also enjoyed the fact that the resort was small and it was easy to get around (to and from the pool, lobby, resaurants and bars etc.). This was in contrast to two of the "sister" properties we visited - the Sunset and Rose' which were both quite large and although both were beautiful (prettier than the Pacifica) the environment was much more hectic and noisy. The Sunset was so spread out and hilly that guests were taken everywhere in strange carts that they had to wait for. The Pacifica was situated so that our room had a lovely view of the ocean from our balcony as well as from the pools and restaurants. A nice touch was the placement of a patio with three firepits surrounded by chairs near the beach. The firepits were lit each night and it was nice to get a cocktail and relax there after dinner. The 2 pools were nice and there always seemed to be comfortable lounge chairs and umbrellas available as well as someone asking if you would like a drink or food from the pool side bar. Although the atmosphere was supposed to be "zen" in nature, there always seemed to be disco music thumping loudly from speakers located around the pools. When I looked around, most of the people there were talking, sleeping and reading so I'm not sure what the function of the music was. My husband covered a speaker up with a towel one day to muffle the noise and those around us thanked him. The overall decore of the resort is sort of Arizona desert like with sand, rocks and cactus - not my personal favorite - especially when there are so many beautiful flowers always in bloom in Mexico. Other reviewers had mentioned missing pool tiles as a detraction from the ambiance and I have to agree with them. There were ALOT of tiles missing and it caused the pools to look run down. Some up dating and maintenence would go a long, long way toward a resort that appears more "first class" in nature. The first night when we went into the bar/lounge connected to the main restaurant and there was a sewer like smell there that was a huge turn-off. Other nights this smell was not present so maybe something had malfunctioned and been fixed. There are also some odd wooden structures at one end of the resort and we were told they served as wind breaks if/when canvas was hung on them. Because there was no canvas on them (and it was very, very windy several days/nights) they were real eyesores and another detraction from the overall look of the place. Our room was kept very clean, although was very plain. The armoire, dresser and closet seemed cheaply constructed and in need of replacement and the art work was an eyesore. We really enjoyed the balcony.

We had an all inclusive plan for food and drinks and overall we were very pleased with the quality of the dining. Drinks tended to be too sweet. We had a number of excellent meals (breakfast, lunch and dinner) in the Siempre restaurant at the Pacifica. We also had dinner one evening at Fellini's Italian restaurant at the Rose' and found it to be good food and a beautiful atmosphere. Here we were able to sit on a second story terrace with a view of the ocean. Another evening we dined at La Frieda at Sunset and this meal was truly a highlight of the trip. The atmosphere was ethnic and beautiful, the food was excellent all enhanced by live music softly played on a baby grand piano.

We found the shuttle service to be reliable if a bit tedious. A van was available on the half hour to transport us a short distance to the Sunset resort. Here we were able to board a larger bus that came on the hour and shuttled us to the Rose' closer to (10 minute walk) town.

Overall I was a bit disappointed in the lack of atmosphere at the Pacifica as compared to the other two resorts, however I would not have wanted to sacrifice the smaller, quieter (adults only) atmosphere for that of the others. The Pacifica has the potential to be a five star gem with a little care, enhancement and TLC to the environment.

Room Tip: We were on the third floor and had a nice view. The room was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I were here for one week in early March. It seems like this property has been reviewed in great detail, so I will just give the highlights and lowlights. On the positive side we found the resort to be relaxing, but not especially "holistic". If you want a truly holistic and healthy resort go to Rancho in Tecate!

The things we enjoyed most were:
1. Alberto's daily Pilates classes - excellent instructor!
2. Walking the beautiful deserted beach every afternoon - 4 miles to the lighthouse and back.
3. Alexis & Gregorio at the sushi bar - very hard working, personable and attentive - really good sushi too!
4. The peaceful ambiance when compared to the sister resorts.
5. Adults only.
6. Dinner at Fellini's at Rose.
7. The staff - generally very accommodating and friendly - Carlos in reception, Jose the bellman, Apollo the bartender.
8. The grounds. - serene, calming, harmonious.

As for the downside, I think the "all-inclusive" draws a louder crowd than expected at a holistic resort. We had a couple of noisy days at the pool. It was sometimes hard to find a quiet chair in which to sit and read. Rooms were pretty standard - we were promised a king and given a queen. Also it is a lot more windy than in Cabo - one afternoon we had to retreat to our room! It is a long trip to and from the airport especially when stopping at other resorts...try a taxi? All in all we had an enjoyable and relaxing vacation - more highs than lows!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Costa Mesa, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

My friend and i spent 5 days at this resort. My first time in mexico and her second time...it will certainly not my last. I have never tried an all inclusive before and was skeptical about how this place would be. Read a lot of reviews about this resort, although mostly good i still thought best to lower my expectations.

From the moment we arrived the place was just gorgeous and staff extremely friendly and helpful. The rooms are great and clean. We're drinkers so it is certainly not a wine and beer only inclusive package. The alcohol is premium, we started with bloody mary every morning, rum runners during day, martinis and wine at night and a few in between which im sure staff remember more than i do. Breakfast i think is typical of whats most resorts provide around the world but it is all fresh. The food at their two restaurants are excellent, all fresh ingredients including the pool bar food.

the best part of this trip are the people we met and the staff. Staff led by abraham are such great, professional fun staff. We definitely will go back. Whatever negative reviews you read is nothing compared to the positives of this place. Like many frequent travelers who wrote great reviews about this place, this is one of best i have been. Im definitely going back to experience mexico because of the staff at this resort.

the guests are older crowd but definitely fun laid back people. If youve never tried all inclusive before try this place.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mayra P, General Manager at Pueblo Bonito Pacifica Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Dear Viva H,

We feel flattered after reading such a nice review, we really enjoy welcoming people with positive attitude like you. It is great to hear you had an enjoyable and fun stay at Pacifica, guests like you are what make us feel satisfied for the quality of the service we strive to provide each day.

Looking forward to welcome you and your friend for the second time!

Sincerely,

Angel S., General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pueblo Bonito Pacifica Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pueblo Bonito Pacifica Resort & Spa

Address: Cabo Pacifica s/n, Cabo San Lucas 23450, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > Cabo San Lucas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#9 Spa Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#11 Luxury Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#12 Romantic Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#23 Family Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Pueblo Bonito Pacifica Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 154
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The award-winning Pueblo Bonito Pacifica Resort & Spa is an enchanting oasis of natural beauty and relaxation, located on a 2.5 Mile stretch of pristine white beach on the Pacific Ocean, just one mile from lively downtown Cabo San Lucas. This boutique resort offers a deluxe all-inclusive plan providing gourmet a la carte dining, enhanced guest services and a wide range of amenities. Pacifica features five restaurants, five bars, two pools, an award-winning spa and luxurious accommodations in a calm, adults-only environment. Fashionably decorated guestrooms and suites include furnished patios and balconies with stunning views of the ocean and sunsets. Designed for the sophisticated and discerning guest, Pueblo Bonito Pacifica has everything needed for a fun and relaxing vacation experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, BookIt.com, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Pueblo Bonito Pacifica Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pueblo Bonito Pacifica Hotel Cabo San Lucas
Pueblo Bonito Pacifica Resort And Spa
Pueblo Bonito Pacifica Holistic Retreat & Spa
Pueblo Bonito Pacifica Resort & Spa Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pueblo Bonito Pacifica Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.