We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family vacation!!! Just GREAT!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pueblo Bonito Pacifica Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Pueblo Bonito Pacifica Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Pueblo Bonito Pacifica Resort & Spa
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   Cabo Pacifica s/n, Cabo San Lucas 23450, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 70 Hotels in Cabo San Lucas
Certificate of Excellence
MN
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Family vacation!!! Just GREAT!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

What a great week we had ( parents & 3 grown kids)!!!! Rooms 1251 & 1024. Views to die for, both had butler service, a must!! Weather was 85 & sunny the whole week!! The food here was just great ( maybe 1-2 more restaurants would be ok) if staying more then a week, you might get a little bored with just the restaurants they have. Jamie out butler was just the best!! We would go back in a second!! The one and only thing we may change next time would be go alittle closer to town area!! We were fine but alittle more action for 24,24,25 year olds may want alittle more night life!!!! Enjoyed everything about it!!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,461 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,537
    573
    200
    90
    61
See reviews for
145
1,685
35
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (727)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

We stayed at the Pueblo Bonito Pacifica for 5 nights. We splurged for the upgrade to the butler service. While the resort setting is beautiful, the overall experience was sub-par. I've traveled to many all-inclusive resorts, most of which were cheaper than the Pacifica - all of them were much nicer and a better experience.

The Good:
- Great setting
- Private beach is great
- Saw whales from the resort almost every day
- Service by the pool was good
- Drinks were large and fairly strong relative to other resorts I've visited
- Dining at Frida (at Sunset Beach) was great

The Bad:
- Saw or spoke to our Butler 2 or 3 times - was almost a chore for him to help us. Not worth the extra cost
- Resort told us free calls. Come to find out it was free phone calls to the United States but not local? What kind of policy is that? Had to request a credit for our call to the United States (even though it was stated fee)
- Resort added "charity" donation to our bill. Told us at time of check-in we could remove it but paperwork had to be filled out for the credit. This seems like a very cheesy policy for a nice resort.
- Food choices were limited. Main restaurant was good for dinner, breakfast was average at best. Lunch by the pool was decent. The Sushi restaurant reeked of burnt oil and was dirty - so we never tried it
- Resort seems to be falling apart. The pool tiles are pretty well documented here. Also, our shower had moldy grout and the pillow in the cabana was full of mold. The cabana itself was also falling apart. This is an indication of the overall hotel management - just a poorly managed resort.

Overall, we wouldn't go back to the Pacifica. Cabo was terrific but the resort was sub-par.

Room Tip: Find a different resort
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Palm Beach, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

If you are used to the Ritz-Carlton or the Madarin Oriental Hotel, this not the place to go. The food is lousy, the "all inclusive" ...ah except for this, and that ..so it is not really all inclusive as purchased package. There are extra charges for dinner and drinks. Pools are looking old and the tiles are coming off, some of the people working at Pacifica are nice, some are not so nice. There are 4 properties (hotels) belonging to the same chain which can be used by the guests, The Rose and Blanco hotels are far away from Pacifica and Sunset. One must go to town and the view getting to town is not so very nice. For all inclusive packages, you get the cheapest drinks there are available and the food again is not good. The Sunset hotel is the nice of all and from there, they do all the selling of the time shares, one can get the Governor townhouse for $71,000 and then everytime you want to use it you pay about $4000.00/week. Bottom line, I should have stayed in West Palm Beach and gone to the Breakers hotel.

Room Tip: All rooms are ocean view. So do not pay for ocean view because the hotel is facing the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

It seems most reviews for this place are either 5 stars, or 2. I would give it a 4.5. I think a lot has to do with your expectations. If you are looking for an amazing quiet beach (with both sunrise and sunset) and great service this place delivers. The food was very good, certainly way above average for an all inclusive. The sushi restaurant was a delightful surprise - wish I went there earlier (Alexis and Gregorio are excellent waiters). Drinks were quality - and were delivered at more than a reasonable pace (Paola is amazing)
The service was great (Ignacio at the front door) and most everyone was willing to go the extra mile.
The rooms are very nice, though not overly luxurious. The pools are great (even with missing tiles)
The downsides: you do need to claim a chair by 8am. Some groups clearly are drinking too much and are a bit rowdy, but this was the exception. Can't swim in ocean (need to go to sister resorts for that). Housekeeping seemed a bit irregular.

I would return again without hesitation, though don't think it is probably worth the full price -their sale prices are more aligned with the value.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

Wonderful stay with very pleace staff including concierge, and Nacho at the bellmans station and all Staff breakfast at Siempre. Attentive and friendly at all times. We enjoyed the food and also the ability to enjoy the sister properties at Sunset Beach and the Rose in town. We had good massage treatments in the spa and were well taken care of by Betty and Daniella. Overall a very easy and enjoyable vacation and we will definitley be back!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

I had higher hopes for this resort based on past reviews. It was certainly nice enough for our three-day getaway, but I thought overall it was just okay. The room was not as luxurious as I had expected - fluorescent lights in the bathroom, laminate vanity, peeling paint behind the sink, etc. There wasn't any conditioner (only shampoo and soap), which was surprising. The air conditioner was so loud that my "sleep through anything" husband needed earplugs. The food was inconsistent - sometimes it was delicious, sometimes it wasn't. At Siempre, a steak ordered medium-rare arrived well done (as did a salmon filet ordered medium). I requested a replacement salmon dish, and the waiter took my plate to a nearby light to take a look for himself (rather than saying, "certainly," and returning ordering a new dish without question). The salmon appeared twice on our bill (which didn't matter as we were on the all-inclusive plan, but still). There weren't enough pool chairs and people would leave a single flip flop to reserve a chair that they didn't come to use until noon. People were loud and seemed drunk - some guy stumbled around asking people for a light (and I thought this was a non-smoking resort?? The smell of smoke was present many times). Another guy plugged his iPod into the large speaker near the pool and played dance music. And how can I forget - upon our arrival we were offered $300 in spa credits to "listen to a presentation while we eat breakfast at Pueblo Bonito Sunset Beach" about the hotel. This was supposed to be 90 minutes, allowing us to leave before then if we wanted, and about the hotel. Wrong. It was a "minimum 90 minutes" time-share presentation, which we learned was more like 3 hours from other guests. The Pacifica staff should be more forthcoming with what the presentation is about, and how long it lasts. I enjoyed the steam room in the spa, even though it seemed dirty and not well-kept. The hot tub at the spa was luke warm. Lots of dead bugs outside on the paths and in the hot tub and pools that lined walk-ways.

I listed mostly negatives, but it was still a nice trip, just not quite what I had expected (especially for over $500 per night). We stayed at the Hilton years ago and loved it. I would go back there before even considering Pacifica again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medford, Oregon
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

Sadly we just returned from a wonderful one week stay at the Pacifica. I find it hard to believe that this resort does not consistently receive 5 stars from all the reviewers after our experience. I agree there are a few tile missing in the gorgeous pool that they will be repairing, but overall it is a luxury spot, and we've stayed in many, but this one comes with a very reasonable, all-inclusive rate. We have never done all-inclusive, and this one was excellent! Cocktails were wonderful as was the poolside service. We had room service every day with excellent service and delicious food, some days just coffee. It would not be for the person who wants to be near party spots, it is a little touch of peace and tranquility for lazy days by the pools, reading on the balcony and watching the many whales not far off the shore. The food was wonderful, especially the Siempre (outstanding) and the Sushi Restaurant, where Alexis made us feel so comfortable with his warmth, knowledge and professionalism, best Fried Rice anywhere, Sushi too, including Asia!!!! We have stayed in many 5 star hotels and this did not disappoint, would highly recommend it! The staff was very friendly and constantly working, grounds are beautiful. The rooms had a beautiful view of the ocean and a nice large balcony (we upgraded for a very nominal amount) for a higher room with better view of the ocean, and covered balconies are larger, I would recommend this. From visiting with others, it's probably better to reserve a taxi ride to and from the airport (we did), as we heard the shuttle can be slow with drops at other resorts. We only went downtown one day, by cab, visiting other resorts. We couldn't wait to get back to Pacifica, so many people and people selling stuff, ugh, not at Pacifica, no one bothers you except to please. The spa is great too, had one of the best ever Swedish Massages, 80 min, felt so pampered the whole vacation by the entire resort. The outside BBQs in the evening are a fun diversion too, we attended two and the entertainment, esp the 2 guitar players/singers were outstanding!! So fun, we loved every minute.

Room Tip: Upgrade for very little extra to a higher room, and ask for a 'covered' balcony. These have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mayra P, General Manager at Pueblo Bonito Pacifica Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Dear Annee,

We would like to thank you for having such a positive attitude, we feel very happy after reading your nice review. It is great to hear you had a great and enjoyable time during your stay with us, we'll make sure to pass your recognition to every staff member you mentioned above.

Looking forward to meet with you again soon.

Sincerely,

Angel S.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cabo San Lucas hotels
0.5 mi away
Pueblo Bonito Sunset Beach Golf & Spa Resort
2.9 mi away
Villa del Arco Beach Resort & Spa
3.0 mi away
Villa La Estancia
Villa La Estancia
#4 of 70 in Cabo San Lucas
4.5 of 5 stars 948 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
The Resort at Pedregal
The Resort at Pedregal
#3 of 70 in Cabo San Lucas
5.0 of 5 stars 1,164 reviews
3.4 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Cabo San Lucas
Hotel Riu Palace Cabo San Lucas
#29 of 70 in Cabo San Lucas
4.0 of 5 stars 4,980 reviews
2.3 mi away
Grand Solmar Land's End Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pueblo Bonito Pacifica Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pueblo Bonito Pacifica Resort & Spa

Address: Cabo Pacifica s/n, Cabo San Lucas 23450, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > Cabo San Lucas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#11 Romantic Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#13 Luxury Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#13 Family Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Cabo San Lucas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Pueblo Bonito Pacifica Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 154
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The award-winning Pueblo Bonito Pacifica Resort & Spa is an enchanting oasis of natural beauty and relaxation, located on a 2.5 Mile stretch of pristine white beach on the Pacific Ocean, just one mile from lively downtown Cabo San Lucas. This boutique resort offers a deluxe all-inclusive plan providing gourmet a la carte dining, enhanced guest services and a wide range of amenities. Pacifica features five restaurants, five bars, two pools, an award-winning spa and luxurious accommodations in a calm, adults-only environment. Fashionably decorated guestrooms and suites include furnished patios and balconies with stunning views of the ocean and sunsets. Designed for the sophisticated and discerning guest, Pueblo Bonito Pacifica has everything needed for a fun and relaxing vacation experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Despegar.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotels.com, Otel, Booking.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Pueblo Bonito Pacifica Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pueblo Bonito Pacifica Resort And Spa
Pueblo Bonito Pacifica Hotel Cabo San Lucas
Pueblo Bonito Pacifica Holistic Retreat & Spa
Pueblo Bonito Pacifica Resort & Spa Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pueblo Bonito Pacifica Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.