We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Nice,clean,spacious And it did not disappoint” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Positano Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Positano Hotel to your Saves list
Positano Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Km. 3.7 Carretera Transpeninsular, Cabo San Lucas 23410, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #61 of 67 Hotels in Cabo San Lucas
West New York, New Jersey
2 reviews
“"Nice,clean,spacious And it did not disappoint”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed in a suite for 7 nights in february and got much better rate on expédia than they could offer at the hotel an it included breakfast the serving staff were
excellent and the grounds were wonderfully kept .Here I found my home away home ,Nice vacation . Nice pool"

Room Tip: Room number # 10 superb views from the patio ,fits up to 3 off us ,!! perfect for couples
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2015, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    3
    2
    1
    5
See reviews for
2
11
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed there a couple days. Arrived and the place was locked. Waited an hour. Lady behind desk does not speak English. Had to lug our luggage up 25+ Steps. Room big, but no hot water, air conditioning did not work or ceiling fan. No maid service. Towels were hard and had holes in them. Sliding door did not lock nor safe. Had jewellery stolen when we went out to eat. reported it next day to the only person we barely saw, she did not care at all about our room condition or stolen jewellery
No flat screen with English stations or free breakfast as written up on their site. Huge old TV with 2 Spanish channels. Pool was nice but could not walk in grass due to broken glass in it. I had prepaid this before trip. It cost me over $250 for two nights. There were Canadians staying there a month for $450! Something is so wrong with this picture. Can not complain due to no one around and if that one person was around ... No understand English
I do so want me money back. Just a dump

Stayed February 2015, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

I believe any of the good reviews were submitted by owners. Similarities in writing style. Prices high and place completely disfunctional as a business.
Could not recommend this. Very poor location with noise and extremely far from the beach. Not kept up. Things broken. Don't treat guests right. Lots of other choices.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tumwater, Washington
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

When we arrived on a Sunday at 5PM, tired from a long day of travel, the lobby was locked and there was no one to check us in. No note on the door indicating when someone would be back or what guest should do if they need to contact anyone. Being out of the country we also can't call anyone or look anything up on our cell phones. We asked young man working at the sushi place to help us and he said he called them. We decided to eat dinner at the sushi place while we waited. About an hour later the owners arrived. No apologies, no explanation. They checked us in and showed us our room. By the time we changed clothes and wanted to go see the pool area, the real reason why we picked this hotel, the lobby was locked up tight again and we had no way to access the pool area. They had indicated we had a key to get back there but we did not. We never saw the owners again until THURSDAY! We finally got a key by leaving a note for the housekeeper, which is also how we were able to get pool towels. When the A/C stopped working it was 2 days before we saw the owner to fix it where you would expect to be able to contact someone right away for things like that.

The only thing that makes this place worth it is you practically have a gorgeous pool to yourself with only 8 rooms and most people going into town during the day. They did a great job creating an oasis back there if you can ignore the noise. The rooms are okay, nothing special. They are facing the 8 lanes of highway/side roads so expect constant traffic noise. One side of the hotel borders a race track which can also produce a lot of noise and is open until at least 10PM.

There is no Cafe and coffee. No spa with massage and salon as the pictures imply. There is a little sushi place and a little seafood place and a clothing shop and some places under construction but there is a LOT of false advertising with the amenities this place promises. When in another country you need a hotel with a concierge that can set up your activities for you and help you make arrangements. None exist here, you are on your own, so make your reservations in advance.

You are not easy walking distance to anything. Couple miles form the beach and by no means a friendly pedestrian area.The Walmart Mall across the street is a block down, Costco a few blocks, but you have to walk a mile down the highway to cross the street to get to a safe place to cross 8 lanes of traffic for either of these locations. The "kitchens" that are advertised are 2 burners, a sink, and a tiny fridge. You get a few utensils, some units have a pot and a frying pan, some don't. Some don't even have 2 sets of silverware. We had a mini ironing board, but no iron.

The thing that I found the most annoyingly misleading was the lack of hospitality. I read review after review that raved about how friendly everyone was there and they made you feel like family. Sorry, but that is a bunch of crap. They hardly grunted 2 sentences to us the entire time we were there, and they were almost never there. (we found out from another guest that they ran a kiosk outside the walmart across the street and that's where they were all day) If you complained they made no apology, offered no explanation, and just grunted at us. I heard them tell another couple that complained to just leave it they weren't happy.

I probably should have given this place a 2 rating, but once we figured out what was what, it was tolerable for the money. Let's face it, it's cheap. But check and make sure you have access to everything, FOUR working keys (room, safe, entrance, back gate to pool), pool towels, all the utensils you need up front when you first check in because who knows how long it will be until you see anyone again.

This place has so much potential, but if you can't even be warm and friendly, why run a small hotel like this?

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VANCOUVER
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

We stayed at the Positano Hotel for 14 days in Feb and were there when the other two reviews were there. The one couple were in the quiet side with construction and dust and I would have left too. The other stayed 3 hours so I do not feel that is enough time to give a good review. When we arrived we thought what have we done. This Hotel is right on the highway and for some reason we pictured it a little further back. Our room was good and but it did lack cooking utensils but we had a good bed and the room was very roomy. We had friends coming to join us (one the next day and more in 6 days) so we had to wait to see how they felt. We could see the ocean in the distance but looked over a a beautiful pool area that was full of beautiful greenery and flowers, the beach (not a five minute walk) was a good 35 minutes. Although the traffic outside could be heard we slept very well I guess we are better sleepers than we thought! The bus pulled up right in front of the hotel which was a bonus for getting around and a quicker way to the beach. Jonathan and Virginia were very good to us and made sure are requests were made. They were going through a sad time as five days earlier they lost Vito her husband and his father. When our friends arrived we all agreed to stay and make it work. And we had a great time . We barbecued two nights one Virginia and Jonathan joined us and the next time just Jonathan as his mother had to go and deal with legal matters, but before she left she made us a very nice dinner. We enjoyed the pool area also it was like having our own pool. We very often went to the Marina for dinner and we never had a bad meal out. A short bus ride up the road from the hotel is a very good restaurant, good if you like lobster! There were stores near by and Costco and Walmart with in walking distance. Costco is a good place to buy wine as it was more expensive at the local stores. We also took a cab to Todo Santos and that was a very enjoyable town to see. We ate at the Hotel California which was very good also. In the marina we booked a sunset cruise on the Echo cattermeran which was $40.00 a person and included drinks and supper that was well worth it! So in the end we enjoyed ourselves and it was a reasonable trip leaving us holiday funds for a different adventure next year. We would probably not stay at the Positano again but we also probably would not go back to Cabo as there are other places in Mexico we liked better.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitehorse, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

We stayed here only 3 hrs after checking in and these are the reason:
1. Beach is not a 5 min walk away but a 30 min walk
2. Room was not ready when we arrived and in fact according to David the desk clerk, the housekeeping had not shown up that day. Consequently there were no blankets for the bed, the sheets were stained with rust or blood, the tiny bar fridge was dirty and there were no pots or pans or dishes in the kitchenette. This unit is advertised as an equipped kitchenette.
We met 2 young couples in the lobby who complained to us about having to wait 4 hrs for their rooms to be ready and were exhausted after a long day of travel.
3. There is no ocean view unless you use a telescope
4. There is no privacy on the patio. Units are separated by a metal railing only.
5. Worst of all is the noise! The website does talk about close proximity to the main highway and believe me it is. VERY LOUD. Also there is a go cart track right beside the hotel and go carts were tearing up the track for the 3 hrs we were there. This hotel was under construction with some guy banging away with a hammer and chisel the 3 hrs we spent there. I couldn't take all the NOISE. David initially said the construction would last for 10 days [ we were booked to stay 14 days] but when challenged about the noise level he changed his story and said it would only be 2-3 days. We went past this hotel daily after we left and the construction was still ongoing for the full 14 days.
We were refused a refund by David and moved 1 block away to the El Ameyal Hotel and Health Spa. Much quieter, friendly staff, clean and resonabley priced.
The Positano Hotel is more like a hostel and should be advertised and priced as such.
Not a 3 Star in my opinion. Shame on Expedia for misinformation and shame on David for not giving us a fair refund based on the above complaints.
This is an accurate account of our experience at the Positano Hotel.
I cannot comment on the sleep quatily as we didn't spend a night there.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelowna, Bc Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

We arrive Ocean/Pool View Hotel close to beach with kitchenette, daily house keeping, Breakfast included Buffet style. Kitchen to come with Cookware all utensils. This is what we got. Hotel right on the Highway noise is deafening, you could not see the ocean from any point in the Hotel, but view of pool and yard was good. The room itself was FILTHY, floors counters etc covered in dust and dirt. My husband picked up a plate and blew off a cloud of dirt. Fridge was not working, toilet was not working, there
was nothing in the kitchen to cook on Not that you'd want to. The sink and stove was covered with a layer of white uncleanable white film. We stayed only 2 of the 9 nights we had to get out. Also not a 5min walk to beach, a 37 min walk! Breakfast was a bag of bread next to toaster and PB and Jam, burnt tiny buns, cold refried beans spread on bun. NO BUFFET, no fruit etc. PLEASE DO NOT WAIST YOUR MONEY!!! When we said why we were leaving she shrugged her shoulders and walked away, said she had nothing to do with what was on the internet listings.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Positano Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Positano Hotel

Address: Km. 3.7 Carretera Transpeninsular, Cabo San Lucas 23410, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Baja California > Baja California Sur > Los Cabos > Cabo San Lucas
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #61 of 67 Hotels in Cabo San Lucas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Positano Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Vito and Virginia Parlato invite you to their charming Mediteranean-style boutique hotel, located 3.7 km from downtown Cabo San Lucas on the tourist corridor. Suites Terrazas de Positano offers 8 fully-equipped suites each with a lovely terraza and magnificent view to Medano Bay and Lover's Beach. Come enjoy the tranquility, the many amenities and the warm atmosphere provided by your hosts... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Despegar.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Positano Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Terrazas De Positano
Positano Hotel Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Positano Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.